Turn It Up (2000) Poster

(2000)

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Nothing special
Quinoa198416 September 2000
This is a film where you think the hero is a good person, but he usually does some stupid things that in a moral movie woulnd't be redeemable. But not here. Pras has a fair performance here as a rap star who wants to make it big, legitimately, but he has to worry about his long time record producer, drug pusher and friend (Ja Rule in a not too bad first role), his father who returned after a 12 year absence and his girlfriend (Tamala Jones) who is pregnant. A couple of good points on the black music industry (literaly and figuratively) and a couple of stand out performances are cluttered by a lame excuse for a music video plot. Oh well, I guess you could catch this type of thing here, or somewhere else. Jason Statham is exceptional though as a british drug dealer, but even he can't help much. C+
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
sad really sad
ClassicKatarn28 March 2003
this film was sad, the plot was hard to swallow only cause the poor acting job everyone did. The only reason i saw it was cause my uncle is in it. Even then all he dose is get shot and thats done poorly. All and all unintentionaly funny.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Turn it off.
David, Film Freak2 June 2002
I felt ripped off. With Pras Michel and Ja Rule ringleading this Glitter-turned-rap film, I thought it would real cool. How naive am I? Although none of the actors were terrible (although Ja could do with a few acting lessons... given that its his first time I'll forgive him, but he should stick to what he does best) they're not good either. Pras and his lady-friend are about the ONLY people among the masses that look as though they know what they're doing. Also, what the hell is up with everybody you ever get to see in the film (minus a select few) being killed? And then having an ending that's supposed to envoke sad emotions - you don't feel bad for the people because you didn't care about them in the first place! In conclusion, if you don't like violence or continued use of the word 'n***a' then don't Turn It Up, turn it off! It's no wonder this thing didn't make any money - it grossed less than 1.5 million! 2/10
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
an hour of mumbling
rbgunner-110 September 2003
First of all, Pras CANNOT act. He can barely speak english. He mumbles his entire dialouge and has no presence whatsoever. He was horrible! Ja Rule was better but that's not saying much. These two have no business in front of a camera. The story was AWWWWWWWWFULL. The camera work was terrible. Whoever directed this has NO TALENT. And whoever financed this movie is CRAZY! The only thing i liked was the rear shot of the girlfriend (tamala jones) walking into the kitchen. But even then , she grabs for her top as if she has family members present on the set. The music in the movie was terrible. Pras would have been booed off stage with that performance. And he should have gotten slapped for wearing a freaking white leather "elvis"-like suit on stage in an underground hip-hop club. The only film worse is "Corrupted" with Silk the Shocker and Ice-T. OMG. That has to be no doubt THE WORST MOVIE EVER MADE! I give that a -10 out of 10. This one i give a 1 out of 10.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
unoriginal
massimiliano27 November 2002
Very disappointing movie about a musician and his friend (Ja Rule aka the biggest sellout) who deliver weight in order to make money to fund the production of an album. This movie is a really bad rip off of the movies Belly and Juice. The acting is awful the lines the actors use are even worse, and how in the world was the budget for this movie 9 million dollars?? anyway avoid this movie I give it 2/10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An embarrassment
whoTheFuqRyou7 February 2003
I saw this on Black Starz late at night. This is really bad, it's a fake wanna-be Belly with some terrible acting(especially Ja-Rule and Pras), the script was just flat-out lame, the shootout scenes were unrealistic like said earlier here and once again Ja-Rule was in it which made the movie worse than it already was and the live performances weren't any good neither... The only good thing about this movie was the scoring by Frank Fitzpatrick, other than that..

a str8 up embarrassment

1/10 - GAABAGE..
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
straight forward and realistic
Bizzy395 April 2001
The movie was decent. But Pras lacks acting ability, which really dragged the movie down some. His total, straight face, no emotion performance was needed during a few scenes but the rest of the movie he needed to show some kind of emotions or at least facial expressions which were not there. Ja Rule did a great job in his first role and had some great lines to work with. Worth renting but not buying.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ja Rule is the only reason to see this movie
DunnDeeDaGreat16 November 2001
Turn It Up comes off like a fake Belly, which is a much better film. The gun battles are generic and the cinematography is bland. But Ja Rule as Gage, makes this movie with his peformance. He comes off the flavor that Tupac did in Juice. I don't reccomnded this movie at all.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I wish I could give it a negative rating
Cizzurp21513 January 2019
This is probably 1 of 2 movies in the entirety of my life, where I left because it was so bad. The acting was non existent. The script was terrible. The action was terrible. How was this even released in theaters? It was straight to DVD at best. I wish I could sue for that time back. It was truly wasted. Do not waste yours.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed