Polka Dot Door (TV Series 1971–1993) Poster

(1971–1993)

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Good, quiet, peaceful.
shrek200429 November 2003
I loved this show when I was little. It was on Ontario TV, and I think it had a spin-off or two in the '90s. The hosts changed sometimes, but it was really fun to watch, and talked a lot about stories and toytime. The hosts always did a little dance to the tune of "Frere Jacques" that they would sing in both English and French, and there was a big dinosaur thing named Polkaru that one host never got to see! It was a good, quiet, peaceful show for kids.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome! Polkaroo Rules! (Aw, I missed him again!)
mousseau_david5 September 2006
Dudes, Polkaroo rocks. Who are the losers who gave it a 4? For shame! Polkaroo is a cultural icon for an entire generation of Canadians, some Americans, and even some Irish! Why, my brother once used Polkaroo as his ICQ nickname for crying out loud. Man, I can't believe that The Polkadot Door got canceled. Polkaroo, Goldilocks, Bear... Man, those were the days. The Polkadot door is what made me the man I am today. Without those cherished memories of Polkaroo's innocent, happy, naïve voice happily chanting his name, I think my scarred childhood would have been unbearable. I can honestly say without the least bit of exaggeration that THE POLKAROO SAVED MY LIFE. He is a celebrity... an icon... nay, dare I say, a NATIONAL HERO.

ALL HAIL POLKAROO! LONG LIVE POLKAROO!! In the immortal words of the master himself: "POLKAROO! POLKAROO!"

Regards, David
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Polka Dot Door to the World of Imaginative Learning
leeinlimbo23 June 2006
I see a number of commentors over the year have felt the need to lambaste this perfectly innocent program. The central themes were about playing fair and making believe, and if it seems to be a simple premise, I'd like to hear where a sophisticated premise was used for a children's show that succeeded. The age group this show was created for was essentially preschool to kindergarten, and managed to coexist with the likes of Mr. Rogers and Sesame Street for decades, so it couldn't have been that gawdawful.

I seem to remember the show was a sweetly naive little half hour of kindergarten teacher types directing 'children' who were really toys how to behave together. This may regarded as insidious socialization, but it was created and ran through the very liberal 70s, so that claim is paranoid anti-government nonsense.

As for this show having no child actors, the toys made perfect surrogates, both because they were portrayed as childlike and because they reinforced the notion of abstraction necessary to allow children to see themselves in the same position. That level of abstraction was a necessary ingredient to instructing children to use their imagination.

As well, shows that primarily feature children often ran afoul of one of two problems with child stars: amateurs and professionals. The amateurs couldn't be relied upon to react properly to the puppets and toys, and the professionals come off so rehearsed and plastic as to be offensively unbelievable.

In the end, it's an argument over which philosophy for child education yields the best results. Personally, I don't think children's shows have been improved upon appreciably since the 70s, when at least diversity and imagination were openly encouraged, and the moral lessons were delivered a little more clearly without the obsequious and nauseating touchy feelie performances modern children's shows tend to use in lieu of actually explaining things to children. The assumption that children cannot or should not be told anything not relevant to playing in the schoolyard is utter nonsense.

With that in mind, I'd like to offer that The Polka Dot Door was actually a wonderful preschool children's show which hasn't been improved on by the likes of The Teletubbies.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Childhood flashback!
babygiraffe1239 November 2005
I remember watching this show every day when I was a kid. My favorite part in every episode was the little fuzzy mouse that lived in the clock. Of course, I forget its name, but it came out whenever the hosts would tell the time on the giant clock. Polkaroo was another of my favorites. I'd get all excited when he'd stop by for a visit, but never could figure out why the male hosts always seemed to miss him. Another of my favorites was the doll named Marigold. I used to ask my mom if she could get me a Marigold doll, but we never did find one. I really hope they bring this series out on DVD someday, so my two children can share in the joy and excitement I experienced as a small child.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You've Gotta Love TV Ontario and Polka Dot Door
AsifZamir14 November 2013
Back in the days when budgets were spent on good writing and not special effects, Polka Dot Door was produced by TV Ontario and was a children's television series that aired 5 days a week in ½ hour episodes. It ran from 1971 – 1993. Polka Dot Door is a fun interactive kids show that features three main stuffed animals, Marigold, Humpty and Dumpty and Bear. The hosts would interact with these stuffies to teach children fun facts and even advocate for each stuffy by providing a voice to make them come alive. Another main attraction of Polka Dot Door is Polkaroo, an elusive kangaroo that would only appear to one of the two hosts of the episode and then the other host would be dismayed that he or she missed Polkaroo again. Children simply love Polkaroo with his colourful spots and he would always be so cute saying Polkaroo, Polkaroo, and would came out every so often so there was anticipation building up to see when Polkaroo would pop in.

There would be different themes for each day of the week for each episode. Monday would be Treasure Day, Tuesday was Dress-Up Day, Wednesday was Animal Day, Thursday was Imagination Day and Friday was Finding-Out Day. The series is fun and interactive, and encourages children's imaginations while including a social aspect by taking them through the Polka Dot Door and into the real world. Cast includes Cindy Cook (host), Jim Codrington (host), Gloria Reuben (host) and Alex Laurier (Host). This is a must-see children's series and inspires creativity and imagination.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A very simple, quiet kids show, which certainly wasn't a bad thing
Electrified_Voltage11 August 2007
It appears that "Polka Dot Door" started out fifteen years before I was born, but ran for over twenty years in total. I first saw it at a very early age, and think I saw reruns of it shortly after its demise (even though I may not have liked it as much by then, as I may have been slightly past the age group it was meant for). It may not have been one of my childhood favourites, but I still found it entertaining for a while, enough for me watch many episodes, leaving me with permanent memories.

The show featured two hosts, one male and one female. The hosts of the show would change from time to time. It took place inside a large playhouse, which the hosts would enter through the Polka Dot Door. The two hosts of the episode would provide the young viewers with "songs, stories, and so much more." A group of stuffed toys, Marigold, Humpty, Dumpty, and Bear, lived in this playhouse. After the hosts came in, they would take these stuffed toys out of the box and do various activities with them. Towards the end of the episode, the Polkaroo (a mischievous kangaroo in polka dots who never said anything other than "Polkaroo!") appeared just outside the playhouse.

Some parts of that description may sound a bit silly, but remember, this was a programme for the very young folk, and despite how incredibly simple it was, it pleased many of those in the age group it was meant for in Canada, as well as some in the United States! It could also be educational for them in some ways. Since the show ran for over twenty years, it was obviously very successful, and people from several generations can say they watched it during an early part of their childhood! For all those reasons, "Polka Dot Door" definitely deserves some credit.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Show
cattygurl20 May 2006
This show was great, maybe someone can't appreciate it because they're used to nonstop crap being pummeled at them through their countries shows. I found this site searching for the seasons to buy, for my 3 kids. This show made kids use their minds and imaginations as opposed to most of the cartoon or mind numbing shows that are on now. And it was from Canada - but how can it compare with jewels like KFed and Brit from your great country, I guess. Loved this show when I was a kid, I know lots of other people did too. I wish I could find some toys and memorabilia to buy, all of the shows that were on when I was little were so much better than the majority of stuff now.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hallucinations from the Ministry of Education
Jason-17312 December 1999
The show was hosted by two, dreary Ontario civil servants and a series of stuffed animals who neither moved nor spoke -- and yet played the starring roles. Much like the Ontario government.

Polka Dot Door, like other Ontario government shows such as the Math Patrol, Body Works or Sol, had that unmistakably bland 'do-as-we-say, is-good-for-you-no-questions' taint to it. But in a smiling, artless, stir-up-no-trouble-children way. The Canadian way.

The hosts never lasted long in their jobs. This timid little children's show would chew them up at an alarming rate.

Events in each episode were scheduled to the second, like the unionized ministry office TVO is. Our hosts would dutifully read children's stories at an exact time, monitored by a monolithic clock at centre stage. Each day had a different 'theme' and the hosts were forced to march in a small circle, often holding one of the stuffed animals, chanting inspirational songs about the day's theme. Like characters out of a Kafka tale, our civil servants would never leave the pink room or their slavery to the clock and woud babble incoherently about the polka dot door and the world beyond, glimpsed in short filmed sequences where the outside was shown (usually a shoe factory or a farm).

Periodically, everyone would hallucinate an apparition named 'Polkaroo.' Polkaroo would do mischieveous things like flip up Marigold's skirt, take a crap in the bookcase or hide his stash in Dumpty's pants.

Incidentally, I saw Dennis (one of the longer-running hosts) in a production of Godspell playing John the Baptist. He was pretty good.
9 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I STILL Absolutely LOVE This Show, And I'm Nearly 19 Years Old Nowadays!!!!
animalxingluvr27 November 2009
The people who dislike the Polkaroo (and/or the show in general) haven't a clue what they are talking about. I watched this show all the time as a child, and my unbelievable memory is even today still capable of pulling up a memory of seeing the Polkaroo on stage when I was only 1 or 2 years old. I was being extremely annoying that day, wanting to be moved CONSTANTLY, either because of restlessness or because the Polkaroo was constantly escaping my limited field of vision. But I digress. Even though I am having trouble finding reruns of it on TV, and I must resort to watching YouTube clips permanently downloaded on my computer, they are enough to drown me in childhood memories and also memories of that silly Polkaroo. I am 18 going on 19 in February 2010, and also I am autistic, but this show was the GREATEST kids' show EVER MADE. LONG LIVE POLKA DOT DOOR AND THE "POLKAROO!"
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
love him or hate him, you still remember him
strachansi23 April 2014
While I was never personally a fan of the show, even though my Gramma created the Polkaroo costume, I do understand that it was for preschoolers. Clearly the show had fans, it ran for two decades. I can, however, relate to those who, even as children, found it annoying. I was one of those kids. The songs, the stories, AND the so much more really got under my skin. It wasn't long before I realized, though, that there were kids out there who really loved Polk, and the whole concept of the show. It is for this reason that, like it or not, I have a very deep appreciation for what the show, and my Gramma (Tanya Petrova, now deceased), did for all those kids. May you always hold those memories dear to your hearts. S. Strachan
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
You call this a show for kids?
j.eaton7 April 2003
You call this a show for kids? The Polka Dot Door was one of the worst kids shows ever made. Not to mention it is Canadian. There are no kids on this show what so ever. Just two adult hosts, one male and one female who made complete fools out of themselves. They talk to stuffed animals, like they are supposed to talk back. Only the female host saw the Polkaroo.......hello it is the male host dressed up. Listen carefully to the Polkaroo's voice!!! I caught on at a very young age. Any parents out there whose children talk to their stuffed animals, a word of advice, don't let your kids watch this show!!!! And that that awful song that they would sing called "Imagine". I can still here that song 25 years later in my head. Where are my ear plugs when I need them??!!!!
3 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed