The Rare Breed (1966) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
26 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Okay, Not As Good As It Should Have Been Though
FightingWesterner2 March 2010
Middle-aged cowboy James Stewart agrees to transport Maureen O'Hara's Hereford bull (the first in North America) to to it's new owner Brian Keith, while at the same time making an underhanded deal to deliver it to a rival cattleman. Things get complicated when O'Hara and her daughter take it upon themselves to accompany Stewart.

This light-hearted western is offbeat and original enough to provide some entertainment and Stewart is great as the reluctant champion of a new breed of bull, but the story just isn't as compelling as it should have been and sometimes pretty silly, especially Keith (under a mountain of hair!) as a backwards Scottish rancher.

Jack Elam and Ben Johnson make the most of their limited roles as a vicious saddle-tramp and Stewart's aging, crippled mentor.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Michener must have like it!
Tludwigpix14 June 2008
I just saw bits of this film for the first time today and kept at it because all of the leads were some of my all time favorite actors. I can't speak for the quality of the film since I didn't see it all, but it seems apparent that no lesser light than James A. Michener not only saw it, but liked it a lot since the basic plot line about the great British bull being brought to America by an English widow and then dying in a record blizzard after leaving his stamp on a new generation of crossbreeds is used almost verbatim in "Centennial" which was published nine years after this film was released.

Anyway, what I saw I enjoyed. I can't not enjoy O'Hara, Stewart and Keith!!!
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Blend of John Ford and Disney-with a Great Performance by Juliet Mills
aimless-462 November 2006
Director Andrew V. McLaglen's "The Rare Breed" (1966) has a surprising amount of historical interest, both to students of the old west and to western genre film buffs. It is actually a fairly accurate (if fictionalized) account of the displacement of Longhorn cattle on the Texas range by intentional interbreeding with more conventional bulls (in this case a Hereford named Vindicator).

Just as interesting is the film's position as one of the early intentional parodies of the western genre. While less obvious than in "Cat Ballou" (1965), the self-reflexive elements and parody are there if you look close. The most obvious are Brian Keith's overplayed (almost expressionistic) Scotsman and McLaglen's juxtaposition of classic John Ford outdoor scenery with obvious sound stage shots-including matte paintings by Albert Whitlock. And McLaglen rounds out his cast with genre favorites Ben Johnson, Harry Carey Jr., and Jack Elam.

But "The Rare Breed's" real claim to fame is as the first "chick flick" western. It is likely to appeal more to women than men viewers as the story is told from the point of view of its heroine Hilary Price (Juliet Mills), who sets out with her parents to bring a small herd of cattle from Hertfordshire (England) to the American west. Unfortunately her father dies on the ocean voyage so Hilary and her mother Martha (Maureen O'Hara) are faced with the daunting task of completing what had been her father's dream.

Mills is wonderful in this role and it really suits her. She is a placid observer of the strange land in which she finds herself while her mother is almost savagely reactive. Yet Mills gets all the really good lines as Hilary injects a lot of wit and wry humor into the story. McLaglen gives real dimension to only two of the characters, Hilary and "Bulldog" Sam Burnett (Jimmy Stewart). Burnett is a cowhand who starts out to swindle the two women but ends up being completed by them; eventually becoming a father/husband replacement to Hilary and Martha respectively, as well as a complete believer in their mission to change the nature of the American cattle industry.

But Burnett has to come a long way to make this transition as he begins by calling the symbolically named Vindicator a muley bull (because it has no horns). His reaction does not get him off to a good start with the protective Hilary, who has raised Vindicator from a calf. The bull follows her around like a dog and is easily quieted with a verse from "God Save the Queen".

Entertaining but not riveting, this unique example of the genre is a nice change of pace. Unfortunately the scenes between Keith and O'Hara will make you think more of Disney's original "The Parent Trap" than the film you thought you were watching.

Then again, what do I know? I'm only a child.
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Vindicating a Muley Bull
bkoganbing14 November 2006
The Rare Breed is the second of four films James Stewart did with director Andrew V. McLaglen. This is a fictionalized account about how Hereford cattle came to the great state of Texas. In this film Stewart brought a breeding bull together with his owners, Maureen O'Hara and Juliet Mills.

The question of course is whether the breed can stand up to a harsh and cruel Texas winter and breed calves. I guess since in real life there are a whole lot of Hertford cattle all over the USA now, the answer is they could. Of course in the film it involved some sacrifice in regard to some notions the women had, especially Juliet Mills who regards the bull Vindicator as a family pet.

Stewart's character, Sam 'Bulldog' Burnett has a bit of the rogue to him, but he certainly turns out to be the decent reliable Jimmy Stewart that movie audiences for three generations loved. Irish born Maureen is a proper English lady and Juliet Mills does very well as the daughter.

In her memoirs Maureen O'Hara said that some scenes she states she stole from Jimmy Stewart got cut from the final print. In watching The Rare Breed tonight, there were some illusions to some banter and a horse race that we just see the finish of. I'm sure that was what she was referring to although it's pure speculation as to the reason for the edit.

But if Maureen was worried about scene stealing, the guy who stole the film completely is Brian Keith. He plays the Scotch Texas cattle baron with proper brogue and a wild appearance. When we first see him, he's a real frontier character with a possible aversion to soap and water. Maureen has a civilizing affect on him and Keith becomes a rival to Stewart for her affections. He's quite a sight in the uniform of his former Highland regiment playing the bagpipes.

The Rare Breed doesn't rank up there with most of the Anthony Mann westerns of the Fifties. But it's entertaining enough and nothing anyone in the cast need be ashamed of.
29 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Western which misses fire by not coming down firmly as either drama or comedy…
Nazi_Fighter_David5 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Under the direction of Andrew V. McLaglen, who understood the John Ford mystique, "The Rare Breed" is a Western of consummate integrity which misses fire by not coming down firmly as either drama or comedy; it does however pass the time amiably enough…

Stewart again plays a cynical, hard-bitten man who has become disillusioned with human nature… But his insight and understanding are well transmitted…

The title refers to a certain breed of cattle, and not to men, rare, courageous, or other-wise…

O'Hara is an Englishwoman who comes to America with her daughter, Juliet Mills, bringing a prize Hereford bull named Vindicator… Her husband has died on the way, and she is delivering the bull to a cattle baron (Brian Keith) in Dodge City… Her late husband has always declared that the Hereford could be successfully interbred with the indigenous American Longhorns…

Originally Stewart had planned to kidnap the bull and hand it over to a rival dealer, but he falls under the spell of O'Hara's womanly integrity, and becomes her ally… Soon a triangle is set up between Stewart, O'Hara and Keith, with predictable results…

The dramatic elements are not totally neglected in the film… The rivalry between the ranchers, the poignant situation of the young lovers, O'Hara's attempts to set right to the surroundings that she, a new widow, finds extraneous, are all set forth skillfully by McLaglen's directorial hand…
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Medium Rare
pdwebbsite31 December 2007
This western has much going for it: great stars (Jimmy Stewart, Maureen O'Hara, and Brian Keith), interesting plot twists (is Stewart's character a thief, after all), and some comedic moments (Brian Keith is a hoot as Scottish cattle baron). Take the movie as it is, an old western that is mediocre in script with star power holding it afloat, and you'll enjoy the movie. Start picking it apart for studio shots, etc and of course you'll not enjoy it. The storyline of how Herefords came to replace Texas Longhorns sounds plausible enough. It was cute how Juliet Mills (sister of Hayley) got that Hereford bull to follow her by whistling "God Save the Queen". Juliet added quite a bit to the movie, and she was a good balance to the humorous triangle of Keith, O'Hara, and Stewart. Some reviews are harsh, yet the questions remains--How could anyone not enjoy a movie with Jimmy Stewart in it?
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Attractive and charming Western with big name cast and top-notch performance from James Stewart
ma-cortes23 May 2018
Entertaining and pleasant western comedy with acceptable interpretation, though no much action . It stars the great James Stewart as an ageing cowboy hand who helps two English women , as he is still looking for a deep dream and blazing with determination . As a ranch hand agrees to escort a Hereford bull to Texas where the widow of an English breeder , the prissy Mauren O'Hara, and daughter , Juliet Mills , plan to crossbreed the big bull with longhorn cattle . Stewart acquires a a fanatical belief on the potential of the bull and he sets out in blizzard to prove it .

Amusing Western comedy including action , stampede , thrills , shootouts , fights , human as well as warm roles and a love story . The plot is plain and simple , as a widow insists that she and her daughter accompany Stewart on a dangerous trip which features every kind of Western calamity imaginable . James Stewart gives an attractive acting as an obstinate cowboy who stubbornly wishes to get the crossbread when all others believe the attempt to be failed and he sets out to prove them wrong . And charming performances from Mauren O'Hara , Juliet Mills, and a red bearded Brian Keith as an extravagant Scots-accented rancher who has a whisky bottle and a bagpipe on his hand instead of a gun , an acting that sticks in the mind long after . Support cast is frankly good such as David Brian , Don Galloway , Perry Lopez, Harry Carey Jr , Ben Johnson , Barbara Werle, and an ominus bit part, with special mention , for usual baddie Jack Elam .

Colorful and evocative cinematography by William Clothier , adding genuine wide open spaces atmosphere . Imaginative and enjoyable score by the maestro John Williams , who gives a nice musical realization , including catching leitmotif. This engaging and richly coloured motion picture was decent and professionally directed by Andrew V McLagen . He was an expert in all kinds of genres as Wartime such as Dirty dozen next mission, Sea wolves, On wings of eagles , Wild Geese, The Devil Brigade, Breakthrough and Western such as Chisum, Shenandoah, McLintock, The Blue and the Gray , The way west , Bandolero , Undefeated , Cahill United United States Marshal and this Rare Breed. Rating : 6 , acceptable and passable. Well worth watching . The motion picture will appral to James Stewart and Mauren O'Hara fans .
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
James Stewart and Maureen O Hara
williwaw20 March 2011
James Stewart made this film at Universal with a very very beautiful Maureen O Hara as his leading lady reprising their teaming for 20th's Mr. Hobbs Takes A Vacation. Andrew McLaglen who was part of the James Stewart-John Wayne fraternity of action movies directs well this story of cattle breeding. Lots of familiar Universal back lot locations add to my enjoyment of this film. I respect both James Stewart and Maureen O Hara for keeping their careers in high gear even in the troubled 60's. With Maureen O Hara she outpaced many of her peers who retired due to lack of work, only Susan Hayward and Lana Turner were as active as the beautiful Irish Ms. O'Hara was in her steady stream of work as leading lady to John Wayne, Henry Fonda, James Stewart stalwart's of the American screen. Don Galloway a Universal contract player is also cast. Always thought Don Golloway would be a star.

Is this movie great? No! Is it enjoyable yes! And Maureen O Hara one of the great Beauties of the Screen!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stewart!
kenandraf25 September 2001
Average western that has a good story but bad screenplay,script,cinematography and directing.Stewart and O'Hara deliver very well as always but the bad production just weighs their performance down.Too bad for the subject matter of the story is very interesting and historically educational with a lot of action,drama and even comedic potentials.Only for big western fans and fans of the lead actors......
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A good story
willrams21 February 2004
Not only a good story but the acting was terrific in this western where a woman, played by Maureen O'Hara, comes to America with her daughter. Her husband died and she had to take over. It was the introduction of Hereford cattle into the American West that was her husband's dream. They enlisted help from Sam, played by James Stewart, who struggles to bring a bull to breed in Texas. The whole journey is fraught with many dangers and Sam doubted the survival potential of this 'rare breed'. If you like good stories, I recommend this one highly. 7/10
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Lumpy western is pure bull...
moonspinner5528 July 2007
Curious western handled in cartoony fashion: it's all fired-up, though it ultimately misfires. Fiesty Brit Maureen O'Hara and daughter Juliet Mills bring a royal bull for breeding to Old West America, where both ladies wind up with suitors. Capable cast holds interest but, despite some pleasurable moments, Andrew V. McLaglen's perplexing direction is way over-the-top. The screenplay by Ric Hardman keeps all the characters spouting off and hopping mad, turning the movie into a western parody (culminating in a laughable blizzard sequence which McLaglen stages on a set--with the results looking far worse than the typical blue-screen effect). O'Hara juggles the affections of both James Stewart (completely rote) and Brian Keith (hamming with abandon as a wild-eyed Scotsman). She was better off with the bull. ** from ****
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Never Mind The Bullocks, Here's God Save The Queen.
hitchcockthelegend6 March 2009
Recently widowed, Martha Price {Maureen O'Hara} and her daughter Hilary {Juliet Mills} travel from England to Texas to sell their prized Hereford Bull, Vindicator. Along the way, a drifter, Sam Burnett, aids them on their journey and is very tempted to bluff the duo and bag himself some easy cash. But as the journey starts to become perilous, Sam finds himself strongly drawn to Martha, but he's also not the only one.

The Rare Breed is a fictionalised account of how British bred cattle came to be part of the American beef industry. Coming as it did in James Stewart's late 60s mellow period, it has an air of cartooned dramatics, it works to a degree, but the joke quickly wears thin and the drama never has the desired impact. Directed by Andrew V. McLaglen and tidily shot by William H. Clothier {tho the cheap shots are evident}, the picture appears to have been cut in one or two places because we lurch from a couple of scenes to completely different scenarios, and its quite off putting. The acting is fine, all the cast give it gusto, with Brian Keith having a ball playing a raging Scotsman, i mean swigging whiskey in the bath at frequent intervals has to be a bonus to me!. One or two punch ups are safely handled by McLagen, and a stampede is watchable if a touch let down by the sloppy editing from Russell F. Schoengarth, to leave us with a fare little film that is instantly forgettable afterwards. 4/10
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Lukewarm Western
jayhonk7 September 2002
Jimmy Stewart in this role wasn't not illogical, in fact he was the right choice. Unfortunately, the writers didn't follow through on their part. The movie has all the ingredients of a good western, cowboys, cattle, scenery, outsiders, bad guys, dreams, adventures, swindles, romance. But the total package fell very flat. At the heart of the movie is a romance between Stewart and Maureen O'Hara as a British widow bringing a new breed of cattle to the West. No real on screen sparks fly, though. The heart of the problem is that it is hard to root for Jimmy Stewart's character--and you can't say THAT very often. He starts out as an average guy who doesn't hesitate to steal a prize bull, for a thousand bucks. While he does put the money to good use, his fundamental lack of scruples was off-putting. But obviously, we are supposed to root for him.

Maureen O'Hara's character drives the movie when she shows up, but she was a little hard to empathize with, too. She sees more in Jimmy Stewart than I did, and pursues him. Eventually she gives up on him and her original dream (not worth going into that), just when Jimmy catches the vision thing. So the their relationship cycles in opposite directions. Of course, you know that eventually they will get together. Not before she takes 6 months of in home hospitality from Brian Keith' transplanted Scottish character. That role was a riot, until he civilized himself on her behalf. Whereupon he lost all his personality trying to please the target of his affections. Probably some lesson there...

I wouldn't recommend this one. Some interesting twists at first, but ultimately very predictable. If you do watch it, your eyes will be happy, but your heart will be left out.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Drama/comedy/romance Western with deadly serious moments
Wuchakk3 October 2017
RELEASED IN 1966 and directed by Andrew V. McLaglen, "The Rare Breed" chronicles events in St. Louis and Texas in 1884-85 when an English woman (Maureen O'Hara) and her daughter (Juliet Mills) conscript a lanky cattleman (James Stewart) to try and get their hornless British bull to mate with the longhorns of Texas, but they have to deal with venal thugs (Jack Elam), a curmudgeon ranch mogul (Brian Keith) and the harshness of nature itself.

The film meshes drama with lighthearted amusement in the manner of a screwball Disney family comedy, "fun" brawls reminiscent of John Wayne Westerns of that era, dead-serious sequences and romance. I didn't feel this inconsistent tone marred the movie; after all, doesn't real life include all of these things? The exception would be the "fun" brawling scenes which, while lively, are not true to life. In real fights people get broken noses, black eyes, bruises and broken bones. Anyway, the cast is great, but I didn't find the drama that engaging, especially the entire last act. Furthermore, the indoor sets substituting for outdoors are obvious and smack of old-fashioned movies & TV Western fare of the time period.

About a third of the way in there's an exceptional stampede sequence that includes a heart-stopping on-set accident involving the wagon carrying Martha (O'Hara) and Hilary (Mills) ahead of the stampede. The stunt women were supposed to be thrown clear, but the wagon rolled over them. Thankfully, the dipping ground underneath the wagon allowed the stuntwomen, Stephanie Epper and Patty Elder, enough room to survive without being crushed, although they did experience minor wounds and shock. In the same sequence a young man is forced to try to run UP the canyon wall in stark terror as the charging cattle threaten.

THE FILM RUNS 97 minutes and was shot in Jamestown, Mecca, Coachella Valley, Mojave Desert and Universal Studios, California. WRITER: Ric Hardman.

GRADE: C
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"All We Can Do Under These Primitive Conditions Is ..."
stryker-54 December 1999
This is dire. Without James Stewart, this flabby, far-too-long cattle yarn would be unwatchable. As it is, it's not far off. Stewart made a few of these 'modern' westerns for Universal in the mid 60's ("Shenandoah" springs to mind) and they are consistently shallow and unrealistic.

Two English beauties, Martha and her daughter Hilary, travel out to the American West in 1884 to sell their prize hornless bull. They meet up with Bulldog Burnett, a trusty cowpoke, who helps them move their bull to Texas. Various adventures befall them along the way.

The film wants to be a comedy action movie, but fails in both departments. The script is very weak and the improbabilities of the story are just too much to swallow.

Stewart plays Burnett, and manages to inject a bit of human interest into even this poorly-drawn character who has to utter some dreadful lines. Martha is played by Maureen O'Hara. She reacts beautifully and wordlessly when Bowen proposes marriage, but other than that she has nothing to do in the whole interminable film except look pretty and seem aloof. Juliet Mills is passable as the female ingenue Hilary, as is her male counterpart (Jamie, played by Don Galloway), but their characters are too flimsy to merit further attention. Jack Elam plays the bad guy Simons, as ludicrous a villain as exists anywhere on celluloid.

And now for the daffy parts. Burnett and the English ladies have camped for the night on the trail, but their camp is as bright as day, thanks to the Universal 'look'. Somebody takes a shot at Burnett, the bullet striking the coffee pot in his hand, but everyone decides to ignore it and turn in for the night! The notion that these two fragrant English roses would sleep on dirt is preposterous, but worse is to follow. The next morning, they are wearing crisp new outfits, both featuring dazzling white blouses - even though they have no luggage with them! Simons shoots his partner dead for no reason whatsoever - even though he is within his victims' earshot and risks ruining his own plan.

When Simons stampedes Jamie's herd, nobody notices him firing his gun or riding in among the cattle, waving a yellow scarf. When he robs the travellers, the obvious thing for him to do is to kill them, but he lets them go free. Before and after the dry gulch sequence, the group moves through lush pasture land. The dry gulch simply doesn't fit with the terrain (which is probably meant to be Oklahoma Territory). Brian Keith as Alexander Bowen parades the most awful Scottish accent since Brig O'Doon - and because he's Scottish, he plays the bagpipes, of course.

The scenes in the Bowen ranch yard and the blizzard sequence are very obviously filmed in a studio.

Verdict - Too long, too shallow ... and too bad they decided to film it at all.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Painful!
fiona davidson11 August 2001
What I watched of this film I watched with dismay. I don't think Jimmy Stewart really did himself any favours and we all know he was capable of so much more, but it wasn't his part that I found so painful but Brian Keith as Bowen the supposed Scotsman. His accent was amazing but definitely not Scots, his wig and moustache (not forgetting the eyebrows) were so obviously false and as for the full highland dress - well!. I thought Bowen was a Welsh name too? The storyline about incorporating a new line of cattle was OK and so was everything else but I just felt it could all have been done so much better.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
" It will take more than dreams to conquer Texas, the first snow will prove you wrong "
thinker169117 January 2013
Director Andrew V. McLaglen takes an original story by western writer Ric Hardman and set out to mix history with southwestern lore. A young girl and her mother (Juliet Mills and Maureen O'Hara), travel from England to Texas with their prize Hereford Bull to Crossbreed a new species. Along the way they meet Sam Burnett (James Stewart) who plans to deceive them. The Bull is suppose to go to Alexander Bowen (Brian Keith) who has other plans. To help his scheme is Deke Simons (Jack Elam) and Jeff Harter (Ben Johnson). The movie is set in the old west and there is plenty of spacious open range for all things western. Such things as horses, Cowboys, fistfights, rough-an-tumble mayhem, free-for-all, wild gun play, rugged frontier life and free-range Long-horn Cattle. Together, the entire film is a tribute to a good yarn and should stand up well as a good movie for the entire family. Easily recommended to any seeking a movie of frontier life in the early west. ****
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not half as bad as all that
Stu-4222 December 1999
I enjoyed the movie "The Rare Breed" despite the fact that it was a tad silly at times. I don't think that it was an attempt to make an extremely powerful, gut wrenching story, but rather some great actors doing a film that mixed some serious moments with a lot of fun. Instead of knocking Mr. Stewart for doing this movie I would just as soon sit back and have a good time watching this "modern" western. I must agree however with Leonard Maltin who says that the only thing wrong with it was too much studio footage. It really would have helped the credibility factor to go out more to the open range. As a major Jimmy Stewart fan, I acknowledge that this was not his best, but who cares!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Quite Enjoyable
digziggy14 April 2019
This is a good film, with great actors. I enjoyed it very much. I am a fan of these specific headliners, who can always be counted on, to bring a substantial and winning performance. I'd recommend it, without question, to everyone who enjoys this "movie era". Here we have a story, which does not depend in senseless violence, from 1966.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Stewart obviously out of place.
Sisko2328 September 1999
A fifty year old Jimmy Stewart wrestling cattle? Did anyone stop and think about this for a second? James Stewart has solidified himself as one of the best actors in the history of film. But even his prestige and talent cannot save this picture. An overly long epic about cattle breeding is not what greats like Stewart should be used for. It's almost sad to see how hard he tries, in a role with little substance, supported by a dry script. Of course there are some good points. Stewart finding a lost calf is a good moment, but that's solely his doing. (If there were other good moments I was probably asleep). Rare Breed was a disappointment to say the least. It's depressing to think that there weren't other roles available for an aging actor. I miss the "Hitchcock" Stewart, and the "Capra" Stewart, and the "Ford" Stewart. As painful as it is to admit, this may be one of his worst performances. Any other actor would have drowned in such a bad picture, but Stewart stays afloat, just barely.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
a big disappointment
MartinHafer22 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This isn't a bad film. But, considering that it starred Jimmy Stewart and Maureen O'Hara, I really expected so much more! Instead of the exciting and well-acted film I hoped to see, it was a dull script with few good surprises. In fact, if it hadn't been for the stars, I would have given the film a 4.

Jimmy Stewart is a man who has been hired by Maureen and her daughter to help transport her prize stud bull out west to sell. En route to America, Maureen's husband apparently died. We don't see this but are told by the characters that this occurred. Oddly, Ms. O'Hara seems pretty willing to let Brian Keith (in a very broad portrayal) and later, Stewart to woo her. So much for feeling a great loss! Anyway, the film just slowly slogs along until it gets to a very expected conclusion. This could have been so much better, believe me.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Different Perspectives
nfuller13 October 2003
The Rare Breed

I saw this movie in the theatre when it came out in 1966 (I was 12 years old). I just today on American Movie Classics.

I suppose that 37 years of growth has changed my perspective a little bit. When I was 12 I was not too much into westerns. The closest I came to liking westerns was Cat Ballou, which may succeed more as a comic western than The Rare Breed does. Still I liked, and still like, any-thing with James Stewart. I think, however, that The Rare Breed succeeds as a romance. In 1966 I might have seen the romance as `mushy stuff.'



Although James Stewart did Westerns (`Classic' and `Modern') as well as Fantasy (It's A Wonderful Life) and biography (Charles Lindbergh, Glenn Miller) I think of him as a comic actor (The Philadelphia Story; Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation; Take Her, She's Mine). For this reason, I have to view The Rare Breed as a Comedy as much as a Western.

I can see the phoniness of the fist fights now and I might have seen them in 1966 as well.

I also have one observation: Even after Brian Keith shaves off his beard, he sometimes doesn't look like the Brian Keith we all know and love from, say, Family Affair. He certainly doesn't SOUND the same because he does a VERY strong Scottish brogue in The Rare Breed.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I Have Been Steered Wrong!
Brenda1913820 September 2008
I read something on this site about Jimmy Stewart being a racist. Well I would like to know what he was doing in Anatomy of a Murder sitting and talking with the very African-American Duke Ellington! If people are going to go on these sites I would appreciate it if they would tell the truth. Jimmy Stewart was no more a racist than I am. They said he went into a director and said, "Do we have to act with these n-----?" Apparently this never happened. It could not have happened if he is patting Duke Ellington on the shoulder like they are the best of friends. Is there a way this site can be monitored so that things like this don't get written?
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Western, lots of scenery
milwhitt7029 April 2017
Anything Jimmy Stewart, Maureen O'Hara, and Jack Elam is in, you can count on being a great movie. I have it on tape and have watched it at least 4 times. Just last night I watched it and something caught my attention. When the stampede started and the wagon was turned over, where did Vindicator go? Next time I saw him, he was following the wagon with the injured man in it. Wonder why he didn't join the stampede and go with the herd. He appeared unshaken and uninjured. Just wondering. It was a great movie, many interesting twists.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a excellent movie
bamoviegirl4 August 2013
i thought the Rare Breed was excellent. The movie is one of my favorite movies. I have wanted to see it. Today it was on my TV and I watched the movie and I loved it. I love Maureen Ohara and I thought she did an excellent job as the mother in the movie. I got attached to the movie. I loved the Romance, and Drama in the movie. Great movie for anyone to see even if you are a Maureen Ohara fan or not. I am a Maureen Ohara fan. They should make more movies just as good as The Rare Breed to my opinion. The movie had a couple of funny parts. The movie reminded me of my Ranch because I have long horn cows like the movie did. One day I plan to buy The Rare Breed. So great movie, and no language at all.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed