The Charmings (TV Series 1987–1988) Poster

(1987–1988)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Very notable, especially for the fresh idea
BadWebDiver23 April 2003
I was very fond of this show, especially as it seemed a pretty fresh spin on your standard cheesy American family sitcom. I think this is more in line with the early 60s and 70s comedy like I DREAM OF JEANNIE, MY FAVORITE MARTIAN, and WHEN THINGS WERE ROTTEN, when television comedy seemed to have more imaginative storylines and less social moralising ("Not that there's anything wrong with that!").
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good Show done in by PC ratings
kdowling17 September 2004
"The Charmings" was a well written and well acted show. There were jokes on many levels. Both children and adults found them funny for different reasons. Many episodes satirized the faulty aspects of our society which we accept without question. Since the characters were people from a "happily ever after" reality, they considered the failings of our world challenges to be overcome. So the real life wisdom of classic stories was part of every episode.

It was rare to see such thought put into the writing of any show. It is even rarer now (2004) since TV producers want easily written "real life" shows which teach nothing about real life.

Sadly "The Charmings" was killed by ratings. It was far better than the stereotypical, repetitive rubbish that was scheduled against it.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"THE CHARMINGS" WAS UTTERLY CHARMING ! !
smurky14 December 1998
This TV Sit-com was just adorable, and Christopher Rich (Miller from Murphy Brown) was the ideal Prince Charming ! ! The idea was that Snow White, her husband Prince Charming, and their children, plus evil step-mother and her talking mirror, were thrown into modern society, thanks to a spell from the step-mother which went awry.....it was similar to 'BEWITCHED", in the sense that we had the fun of seeing our favorite fairy-tale and mythological characters come to life as a result of different spells going awry each week. Paul Winfield was a riot, as the talking mirror who threw caustic insults at the vain step-mother....(think Niles and Miss Babcck on the Nanny).....I am a-waiting for Nik at Nite, or TV LAND to re-run these...and you should, too ! !
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Charming Show
The_Red_Baron13 September 2003
This was truly a charming television show. The concept was new, original and very funny. There was always an unexpected twist, such as the time Lillian made a reducing potion which made the users shorter, or when she couldn't remember whether a counterfeit bill should have a picture of George Washington or Alexander Hamilton, so she used a picture of George Hamilton. The plays on words, such as being "off to seek a lizard" when Luthor's pet lizard was missing, or referring to "Peddler Tupper's Wares" were inspired!

I really miss this show. I would certainly purchase all the episodes on tape or CD if I could. I hope Nick at Night picks it up.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good show, especially Caitlin O'Heaney
Sam-28512 October 1999
It has been quite a while since this show was initially airing, but I remember liking it. I hope it is okay for me to say that the first thing I noticed about the show is that I just could not believe that they were showing so much of Caitlin O'Heaney's cleavage. Yes, I am a guy, but this comment is relevant for a more important reason. They seemed to have replaced Caitlin with another actress during the show, and the show seemed to have gotten less interesting after that. So I then was able to get a good idea of how much of a difference an actor or actress can make. I think that Caitlin is a wonderful actress.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the best shows of the 80's
Tabitha Lenox20 June 2004
I watched this show from day one and fell in love with Lillian. Scheming, malicious evil women are my one weakness. I always felt they should have chucked the rest of the cast and made it the Lillian and the magic mirror show. I still have all 21 episodes from 1987 that are still in good viewing condition, save one ep. I just watched them not long ago after learning of Paul Winfield's untimely death.

Paul Winfield has some great one liners throughtout the series.

Lillian: "Lets see..what should I wear?" (Begins to disrobe) Mirror: "I dont know but if you're taking your clothes off I'm leaving. (disappears from view

Mirror: "Ok, Lillian. You want to know who's fairer than you? (Pulls out telephone book and opens it) "Now this is just the greater los angeles area."

Lillian: "Im good with forest animals" Mirror: "you barbecue them"

Lillian get sick and Mirror tells her to open wide so he can look Mirror: "Whoa! Its all nasty back there Lillian: "what should I do?" Mirror: Close your mouth! Your'e making me sick!"

Plus so many more. I wish one day these would be released to dvd. Charmings rule!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I too wish they'd air this again...
Elfie-520 April 2001
Sadly this is one of those half-remembered shows from my childhood that I wish I could remember better. I remember loving this show, but the details are hazy...I know that it was on this show that I first saw a cd, though. This would a a great show for Nick at Night to air for Revenge of the 80's.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Mirror, Mirror where are they now?
johnmeechum31 October 2002
I wish TVland or Nick at Nite would run a marathon because I adore this show. It was so funny. I do miss it. Tis the season to be dreaming of your prince charming which I adore the entire cast. I wonder where they all went probably into the enchanted forest...someday they will all return for a reunion.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I would buy this in a minute!
tygerkittn15 January 2001
If there were any way to buy the episodes I would, I loved this series when it was first on, and I'd like my daughters, who love to dress up as Snow White, to see this. I don't watch many TV series regularly, Growing Pains, Sightings, X Files, King of the Hill, and Wings are the only other ones I rearranged my schedule for, but I never missed this one.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Charmings was simply that! Charming!
saintjerome17 October 2008
This was an awesome show! Carol Huston is a very talented and beautiful actress. I could watch this show every day! The dialogue was witty. The premise of fairy tale characters living in the modern world is very clever. The talking mirror as character of the show was wonderful. I would go ogle and watch this show as much as possible. I hope they have a reunion show so that everyone can enjoy the fine acting especially of Carol Huston. I highly recommend the show. It is a very fine show. It was very fun to watch the player interaction. I could imagine myself there. This is a lot to write in order to get this comment published. I don't really have anything else to say. I am filling up space to get the 10 lines I need.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Mostly Forgotten, but Memorable
MCL11501 July 2007
Every TV season spawns replacement shows in hope of building up ratings. "The Charmings" is one of my favorite failures. Paul Winfield was a wonderful actor and I loved him as The Mirror. It's been 20 years, but I still have fond memories of watching the show. Too bad more people didn't tune in. Luckily I have two or three episodes squirreled away somewhere in my archive. And thanks to the miracle of the World Wide Web and the IMDb, fans of "The Charmings" have a place to share thoughts and memories of a great show that far too many never had the pleasure of watching. Too bad that TVLand has become TVBLand! It would be a perfect venue for a "The Charmings". Certainly, "The Charmings" is as good or better than much of the junk considered entertainment by todays standards.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The charmings on DVD
LorenReale20 August 2005
Okay, it's a moderate quality DVD copy from videotape, but it's $ 10 for two DVD's which means the 'pirate' is not making money on it.

www.goldmonkey.com

Thought you may want to know.

My wife loved the show and despite being a broodingly serious student at the time could not help but laugh. It's cute, not too sugary, makes fun of itself, by gosh, it's CHARMING. The 'Erik Charming' character is played by the same actor today on the "Reba" sitcom and Paul Winfield is in rare form as the very funny and mockingly satirical 'mirror'.

Also, you can watch this with the kids.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the best shows of the 80's
Tabitha Lenox20 June 2004
I watched this show from day one and fell in love with Lillian. Scheming, malicious evil women are my one weakness. I always felt they should have chucked the rest of the cast and made it the Lillian and the magic mirror show. I still have all 21 episodes from 1987 that are still in good viewing condition, save one ep. I just watched them not long ago after learning of Paul Winfield's untimely death.

Paul Winfield has some great one liners throughtout the series.

Lillian: "Lets see..what should I wear?" (Begins to disrobe) Mirror: "I dont know but if you're taking your clothes off I'm leaving. (disappears from view

Mirror: "Ok, Lillian. You want to know who's fairer than you? (Pulls out telephone book and opens it) "Now this is just the greater los angeles area."

Lillian: "Im good with forest animals" Mirror: "you barbecue them"

Lillian get sick and Mirror tells her to open wide so he can look Mirror: "Whoa! Its all nasty back there Lillian: "what should I do?" Mirror: Close your mouth! Your'e making me sick!"

Plus so many more. I wish one day these would be released to dvd. Charmings rule! Mirror: Face it honey, you cant even type"
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Charming and original show
cali1710 December 2003
I was also a very big fan of The Charmings TV series. I was only 12 back then so I don't remember the show too much, but I do remember that I really loved the show and I really enjoyed watching Caitlin O'Heaney as Snow White, Christopher Rich as Prince Charming, and Paul Winfield as the Mirror. I really would love to see this show again. I really hope Nick at Nite would show the Charmings or if I could get them on DVD. That would be the best and it would just bring a back so much wonderful memories.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the best!
He-Man-220 April 2000
"The Charmings" is one of my all-time favorite television shows. I still enjoy watching the episodes I have taped, even though sadly there was only 21 episodes made. I would have to say that my favorite episode is "Trading Places" where Lillian gives Luthor the power to look like Eric, but in turn, Luthor looks like Eric and now Eric looks like Luthor! The Mirror has some good strikes at Lillian in that one also. Some people say this was just a Bewitched and I Dream of Jeannie rip-off, well folks, I beg to differ. The Charmings was a hilarious comedy and very original. I can watch it over and over again and that's not something I can do with Bewitched or especially I Dream of Jeannie. If TV Land, or something to the nature, picks up the Charmings to re-run give this excellent show a try!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Charming Family
hellraiser730 March 2017
I'm a kid from the 80's and fairy tales and the fantasy genre were one of my big things in my childhood. This show is another under the radar gem and it's kinda also an obscure gem because believe it or not I honestly never heard about despite a fan of the genre but trust me I'm not alone in this.

This show in a way was a bit ahead of it's time as it predates the show "Once Upon a Time", even graphic novel "Fables" which are both uncannily similar. It's not quite a fantasy/comedy classic but it could of been given more time which is too bad because this show had plenty of magic.

The concept is wild as it's simply about fantasy characters coming to contemporary reality. Personally I think that's a cool idea and really is a ripe idea for comedy when you think about it more.

The characters are solid. I really like the evil stepmother Lilian White and The Mirror by the late Paul Winfield. Both of those characters are kinda show stealers at times. Lilian is sort of the foil factor much as Dr. Smith is to the Robersons in "Lost in Space". What I really like about Lilian White is despite being kinda a jerk (she is wicked after all) she funny with her sarcasm. However whats interesting about her a bit of a mentor figure for the family (wherether she wants to be or not) how grounded in reality she is as opposed to the others whom haven't totally left the fantasy world. What she says to the Charmings is like what we might say if we ever encountered them. And also she isn't completely selfish as she does care and act as a grandma toward their children, which I like showing a humane side to her.

The Mirror is a fun character despite in the show briefly, he's sort of who Zordon is the the "Power Rangers" as he is also a mentor figure for the family giving out words of wisdom. But he's really funny because he's kinda a smart ass and gives snide remarks behind Lilians back.

However what really makes this show of course are the Charmings themselves hence the title. Snow and the Prince are a fun duo the actors playing them are solid, their a bit of an exaggeration on the archetypes but at the same time are straight and competent. I really like the chemistry between them really bought them as a couple. But what makes both interesting is how both are somewhat childlike despite how much time they had in our present from getting the essentials like a house and family their both still disoriented, unfamiliar and unused to the customs of the present. Which makes sense not just are both fantasy characters but their from a different time also. I like what they say and how they react to certain things which feels a little realistic when you think about it, it's much like how any foreigner is to any country they visit.

I even like that this show is actually a little smart making it not feeling just another run on the mill comedy. There is even a bit of social commentary in this as in some episode they ask why the heck certain things have to be so complicated. Which to me is a valid point, despite certain advances to make things easier we also seem to have this bad habit of making things unnecessarily harder than before; it really doesn't always make any sense.

As well as culture shock and our common feeling for nostalgia, despite present trends there is still that need to keep things from the past to not forget and keep within our comfort zone; we see moments of this when both Snow and the Prince occasionally go back into wearing their medieval wear because those are the fashions they are most familiar and feel the most comfortable in.

I personally would've liked this show to be longer, it would've be cool seeing more of the fantasy characters from the Fairy Tales or possibly fantasy genre in general if they want to go further;come to the real world and their reactions to things which could of induced some plot arcs if possible. I also would of liked a bit more depth like how Snow and the Prince after they woke up, integrated and transitioned into our present like how did they get a house in the suburbs and most importantly their budding relationship.

Sadly this never happened and the chances of a revival are very slim as the sitcom genre has became a lost practice and with shows like "Once Upon a Time" and "Game of Thrones" going on for the current fantasy genre it probably won't happen, what a shame.

Overall this is a solid show. If your into fantasy shows like "Once Upon a Time" or even the fantasy, comedy or both generes in general then like in any lost fantasy tale it's one worth checking out.

Rating: 3 stars
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
With "Once Upon A Time" about to debut later this month, I remember "The Charmings"
Nyla20004 October 2011
I remember the show being hilarious and trying to figure out which dwarf Luther was (out of the seven). Paul Winfield was fantastic as The Mirror. I real wish this was on Nick at Nite or I would buy this if it was released on DVD. And it was really a family show, there were laughs for adults and kids alike :) I remember liking the first Snow White and wasn't as thrilled with the second one. I had a major crush on Christopher Rich. People thought I was crazy because I always called him Prince Charming. That's when I found out that not many people watched The Charmings :( I noticed that the postings for this show are far and few in between, but if you can find this show, watch it, you'll be really happy with it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Charmings
fcolubriale8 February 2005
I grew up watching The Charmings and every time a friend of my mentions Judy Parfit, I mention the series and I have very fond memories of this programme.

It was a pity that they changed the actress who played Snow White because I preferred the original actress who played Snow White. But once the change over had occurred I only then watched it for all the other characters and I never cared for Snow White after this.

If anybody who has any copies on tape and is will to let me have a copy I would be grateful and would be will to make some kind of arrangement, i.e. payment or swap.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed