Infernal Affairs III (2003) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
A brilliant sequel, but see Part 1 first to understand it
Private_Beach28 December 2003
Infernal Affairs 3 builds cleverly on the plotline of the first movie, but with its complex story and frequent switches between past and present, is likely to seriously confuse anyone who comes to it without having seen Part 1 first to understand the two main characters. For those who have, this film brings out further details of the relationship between the two, superbly played again by Tony Leung and Andy Lau. With frequent flashbacks, the film focuses on extending the story of Triad mole Ming (Andy Lau), warping up the tension as the stresses of his double life become intolerable. Leon Lai's usual expressionless performance, which mars his other films, works well here as it leaves you few clues about his character's motivation until the climax.

If you enjoyed Part 1, you will enjoy this. (I haven't seen Part 2 yet.)
39 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The quiet men of violence
paul2001sw-114 November 2006
If you loved the first two 'Internal Affairs' movie, then you'll probably find it easy to also enjoy this concluding part: if not, you may find it more difficult. Part one was a tense thriller; part two, more epic in tone, a prequel that filled in the back story, concentrating on some of the secondary characters from the first film. But it's not completely clear where there's any plot left to fill a third part. What this film does is overlay the previous stories with an additional layer of romanticism and complexity; but there's a certain lack of focus to the plot, with almost all of our favourite characters already dead by the end of the second film (although, in flashback, there's a rebirth for the great Tony Leung, absent from part two). Indeed, the film works almost entirely by encouraging us to feel differently about scenes we have already witnessed. I still liked this third story about the quiet men of violence, and it did succeed in feeling like something more than just a repeat of the earlier films. But it's not so clear how much it adds to them.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Tying up loose ends
lastliberal13 June 2007
While this is a great film with an incomparable score and outstanding cinematography, it leaves a lot to be desired.

It is really not necessary as the first two films really give us all we need. It is light on action and heavy on psychological trauma. Andy Lau as Inspector Lau has taken care of all the moles - or he thinks he has. he is not sure and wants to be clear there is nothing tying him to Sam so he can be the good cop he wants to be. SP Leung is a creepy fellow and we are never sure just what he is. Is he a mole, or just a crooked cop. It is never clear.

I was glad that Kelly Chen got a much bigger role as Dr. lee, but it would have been even better if we saw a relationship with Yan. It was obvious that she had love for him, but it never blossomed on screen. Yes, I know that would be a violation of the doctor-patient relationship, but it was there under the surface. Why didn't it come out.

We got to see quite a bit of Tony Leung in this film, and that is always a good thing.

It was very distracting the way the film jumped back and forth through time. It was trying to tie up the loose ends, but it was disconcerting.

It could have been an outstanding film, but it'll just have to be great to see the actors and enjoy their performance.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An effective film if you love the series and the characters; an OK one if you have seen the first two films and a pointless one if you haven't seen anything
bob the moo18 December 2006
Where Scorsese's recent version of Infernal Affairs all the loose ends pretty much got tied up during the film whereas with the original we were left with an open (but much more emotionally impacting) conclusion. The first sequel was a prequel so part III was left to pick up afterwards while also going back over the original film and filling in more detail. In doing this it marks itself out as one that is aimed at the fans rather than being just out for money. The downside of this is of course that if you are not a fan you might find this hard to follow along with (and if you have not seen the first film then just forget it totally). Personally I thought the first film was an enjoyable cop thriller but I didn't think it was brilliant or developed characters that well but the tension was great. With the third film the focus was very much on the characters rather than the tension – with the fate of Ming being the modern thread that holds the film together.

If you are into the characters and the parallels with the original film then it is worth seeing because it does do it pretty well. It does ask you to pay attention but it rewards you if you do and have been. There is action but mostly it is the Ming's ongoing struggle with who he is that the film pays most attention to. I quite liked this but must confess that this film still didn't do a great job of bringing out the characters that well and it is more the events and revelations that kept me interested rather than an emotional buy-in with the characters. Lau is perhaps partly to blame for this because I thought he was buttoned a bit too tight – it was understandable in some regards but the third film should have been the point where he shows more of a breakdown (which he does, but again it is events rather than emotion). Leung is good again but his scenes don't seem as relevant or as interesting within this film – again it is probably to do with the lack of emotional buy-in I felt with his character; his performance is natural and engaging though. Outside of these two the rest of the cast are pretty good. Again I didn't think much of the use of Chen but Wong and Tsang are both solid in their small returns.

Overall then an effective and enjoyable film if you love the series and the characters; an interesting one if you have seen the first two films and a pointless one if you are looking to join in at the last minute. Tying up the loose ends of the series, the film isn't tense enough or emotionally impacting enough to be worth a look unless you are really already into the characters but it is an interesting way to bring things to an end – with restraint and tragedy rather than excess.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Feel the heart of the Chef
philaychan29 December 2003
I've watched Infernal Affairs I, II & III, in a year time. I loved the first one very much. It gave me a very unexpected feeling. It's simple but strong in impact. Though one could mention a lot of flaws in the plot, I just couldn't resist its charm. The second one made me disappointed because it lacked the kind of impact the first one gave me. Now after watching the third one, I realise why there needs to be a second one in totally different style than the first one. It's a preparation for the audiences adapting to the change in the third one.

I like this third one. Without the second one, probably I would have been like the other audiences critising the change of style from the first one. It's this kind of change, it's made the film more solid, full of human feeling. The first one indeed was touching only the surface of the hole. This third one is more into the content of it - the heart of the people.

I love particularly the part describing Andy Lau's psychological sufferings and changes. The shadowing effect he had with Tony Leung should deserve a credit for script writing, directing and editting. The interlacing of stories between that happened before and after Tony Leung's death has been editted great. I feel sorry for people who don't read this or who don't like it. It's certainly the best part of the film which should earn a credit rather than negative critics.

I would conclude that the first one is like spicy cuisine which is strong in taste and quick in making one like it immediately if you can stand it. The third one is somehow a French cuisine where you have to be patient, taste it slowly together with the wine before you appreciate the marvellous cooking skills and feel the heart of the Chef.
29 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Entirely unnecessary
Leofwine_draca24 November 2012
Having now watched the entire INFERNAL AFFAIRS trilogy, I've concluded that only the original film was necessary. The first sequel took the form of a prequel, an entirely extraneous piece of back story that adding nothing to the original and would have worked better as a stand alone movie. This, the second sequel, is even worse, a muddled attempt at tying together both prequel and sequel, adding in lots of entirely superfluous stuff and additional characters that are all entirely necessary.

Tony Leung returns to the movie series, but his scenes amount to nothing more than padding; his character was so carefully delineated in the first movie, there's entirely nothing to add. Andy Lau has the most interesting role in a sub-plot that follows on directly from the first film's, and this section of the film was the most entertaining. But it's still rather unnecessary, and would have been much better had it been tied up at the end of the first film, as Scorsese did when he remade the series as THE DEPARTED.

Overall, INFERNAL AFFAIRS 3 feels confused and muddled. The constant jumping between past and present happens so much that it's ridiculous, and it becomes overwhelming clear that this was only rushed out to make a quick buck or two after the success of the original film.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Tying up loose ends--for the fans.
fluidicmethod18 December 2003
While in the U.S. the 3rd movie of anything is suppose to be the large-scale, big-budget, battle-destruction-galore ending to a series, Infernal Affairs 3 shamelessly does the opposite and delivers an introspective look devoid of any "battle" scene at all. Now that IA has become somewhat of a cult following (ironically the story is not meant to go any further) it seems fitting that we are delivered a film as if the cutting-room floor pieces were placed together from the previous two movies and sequenced for the conclusion.

The story attempts to elaborate the most important details of the series and not presenting them in sequence, only a handful of present scenes exist which each are periodically given a large delve into the past. IA 3 explores what happened leading up to many scenes in the first Infernal Affairs which is really pretty neat for anyone who watches movies and seen the first. As a result its a jumble and mix of scenes giving you dates of when they occur (sometimes eliciting humor) and glimpsing every single character in the series as if they were the past but really filmed new for the movie. And in this way follows Yan and Ming's characters as they progress to their fates.

But it seems perhaps that by doing so, the movie is simply what was left out in the first film and anyone new to the series will obviously not understand the significance of what is going on other than the artsy cinematography of white-washed cool hues, steady camera work, and continual sponsorship of devices and products. This also includes the chaotic, dizzy feeling of progressing back and forth sometimes not knowing when you are (as with scenes that occur in Ming's mind only). Perhaps only the avid movie goer will realize Mo Gan Do 3 is a representation of hell in a high-tech world, the redemption of Yan and Ming's fall into insanity. But most will be confused about why until they see it all.
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Men are changed by events, not events by men."
Anonymous_Maxine26 February 2008
The last installment in the Infernal Affairs trilogy is surprisingly slow moving, but still has the high production values and intricate story of the first two, although as a whole it is slightly less engaging than the preceding films. There have been a lot of comparisons between this trilogy and The Godfather films, and the similarities in story-telling structure and the overall arc of the sequels are definitely there, although I have to admit that I think the Godfathers exist on an entirely different level as these films. The Infernal Affairs films are good, but they're not THAT good.

There is a lot of work in bringing together the stories of the first two films and it definitely adds to them, but I found this one to be too slow moving, although the pace picked up by the third act and the final scene is definitely impressive.

On the other hand, the trilogy ends on a serious downer - "Ksitigarbha Sutra - 'People of the like shall be cast into the Avinci Hell and will continue to suffer from Kalpas to Kalpas with no means of escape.'

I may as well just admit that I don't know the meaning or source of this quote, but it sure seems like a depressing note to end the trilogy on. Nevertheless, despite being just a little bit of a let-down (like countless trilogy finales), Internal Affairs 3 is a necessary closure, and Asian cinema fans are sure to eat it up.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Shows Scorcese how it should be done
murkin11 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
If you haven't seen the other two Infernal affairs see them before this.... Preferably one night after the other as I did... or all at once! The plots really complicated and there are loads of characters. If you've seen the departed you will be surprised how much it resembles all three films but how little of their magic it carried over. The Scorcese remake has borrowed everything from the IF series but learned nothing. I enjoyed the Departed so I thought id watch IF - mainly because the ending of the Departed left me feeling let down. Looking back im embarrassed to have enjoyed it its completely inferior to the originals. Watch them and you will see why.

SPOILERS FROM IF I AND II NOT III!

This is the total opposite of Infernal affairs I and totally different to Infernal affairs II - where the first film was all action, too fast too see the plot, this is slow,almost plodding (at one point I found it annoyingly slow) but its worth it because it really brings out the true nature of the characters from the other films. The action flicks around in time and is often a little confusing. However it is masterfully done, I would say much better than in Pulp Fiction which is the first example that comes to mind. Someone used a food analogy previously - I would say this is the dessert and its best savoured slowly to end what has been a great meal.

I thought IFII was greatly influenced by the first and second Godfather film and in a way IFIII has common elements to the second and third - flicking through time to see how the story has emerged and tying up the loose ends with style.

Without spoiling the plot this film shows how Yans rise through the Triads isn't as smooth as it appears to have been in the previous two films and also shows a darker side of Sam, Wong and (if possible) Ming. Mary and Keung's characters are also developed much more. There are a few interesting twists and a smattering of violence to keep you on the edge of the seat. The real centre piece of this film is the emotional artistic element though. Some of the locations and shooting is breathtaking. The climax of the film occurs after Yans death and is one of the most moving movie moments I've experienced. The final scene is a master stroke... nothing short of genius.

Only reason not to give this ten is that in places its a little slow... also there is less action and when there is action it somehow feels like its only been put in to keep action fans happy. Other than that its fantastic there has never been a finer end to a trilogy I hope that it is a lesson to the movie makers of Hollywood who only make trilogies if they involve toys and video game licences. I expect they are so busy counting the revenue from the Departed they don't care though. Their loss is our gain! Watch Infernal Affairs! Don't buy into the Hollywood money making machine!
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Running out of steam
harry_tk_yung15 December 2003
Warning: Spoilers
spoilers

IA One made its mark by trying something different, by appealing to the intelligence of the audience rather than their herd instinct for more of the same in cop and gangster movies. IA Two returned to a more main stream approach, and strove for quality. Both met with tremendous success. Personally, I prefer Two, which is the more entertaining of the two, but I do respect One for its achievement. IA Three, however, to a certain extent runs out of steam.

To begin with, IA Three was attempted with respectable ambitions and noble goals. At the end of IA One, the death of good guy Chan Wing-yan (`Yan') and the prospering of bad guy Lau Kin-ming (`Ming') caused a few raised eyebrows in the Hong Kong audience. And it was a lot more than raised eyebrows in the Mainland China movie censors, to the extent that an alternative ending had to be devised for Mainland screening. However, Andy Lau (who played Ming) explained in a radio interview that this apparent lacking in poetic justice was only in the middle of a story, and if we saw Ming struggling a little with his conscience in IA One, we ain't seen nothing yet.

IA Three purports to demonstrate exactly that. Flashbacks showed that Yan, during the few months leading to his death, was in a happy frame of mind, seeing that his 9 years of agony as a undercover agent is coming to an end. While unable to foresee his own death, Yan saw himself moving towards heaven. The polarised contrast is Ming, during the 10 months after Yan's death, is moving through purgatory, with hell as the final destination.

Had the movie makers concentrated on this character study, we would have seen a more coherently focused movie that has character. However, there is also the commercial aspect to be considered. As a result, two characters are introduced, together with elements of suspense that end in a lame anticlimax. Leon Lai and Daoming Chan are guaranteed box office draws in Hong Kong and the Mainland respectively and, yes, they are cool. But if style and form are what I'm after, I'll watch Johnny To's The Mission (1999) any day. All the aura of mystery created around these two characters end up in being much ado about nothing.

The beauty of the structure of IA Three's plot is somewhat ironic. When you see a plot which at the end has everything beautifully explained and loose ends neatly tied up (which unfortunately is quite rare), you applaud it as an excellent plot. IA Three however scales a height beyond, with a plot that does not require explaining, because in the infernal that Ming is going through in his mind, past and present, as well as reality and hallucination, are just a little blurred. Neat, isn't it?

IA Three is not such a terrible movie. However, if I were to join the most popular game in Hong Kong currently, of ranking the three Infernal Affairs, I would go Two, One and Three.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A tad disappointing...
ajs-104 April 2011
My infernal 'Infernal Affairs' marathon concludes with the third part of this epic saga. This time we're closing in on another mole in the Police force. The trouble is, we keep slipping back into the past so we can see how this guy ties in with it all. To be honest it's a bit of a mess but here's a brief summary while I can still remember it (summary haters, and those that don't wish to know about the plot, take some bad guys out while I write the next paragraph).

Lau Kin Ming has now been cleared of any wrongdoing in the death of the undercover cop, Chan Wing Yan. He can now concentrate on finding other moles in the Police force. His attention is drawn to SP Yeung Kam Wing who seems to be keeping his cards very close to his chest. Another candidate is Shen Chen, a man who, at one time, was Hon Sam's partner. Not everybody is who they seem to be and add to this a lot of flashing backwards and forwards in time, it makes for a rather confusing plot… Think I'll leave it there, I'm getting confused.

It's pretty well made, but it seems very cobbled together and has little coherence. The plot is very hard to follow and a bit of a mess of a screenplay doesn't really help. Performance wise; Tony Leung Chiu Wai was pretty good as Chan Wing Yan, as was Andy Lau as Lau Kin Ming. Of the rest, Leon Lai did a decent job as the enigmatic SP Yeung Kam Wing and Daoming Chen was pretty good as Shen Chen.

The first two films were really good and so I found it hard to believe this one could be so bad. It almost feels like it was rushed out too quickly after the success of the first two and suffered greatly for it. It certainly lacks the punch of the first two and as such is a rather disappointing conclusion to the trilogy. NOT recommended.

My Score: 4.6/10
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Needless 3rd Helping
esteepswong13 December 2003
Warning: Spoilers
The first installment gave us edge-of-the-seat thrills with its chess-game intrigues

The second, a prequel, was just as interesting with its fast-paced Godfather 2-type background to the 1991 triad wars which saw the rise of the vicious Hau (Francis Ng), the coup de grace by Sam (Eric Tsang) and the planting of the moles in the police and within Sam's circle.

Number 3 deals mainly with the fading fortunes of Lau Kin Ming (Andy Lau) in 2004 when after the murder of undercover cop Chan Wing Yan (Tony Leung), he is under police investigation and relegated to the sidelines. The rising star of the police force now is Yeung Kam Wing (Leon Lai) and Kin Ming suspects something amiss. He takes it upon himself to check him out. The investigations lead him to Sam's former business partner Shen (Chen Dao Ming) who appears to be related to Kam Wing. Determined to turn over a new leaf, Kin Ming plans to nail his 'rival' while keeping his own 'identity' from being exposed.

This 'forward' plot does not have much drama (or melodrama) but we have a number of flashbacks which recall how Wing Yan tries his best to win Sam's trust, including setting up a smuggling network with Shen and breaking the law time and again...

If we had lots of twists and shocks in the first two installments, the 'action' in this 'conclusion' is rather 'laid back' - it is mainly about the links of psychiatrist Dr Lee (Kelly Chen) with Wing Yan and later Kin Ming.

Directors Alan Mak and Andrew Lau seem to be scrapping the bottom of the barrel and coming out with bits and pieces of their former glory. Basically there is nothing much left to tell and it is a pain to see Andy Lau trying to be 'dramatic'. Tony Leung, resurrected for the flashbacks, still as charming though.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Incoherent and boring finale to tie up loose end
KineticSeoul21 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
You know how the 3rd installment in "The Godfather" trilogy is hands-down the lower rank installment compared to the previous 2? Well it's the same here, this is a very bland and boring sequel that tried to milk the story as much as it could. I thoroughly enjoyed the first "Infernal Affairs" and the second one was okay. But this third one just added in bunch of elements and characters to milk the story into a franchise. With the ending for the first one, I know it can be very difficult to expand the story. But they went for it anyways and the results are disastrous. So what this is, is a prequel and a sequel to the first one. So they can bring back some of the deceased character that don't have all that much to do within the screen time. Chen Wing-yan was one of my favorite character as the ballsy undercover cop. But in this he has almost nothing to do, so it focuses in on his relationship with his friends which was already settled. And more on the romance between him and his psychiatrist. And let me tell you, the romance between the two is boring to sit through and just seemed like a muddled mess. The psychiatrist is just there for plot device when it comes to the ending. I did like the cat and mouse game between Lau Kin-ming (the mole from the previous one) and Superintendent Yeung Kam-wing whole plays Lau's rival as his equal. When it comes to his methodical planning and clever ways to out think his opponents. I think they should have played more with this instead of skimming over it. Because it sort of reminded me of the confrontation between Walter White and Gus Fring. I wouldn't be surprised if "Breaking Bad" borrowed some of the cat and mouse elements from this film. However some of the dialogues are so corny despite the characters trying to deliver it in a cool fashion. Overall, this is a incoherent and boring finale to tie up loose ends.

5/10
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good movie, but not as good as Infernal Affairs I
gazebo28 September 2004
Warning: Spoilers
MINOR SPOILERS

One has to see the first "Infernal Affairs" before seeing this movie otherwise it would just be too confusing.

This sequel to "IA" is about Ming, the undercover triad member who becomes a cop to infiltrate the police force. Throughout the movie, Ming's state of mind is disintegrating into fear and paranoia because he feels guilty for causing the death of Yan, who is the undercover cop sent to infiltrate the mob (triad). Ming tries so hard to make up for what he has done, his bad past (spying on the police) and for Yan, whom he still feels a special bond.

Ming is losing his mind, that poor fool, and hard as he tries to redeem himself, well, it's not gonna happen.

There are a lot of flashbacks in this movie, which I warn the viewer, is a little confusing at first. One has to pay utmost attention to this movie in order to understand everything. This movie also talks about Yan's life, before his death. Yan is being treated like crap by his mob boss, and the only thing that saves him from mentally falling apart is the unwavering support of the police chief and the pretty police psychologist who kinda has a crush on him.

Andy Lau is disturbingly brilliant as Ming. Watching this man's mental state falling apart is not easy. At one point, he even develops a split personality. Tony Leung as Yan is sympathetic, amusing and he has some rare funny scenes with the psychologist.

The rest of the actors in this movie give outstanding performances. The twist in the end of the movie is terrific and ..... sad.

After viewing the first movie, I can't help but feel bad that these two men (Ming and Yan) were caught up in their bad circumstances and were totally used by their bosses. They were screwed over real bad.

This last "IA" movie continues the theme of two men unable to live their true lives but are trapped in their "masks" (undercover) forever.

The "IA" movies, both first and third, are great psychological thrillers. There's not a lot of violence and it's more of a character study.

I recommend all viewers to see "IA 1" and "IA 3" (I didn't see IA 3 so I can't recommend it). They are the most memorable Chinese gangster/cop film I've seen in a long time.

I give "IA 3" a sold B+++
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not A Bad Way To Close The Trilogy
coconutkungfu-3070417 February 2020
This film feels like an interesting conclusion to the Buddhist themed trilogy that had a masterpiece of a first film, a decent second film that was a prequel and now a well-made conclusion.

Not nearly as good as the first one but still worth the watch and a must for fans of the series.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Tying Gaps What Happened Before And After
Desertman847 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Infernal Affairs III is a movie about what happened before and after the highly successful film,Infernal Affairs.It tells us the story of how Yan infiltrated Sam's group as an undercover police;the extent of the relationship between Yan and his psychologist; and finally,the pains,trials and tragedies that Ming has to go through after he finally became a real cop now that he no longer works for the Triad mob.I think that this was better than Infernal Affairs II,a film that tells about the story of the youngsters Yan and Ming in their lives in the police academy BUT it could never surpass the greatness of the first Infernal Affairs,a cat-and-mouse chase between Yan and Ming while working for the Police and Triad mob respectively.

The third Infernal Affairs was a good movie to tie the gaps on what happened before the cat-and-mouse chase between Yan and Ming. But it wasn't as great as the first one in terms of the suspense and thriller that it brought.Aside from that,one has to know what happened in the first film to fully appreciate this film. One cannot watch independently as one has to know fully well what happened in the first film unlike installment movies like Superman,Spiderman or Mission Impossible. Indeed,one should have a clear understanding of the story of Infernal Affairs unlike Infernal Affairs II,a film that could possible stand on its own.

The acting was still excellent in the film.Andy Lau and Tony Leung provides honesty to their portrayal of Ming and Yan respectively.Eric Tsang and Francis Wong delivered as they reprise their role as Sam and Inspector Wong respectively.But special mention should be given to Leon Lai,who portrayed the enigmatic police officer,Yeung.

Although the first movie was flawless,this third installment of Infernal Affairs was somewhat slow especially in telling the story of Ming after Yan was killed. Some scenes seemed forced. Although,this movie tried its best to be a psychological thriller rather than a suspense action thriller to distinguish itself in the first two Infernal Affairs film.But nevertheless,I still find this film a great view despite of falling short as a great and classic film like the first one.

A 10/10 rating is justifiable.Highly recommended and it provides great entertainment.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I thought Leon Lai and Chen Daoming actually looked cool
thebeautifulones4 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I give it a 10, honest! The show was so confusing, I had to switch the subtitles to Chinese instead of English to understand.

Set 10 months after Chan Wing Yan's death, Lau Kin Ming is relegated to mundane administrative work until the Internal Affairs department had finished investigating SP Yeung's involvement Sergent Chun's death. It turns out Chun was Sam's mole and someone had sent a box of tapes to Yeung of the various people supplying intelligence to Sam.

What follows is a series of very confusing events: Yeung seeming to trade intelligence with Sam, Shen's involvement in business with Sam in China, Yeung's friendship with Yan...and all of it accompanied by very cool music to add to the suspense.

Ming decides to investigate Yeung. In his mind he thinks of Yeung as the mole, trying to get rid of all the other moles. Towards the middle, you will be convinced that Ming has gone completely mad, and during a therapy session with Dr Lee, accidentally reveals that he is indeed, Sam's mole.

Chen Daoming's persona as the cool undercover cop from the Mainland, who works with Yeung to expose Ming is super cool indeed. The suit, the walk, (even though towards the end he has to limp) you'll be convinced he is the coolest guy in the whole series, although he played a small role in the story-telling.

So Shen isn't really Shen. Who is Yeung then? Is he the good guy or the bad guy? I say, watch all 3 shows, and the Special edition DVD. Everything will be clarified. (I've watched the Special edition DVD possibly 3 times to clarify this.)
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Past of Yan as mole and Present of Ming as High Official
jimniexperience28 December 2017
Final movie in I.A. Trilogy

Movie shows the 6 months leading up to Yan's death: funny moments with Boss Tsui, romantic moments with his therapist, and Sam sending him on dangerous missions - suspicious of Yan's past connected with the Ngai. Yan is in the arms trade with Shen and investigated by Yeung, Sam's new "mole".

Movie also follows present moments of Inspector Ming coping with Yan's death and his wife's divorce. He has psychotic episodes where he believes he is Yan trying to right the wrong of his death. I.A. tells him to investigate Yeung after officers suspicious of being Sam's mole wind up dead. They're led to believe Yeung is also a mole covering up Sam's tracks. Along with Ming learning Yan's profile from his therapist, Ming begins to investigate Yeung as if he is Yan, and hallucinates he is Yan ..
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The conclusion to a fine Hong Kong crime trilogy.
Tweekums6 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
After the first two instalments of this trilogy I wondered if we'd be getting another prequel or a sequel to the first film; as it turns out this film is both! We follow Chan Wing-yan in his undercover role working for Sam in the run up to a major deal and we also observe Inspector Lau as he works to make sure nobody can connect him with Sam, his erstwhile employer, so he can become an honest police officer. The problem for him is that his boss Yeung is also searching for any of Sam's moles left in the force. Doctor Lee takes a much greater role in this film as Chan Wing-yan is ordered to see her after assaulting a Triad member in a restaurant and Lau sees her to learn more about Chan Wing-yan's activities.

While I think this was probably the weakest of the three films it was still pretty good and anybody who enjoyed the first two films really should watch this as it neatly wraps up the story. Having missed the second film Tony Leung and Andy Lau are back as Chan Wing-yan and Lau and once again they put in fine performances; other notable stars are Leon Lai as Yeung and Kelly Chen as Doctor Lee the psychiatrist. The earlier parts of the film are mostly action free but there are some good action scenes later on, there are also some nicely humorous scenes as Chan Wing-yan tries to avoid being hypnotised by Doctor Lee.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Plot thickens and comes to a closure
ebiros26 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Although this is a sequel to Part 1, much of the story takes place before inspectors Chan dies, so you'll see him still alive for most of the movie, as does Sam and SP Wong. New character played by Leon Lai (SP Yueng) enters the plot to add pressure to the nefarious activities of inspector Ming, and how the tape evidence to his crime survives his attempts to destroy it becomes part of the plot to this sequel.

Kelly Chen reprises her role as Dr. Lee and plays a part in unraveling of Ming's secret. Bit story of Ming and Chan + SP Yuen in their younger days in the academy are told to tie the plot.

This is a story where the schemer get out schemed by his own activity, and digs his own grave. In the end you see him tapping "Hell" in Morse code (which for some reason he was keen to study in previous parts), probably recognizing that there's hell to pay for all he's done.

Good of this movie was the part of SP Yueng played by Leon Lai. He was just great in this role.

Part 3 is made with same craftsmanship of the first two that put this series on the map. How inspector Ming's deception comes out in the open is the main intrigue of this final installment, and you will not be disappointed.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An awesome ending....
rockyunderscore29 November 2006
Well I know most people think that part 3 is the least favourite of the trilogy. But i liked it. It's better thn part 1 but not as good as part 2.The plot is very smart and complex. I don't think any writers in HK can pull off something like that. Its so complex and so messy but at the end it ends up to be a brilliant script. I think the directors did a great job. This film should've deserve an award for best screenplay in both HK Film Awards and The Golden Horse Award. The other cast did a great job too. Especially Leon Lai. His sinister character just give me the chills and I really hate him. He too should've deserve an award for best supporting actor.

8.1/10
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Star power doesn't quite shine
RNJ9717 February 2005
This time around, we have the returning Tony Leung, Andy Lau, and the new comer Leon Lai to light up the screen for Infernal Affairs III. The three are arguably the biggest pop stars in Hong Kong since the 80's. Does it make the movie any better, I don't think so. These superstars just act like superstar actors (essentially playing their cool selves on screen) and I don't think they are great in this one. They have better performances in other movies. The cool monotone blackish production design doesn't necessarily make the movie cool and modern, not even the computer, gadgets, GPS..., in fact it comes across as rather pretentious and boring. How does it compare to the original Infernal Affairs? I like the first one better, at least it has some good story telling there, not necessarily original: undercover cop, mole, I don't think it's all that original, but you don't necessarily to be original to be good. This sequel rehash the basic premise of the first one, do some more plot twisting and psychological drama there, which I somehow find totally unnecessary other than let's make another sequel to cash in from the first one. It's not a good sequel and definitely not a very good movie either.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Best of the three
Karfoo22 December 2003
Warning: Spoilers
I must admit I was surprised. And pleasantly so.

The first two instalments of the series were, in most respects, well-done cop-and-robbers fare, with the first sequel explaining a piece of history in the story, while making some nice adaptations from Godfather. This second sequel, however, in fact requires some thought as the story unfolded.

*** Spoilers Ahead ***

I will try to reveal as little as possible, since my own enjoyment was partially ruined by having read a review which gave the plot away.

On the surface level, the story weaves together the past and present, showing the fall of the main character. Some would criticize the introduction of too many seemingly commercial elements. While the use of Leon Lai may be so, his character is IMO an outsider necessary to unravel the mess that plagues the police department, namely the many moles inserted by Han. The introduction of a mainland Chinese element ties in nicely with the second sequel, again highlighting the fact that the affairs of Hong Kong is no longer merely its own. Han was indeed getting to be one of the biggest fishes in the pond, and has attracted the attention of powers higher than just the Hong Kong Police. Although his untimely demise, at the hands of one of his protege, put an end to his mainland ambition, the point is by and large neither here nor there in so far as the story behind this particular instalment is concerned.

I am uncertain as to the true intentions of the directors, but, having seen the whole story knitted together so tightly, I must conclude that the first half of the film was designed to mislead the audience in emphasizing the characters who turn out to be in fact subsidiary. The story does indeed focus on Lau as he sinks deeper and deeper into his personal hell. Personally, I dislike schizophrenia as a dramatic device, but I can accept it in this case since the previous instalments alluded to Lau's desire to turn himself clean.

The actions of Han also explained the gaping hole in the first sequel, namely his taking on the son of the former triad boss who tried to kill him and was, in the process, killed by Han. That is simply a supreme piece of human resource management we so often see in the real, corporate world. And, in having watched all three films in the series, I must commend the writers/directors on how Han's character has been fully developed, and I would say his is the most fleshed out of all, barring perhaps Chan Wing Yan.

I would even go so far as to argue that the plot is a cut above any other Hong Kong director/writer has produced so far, both in terms of the plot consistency and its style. One can not avoid comparing with Johnnie To who has regrettably floundered of late.

*** Spoilers End ***

There are, however, minor details that I have contention with:

1. In both sequels, the writers still think, as evidenced by the dialogue, it is the Department of Justice which sentences people.

2. In the first sequel, the flag on Wong Sir's desk on the even of the Handover was an Australian flag.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
the best of the trilogy
disdressed1218 March 2010
this final installment in the series is for me,i think the best of the trilogy.it it a bit confusing,as it does jump back in forth in time.but i think on repeated viewing it will become much clearer.forgetting that though,for sheer tension,it can't be beat.i was on the edge of my seat the whole time.this one focus4es less on the action and more on the character ans the story,as it should,since it ties everything(mostly) up in the end.there even a humorous bit that works very well.its' a great end to the trilogy.i will probably watch the all three movies again and see what i missed the first time around.for me,Mou gaan dou III: Jung gik mou gaan,AKA Infernal Affairs III is an 8/10
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Ouch.
sn_apple6 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
The last installment of Infernal Affairs was suppose to offer closure to the story. All it does is finish off Inspector Lau Kin Ming's (Andy Lau)story but leaves any other character's stories untold.

The plot of this story, if you can even call it that, was based around the desire to feature Inspector Lau Kin Ming's (Andy Lau)and Dr. Lee Sum Yee (Kelly Chen) as much as possible. Watching Ming's character fall from grace was all good and well, but the movie left giant plot holes. 1) Why would Chan Wing Yan (Tony Leung Chiu Wai) be willing to help SP Wong Chi Shing (Anthony Wong) if he conspired to kill his father and also killed his half-brother? At the end of IF2 he seems horrified and distraught after the SP Wong kills his half brother, yet in IF1 he is communicating with him like nothing happened?

2) Besides not answering this question, IF3 just raises more. Why would Chan Wing Yan (Tony Leung Chiu Wai) be willing to keep working for Hon Sam (Eric Tsang) if he was purposely set up by him? You even see Tsui Wai-keung (Chapman To) get out of Sam's car, and in IF1 they are suddenly completely trusted by Sam and even loyal to him?

The movie itself is drawn out and painstakingly slow, or it jumps around from time period to time period confusingly. The movie also decides to introduce two completely new characters, who are not properly introduced until mid/end movie, which makes it even more confusing. It does not resemble the previous two movies in any way. The fact that Ming (Andy Lau) becomes schizophrenic only adds to the confusing, showing the viewer visual hallucinations when it is already quite clear that the audience already knows he has gone crazy. (NB: The scene where Mary (Carina Lau) appears and shoots him in the mental health institute.) Furthermore, when Ming (Andy Lau) shoots himself in the head, he doesn't die? In fact, they state he has brain damage, to accompany his schizophrenia, which was needed because??? He needed more metal problems??? 3) If we assume Inspector/SP Yeung Kam Wing (Leon Lai) is a mole then why does he try to set up Sam? And why does he not kill Chan Wing Yan (Tony Leung Chiu Wai) when he knows he is a undercover cop. Alternatively if we assume he is clean, how does he have the meeting with Sam in the library? If this is a delusion in inspector Min's (Andy Lau) mind, this was not clear at all. But if SP Yeung (Leon Lai) was clean we need to ask why didn't Chan Wing Yan (Tony Leung Chiu Wai) turn to them to clear his name in IF1? Because... the writers did not think this last movie through.

Therefore this movie only takes away from the first two. It only gets a 5 because of some of the artistic features it has, but the story line is missing and flawed.

Minor complaints: 1) Del Piero (Dion Lam) was not shown at all, but he was suppose to be always with Tsui Wai-keung (Chapman To) and his equal in rank. 2) In IF1 we assume that the little girl at his funeral is Chan Wing Yan's (Tony Leung Chiu Wai) daughter. Is anyone else but me interested in that? Where the heck is the love story in this whole series?
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed