Bride of Chucky (1998) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
316 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Silly but fun
preppy-36 July 2006
Chucky (the murderous doll from "Child's Play" and 2 crappy sequels) is dead. But his ex-girlfriend Tiffany (Jennifer Tilly) gets his remains and (using "Voodoo for Dummies") revives him. Then, through circumstances too convoluted to get into, SHE is killed and has her soul put into another doll! Together they fall in love and kidnap a nice couple (Nick Stabile, Katherine Heigl) to take them to Chuck's coffin to get an amulet to make Chucky and Tiffany real people again...

A lot better than it sounds. After the last two sequels to "Child's Play" (both of which were horrible) I was expecting the worst, but this actually was lots of fun. The movie doesn't take itself seriously for a second (seriously--how could it?) and the lines and situations are actually quite funny. Also there are a few VERY gory murders thrown in to satisfy us horror fans and the film never stops moving. The movie also has a few things usually not found in a horror movie--a gay best friend (Gordon Michael Woolvett) who is intelligent and not played for laughs and a sequence in which Stabile has his shirt off just to show his muscular body. John Ritter has a nice cameo too as a sheriff.

The acting is good--Stabile is young, VERY handsome and likable; Heigl doesn't have much to do but pulls it off and Brad Dourif (the voice of Chucky) and Tilly are hilarious as the murderous dolls. My favorite part is when the dolls have sex (don't ask) and she asks for a rubber and he responds, "But I'm MADE of rubber!" The special effects are good (no lousy CGI here) and this is one of the few horror films to mix humor and violence in an entertaining way. Well worth seeing. I give it a 9.
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Who The (Beep) Is Martha Stewart?(**** Out Of ****).
kylehaines9613 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Well my opinion has changed for this one because if you remember last time I gave this movie 3 1/2 out of 4, now it is up to the full 4. So just why is this one the one sequel that I like out of all the others? Well a lot of good reasons come into mind.

The film picks up about a month after Child's Play 3, where Chucky's remains are stolen by Tiffany played by Jennifer Tilly and she takes them back to her house and sews them together. When her wannabe goth killer boyfriend comes over, Chucky comes alive and kills the boyfriend in a very bloody death. It is revealed that Tiffany and Chucky were dating before Charles Lee Ray was put inside the doll. They at first are happy but Tiffany locks Chucky in a playpen because Tiffany was under the false impression that Chucky was going to propose to her. Chucky, Now raging mad, Kills Tiffany and puts her inside of a doll body. They take a couple played by Nick Stabile and Katherine Heigel hostage and plan to posses their souls.

The first good thing is the story. I really like how they don't really go after Andy here and instead go after new people. However They at least could have mentioned him more than they did, at least more than a newspaper article. Also I love the idea of giving Chucky a bride so he can have another doll to interact with.

The next is the Bride Of Chucky. Her character is really well done here and I like how Jennifer Tilly does voice Tiffany. The look of the Bride is pretty cool with the doll starting out as a wedding doll and then transformed in this goth/biker chick look. Plus Chucky gets lucky, twice. The first is, obviously when he gets married but the second is when he really gets "Lucky" if you know what I mean.

The next is the special effects which are better than the last two. Chucky is now all scarred up and this look is pretty frightening but to be completely honest I found his appearance in the first film more scary, But I do love the look they go with and this look does continue into Seed Of Chucky.

The last is the acting. Stabile and Heigel do a really good job and are believable as a couple, John Ritter, yes he is in the movie, does a good job as a dirty cop. But I want to talk about the dolls. The voice acting by Brad Dourif and Jennifer Tilly are great. Plus Jennifer Tilly is hot. Both in and outside of the doll.

The Final Verdict for Bride Of Chucky is 4 Out Of 4 Stars. Great acting, amazing special effects, also not to mention the movie is extremely funny. My favorite quote is from Chucky and it was used for the title of the review. Go out and watch this because it deserves to be seen.

Rated R For Strong Horror Violence And Gore, Language, Some Sexual Content And Brief Drug Use.

1hr 29min/89min.

15 uses of the F-word.

Cost: $25,000,000.

Box Office: $50,692,188.

IMDb Rating: 5.2/10.

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 42% Rotten My Rating: ****/****
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The many deaths of Chucky.
Weirdo-x8 April 1999
Well, as you can see, everyone's favorite blue overalls-wearing psychopathic doll has survived for a fourth installment. An excellent fourth installment, at that. I was very impressed with this one, especially after the "dullness" of Part 3 that got me completely bored that I doubted that there would even be any more sequels. . . Boy, was I wrong. But it just seems that in "Bride of Chucky" you actually feel some chemistry going on between him and Tiffany. Not only that, but it always seems that in the "Child's Play" series you could never really tell if Chucky's dead or not, whether he's shot in the heart, exploded into bits of pieces, or hacked up in a huge fan.

This film also includes some memorable scenes, for example, the stunning segment where that guy gets blown to bits by getting hit by that huge truck. Pure genius from the film's screenwriter, and creator of characters, Don Mancini.

Yes, shocking was the movie, the ending especially. Some good dialogue, a great plotline, pulse pounding suspense, and a hard-hitting soundtrack, "Bride of Chucky" promises everything the previews do and may become a famous pick-out in the horror genre. Highly reccomended for die-hard fans of the "Child's Play" series.
23 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
glass ceiling has a new meaning
lee_eisenberg21 March 2009
They obviously made "Bride of Chucky" with the aim of impressing only people who really like slashers. It doesn't disappoint in that sense. To be certain, they're clearly playing everything for laughs. As the title explains, Chucky (voice of Brad Dourif) takes on a mate (Jennifer Tilly)...and she's as much of a wise-cracker as he is.

Yes, these movies have no real point. They're just excuses to show people getting killed. But they're so much fun! The best scene is easily the sex scene. Number 2 is the glass scene. But whatever the case, this is one movie that you're sure to enjoy - assuming that you've decided in advance that you like it. Really cool.

Also starring John Ritter and Katharine Heigl.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best of the series
kannibalcorpsegrinder23 August 2012
Realizing he needs to turn back into human form, the killer doll and his former lover, now a doll as well, enlist a couple to accomplish the task but find their murderous personalities preventing it from happening.

This here is one of the more impressive entries in the genre and one of the better ones in the series. One of the main issues is the fact that there's an utterly perfect balance between the horrific and the humorous, as this combines utterly perfect laugh-out-loud moments, from hilarious one-liners to sight gags and puns, mixed in with the horror- centered areas present here. It's the comedy here that wins out for the most part, from the failed ceremony, the continuous references to the other toy dolls she has laying around and the utterly hilarious running gag of everybody's reaction to Tiffany and Chucky dolls throughout the film, though the greatest material is their quips and jokes to each other. These are truly gut-busting as the dolls begin conversing about being out-of-touch in regards to movie-killer practices and trying to instill the need for variety in the kills to be committed or in their relationship woes which sound like real, actual relationship arguments but come off as hilarious due to the nature of being said by plastic dolls. As well with the comedy, the horror elements here are wholly impressive including the extravagant visual flair found in many of the scenes here that readily turns this into a comedy, from the initial attack in the trailer-park house that gets her into doll-form as the distraction from the movie allows for the trap to be deployed which is just suitably perfect here. The road-trip nature here allows for the great traveling scenes as well, with the diner attack coming off nicely with the explosive reaction and general panic or the utterly insane kill at the motel which is really impressive here and gives this a spectacular centerpiece sequence. Even the finale at the graveyard is fun with the numerous stalking to get the upper-hand, the confrontation over the grave is fun and there's a lot to like with the great action in the big brawl here to finally end this. All of this means the pace is perfect with tons of outstanding encounters to keep the pace going strong with tons of high-energy action and plentiful gore provided by the outstanding kills here. As well, the film gets an absolute ton of positives from the stellar special effects work for the dolls, as this is an absolutely amazing part of the film. Given that this one spends as much time as it does here showcasing them on-screen, they need to come off flawlessly and they manage to come across as realistic dolls and puppets throughout here due to these perfectly conceived creations. Mixed along with a return to the more horror-centric side of Chucky, these manage to create an overall winning film. While there's a ton to love here, there are a few small, near-inconsequential flaws to this. One of the biggest is that it does tend to homage too many other films at times and feel more like it's actively trying to be funny or clever without doing anything important to the film trying to awkwardly shove the reference into the scene. This also bleeds somewhat into the other flaw, that the comedic one-liners are a bit much to get over and wear themselves out somewhat. However, since this one doesn't have too many real flaws there's so much to like here it becomes quite impressive.

Rated R: Graphic Violence, Graphic Language, Brief Nudity, a shadowy puppet sex scene and some drug use.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A rough ride to Hackensack for Chucky and his bride...
Doylenf29 October 2008
Clever is the word that comes to mind when I think of the mixture of horror and comedy that makes up a good deal of BRIDE OF CHUCKY, much of the humor due to some good one-liners by Chucky (courtesy of BRAD DOURIF's voice). And JENNIFER TILLY does an exceptional job as a dim-witted, evil partner of the doll eventually turned into a doll herself who is just as manic as her boyfriend.

NICK STABILE and KATHERINE HEIGL are the leads, the unsuspecting victims of much of the mayhem, who have to confront the evil they're dealing with which leads toward a cemetery in Hackensack where the evil dolls hope to retrieve an amulet from a corpse that will restore their original bodies.

It's photographed expertly, well directed by Ronny Yu and there's an unusual amount of range to the expressions on both dolls that make them seem eerily real. The final scene in the cemetery is guaranteed to give you a final startled moment.

JOHN RITTER plays his role as Police Chief Kinkaid with some restraint, but it's not much of a part until his gruesome demise.

Summing up: Not bad as far as these sort of horror capers go.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wicked fun!
ChoiBaby27 June 1999
The soul of Satanic serial killer Charles Lee Ray is, by misfortune, incarcerated in the body of a seemingly innocuous doll. Ray's long time girlfriend, Tiffany (the seductive Jennifer Tilly) has found a book titled "Voodoo for Dummies." Now, she has called on the spirits of Hell to revive this left-for-dead doll...and to make him alive and well again!

When everything is botched in a misconstrued matter...Tiffany imminently finds herself in the body of another plastic doll as well. The two notorious murderers, known for their multiple crimes, fall in love again...and the world needs a prayer...

Yes, Chucky (voiced by Brad Dourif) the killer doll is back...and he's out for anyone's blood! Chucky's new bride Tiffany has also found herself enjoying all the twisted, creative murders Chucky has made. Chucky and Tiffany have one goal: to retrieve the "Heart of Omzilla," an amulet that will thus allow both of them to return to their former human selves...

You better watch out! Chucky is no more mister nice guy!

BRIDE OF CHUCKY is a sinister guilty pleasure! The Chucky franchise earns its much desperately needed (and deserved) revision. Thanks to Ronny Yu's (who has directed so many Hong Kong martial arts films) direction and the wizardry of special FX make-up artist Kevin Yagher, Chucky is livelier...and deadlier than ever. Yagher does a great job giving Chucky such human traits and attributes. Chucky is one demonic and realistic character whom I would NOT like to run into in a dark alley! Chucky himself looks especially deformed, with the appropriate stitches on his face and everything. For a pint size villain, he packs one mean attitude! Also, the facial expressions of the killer puppets Chucky and Tiffany are so bizarre, yet wonderfully genuine. One fact for sure, I was impressed by all the elaborate special effects... Hey, you must also adore the cogent and delightfully deviant love-hate relationship between Chucky and Tiffany.

John Ritter (!) is excellent (though unusually cast against type) as an uncompromising Security Chief Officer. Ritter should also earn an award for the best (and most unpredictable) demise. He certainly knows how to be dying in style! Brad Dourif really knows this Chucky character inside out. He delivers the wisecracks with impeccable timing before and after each killing. Alexis Arquette (THE WEDDING SINGER) is in top form as a "Goth" who encounters the devil doll. Jennifer Tilly is one fantastic, nefarious temptress.

There's plenty of bloodletting in this pleasantly entertaining (and sleazy) thriller. Lots of gory murders abound to keep bloodhounds ingratiated. This grotesquely violent and sanguinary film will easily scare away the squeamish. In addition, there are lots of cool (and sometimes subtle) references alluding to other horror flicks. I also learned from this movie that a person should not take love for granted.

BRIDE OF CHUCKY is an imaginative journey into everlasting terror. You will laugh and churn as you witness the brutal slayings as the consequences of this couple's rampage. If you appreciate dark, macabre humor, then this movie is perfect for you! By far the best film in this series. This movie is even better than the original CHILD'S PLAY ...

RATING: **1/2 out of ****.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Played Mostly For Laughs And Cleavage
ccthemovieman-17 December 2006
I saw this thing (movie) three times. Sometimes I thought it was the worst piece of garbage I've ever seen, made by Satan himself; other times I laughed my head off and thought it was one of the most entertaining-yet-stupid films I'd ever seen. Finally, the first part won out and I got rid of it....but it was fun while it lasted.

Jennifer Tilley, one of the all-time low-life-character-playing actresses in Hollywood along with Jennifer Jason-Leigh, complete with ditsy voice and humongous breasts with cleavage that meteors could get lost in, is the star here along with the demonic doll "Chucky," who never seems to go away.

So.....a few questions: How many years now have we seen this little guy and how many times does he have to die? In many movies does Tilley have to use just for another chance to flaunt her boobs?

This movie is so bad it has to be considered "camp." It's more comedy than horror, although both are there in abundance. You can't take any of this seriously.

The movie is simply incredibly sleazy and yet incredibly funny at times, and dumb, and......you name it.
25 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
tounge-in-cheek
patriot23 October 1998
From the opening with certain movie killers masks, glove-knife, and chainsaw, to the final scene which looks like it could have been straight from "It's Alive", this movie was camp all the way.

Good point: They didn't bring back Andy. New characters and new "homes" for Chuck and Tiff brought a sense of freshness.

Bad point: John Ritter. Need I say more? (Although he DOES make a pretty good Pinhead)

If you're looking for "The Shining" or the original "Psycjo", spend a couple of bucks and rent them. If you want a good laugh mixed in with some gore, then spend the money here. Just don't take your Siskel & Ebert mindset with you. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the movie for what it is--self-depreciating schlock.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This is goofy stuff, but it's still hilarious.
jiangliqings9 October 2001
** 1/2 out of ****

There seems to be a similar pattern going around that affects the latest sequels to the most popular slasher series of the 80's. These 90's sequels tend to try out something pretty different from its predecessors, to the point of even negating parts of the series. Such films include Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday, New Nightmare, and H2O, of which the former two managed to instill new energy back into their respective series again. In this case, Bride of Chucky is going all-out for laughs, and it's quite successful at doing so, making it easily the best film in this not-so-good series.

The movie's first scenes already let us know just how tongue-in-cheek all of this is. A cop enters an evidence room, which includes such items as Michael Myers' and Jason Voorhees' masks, Freddy Krueger's glove, and Leatherface's chainsaw. The cop picks up one specific object we can't see, though it's obvious it's Chucky, the serial-killer possessed doll. Eventually, the doll gets to the hands of Tiffany (Jennifer Tilly), who actually turns out to be the killer's (when he was a human) former girlfriend. Using the help of a voodoo book, she revives Chucky, and ends up imprisoning him because she's still angry at him for never marrying her.

Chucky escapes, kills Tiffany, and puts her soul into another doll. Naturally, she freaks out when she sees what's happened to her, but Chucky informs her they can still be human again. The only way for them to do that is to use the amulet that was on the human Chucky's body when he died. Thus, they have to get to that specific cemetary in Hackensack, New Jersey, so they enlist the aid of Jessie (Nick Stabile) and Jade (Katherine Heigl) via phone to deliver some dolls with the promise of big cash. The two young lovers agree and decide to get hitched. All seems well for the two, until murders start popping up around them and they begin to suspect each other, all the meantime never noticing that the dolls are the real culprits.

Bride of Chucky is, simply put, a dark comedy that only has the concern of making its viewers laugh. And boy, some of these jokes are absolutely hilarious. My favorite part is probably the scene where Chucky is crawling back to his van when some stoned pothead sees him. Chucky proceeds to give him the finger, resulting in the pothead's hilarious deadpan response, "Rude f***ing doll!" Another one of my favorite lines must be when Jessie asks Chucky how he got to be this way, and he responds by saying, "It's a long story. In fact, if they made a movie, it'd take 3 or 4 sequels to do it justice." If that doesn't get you laughing, then I wouldn't recommend this movie to you.

But for all those who enjoy tongue-in-cheek horror, this is a treat. The scene-stealers are Chucky and Tiffany, spouting a lot of memorable lines without ever getting into the "hip" style that has annoyingly permeated virtually every other slasher film in recent memory. Brad Dourif, of course, voices Chucky and he hasn't lost that same sense of fun over the years the series was in hiatus. Jennifer Tilly is equally as fun as Tiffany, making for an effective foil to Chucky, and is all the more hilarious because of their love/hate relationship that's positively psychotic.

The special effects are among the movie's highlights; the dolls look mostly flawlessly rendered and amazingly lifelike. But how could any review of Bride of Chucky go by without mentioning the doll sex scene. It's probably the reason it got half the money it did at the box office. Let me just say this, you probably won't believe it, but this sex scene is the most tasteful part of the entire movie! That should give you some idea of what to expect from the rest of the film.

The movie's also got the requisite blood and gore, with particularly memorable death scenes. Despite all the violence, this isn't a movie for die-hard horror fans looking for a scary or suspenseful gorefest. The movie doesn't actually kick into thrill ride mode until the last 10 minutes in the cemetary. Even then, you have to ask yourself just how exciting it is to see dolls and humans duking it out.

Now, even as an intentionally goofy horror/comedy, the movie still has some big flaws. There are no rooting interests at all. The dolls, while obviously funny, are pretty damn crazy. As for the humans, they're either annoying or simply display nothing approaching charisma or good acting.

The movie also takes too long to get going, and considering the movie's only 89 minutes, that's certainly a problem. It's not until the half-hour or so mark that Chucky comes to life again and the road trip to Hackensack doesn't begin until the movie's a little over halfway through. This is a flaw that's made forgivable because once the movie gets going, the pace is unflagging.

I enjoyed Ronny Yu's high-energy direction, which is an approach that closely follows all the other most recent slasher sequels (it actually only worked well in Jason Goes to Hell, but New Nightmare was decent in this respect). After the pedestrian work of the other installments, it's nice to see some sturdy direction. This film's final scenes sets itself up for another sequel, and considering it's box office success, I don't see any reason why it won't happen. Bride of Chucky is goofy and certainly lacking in intelligence, but it's got a hell of a lot of entertainment value, and that's all you could really ask for out of it.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
May only work for fans of the genre.
insomniac_rod26 September 2004
From the beginning of the movie you can say it's all about a horror comedy with Chucky's style.

The movie got fresh air after ignoring the whole Andy Barclay story (it got pretty old in part 3) and adding new characters to the series. The humor in this sequel is brilliant and works perfect for a movie with a doubtful premise. The title "BRIDE OF CHUCKY" may sound very cheesy for non fans of the genre but it's a great title for the movie (parody of "Bride of Frankenstein" in many aspects). In 1998 the horror genre was on a decline mainly because of many attempts to copy the style that "Scream" copied from the 80's slashers. Ronny Yu and Don Mancini created a great horror comedy that has nothing to do with the previous "Child's PLay" movies. The stylish direction and entertaining script are the best features of the movie. There's plenty of great gore! and great deaths. The Pinhead reference was hilarious. Also, the motel death scene was brilliant. The humor is great as I said, there are plenty of references to other horror movies that only fans of the genre could understand. The dolls sex scene may freak you out but it's damn funny. The acting is pretty good this time. You can't go wrong with Jennifer Tilly (she's extremely hot!) and Brad Dourif. Katherine Heigl also delivers a good performance and her beautiness helps a lot. The score is perfect for the movie (specially Rob Zombie's contributions). Chucky rocks again!

"BRIDE OF CHUCKY" isn't an easy watch for non fans of the genre, specially for the in-jokes and black humor. In the other hand, this movie is a delight for fans of the genre and of course, of the Chucky movies. Watch it with low expectations and don't be influenced by it's title because "BRIDE OF CHUCKY" is a great horror comedy. One of the bests from the 90's, seriously. It may not have the suspense and great script from the original "Child's Play" but it's interesting on it's own way. Chucky's return was very welcome.

8/10
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"Get Off My Knife."
Incubus_Reborn14 August 2004
Ever since I saw it on opening day back in 1998, "Bride Of Chucky" has been a personal favorite of mine. I have been a big fan of the "Child's Play" franchise since I was about seven years old, and this movie pretty much sums up everything that makes a Chucky movie great. In this fourth installment, the focus is finally taken off of the saga of Andy Barclay (which was getting a bit played out by the end of "Child's Play 3"), and instead on Chucky and Tiffany, a previous flame who was with him up until his original death. After Tiffany (played to perfection by the wonderful Jennifer Tilly and her wonderful cleavage) finally gets a hold of Chucky's remains (basically a trash bag full of Chucky parts [see part 3]) and resurrects him with some strategic sewing, he turns on her and ends up passing her soul into another doll. Together, they hitch a ride with runaway couple Jesse and Jade (Nick Stabile and Katherine Heigl) to New Jersey to find a stone that Chucky was wearing around his neck the day he died that will help resurrect them to human form. As you can predict, lots of hectic things happen on this road trip. Blood is spilled, pot is smoked and Chucky does indeed get lucky (in a hilarious and memorable scene that will be burned in your memory forever). Don Mancini, the creator of Chucky, writer of all three previous installments, returns as writer and fleshes out a beautifully demented and imaginative horror comedy. With the flare of director Ronny Yu (who would later go on to direct "Freddy Vs. Jason"), "Bride Of Chucky" is the best installment in the Chucky series thus far. Everything about this movie works. The death scenes are elaborate and somewhat comedic in parts, the music rocks (check out the soundtrack), and the story is so much fun, you just can't turn away in the 90 minutes this movie spans. Add that to a knock-out ending -- which leads us into the upcoming "Seed Of Chucky" (November 10th) -- and you have yourself the perfect Saturday night horror flick.

10/10
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Played entirely for laughs and there are lots
Servo-1120 January 2003
I've only seen the first and last installments of this series and tho I approached them with some trepidation as to the quality and if I'd get my rent money's worth, I have to say that I have. I've rarely laughed during a movie as much as I did for this one. Brad Dourif is back with his wacked-out laugh and the script is a gem, poking fun at itself and the horror genre and pop culture like Martha Stewart. Now I just have to go out and buy a copy for myself so I can enjoy it over and over. The doll FX are pretty good and cheesy all at the same time, which was the intention. Jennifer Tilly and Dourif make such a bizarrely charming couple.

10/10
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The best in the series
ODDBear31 March 2009
"Bride of Chucky" is a breath of fresh air in the "Child's Play" horror series.

Cleverly combining over-the-top gore with a huge dose of black humor; "Bride of Chucky" is easily the best of the bunch in the series. Visual stylist Ronny Yu delivers quite the eye candy here, some set pieces not only beautifully filmed and realized, but with disgusting and convincing gore to top it off.

The cast here is great. The usually intolerable Jennifer Tilly is a hoot as Chucky's bride and her chemistry with Brad Dourif is wonderfully wicked. The human actors are quite decent as well, with a nice supporting performance from the late John Ritter.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
CHILD'S PLAY KEEPS GETTING BETTER
thirteenfan28 March 2003
Lets face it, once a movie becomes a franchise they have to quit taking themselves seriously, and Bride Of Chucky proves how true that is. This movie is great, not only is it funny, but Jennifer Tilly takes the show. Awesome, she is terrific! I saw this movie the last week it was at theaters because I was really wasn't impressed with the 3rd one, oh how shocked I was. This is a must have for horror fans cause we know how to appreciate a movie like this.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny as heck!
K-2313 August 2003
Warning: Spoilers
This is a good film for die-hard Chucky fans. Okay I'm sure it's not as good as what the Child's Play movie were like, but this can get really funny and enjoyable, Chucky's laughs are hilarious.

(SPOILERS)

Now not one doll, but two, meaning double the impact, Jennifer Tilly played the part really well and definitely pulled off the best kill of the movie.

If you have seen the Child's Play movies this would be a worthy film on your Chucky collection, but if you've never seen the Child's play movies before, this'll will be a new start. Of course you'll not have a clue on how Chucky got into his current state (cause I'm not telling you) but you'll figure out why Chucky is very popular.

Overall a very enjoyable movie.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome!
abb1323 June 2002
GREAT MOVIE! Chucky is by far the funniest character in a movie. Jennifer Tilly (Tiffany) makes this movie even better! Well before Chucky died Tiffany and him were together. But like ten years later Tiffany gets Chucky back (as a doll) and brings him back to life. It was a great movie!Scary and definetly funny (only because Chucky!)10/10
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
the best thing that could happen to the series
Coventry29 July 2003
I'm not sure what I should think about director Ronny Yu. Either he provides the genre of horror with the new wind it needed or he is a below average comedian who tries to be funny by spoofing the big titles in the genre. At this moment he is working about Freddy vs Jason which brings the 2 perhaps most famous horror icons, together on the screen and in 1998 he brought us this 3rd sequel in the Child's Play series. I'm not saying he did a bad job on this Bride of Chucky. Not at all, actually. The Child's Play films were never great. The first one from 1988 was original and fun. It went downhill from there. The second one had its moments (a few) and the third one was barely watchable. If you look at it that way, Bride of Chucky is a good film. It's not required to have seen all the sequels. If you know how Charles Lee Ray ended up in the body op a doll, you can easily watch this film. It kinda picks up on the social life that Charles Lee Ray left behind when he died. His girlfriend from back then finally found the dolly (or what's left of it) and brings Chucky back to life.

Bride of Chucky has a few gore and bloody moments but it's definitely more of a comedy. The whole film is built around the funny personality that is Chucky. He's a sarcastic, woman-hating, psychotic doll and that provides the movie with lots of quote material. All the little easter eggs make this movie funny as well. If you don't like the story, try to amuse yourself by searching all the references to famous horror film. That should keep you busy too. I wouldn't have mind if Child's Play 3 never received a sequel, to be honest. But if it did have to happen and that's most likely in Hollywood, I'm glad it turned out to be something like this. Brad Dourif returns as the voice of Chucky. This guy is great. If you're not familiar with his name or work, look him up. He played some of the greatest villains in movie history. The girl, Tiffany is a good role for Jennifer Tilly. She has the most irritating voice possible but that turns out as a great advantage for the character she plays here. In conclusion, the movie isn't ashamed to admit it's based on Bride Of Frankenstein and will provide you 90 minutes of good laughs. I'm not saying it's a great film but you won't regret spending time watching it.
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"Bride of Chucky"- Chucky goes postmodern in a genuinely hilarious and well-made self-parody.
MaximumMadness20 January 2017
After pretty definitely dying off in the early 90's due to audience apathy and a string of borderline-flops, the slasher-film genre was revitalized thanks to master director Wes Craven's wonderful and subversive self-aware 1996 horror-comedy "Scream." Realizing that slasher horror could be "hip" and "cool" again with the postmodern twist that "Scream" added to spice-up its storyline, it quickly became in-vogue for studios and filmmakers to add a self-satirical meta angle to many new horror features released in its wake. And one of the most successful films to implement this new leaning towards comedy was certainly 1998's delightful and twisted "Bride of Chucky"- the fourth film in the popular cult-series "Child's Play."

Directed by the fantastic Ronny Yu from a script by "Child's Play" series creator Don Mancini, "Bride of Chucky" might just be the best film of the entire franchise. After the somewhat disastrous third entry made seven years prior, the series sort-of imploded and there was a time where there was doubt we'd ever even see Chucky on the big screen again. Thankfully, the wait was worth it. "Bride of Chucky" is fantastically entertaining, and the newfound self-aware humor adds a lot to the film. By that time, audiences had wised up to the formula of the series and another bland retread would have fallen flat. By giving us such a radical and humorous departure, Mancini and Yu injected some much-need fresh blood into the "Chucky" experience. It was hilarious. It was unexpected. And it was exactly what Chucky needed at the time to win back audiences who had grown tired of his old antics by the time the third film had rolled out.

Jennifer Tilly stars as Tiffany, the former lover of the infamous "Lakeshore Strangler" Charles Lee Ray- who had transferred his soul into a children's doll known as Chucky. (Voiced by Brad Dourif) Longing to be reunited with her lost love, she manages to get her hands on the mangled corpse of Chucky and re-assembles him, bringing him back to life with a copy of "Voodoo for Dummies." While their reunion goes well at first, Tiffany finds herself crestfallen when she learns that Chucky never intended to marry her, and she betrays him by locking him in a playpen. Escaping, Chucky murders his former flame and transfers her soul into a female doll in a twisted bid for vengeance. Now, the angry couple must figure out a way to get their souls into new human hosts once and for all... and they have their eyes set on Tiffany's trailer-park neighbor Jesse (Nick Stabile) and his girlfriend Jade. (A pre-fame Katherine Heigl)

The fun of the film really lays in the shockingly sweet (in a twisted way) romance of Chucky and Tiffany. It's almost a demented parody of romantic comedies, and they have absolutely remarkable chemistry together. Dourif as always is a blast as Chucky, and it's a ton of fun seeing him saddled with a romantic interest in Tilly's Tiffany, as they repeatedly get on each-other's nerves, but also do have some genuinely cute moments together. It adds a lot of flavor and character to the proceedings seeing them bonding over butchering innocent victims. Stabile and Heigl are also a lot of fun as our somewhat hapless protagonists (who find themselves blamed for the murders committed by the demonic dolls), and there's also a really fun supporting performance by the late and great John Ritter as Jade's strict police-chief uncle who raised her in an oppressive environment. The cast is just a blast.

Mancini's script is tight, concise and never fails do deliver laughs with each scene. He also throws in the occasional shock and scare to keep horror fans happy. I've always admired how daring Mancini is with his characters, and he's never afraid to take a risk with the material, whether it works (as it does here) or not. ("Seed of Chucky" being a good example of him going a bit too far.) Ronny Yu is a really great visual artist, and his completely insane sensibilities perfectly compliment the material, as he relishes in delivering gags and gore by the boat-load. I also really admired the musical score by the talented composer Graeme Revell, who had previously delivered a Gothic and operatic score in the series' second installment. Revell's music this time around is a bit more subdued, but works perfectly for the devilish romance between our murderous leads, and I think it's among his best work.

There's really not much I can say to the detriment of "Bride of Chucky", besides some minor nitpicks I had with a few of the scares and kills. It's just a fun, entertaining and often strangely adorable film, and I think it still stands tall as one of the best of the series. It might not have been the film that fans were expecting when they found out Chucky was coming back for a fourth installment... but it was the film the series needed at the time to reinvigorate audience interest and evolve as a legitimate franchise.

As a horror fan, I have to give "Bride of Chucky" a near-perfect 9 out of 10.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Far superior sequel.
Elswet5 February 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Chucky's back...and it's about time! This time, with the help of Jennifer Tilly and a little spell from Voodoo For Dummies. Well, at least with this installment, the camp is back. This was the more gruesome of this series, so far. It has some good twists and some good action scenes.

This one was by far, the most fun of the series, and successfully, if unintentionally, bridges the gap between pure horror to horror/comedy.

I am looking forward to Seed of Chucky. It'll be a hoot!

"Jesus, the music scene's gone to h3ll since I've been dead!" Chucky

We needed the levity, as the doll thing's getting old. The added comedic element, and the better action scenes brings this one back up to equal the quality of the first, when the idea was fresh and new-ish.

6.8/10 from...

the Fiend :.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My Favorite Chucky
bettyconway12 May 2019
Filled to the brim with style and laughs, Bride of Chucky is a highlight of the Child's Play franchise. The addition of Jennifer Tilly as Tiffany, Chucky's bride, adds a delicious layer of camp to the film which makes it endlessly watchable. Katherine Heigl and Nick Stabile are great and likable as the teen lovers and Alexis Aquette gets a fun cameo as a Marilyn Manson-esque weirdo.

Director Ronny Yu keeps the pace moving and a lot of his shot compositions are quite striking. For the 4th entry in a well worn franchise, it's nice to see there's still a little spark and creativity left.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
good, silly fun
Donatien311 August 2013
Considering the franchise is based around a killer doll, the Child's Play series isn't meant to be taken seriously.

'Bride of Chucky' lives up to the silly premise. Nearly a decade after the disappointing 'Child's Play III', BOC reunites Chucky with his last human girlfriend Tiffany (Jennifer Tilly, who straddles the line between sexy and annoying). After electrocuting Tiffany, he casts her soul into a female doll and go on a quest to the grave of Charles Lee Ray to steal the amulet that will free Chucky's soul from the Good Guy doll. It's a ridiculous, twisted, horror-road movie, backed by a rock-metal soundtrack and a few horror movie references and injokes. At one point, Chucky says 'It's a long story...if it was a movie you'd need three or four sequels to do it justice', typical of the self-aware humour of horror films in the late nineties/early 2000s.

If you like the Child's Play series, you'll know what to expect: blood, lots of deaths, a few laughs, a few scares and plenty of silliness. BOC also features Katherine Heigel (now the queen of terrible rom-coms) in one of her earlier roles and one of the later roles of the late John Ritter.

If you like the Child's Play series, or horror movies in general, then 'Bride of Chucky' is worth a look.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Chucky Gets Lucky, and we Get Luckier!
malefor000114 October 2010
Warning: Spoilers
By far, the film was the most superior in the Child's Play Series. It was amazingly hilarious and refreshing. Unlike Child's Play 3, we didn't repeat the boring process of Chucky "Goes after Andy for revenge and his body". We had a fresh array of characters, a brilliant Cliffhanger and a new Killer Doll. The film really displays well how Chucky, like the rest of us, can have an relationship, and how he is still Human, despite being a Doll. Good examples of his Humanity are when he listens to music in the car, treats Tiffany like a House-Slave and has Sexual Intercourse with Tiff. These display that Chucky is a Human being, and while some fans disliked this, I say the film was pure comic genius, comedic and horrifying. Inventive new murders were used such as the Champange Bottle and Celing Mirror, the Nasils in the Car and the Bus hitting that poor fellow. The film ended amazingly as Glen appeared to burst out of Tiffany's womb, leaving a good idea for a sequel. That is until Seed came along.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The bride is a refreshing boost to the franchise
acidburn-1021 March 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Chucky is brought back to life by his ex-girlfriend Tiffany (Played wonderfully by Jennifer Tilly), but as we all know Chucky can't behave himself for long and winds up killing her and transfers her soul into another doll, so now Chucky has got a playmate. In order to get themselves back into human bodies they hitch a ride with 2 teenage lovers on the run to New Jersey where Chucky's human body is buried with the amulet that can posses they're souls into the 2 teenagers, and plus causing mayhem and carnage on the way.

Chucky is back with finally a worthy sequel, after the disappointing part 3, "Bride Of Chucky" breathes new life into a franchise that was basically dead and heading into a whole new direction by giving Chucky a partner in crime Tiffany who is a well welcomed addition to the series.

The death scenes are much more gorier and inventive this time round, even though it doesn't have the suspense the first one had, it's still the best one in the series, mixing slasher with humour especially the bantering between the 2 dolls and especially the sex scene which was hilarious.

Jennifer Tilly is the star of this movie, playing yet another sex pot role with her human self and her doll self which was fantastic a welcome addition to the franchise Brad Dourif's Chucky voice will delight "Good Guy" fans again. Katherine Heigl (Jade) gives a very solid show Nick Stabile (Jessee) also does good, his chemistry with Heigl works and the ladies will dig his six pack and John Ritter (Warren) plays an evil "Jack Tripper" and dies a great death.

All in all this film truly boosts the franchise It's witty, violent and looks great.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A diabolical movie crushed with an abrupt ending.
MairegChernet3 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Apparently this is the fourth installment of the Chucky series. And Was I the only one who thought this movie was short? I liked the beginning of it, and how the main character, Tiffany, worked her voodoo powers to bring back her boyfriend from the dead. I also liked how much of a diabolical genius Chucky is, and how nobody suspected the dolls of the frequent murders. But as the movie reached its high point, it started getting lazier and more superficial. I was expecting a lot more people to get killed and more hell to break loose. However, towards the end nothing much happened other than the downfall of the bad guys. Overall it's an average movie that did not put me on the edge my seat.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed