Satisfaction (1988) Poster

(1988)

User Reviews

Review this title
48 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Great feel good teen chick flick
omolara-doyle24 October 2006
I first watched it in 89 when I was a preteen. Just saw it again on DVD and still think it's pretty awesome. DVD picture quality isn't the greatest but all that teen angst is awesome and Justine Bateman still rocks. Was a bit surprised to see Julia Roberts who I had no recollection of but Liam Neeson is probably the reason I ended up living in Europe. That accent!!

I'd definitely recommend it if you just want to kick back, relax. Watch some big 80s hair and funny girl band stuff. The other cast members are pretty cool too although not as memorable. Couldn't get over Julia Roberts in this movie dressed similarly to the way she was dressed in Pretty Woman.

I loved it and definitely recommend it for feel good flash backs.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Nostalgia factors huge into my review....
pixidrizzl26 May 2003
I haven't seen this in ages but I can tell you, as a teen I watched it over and over and over. I'm not sure how it would hold up to new viewers, though. It's a really fun film about a girl band trying to "make it" and facing all the dilemmas that can pop up when a bands just starting to get a feel for themselves and their music. Each member has a unique personality that really meshes in a fun way. I hope they issue this one out on DVD at some point because I'll be first in line to purchase.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Guilty Pleasure
hoshi_8227210 June 2003
Justine Bateman was probably the primary pull, or point of interest for me - from 'Family Ties'. I saw this movie when I was younger (high school perhaps). I even made several attempts to locate/purchase the soundtrack. To this day, I still sing their version of 'Iko Iko'. I had no clue who Julia Roberts was at this time - but her character did stick with me. This movie is fun to go back and watch now, with all of its cast who have gone on to further their careers.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not a good film by any stretch of the imagination
Meredith-726 May 1999
Not a good film by any stretch of the imagination. The storyline is a shocker and the acting is, at times, quite bad. However, seeing Julia Roberts and Liam Neeson in early roles before they were big stars makes it worthwhile. The one redeeming feature about this mess is the dog! He is so cute! But Justine Bateman is just awful, can't sing, can't act and can't talk properly. It's no wonder her big stardom has been confined to Family Ties.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A bubblegum movie that makes bubblegum seem like a bad idea
moonspinner555 August 2001
The rock-loving teens in this movie don't seem to know anything about making music. We get no information about their musical backgrounds, and their idea of jamming is to feign a version of "Iko Iko" while driving in their stolen van (I say 'feign' because the sound of their unison vocals is distinctly studio-enhanced). There's one guy in the otherwise all-girl band, and they make him sleep behind a sheet--out of modesty?--and yet the girls themselves are sexually active and think nothing of having sex in that van until the damn thing just about topples over. The movie wants to have it both ways: be a modern look at streetwise teens and yet also be an old-fashioned musical. Justine Bateman works hard in the leading role, but she seems to suffocate under the plastic handling; newcomer Julia Roberts shows off a nice sense of sarcastic humor, but the movie is an underachiever, with oldies-rock tunes given '80s makeovers that wouldn't pass muster on Star Search. ** from ****
16 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great '80s Comedy!
fechka-126 August 2005
So this is not one of the best movies from the '80s, but it made a big impact on me because of Julia Roberts. I thought she was so cool, and I copied a lot of my fashion styles after her character in the movie (big hair and all). Being a child of the '80s I've been slowly collecting many of the classic comedies, and this one has been on my list for a while. So when I discovered last month that it was finally coming out on DVD and at a great price, I pre-ordered my copy. It has some really good moments and good one-liners, like when Julia Roberts' character, Daryle is told by one of the preppy guys she's seeing "You're different from the other girls", she responds "I can work really hard to be the same", or when Daryle is explaining to Billy that getting married is a natural thing, Billy responds "Dying is natural too, but you don't see people rushing to do that". So if you want to take a trip back to the '80s or if you're a Julia Roberts fan, this movie is for you.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Forgettable Early Roberts Role
CitizenCaine11 April 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Julia Roberts made her first credited film appearance in this late 80's girl band movie. Four girls and a token guy, a geeky one at that, travel to a beach coast roadhouse to be the summer house band. When the owner takes a liking to them, they could be headed for Europe where his friend can set the girls up. Are you kidding me? These girls don't sound good enough for that kind of opportunity. The girl band is headed by Family Ties girl: Justine Bateman on lead vocals; Britta Phillips is on lead guitar; Julia Roberts is on bass; Trini Alvarado is on drums. They all seem to have been cast with big hair in mind, popular in the late 80's. Scott Coffey is the token male on keyboards. The girls are all different clichéd types: Phillips is the simpleton stoner with an over-abundance of brainless comments; Roberts is the slut girl supposedly; Alvarado is the tough girl that falls for geeky Coffey! Of course that would never happen in real life. Bateman's character isn't fleshed out enough for us to know how to identify with her. She comes off as street savvy, but then melts into Liam Neeson's arms. He plays the club owner where the girls stay for the summer, and he is far too old for someone of Bateman's ilk, as portrayed in this movie. I didn't really believe he was ever that interested in her. The subplot about the guy gang is ludicrous and serves no purpose. The 80's synthesizer bridging music is annoying at times. Deborah Harry, of Blondie fame, has a cameo as sort of an acquaintance of Neeson's. The film has a couple of funny moments, but is mostly forgettable. Watch it only if you have nothing better to do, like washing your big hair. * of 4 stars.
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Blech!
alansmithee0424 April 2004
One thing I would like to do before I die is find out who it was that told Justine Bateman she could sing and slap that person into a coma.

If this stunningly mediocre attempt at a "teen comedy" didn't actually kill the subgenre it at least delivered it a mortal wound. It looks like it was filmed through a dung lens and sounds like it was written by a team of gently retarded clams. And what Hollywood studio cretin thought Liam Neeson and Justine Bateman would be a good romantic pair? I've seen more sparks coming from a thoroughly wet sparkler!

Lets see, in "Satisfaction" we've got the usual group of teen girl stereotypes with Julia Roberts in her first credited roll as Daryle, (the Loose Girl), Trini Alvarado as Mooch (the Tough Girl) and Britta Phillips as Billy (the Crazy Girl). Throw them into a retreaded plot from "Where The Boys Are" and set it all on the ugliest beach on either coast and you've got a good idea what this mess is like.

Or better yet, just hit yourself in the face with a cookie sheet for 92 minutes. Gah!
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A solid 3
mm-3913 May 2004
Some people will calls this film a chick flick, I prefer to say it is geared for a teenage women audience. With this in mind I fould it awful. Too sappy, predictable and reminds me of the low budget Bartell Drive inn movies. The all girl band headed out too the beach is toooo predictable. Their characters at best get across as cardbord. The tough girl etc. Even for an escapist movie, where the viewer turn his or her brain off, this film's script is too thin. I watched this with my wife late night, and could not care less for the conclusion. I left not really wanting to know about what happens too the band, or their love interest. For a film I found soaps have better wrighting. This film probably was done quick, on the cheap and it shows. Stay away unless your only other choice is Isthar at the video store. 3 Out of 10
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WARNING: This Movie May Cause Paralysis, Nose Bleeds and Suicidal Thoughts
TheDrizzle7717 August 2009
I was pretty sure, when I saw that Liam, Julia and Justine Bateman in a movie together, it was going to be somewhat decent. Well much to my chagrin. This movie was like a two way portal, ala some violent mirror in which I saw myself poking my eyes out with icepicks through the television screen to stop the pain.

Justine was just awful at singing, the Benny Hill, fast forward scene at the beach just made me cringe from head to toe and every concert scene was just.....well, can you guess the remorseful, disgusting feelings I have towards this movie.

I sat through this, I climbed this treacherous journey from the base camp to the pinnacle on a mountain from hell, so you don't have too. Take it from me, and where I came from. This movie will make you feel like a new asshole. It will give you a disease you never know existed. Please resist and refrain from watching this movie. I BEG YOU ALL.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
entertaining rock fluff
zimbo_the_donkey_boy29 July 2003
You have to like rock music to enjoy this flick. Don't watch it expecting to gain deep understanding of the female psyche behind power pop bands. Ignore the trappings that Hollywood just had to add to the story. Bateman does a fine job. Phillips was ok. I found Roberts totally forgettable. It's too bad that this movie was considered a failure because it didn't catapult Bateman to (fellow Family Ties) Fox's level of fame. It's fine as what it is, a fun bit of rock fluff. And now I rewatch it every few years to relive my youth.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
teenage rock and roll
djillson823 February 2010
Satisfaction is a teenage graduation music adventure come to life! Its about love and friendship. Music and trusting in your closest friends! After graduation and a fast escape from city life a rock and roll band of friends: Jennie Lee, Mooch, Nickie, Billy, and Daryle(Julia Roberts) visit the coast for the summer. They find an upscale bar and stay with its owner(liam Neeson) for the summer. They stay in his boat "shed" and make it a temporary home of their own! They are all confused about life and what they should be doing for the summer and why they are even there, but the music never stops and the girls sing, dance and party their summer away. The Girls fall in and out of love, The music rocks but the singing never dies it just moves on! The summer seems to have flown by and not everyone wants to leave! Separating stinks, but the girls head for home.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I can't get no
JohnSeal18 March 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Call me a glutton for punishment. I've now seen this wretched rock fantasy three times, and think I can safely call it a day after this. Bluntly, there is nothing remotely believable about Satisfaction. For starters, why would a group of rockin', freshly graduated from high school in 1988 girls spend their day playing old R&B numbers? I can buy them performing the titular Stones number, and C'mon Everybody is virtually impossible to ruin, but the cowbell-driven take on Knock on Wood is awful and the reggae-rific version of Mr. Big Stuff is a joke (and that joke just isn't funny anymore). Only some very powerful psychotropics could possibly convince anyone that Justine Bateman's Liam Neeson accompanied rendition of Dedicated to the One I Love is the future of rock and roll. And please--when was the last time an all-covers band was mooted for a European tour? Has that ever happened? I guess it's nice that Elvis Costello collects a royalty check every time Satisfaction plays on TV (the girls butcher Mystery Dance mid-movie), but that's not much compensation for what is otherwise a thoroughly awful film. Awful, awful, awful!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Had no idea bad could be this bad
helpless_dancer19 April 2002
Think of everything that could be wrong with a film, triple these things, cover them with a coat of raw sewage then set them on fire and you will have a piece of charbroiled pigslop called "Satisfaction". Tepid, low rent comedy dealing with 4 simpering teen rocker wannabe girls and their dorked out boyfriend. I figure the actors had a better time making this bilge than anybody could ever have watching it. If Jagger were dead [and watching this drivel could very well have led to his demise] he'd be permanently spinning in his expensive English casket. Gad!
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Must Have Seemed Like A Good idea At The Time
aimless-4618 March 2009
If you've always suspected that combining elements from "Times Square" (1980), "Josie and the Pussycats" (2001), and "Summer of '42" (1971) would be an extremely bad idea, look no further than "Satisfaction" for confirmation. Although "Times Square" fans (the film from which "Satisfaction" steals the most) will frequently cringe during the viewing experience, the fusion of these three films is not a totally bad idea.

It did give Trini Alvarado, eight years later, a chance to play the tough girl Nicky Marotta part, the character she played against in "Times Square". Although she plays her less like Robin Johnson did and more like Tara Reid's Cybil in "Girl" (1998). An underrated actress, Alvarado carries too much baggage (nice girl type-casting and too sweet a face) into this role to even begin to sell it. A much better idea that might have saved the film would have been for her and co-star Justin Bateman to switch parts. Bateman is capable of looking mean and is really too limited as an actress for a part with the degree of dimensionality of Jennie Lee.

I've never quite grasped the popularity of Julia Roberts but for her mega-fans "Satisfaction" is a must see. The script doesn't give her much to work with but it is an opportunity to see her when she was this young. Of course there is some retrospective perverse amusement to be had at the idea of Roberts and Liam Neeson playing second banana's to the talent challenged Bateman,

Britta Phillips' career rocketed forward from this film with 65 episodes as the voice of the title character in "Jem and the Holograms". Nice voice, excellent casting choice, and a cute performance; she and Chris Nash at least manage to give a fair amount of authenticity to the production.

Director Joan Freeman of Streetwalkin' (1985) fame has never done another feature; after these casting decisions it is not hard to figure out why. Maybe she is just another innocent victim of an Aaron Spelling production, she clearly was not a budding Allan Moyle. Likewise Screenwriter Charles Purpura; although his script is no worse than a lot of stuff currently getting feature treatment and the outdated slang no doubt sounded less lame in 1988.

Although full of terrible music (covers of classic rock tunes performed slightly worse than when arranged for your high school band's halftime show) the film did connect with its primary target audience, discontented teenage girls who were not so disillusioned that they could not still get off on an identification jag with a group of squeaky clean girl rockers. Those looking for a more real "growing up is painful " experience should stick with "Times Square" and the more recent "Pretty Persuasion".

Then again, what do I know? I'm only a child.

Comment | Permalink
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not THAT Bad!
dgordon-117 June 2002
I have always had a soft spot for this movie. I have watched it a few times on TV, and was surprised to still see it in print on video. I must say I enjoyed it a lot more on video because there are no commercials! There seems to be a real mixed bag of opinions on this movie. To sum it up, it's light entertainment, and a fun movie. The music, the situations the girls get themselves into make it a movie that will cheer you up if you are feeling down. I gave this '80s classic an 8, just because of the sheer fun of the movie and the cool characters within it.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Roberts And Neeson In Their Early Roles
Desertman8430 January 2020
"Satisfaction" stars Justine Bateman and Trini Alvardo together with Liam Neeson, and Julia Roberts,both of whom in their early roles before achieving stardom.

The movie tells about the story of graduates from a high school that head for audition during summer. Although the are from being a great band,we get to see that the club owner gets impressed that prompted them to have a summer gig in his place.

The movie had interesting themes on friendship,drug use, and love affairs. It also has interesting themes on dreams and ambitions. But overall,it was a forgettable movie. By today's standards,it is definitely dated considering it was released more than 30 years ago.This is especially true with the music as it is definitely dated by today's standards. The only fulfillment in it is the early roles of Julia Roberts(her film debut) and Liam Neeson,who became prominent stars later in their career.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Underdeveloped Storytelling Left Me Unsatisfied
sundialpictures-0165717 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
All of the elements for a fun band musical are there, but something went awry in either the editing bay or the script development. It just feels like there are whole scenes missing, scenes that would have fleshed out the characters and given us more time to get to know and care about them. There are glimmers of that here and there (for instance, there's a nice scene between the band's keyboardist and the drummer when they're first falling in love, but it's never followed up again, we never see that subplot develop at all). We're basically given the cliff notes version of what could have been a decent-ish two hour movie or maybe it would've been better served as a dramedy television series (those were gaining popularity around the time this came out).
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage.
aac4521 October 2018
A teenybopper feel good film that has dated badly. Horrible acting and even more horrible soundtrack.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
bland 80's
SnoopyStyle20 December 2017
Recent graduate Jennie Lee (Justine Bateman) is the lead singer of her band Mystery. Mooch (Trini Alvarado) is the drummer. Billy (Britta Phillips) is the wild lead guitarist. Bassist Daryle (Julia Roberts) gets a marriage proposal. The girls are trying to play at the beach for the summer. Their pianist is in jail and Jennie picks up classical pianist neighbor Nickie (Scott Coffey). They audition and get a gig at producer Martin Falcon (Liam Neeson)'s beach nightclub. The songs are standards. The performing is functional. Having a real musician helps but they are generally limited. It's amazing to see Roberts and Neeson as well as 80's stars Bateman and Alvarado. The plot is straight forward and bland. The writing is relatively weak. The acting is functional. If this is a star vehicle for Bateman, it needs a tune up. She never could make that jump from TV to movies.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Satisfaction is Anything But *1/2
edwagreen25 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
The best part of this awful film is when the ending credits are rolling and you hear the band playing and singing the title song.

Trouble is that the film is anything but good. 4 teenage girls and a young guy embark on a summer of fun when they land a job playing as a band at a beach resort. One girl is an orphan, but nothing is said about the other teens' parents. They just hop in a van and go.

We have what could fall into a beach blanket movie with singing,gaiety, an attempted suicide and a romance between Justine Bateman and Liam Neeson, a widowed song writer who shall we say has a lot on his mind.

Of course, Neeson likes the band so much that he wants them to defer school and go rock in Europe.

I added the extra 1/2 star since the film did end correctly, that is, that school comes first. Unfortunately, this film comes in last.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
crazy enough to dream about
Aprodia2 November 2004
to make a band...that's been a dream of mine since i'm able to dream!!! and the love story between Nick and Mooch is very sweet. I'm a lot like her so guess what i'm dreaming about - the same thing to happen to me! anyway, the film is totally awesome - watch it. by the way i have to say that the songs were very cool: i mean, satisfaction, mr. Big stuff, and so on.... besides they're really good - they're playing well if they had a CD , i would buy it.

so that's from me hope u follow my advice and watch it - it's really good
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
WHAT A GIRL ROCK BAND SHOULD BE!
popliebel4 March 2003
SATISFACTION is quite possibly the best "girl band makes it big" film ever. It definitly set the standard for films of a later generation, i.e. Spice World. The Spice Girls could definitly take a lesson or two from the girls of Mystery, which includes Family Ties starlet Justine Bateman and Academy Award Winner Julia Roberts. These girls have it all, and Bateman sure can play a mean cowbell in their cover of Knock On Wood. A must see, you're sure to get plenty of SATISFACTION!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great 80s Movie!!!
arielle-harris27 October 2005
If you grew up in the states, in the 80s, than you will love this movie. It is cheesy, but that is the point. I have to say it may be different to watch for the first time post millennium. However, watching it again after several years, it is still awesome.

The music is great (again maintain perspective here, it is a fun, not serious, 80s movie) and I wish they had a soundtrack.

Seeing Malory from Family ties (lead singer) and Julia Roberts as a younger actress brings back so many memories!

Great movie to watch with girlfriends on a Friday night or with your big/little sister to go back in time for an hour and a half.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Totally Unsatisfying.
tfrizzell14 August 2002
Michael J. Fox's successful jump from "Family Ties" to the big screen made Justine Bateman a marketable commodity as well in this small and really totally unimpressive quick-flick. Bateman is the head of a small rock band that gets a gig in a bar in California and naturally Bateman falls in love with a then-unknown Liam Neeson. The typical things occur as this is little more than another long music video from the 1980s. Julia Roberts is also along for the ride as one of the girls in Bateman's band. Watching Neeson and Roberts in this mess is really interesting, but they were not stars yet and in the end "Satisfaction" cannot boost past the dreaded bomb status. Turkey (0 stars out of 5).
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed