‘Tales of the Grim Sleeper’ Could Become the Eighth Murder-Related Doc to Land an Oscar Nom

By Anjelica Oswald

Managing Editor

Nick Broomfield’s Tales of the Grim Sleeper follows the case of the serial killer in South Central Los Angeles that spans more than 20 years. The first murder took place in 1985, but an apparent 14-year break between murders earned him the nickname of “the Grim Sleeper.” Lonnie Franklin Jr. was arrested in 2010 and is currently awaiting trial for almost a dozen women, though the number could increase. Though the case is a major part of the film, Broomfield also explores poverty, racism and the police investigation that failed to warn the neighborhood that a serial killer was suspected until 2008.

The film made the Academy’s documentary feature shortlist and could land a nomination at the 87th Academy Awards. Here are seven other documentaries about murder in America that scored nominations (in chronological order):

Four Days in November (1964)

Released just a year after President John F. Kennedy’s assassination,
See full article at Scott Feinberg »

Similar News

Recently Viewed