Press for Truth (2006) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Brilliant
David_Nelson13 October 2006
This film is necessary to watch if someone wants to know what facts were left out of the official 9/11 Commission Report. While steering clear of conspiracy theories and "what-if" scenarios, this film nonetheless explains much of what has been missing from our national discussion about the terrorist events of that day. All in all, the film is a damning examination of Bush Administration officials who got spanked by the now-famous Jersey Girls for doing less for U.S. citizens than they did for themselves and the Bin Laden family. Truth to power. That President George W. Bush has still not admitted what this film, and its many contemporaneous news sources, proved about his actions shows him to be a liar or an incompetent.
26 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
asks EXACTLY the right questions about 9/11
slurm2330 December 2006
i don't comment often on movies here, but this documentary is an extraordinary exception to the rule. i've seen a lot of the 9/11 stuff out there - from countless news shows, investigative reports and documentaries on mainstream media here in Europe as well as in the States to the pretentious and self-indulging "fahrenheit 911" and even to the far-out Alex Jones and "loose change" stuff. this is the first movie that asks exactly the right questions in an objective, detached and unbiased way (except if you consider the search for truth as some kind of bias).. i guess it should have been expected that in the end only the families (and in large part the strong and courageous women in those families) would be able to muster the necessary efforts for this quest for truth..

having received an academic education i tend to be careful about claims without proof or indication to the source.. i wasn't there and therefore i don't know what exactly happened on 9/11, but throughout human history being somewhat skeptical to the official version has always served societies best. the approach of this movie, the families of the 9/11 victims and the "timeline project" of Paul Thompson come closest to scientific research given the financial and organizational limits of ordinary citizens and independent reporters..

the movie doesn't give answers and will most likely be rejected by the nowadays thriving conspiracy theory community.. it doesn't rely too much on emotions or dwell on human pain and therefore will most likely miss the attention of a mainstream audience.. it only gives a brief but nevertheless important account of established hard facts and the still unanswered questions that arise as a result.

since 9/11 has been the catalyst for not only going to war in Iraq, but also changing and abolishing many laws that were created to protect the civil liberties of Americans and Europeans alike the importance of this event can't be overstated. therefore i can only recommend this movie to anyone who is interested in an mostly accurate overview of what still needs answering in regard to this tragic event.

as 9/11 will dominate the political agenda for years to come it is IMHO paramount to demand those questions answered and have some accountability realized in politics as well as in the media. we owe it to our children to ensure that not just SOME measures are taken against the threat of terrorism but that it's the RIGHT ones.. to ensure that not just ANY countries are invaded by our troops but the RIGHT ones.. only if those decisions are made on a sound foundation will there be success in the war on terror and future generations can live in a world made safer by our emancipation from official versions of world events and the unanimously consensual corporate media...
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A very moving documentary
dzarelli13 October 2006
This was an amazing documentary! I've seen Loose Change and several other documentaries that imply the same things as this one, however (no offense Dylan Avery) none of the documentaries that have come before this have been so professionally produced and edited. This one actually cites the SOURCE of the information. They not only speak to family members and witnesses but, as I said, they provide credible sources for every bit of data they produce. This is a documentary based in FACT and not Fantasy. It raises real questions and provides real proof. The people of our country should DEMAND answers.

On a side note I find it a bit interesting, and insulting that IMDb places this at the bottom of the page for this title: "Recommendations If you like this title, we also recommend...

Watch the Skies!: Science Fiction, the 1950s and Us (2005) (TV)" Please... this is NOT science fiction and we do not run around wearing tin foil hats and camping out at area 51. That is ridiculous and insulting. Imagine how the family members in this documentary would feel knowing that some people consider their cause to be equal to some UFO Sci-Fi garbage.
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An amazing, well-researched piece of work!
clsimon13 October 2006
This is an incredibly well-researched and detailed documentary. Paul Thompson has done an amazing job outlining the events that preceded and followed 9/11. This is not a propaganda piece, however it does focus on the efforts of the families of the 9/11 victims to uncover the truth about that fateful day. The Bush administration and the American mainstream media do not fare well in this analysis. I felt as though I was watching Thompson try to put together a jigsaw puzzle made up of a million tiny pieces, scattered all over the globe. Many of the details he has uncovered are completely unknown to most Americans. I found myself moved at times nearly to tears, and at other times driven to anger. Not only do I recommend this documentary, I intend to buy my own copy and show it to anyone who will watch!
38 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Watch it. This is NOT a "Truther" movie.
vincentdoolittle9 March 2013
One reviewer here on IMDb.com called this movie "conspiracy theory lite." That is intentionally misleading and inaccurate. 9/11 Press for Truth is a story about wonderfully articulate and impressive women looking for truth about their loved one's deaths. Their journey took them head to head with the Federal government, and what happened may surprise you. There is no propaganda, no conspiracy selling, and no fabrications. The time-line of events is accurate, revealing, and disturbing. In fact, that is why I have given this movie a 9. Watching it may upset a person and change their world view. That can be frustrating experience. However, that is the nature of education.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Chilling and filled with well-researched evidence
Nooshin_Navidi11 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
On August 6, 2001, the White House received an official memo titled: "Bin Laden Determined to Attack within the United States." The title of this memo is casually uttered by Condoleezza Rice in answer to a question during her testimony before the 9/11 commission. This comes after she poorly & repeatedly dodges important questions about this memo and other similar tips given to her and the administration about the threat and why no measures were taken to prevent the 9/11 tragedies.

This is only one of many disturbing clips featured in this film, which goes on to expose mounds of damning & documented evidence that the Bush administration not only HAD been warned repeatedly about the threat (and specifically about planes used by terrorists as weapons to blow up several important buildings), but that they had already taken steps to protect themselves and their families during their own travels & stays abroad.

Time & time again, Bush, Cheney, Rice, Ashcroft, Fleischer and others in the Bush administration denied ANY knowledge of threats when questioned in interviews & press conferences. The evidence leaves no doubt as to their knowledge & subsequent failure to prevent the attacks. How can there be anyone left in this country who fails to see the atrocity of what was done on Sept 11, 2001, not just by terrorists, but by our own government.

The warnings could not have been more specific, practically connecting the dots FOR the CIA and the administration. We also learn about researcher, Paul Thompson, and his critical role in exposing the multiple conflicts in media reports (beginning at the 29-minute mark.) His research made it twice as hard to watch clips of the press conferences given at the time by Bush & his officials feigning ignorance when they were more than aware of the threats. The media managed to miss lies & inconsistencies in a # of press conferences & interviews. It's impossible to watch this film and not feel outraged.

~NN
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The US "heads" involved will come out 1 day. I hope they fry!
jay-carey3 April 2011
I've seen some of the other videos out there about 9/11, and this one is the best in describing in detail, the "timeline" of events leading to that day. If you combine the facts, make your own mind up. It's a mind-bending set of facts and like everyone, the world over, I was watching the events unfold, and the "facts?" that the US government released in a matter of days after 9/11 but, had no knowledge it was going to happen and had no intention on acting on dead set Intel that a threat was there. I hope that human beings, no matter what country you live in, band together to find the truth. If they spent 100 Mill (us) trying the find out if Clinton screwed Monica, why only spend 14 Mill, on the commission into 9/11? Closer to home, Australia supporting the US in the "fight", the pricks should have been looking closer to home. Australian's should also fight for the truth, for the US government to declassify all information regarding Bin-Laden. We lost 23 and wounded 168 men, so Bush and his whole stinking government can act All Powerful, and as if they are doing something, but really just wan the power (of course, getting Sadam and the oil as a bonus) Daddy Bush would have been proud! If the US is so powerful, and we just let everyone involved go free with their lives, family, kids, when they are 6ft under and someone spills their guts - it's gunna be too flipping late to fry em then ain't it! One day, Some One, will refuse to live with the secret anymore and they will let it out, I just hope firstly that whoever orchestrated, arranged or had any part (Bush, Condoleezza Rice and Dick Chaney) in the attack are alive to face the firing line and I'm alive to see it!

I'm glad I'm Ausralian. We might have Gillard as the face of our government until she over steps the mark and they boot her out, but at least we wouldn't have believed the bullshit like the American people did. It was fed to them by Bush, Rice and Dick. You have a small group of Gov Officials that feed you the story and they expect you to believe them - There are so many questions, still unanswered by the people that know and IF asked, they are dodged, or answers that are full of hot air.

If there's footage of the plane hitting the pentagon, instead of just 1 second after - release it Bush, that's about 1,000 questions answered in a manor of 10 seconds of video on the building that has more CCTV cameras than any other.

Guys, watch this Doco, it's got the facts, then make up your own mind. Watch the others.... It's a mind-blower when you combine all the facts, not hot air.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
To quote the bumpersticker: "If you're not outraged, you're not paying attention"
Nooshin_Navidi_MUSE6 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
On August 6, 2001, the White House received an official memo titled: "Bin Laden Determined to Attack within the United States." The title of this memo is casually uttered by Condoleezza Rice in answer to a question during her testimony before the 9/11 commission.

This comes after she poorly & *repeatedly* dodges important questions about this memo and other similar tips given to her and the administration about the threat and why no measures were taken to prevent the 9/11 tragedies. This is only one of many disturbing clips featured in this film, which goes on to expose mounds of damning & documented evidence that the Bush administration not only HAD been warned repeatedly about the threat (and specifically about planes used by terrorists as weapons to blow up several important buildings), but that they had already taken steps to protect themselves and their families during their own travels and stays abroad. Time and time again, Bush, Cheney, Rice, Ashcroft, Fleischer and others in the Bush administration denied ANY knowledge of threats when questioned in interviews & press conferences. The evidence leaves no doubt as to their knowledge and subsequent failure to prevent the attacks.

I'm not really much of a conspiracy-theory type, but seriously, how can anyone learn these facts and still fail to be troubled by them? The warnings could not have been more specific, practically connecting the dots FOR the CIA and the administration. We also learn about researcher, Paul Thompson, and his critical role in exposing the multiple conflicts in media reports (beginning at the 29-minute mark.) His research made it twice as hard to watch clips of the press conferences given at the time by Bush and his officials feigning ignorance when they were more than aware of the threats. The media managed to miss lies and inconsistencies in a number of press conferences and interviews.

We may never know the complete truth behind the horrific events of 9/11, and it would be naive to give the other countries involved a Get-out-of-Jail-Free card, but it's impossible to watch this film and not feel outraged at our own government.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bin Laden....
winkworth-113 September 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Half of the documentary focused on Bin Laden, when it should have been focusing on the US government... Although it may make us feel better about invading Iraq and what happened on 9/11, pointing the finger at a foreign man... Everyone must realize the truth... Documentaries like this that focus on the censored media coverage are a complete waste of our time.... How would anyone but the US government plant 1000's of explosives for an entire demolition of both towers... Although the truth about the events on 9/11 may never be officially released, everyone has a right to know what happened that day... Everyone needs to start pointing the finger at the people who benifited from that day... Wake up people, wake up!
5 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Conspiracy Theory Lite
pcurley17 February 2009
This movie is intended as a "lite" introduction to the more fevered 9-11 conspiracy theories without quite donning the tinfoil hats. How could the military have so rapidly responded to Payne Stewart's plane in 1999, but not to the 9-11 hijackings? Answer: Because the military didn't respond rapidly in 1999. It took 81 minutes, far more time than the military had on 9-11. Why didn't the 9-11 Commission Report mention the collapse of Building 7? Because it was irrelevant; nobody died there and in fact the collapse of the building was anticipated by the FDNY. At its heart this film is dishonest; the filmmakers (and several of the subjects of the film) believe in the full-bore conspiracy theories, but they chose to cloak themselves in the guise of "Just asking questions" because they sense that the public disagrees with their paranoid world view.
10 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed