Metro (1997) Poster

(1997)

User Reviews

Review this title
55 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Although It's Nothing Special, Metro is a Solid Action Movie Regardless
wchngliu31 July 2007
Metro appears to be a low-budget action affair, which whilst it has nothing new to offer, shows us a different side to Eddie Murphy as an actor that we hadn't seen before in his previous films. People have in the past often compared this to Beverly Hills Cop 1, in terms of the fact that they are both your typical, run- of- the- mill cop movies, but the comparisons seem to come to an end when you compare that film to Metro, in terms of plot, character types and the fact that Eddie Murphy doesn't joke about as negotiator/cop Scott Roaper that often. Not like his predecessor, Axel Foley. Here, as Roaper he is much more serious and not as laid back in contrast to his most famous movie character. Metro plays out as a straight out action movie that isn't reliant on laughs, which in itself is no bad thing. One of the main problems that some of the audiences had, in regards to their expectations of Metro, was by assuming that it would be something similar on the lines of Beverly Hills Cop. It has its funny moments, but these are few and far between throughout the film, as the narrative in Metro is very much serious and the standard cop thriller we'd come to expect.

Overall, Metro is not a bad effort and the action sequences are well executed. Murphy gives a surprising turn and performance as Roaper and thus it makes a change to see him in an almost completely non-comedic role, which he does well in.

Not bad indeed.
24 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Murphy's most overlooked performance & movie!
Chris9979 June 2002
Metro, starring Eddie Murphy, may well be worth your viewing time. Yes it got a fair amount of negative reviews from people who wanted to see another "Nutty Professor" or thought of "Metro" as Murphy trying to play Axel Foley again. Others had problems with the script, the plot, the pace of the film, but nobody cared to mention how good Murphy actually is in this. His character is a San Francisco hostage negotiator, named Scott Roper, who one day meets his worst enemy in a jewel thief (played wonderfully by Michael Wincott) who makes his job a nightmare. From that point on a cat & mouse chase between Murphy & Wincott develops, & plays it's part in a rather amusing way. I don't want to give a lecture here on this subject, because movies like "Metro" are just made to entertain the viewer. "Metro" is a solid action film, with some suspense, some great stunts, and very good performances from the whole cast. Murphy, in what I think is one of his better roles, gives us his comedic touch, but this is more of a dramatic, serious role for him. I saw not Murphy, but Scott Roper, throughout the whole movie. A sure sign that an actor is doing his job quite well! - Murphy is superb.
23 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid action movie
Fiona G.16 April 2000
Perhaps the biggest problem in Eddie Murphy's career always was, that people expected him to be a fast talking guy whose mouth gets him in and out of trouble. As soon as he tried to escape that formula, viewers were in for a disappointment and found his movies below than average.

If you leave that behind, "Metro" is a solid action movie with a couple of remarkable stunt scenes. It's also very delightful to see that it tries to leave some of the usual "veteran cop gets rookie partner" routine behind and playfully mocks some standard suspense elements: you see a young girl in front of her opened bathroom mirror searching for something. The music swells. She starts to close it and what does the viewer expect? To see the face of the killer when the mirror closes. But nada. Those are really refreshing bits.

Murphy's performance is quite solid, the story is what to expect from an action movie and refreshed, as I said, by the bits above.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Actually not as bad as it seems
Psycho Mantis27 July 2001
Eddie Murphy plays a hostage negotiator in San Francisco, he lives a dangerous life, but he still thinks it´s pretty okay. One thing he doesn´t think is okay is when his friends gets killed. But that is just what happens, his best friend is murdered by an evil jewel-thief, and now Murphy wants revenge.

The plot in "Metro" did not really impress me when I heard about it. Eddie Murphy as a comical hostage negotiator... It sounds pretty corny to me, but it was actually not as bad as it first seemed. The action scenes are well made, especially the breath taking car chases down the steep streets of San Francisco.

But I can´t really say the movie was good. The plot is not very original, this could actually have been titled "Beverly Hills Cop 4" and no one would have noticed. Between the action scenes there aren´t very much to write home about. Murphy is occasionally funny, but he can be really annoying too.

The best thing in "Metro" is definitely the villain, played by the underrated Michael Wincott. He is truly the perfect bad guy. That rasping voice, that glance in his eyes, wow! He can make even the simplest villain into a terrifying monster, which he should be highly praised for. And I wonder if not this guy holds the record in movie-deaths? I´ve seen Wincott in about ten movies, and he gets to meet his maker in all of them! I almost feel sorry for him, but I don´t think he´s complaining too much. If he dies in "Metro" or not, I´ll let you figure out for yourself.

Back to "Metro" now. If you don´t expect any clever ideas, just some good action sequences with a silly plot, it´s not that bad. But on the other hand, not that good either.

* * ½ out of * * * * *
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
In its entirety, just a fun movie
MovieAddict20168 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
* Brief Spoiler *

It's a breath of fresh air when an action movie these days simply resorts to the typical clichés and doesn't try to impress the viewer too much. Twenty years ago this would have been bad. Now, with each and every movie trying to surpass the last entry into the genre and, for the most part, ending up as an overblown bore, the standard action flicks are wanted more than anything.

"Metro" (1997) is just that. It's got some of the oldest tricks in the books while adding lots of neat stunts and action pieces. Towards the end, the female love interest of the hero is tied to a metal mechanism that will slice the girl's head off if the red safety button is not pressed. The villain lets go, the hero presses the button as quickly as he can, and moments later the villain returns with a sports car, driving right towards the hero. If he lets go of the button, the girl's head comes off. If he doesn't move, though, the villain will run him over with the car and the girl will die anyway. What's he do?

It's the classic action ideas such as this that help the movie. It reminded me of those old silent movies where the dastardly villain would tie a helpless girl to a railroad track, then climb into his stolen steam train and surge down the track towards her. But "Metro" also leaves room for car chases and shoot-outs - in one scene, a San Francisco trolley is hijacked by the bad guy, and the hero pulls up alongside the trolley in a Cadillac, jumps aboard, fights the villain, ends up pushing the full speed lever, and ramming the trolley into cars and right off of its line. It proceeds to scrape along the sloping road, off its tracks, scraping metal, ramming into everything in its path.

It reminded me of the car chase in "The Rock," another good action movie with a visibly larger budget but the same fun quotient as "Metro," which is "Beverly Hills Cop" meets "The Negotiator," for the most part.

Action movies always have setups that pay nothing to the movie other than a character introduction. "Metro" has a great one. We are introduced to the hero, Roper (Eddie Murphy), who is *not* the film critic on Ebert & Roeper, the latter of whom I could not get out of my head every time the name Roper was said on-screen.

Roper is a hostage negotiator. He talks down the bad guys from what they're doing, and when things get really bad he has to take drastic action - such as shooting the bad guy in cold blood. Roper does this in the beginning after a funny and original setup scene, in which he walks into a building with a bag of donuts. The hostage taker doesn't believe they're just donuts. "Open the bag!" he says. His hostage takes the bag, opens it, and shows him donuts. "They're just donuts!" he says.

In another type of action movie, perhaps Roper would have concealed a gun in the donut bag. Not in "Metro," which pays its respects to the other action movies such as "Beverly Hills Cop" that helped make Eddie Murphy what he is today. I read a short review on "Metro" that said Roper, Eddie Murphy's character, is another loud-mouthed, unlikable character of the sort that Eddie spoofed with Buddy Love in "The Nutty Professor." I beg to differ. Sure, he's loud-mouthed, but what Eddie Murphy character isn't? He's much more likable than some Murphy characters I can think of off-hand.

I could go into the plot of "Metro," but I'm not sure it really matters. For the most part, I've got to say it's routine but it has its little twists and surprising moments along the way. Roper is training a new kid to take his place some day. The kid is played by Michael Rapaport, who succeeds in making his character smart and equally likable. I knew what was going to happen to him. As soon as I saw him I said, "At the end he'll get shot but he'll survive." Well, it happens. But for what it's worth, "Metro" is a lot better than I thought it would be, with some great action sequences, sly humor, likable characters, and plentiful nods towards the standard action films out there, some (such as the decapitating machine) dating back to the adventure films of the silent era.

"Metro" is, in its entirety, a fun movie.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
In some ways average, other ways quite good.
ashleybrownmedia5 August 2013
For the first hour of this film all I could think of was how average it was, I even had an average review written in my head for it. However, there are certain scenes, thrills and aspects - e.g. the ending predicament that are actually pretty good and will throw you.

Eddie Murphy plays a 'wisecracking' hostage negotiator, although tbh he's very much the 'serious' Eddie Murphy for most of the film. I prefer the fun Beverly Hills Cop guy, but there we go. There is a scene where he's talking about being in a thong and being seen by his mother's friends that is hilarious though. Plot-wise he basically gets on the wrong side of some nutter and his cousin and they conspire to make life hell for him and his English girlfriend. The female lead is a tad weak in this, and I must admit I've never ever heard of her (although I was 7 when this film came out - maybe she was big then) but she looked good - Carmen Ejogo she is.

Michael Rapaport is in this as well, as an intelligent sniper who is paired up with Murphy. Now I thought, judging by the cover etc, this was gonna be a buddy cop movie but Rapaport (an actor I like) is underused really. Don't get me wrong he's in the film a fair bit but his character has next to no personality. All I learnt was he's polite, sharp, from the Swat team and is a sniper. That's it. The film could have been done without his character if they wanted to save whatever fee he commanded.

Whoever plays Eddie Murphy and Carme Ejogo's dog is good in this though. Stellar, powerhouse performance reminded me of Hanks in The Green Mile or Orson Welles in Citizen Kane.

So yeah, mixed bag really - there's hate for post-80s Murphy films sure, but this is one of the better ones. It's a solid watch (on netflix atm) and there's some good action and the bad guy is easy to hate, so there's a lot worse out there. I won't strongly recommend but I'll say it's worth a shot - you know what you're going to get.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Neked in Tahiti.
hitchcockthelegend14 January 2009
Scott Roper is a wise cracking hostage negotiator, he is however exceptionally good at his job. After bringing down a particularly nasty bank robber called Michael Korda, he sets about winning his old girlfriend back whilst breaking in a new partner, Kevin McCall. When Korda escapes from prison there is only one thing on his mind, revenge, can Roper outwit Korda once again? And if so, at what cost?

There has always seemed to me to be something of a negative bias towards post 1980s Eddie Murphy (Roper) films, it appears that no matter what, nothing that comes close to his best 80s efforts will ever be deemed worthy. Now I'm not saying that Metro is a world beater, or even close to Beverly Hills Cop and Trading Places, but it's an accomplished thriller with classy bits of Murphy humour thrown in. It also boasts splendid support from Michael Rapaport as Roper's intelligent partner McCall, both men playing off each other to good effect, while Michael Wincott with his gravel voice used to full effect, is impressively devilish as the bad guy of the piece. Let down by a weak female lead in Carmen Ejogo, and certainly the familiarity of the genre loses the film any real sense of impending dread, but for a quick fix of nonsense entertainment on a blustery cold night, it's a more than OK viewing. 6/10
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Action Satisfaction
jellyneckr18 August 2000
If you rent this movie thinking it is another Eddie Murphy action-comedy, you better think again!!!! This movie is STRICTLY an action flick. Of course, that's not a complaint, it's just a statement. Murphy still is enjoyable as the hero. He's not playing Axel Foley from the BEVERLY HILLS COP movies, but he sure seems a lot like him. It also steals elements from some of his earlier films. In my opinion, this is a guy movie. The women will probally be bored by the non-stop action and the fact that the only woman in the movie is Eddie Murphy's girlfriend, but action fans will LOVE this movie!!!
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Standard cliché-ridden cop thriller
bob the moo27 July 2002
Fast talking police negotiator Scott Roper foils a bank robbery and catches the head thief. When the thief, Korda, escapes from jail, he comes after Roper. Roper meanwhile is trying to juggle his job, his girlfriend and train a sniper to become a negotiator like him.

This film was made before Nutty Porfessor but was held back because the makers realesed it was a bit of a dog by itself and decided to wait till Nutty Professor had made Murphy hot again before riding on that wave. Sadly I was one of those fooled into thinking that the hot new Murphy had made a cool cop thriller. Rather this is a by the numbers affair that has plenty of cliches and very little spark to it.

What spark there is, is added by Murphy's motor mouth performance – he is funny and lively even when the film isn't. Rapaport is also good despite everything else and British born Ejogo is good as Murphy's girlfriend. Wincott's villain is right out of a catalogue and is typical of the film's lack of initiative or spark.

Overall, like most average cop thrillers it's worth a watch once because it is just about entertaining. The problem is it is plain – average. It never rises above the norm and there are much better cop thrillers out there than this. The producers and studio knew it – who am I to argue.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's been seen before... but it's still fun to watch
TBJCSKCNRRQTreviews11 October 2006
Eddie Murphy as a foul-mouthed, loud-mouthed action lead? I'm in. True, the man has done little worth one's time past the 80's, but he's fun to watch with only a few exceptions. The plot and writing in general is cliché-ridden... the best way to enjoy the film is really to avoid thinking about it, and just going with it. The action scenes are fairly well-done, and the cinematography is decent enough. Whether or not you enjoy the frequent jokes appearing early on regarding one particular characters identity is difficult to say... personally, I found them to be somewhat cute. The humor in general is fair. The dialog is okay, but not terribly memorable. The plot progression is good enough. The action isn't breaking any new ground, but it manages to be exciting and intense, and fairly well-edited, as well. The finale is quite good, very good tension. The acting is good... Rapaport and Murphy work well together, and Wincott makes a good villain(as Alien: Resurrection will tell you, he makes an awesome bad guy, criminal type). The romantic interest of Murphy works well... they've got good on-screen chemistry, and their scenes together are credible. In conclusion; sure, we've seen all this before... but it's still good for a fun two hours. I recommend this to big fans of action films and/or Eddie Murphy. 6/10
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice to see Eddie Murphy attempt something that isn't an outright comedy.,
thirteenthfloorelevator20 February 2006
It doesn't always work, and Eddie Murphy is no substitute for a proper action star like Stallone or Mel Gibson, but at least he tries in this film. Metro has a clichéd plot about a diamond smuggler who murders Eddie's partner and it is Eddie's job to stop him, but Eddie does a great job and actually looks like he enjoys the role. He juggles the action and comedy scenes perfectly, and fortunately the two never overlap. The highlight of the film is the runaway tram scene, that is perfectly choreographed, and Michael Rapaport does a great job as Murphy's rookie partner. The film is not the best action movie around, but it is by no means the worst, and if you feel like being entertained for an evening, you could do a lot worse than this movie.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dopey But Fun Little Movie.
usualsuspect6947-13 July 2001
I was very surprised once I saw this movie. The action was very cool, Eddie was very funny and good. This is the type of movie that a father and his son should see and both enjoy. This is a true guilty pleasure. Even though the movie makes Eddie seem like the only capable character at talking someone out of commiting a crime. But thats what made it fun and goofy! The movie didn't take itself seriously, I like that. See it but don't expect THE GODFATHER just expect a goofy action flick. 8
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
top notch actioner
shakey_jake532 June 2003
Many reviews I have read about this film say it is a pretty bad movie, but I do not know what they are talking about. METRO is a very exciting and enjoyable police action-thriller. Eddie Murphy is very good in one of his more serious roles, and Michael Wincott is very good as the psycho jewel thief. Also, the action scene's were top notch, from the opening bank robbery scene, to the famous cable car chase. Fans of Eddie Murphy's comedy may be disappointed in the film, since it has a more serious tone to it and focuses more on action than comedy, but action fans will definitely enjoy this one. 4/5
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A rollicking good time, one of Murphy's best
The 80's and 90's saw the momentous rise of beloved funnyman Eddie Murphy within the action comedy genre, particularly the wise cracking cop niche. 48 Hrs kicked it off, the Beverly Hills Cop trilogy added to the snowball effect, and so it went. His manic charisma led to many a starring role, including the somewhat forgotten actioner Metro, one thats notable because it shows the actor in just as many serious situations as comedic ones. There's a tether on his sense of humour here, which in other films has been set to roam and end up where it may, often halting entire scenes for his non stop antics to play out. Here he gets a few moments like that, but even more to get seriously angry and tough, most likely helped by the fact that he's up against one of the most truly heinous villains he's ever had to face. Here he's Scott Roper, a fast talking, resourceful San Francisco hostage negotiator who flexes both brain and brawn in a tense opening confrontation with a loose-screw criminal (Donal Logue). We see right off the bat what an efficient dude he is, a nice precursor for the trying times ahead. He's inhabits a world chock full of every necessary genre element: a cranky police captain (Denis Arndt), a sexy girlfriend (stunning British gal Carmen Ejogo), a fresh out of the academy rookie partner (Michael Rapaport, not given much to do) a recently deceased former partner (Art Evans) to avenge, slain by the obligatory arch criminal, in this case psychotic jewel thief Michael Korda (Michael Wincott). Wincott makes Korda a truly detestable guy. Vile, slithery and absent of any shred of remorse, killing his way through the city with Roper hot on his tail. And there you have it, every necessary element in place for a solid cop flick, and one that's gotten very little attention over the years. There's neat action set pieces including a showstopper set aboard a speeding trolley car, endearing bits of comedy now and then from Murphy and some savage violence that proclaims the film's hard R rating proudly. Murphy and Wincott have a sizzling verbal dual, separated by prison glass that launches the scene into the stratosphere of intense profanity, with F bombs spewed off in rapid fire, tempers and talents of both actors in overdrive. Lukewarm reviews can be found all over for this one. Yeah its no 48 Hrs, but it earns it's stripes and to me is one of Murphy's very best, helped along quite a bit by Wincott's snarling, evil presence. Great fun.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
a great eddie murphy movie, a throwback to 48 hrs and Beverly hills cop
daworldismine9 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
i am a fan of eddie murphy when he is in the right vehicle's like 'coming to America' 'the nutty professor' and 'Beverly hills cop' but sometimes he makes some very bad movies like 'pluto nash' 'boomerang' and 'meet dave'. now metro is more like his older movies, raw, r rated action comedies, and its great, eddie murphy is very funny in this, and at times hes even quite serious, but the movie never loses its comedy, and at its core thats what this is, if i had to compare it to one eddie murphy film, it would have to be Beverly hills cop, the same sort of action and humour. the cast are grear and the action big and loud, its a great movie and i recommend to fans of eddie murphy and action films.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I just LOVED this movie
Sidadressage13 March 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I'm nor going to give any spoilers out, but this really was one of Eddie Murphy BEST roles! I only bought this one because of the two actors that I love are in it. Eddie & Michael Wincott. It really, for me was a Wincott buy. Being a woman I agree with the other member who said most women will find it boring. I'm not like most women who like film. I saw both Raider's and The Golden Child in the theaters 9-11 times. So that should tell you. I wish Murphy would do this type of quality again. Anyway, enough of my opinion. GOOD MOVIE!!! Fast paised, a few funny lines and. Murphy as well as Wincott was VERY strong. I love it when Wincott is a villain. He gives such a nasty SOB 'like' portrayal of the quintessential bad guy.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent action / suspense thriller - with added comedy.
williamgalileo22 March 2001
A great all-round thriller! I could not believe that this film only got a 5.4 rating when I looked. This is an excellent film. I could watch it all over again - which to me is the hallmark of a good movie. It has thrills, suspense, a clever plot with some neat twists, very good cinematography and direction, romance, comedy and some great one-liners. Need I say more? 9/10 for me.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Over the top but fun comedy thriller
jamiecostelo584 December 2006
Eddie Murphy tries to act serious as well as funny as Detective Scott Roper, and he actually carries it off rather well. Wanting revenge for his partner's death, he's led on a dangerous cat-and-mouse game with Michael Wincott, who will not let him win easily...

The main highlights of Metro are a thrilling car chase sequence and the explosive ending! This is not the best film I have ever seen, but Wincott is immensely good as criminal Korda, displaying an almost never-ending desire to bring Roper down, even if it means double murder....

Metro is a fast-paced thrilling (and funny) movie from start to finish containing many startling and cunning plots that may seem a little odd at first but smoothing out to a satisfactory conclusion. I can definitely understand why it was a huge success at the box-office: it is very enjoyable!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good Cop Flick
serf95 March 2004
Metro isn't really a movie that would make you feel you got your money's worth if you saw it at the cinema, because it doesn't have enough explosions but I just saw it on TV and the well-developed plot made it very satisfying.

The street car scene is quite riveting although a bit unconvincing, with Murphy jumping back and forth from a moving car to the street car -- the criminal points a gun at him once he's made it to the street car but doesn't shoot him (even though he's just killed some other people in the car). The street car minus the driver has built up so much speed that the brakes won't work so Murphy jumps acroos to land in his cop car to steer it in front of the moving street car to stop it that way -- showing how both cops are willing to risk their own lives using the car as a brake. Of course the street car comes to a halt JUST before the street car comes to the end of its line, where it would have taken out a crowd of people who just scream, refusing to move -- so yeah unconvincing but fun.

I believe this is one of Eddie Murphy's strongest performances ever but unfortunately he's in a movie that albeit very good, screams made-for-TV.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
METRO (DIDIER BECU)
Didier-Becu13 November 2003
Well, you feel sorry for Eddie Murphy when you are watching this movie as it is one from the times he still mattered as an actor and where movies by him were a synonym for great entertainment. I always thought that he was better in actionmovies then in the tons of comedies he starred in, so here he is a cop who has no fear and call it Beverly Hills Cop IV and you won't note anything different as his character is almost completely the same but still "Metro" works. The scenario is kind of simple, Eddie's best friend got shot by some diamondthief and that of course asks for revenge...pretty stupid you say, perhaps but then you haven't counted the superb stunts (the scene with the tramway is great) and the brilliant villain that is played by Michael Wincott. Quite good movie but why the hell is it called Metro? Not a subway in sight!!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great Action Sequences
Chucho-327 August 1999
'Metro' has some of the best action sequences I have ever seen and that is why I enjoyed this movie so much. Eddie Murphy isn't very funny in the film, but he is still good for the role and he does have his moments, but the real star is the action. Great bad guy too, very dark and mean. I highly recommend Metro, especially if one is in the mood for an action flick. The finale isn't as satisfying as one would hope, but it's still good.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cliched, But Vastly Under Rated
slightlymad2225 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Continuing my plan to watch every Eddie Murphy movie in order, I come to Metro (1997)

Plot In A Paragraph: Scott Roper a hostage negotiator for the San Francisco Police Department.

Murphy gives a solid performance as Roper, I expected motor mouth, fast talking Murphy here, and I didn't get him. What I did get was a straight action performance. And I liked it. His hair was silly, but I liked his performance.

It's a formula action piece (from the writer of Tango & Cash) it hits most of the action movie steps.

Step 1: Action movies always start in the middle of a crisis, establish the hero, and then move into the story. Usually the early crisis is followed by a quiet domestic scene: Roper negotiates with a bank robber and then meets his former girlfriend. Step 2: Hero gets a new partner: Roper gets a new partner named McCall (Rapaport) Step 3: After a friend is killed by the bad guy. The Hero vows revenge despite his Chief not allowing him on the case: A colleague of Roper's is killed by the movie's diamond thief, Roper vows revenge. Of course the chief wont give him the case as it's too personal. Roper continues to chase the guy anyway. At least we were spared the Chief telling him to hand in his badge and gun. Step 4: A car chase causing untold damage to civilian cars: A streetcar speeds downhill out of control, crashing into dozens of cars, as Roper and McCall chase it. Step 5. Hero's wife/girlfriend will be kidnapped and threatened with death unless the hero does what the villain wants: Ropers ex, who we saw at the beginning, has her life put in jeopardy!' Step 6. Hero and new partner (he didn't want) save the day. If the new partner lives that long: Check!!

And I enjoyed the hell out of it. I seriously enjoyed myself watching this. This will be one of Murphy's movies that I will keep in my collection. Art Evans (Die Hard 2) pops up in a small but recognisable role. Surprised we never saw more of him in the 90's. The action scenes are cleverly directed and Eddie Murphy is back on his game again, Rapaport is always good and Wincott is a smart, creepy killer. Great entertainment for me.

Metro grossed $32 million at the domestic box office (failing to bring back its $55 million budget.) to end the year the 65th highest grossing movie of 1997. Such a shame, as it deserved more recognition.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
No brain power required
Leofwine_draca28 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This passable thriller works on slickness alone. While it offers up nothing above convention to its genre, each clichéd action scene is directed and photographed with expense and effort which make the movie an enjoyable watch. I'm also surprised to hear myself say this, but the casting of Eddie Murphy actually works here and he puts in a good, solid performance as the wisecracking negotiator who wins our hearts as the film progresses. Although typecast as a comedian, Murphy passes nicely as an action movie hero and is supported by an above-average cast, including Michael Rapaport who plays his new partner. However, acting honours must go to Michael Wincott, that gravelly-voiced villain who puts in a wonderful turn as the creepy bad guy here; however, he's pretty good in all of his movies.

The couple of hostage scenes in this film are inventive and highly taut, and there's a great gruesome gag involving a severed ear. The film's highlight comes at around halfway through which begins with a car chase through the streets of San Francisco and ends on a runaway tram. Seemingly endless cars go artistically flying through the air at every opportunity before crashing back to earth and the adrenaline is certainly pumping at these moments. Added to this, villain Wincott is nearly indestructible in this movie which makes the various chase scenes exciting and enjoyable to watch. The finale is set in a clichéd old warehouse on the docks and ends with a big explosion as you would expect, along with throwing in an imminent death for the heroine if Murphy doesn't get there fast enough. Clichéd but fun, METRO is a highly enjoyable movie which won't require the brain to be in gear but successfully entertains the viewer throughout.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Eddie Murphy in a darker police movie
SnoopyStyle18 May 2015
Scott Roper (Eddie Murphy) is the best hostage negotiator in the San Francisco Police Department. After rescuing hostages in a bank, he's given new partner Kevin McCall (Michael Rapaport) to train to take over. His recently broken up girlfriend Veronica Tate (Carmen Ejogo) is a newspaper reporter. His best friend Lieutenant Sam Baffert is investigating jewel thief Michael Korda (Michael Wincott) and is killed by him. Scott wants revenge but Captain Frank Solis is keeping him out of the investigation.

Eddie Murphy is playing a loud-mouth police detective except he's not wisecracking funny like Axel Foley. He seems to have lost some of his comedic luster of his earlier work. Also Eddie is trying to go darker in this one. Michael Rapaport is basically playing the same kind of character but they don't have the best chemistry. The problem is that the script lacks intensity or sharpness. Eddie doesn't have quite the personality for this type of police drama either. The movie does have an extended car chase through the hills of SF which has some fun carnage.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
who am i
kairingler27 December 2013
I enjoyed Metro,, along with Michael Rapport as his sidekick,, they pack a good one , two punch,, have to love that line in the movie where Eddie thinks he get's the vehicle of his choice at the impound garage,, he's like this is my vehicle.. the capt says,, no this is you're vehicle.. and the look on Eddie's face is priceless,, this old beat up truck from the early 70's or late 60's.. he chimes out,,,, Who am I,,,, Red Foxx.. I couldn't stop laughing,,, Eddie Murphy plays a hostage negotiator in this one,, and his partner knows sign language which will come in handy later on in the movie,, fast paced lot's of action ,, and an evil villain for the cops to go up against,, what's not to like,, lot's of comedy and action..
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed