Sam Mendes Wins DGA Award for ‘1917’: Full Winners List

  • Indiewire
The 2020 Directors Guild of America Awards wrapped Saturday night in downtown Los Angeles, with winners spanning television and film. IndieWire has rounded up all the night’s big winners, below. Films “1917,” “Honey Boy,” and “American Factory” all took home the night’s film prizes, while “Chernobyl,” “Watchmen,” and “Barry” claimed the television honors.

The DGA prize is often considered a bellwether for the Best Director Oscar and the last six DGA winners all went on to repeat at the Academy Awards: Alfonso Cuarón for “Roma,” Guillermo del Toro for “The Shape of Water,” Damien Chazelle for “La La Land,” and Alejandro G. Iñárritu for both “The Revenant” and “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance).”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2019

Bong Joon Ho



Sam Mendes


(Universal Pictures) *Winner

Martin Scorsese

The Irishman


Quentin Tarantino

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood


Taika Waititi

Jojo Rabbit
See full article at Indiewire »

Similar News

Recently Viewed