All Rise (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
80 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Little substance, bad episode formula
didkus1 October 2019
After the first episode I had hope it could turn out to be a descent court dramedy, unfortunately I don't feel so optimistic after the second one. The show seems to follow a simple formula which is taking over the story and characters, and part of it is: show a couple of cases, make it very clear what is right and what is wrong for each, make the main characters fight for the right thing and the replaceable characters fight for the wrong thing. The show has a very simplistic worldview and I have trouble imagining how that wouldn't get in the way of character and story development. Don't think I would be watching next week.
61 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Liberal Judge Fantasy World
Johnny_West3 November 2019
This is the most ridiculous legal show in a while. It is all about a judge who sees her job as doing whatever she wants so she can feel good about herself. Violating the law, setting criminals free, it is all good, as long as she thinks it is Justice.

This show is a perfect example of how liberal Justice works. No care for the victims, only the criminals count.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
WTF???
susangarner-4115023 October 2019
They canceled For The People, a great legal drama that focused on contemporary issues of social justice, with Aaron Sorkin-esque smart, witty, dialogue for another sappy, stupid and without any redeeming qualities, soap drama. Shame on those that made these decisions.
36 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Very poor. Hard to watch
brucethomson-4787225 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
First review. Had to comment. junk. Judge lets someone who stole her laptop get away. Old white man court bailiff shoots at judge after an outburst. At 14minutes now, suspended sentence because a man was black. I have to stop both this review and watching now, so I can do something more useful... Now at 15:30, pregnant woman gets off because 'noone would listen'.
59 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just because you did it doesn't mean you're guilty.
sullir524 September 2019
Show is about a judge who doesn't follow the law; she wouldn't be judge for long. Then again it's what the media and Hollywood want judges to do, not follow the law written by our representatives. Stupid premise and execution of a show.
60 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Good cases, but a judge who doesn't follow the law is corrupt
dshell10218 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The show is about a corrupt judge helping criminals.

1st episode has a judge figuring out who the criminal is and covering it up. That's not justice. She has a duty to the truth and law. Instead she's giving criminals a pass. 2nd episode has her making all these statements about the courtroom being a place of law and justice...yet doing her best to subvert the law. She wants to give criminals a pass because they disagree with immigration law, but that's what makes her corrupt. Justice is blind. Her job isn't to decide what laws to ignore, it's to decide whether the laws were broken.

Activist judges are dangerous and have resulted in criminals being released who go on to steal, rape and murder again. Factually speaking. This show is a dishonest approach to rewriting reality. This show is about a very dishonest and corrupt judge who should be removed from the bench and it would be fun to see some of that come out and her fighting for her life like Shelley M. Richmond Joseph.
31 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not worth the time
golfsucs1 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Just finished watching the second episode and OMG Who actually wrote this show they obviously don't know anything about the law I mean the challenge is meeting with the DA and defense to figure out a way around the law wow show will be canceled very shortly don't waste your time
51 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Occasionally I get a...
nnom1 October 2019
....twinge, mental nudge, whatever to watch a show I know nothing about. This one I should have ignored. I don't have the time or the desire to write everything this show did wrong....because it was a LOT. There are a TON of things wrong with our judicial system, they could have at least tangentially focused on ANY of them....nope, just stupidity after stupidity after stupidity. Black guy gets time served on a TRAFFIC MISDEMEANOR, his entire family is in the courtroom and cheers and high fives.....WHAT??? Ugh, I can't go on. The one infinitesimally small bright spot was the defense attorney and the bailiff...but that don't make a show. No chemistry, no writing, super annoying 1st time judge, super annoying judge's assistant, I mean HOW did someone look at this and say...sure, let's go. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME.
47 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Preachy
russod-2482824 November 2019
Too preachy and not nuanced at all. The judge doesn't follow the law and wouldn't last very long in the real world. Well, I would hope she wouldn't
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Lets set thief's free
franscoisdevos24 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
In first few minutes the new judge lets a laptop thief go free .And so it starts she decides to use her own rules to set criminals free
55 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a joke
pietclausen26 September 2019
This is not a drama and not a comedy but a fast rolling dialogue in fantasy land. Stopped watching halfway through the pilot and glad no longer having to endure this stupidity.
50 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Too much social justice instead of justice
jmartin946955 November 2019
There are some fine performances with tiresome storylines. Way too much emphasis on social justice. Sad.
21 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Unrealistic
salmatt-4702024 September 2019
Just watched the first episode and I am very disappointed. Writer/creator couldn't have spent any appreciable time in any courtroom anywhere. This episode was rife with stilted, moralistic dialogue and caricatures of court employees. I hope it improves, but the initial episode leaves little hope.
62 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
All Turn The Channel
blueoysterdvp26 September 2019
Bad. Just plain bad. Can't believe CBS took off "Life In Pieces" to make room for this trash.
48 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Liberal Garbage
paulie-702461 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Watching the first episode I was willing to give it the benefit of the doubt. But when E02 featured a whistle blowing illegal immigrant seeking refuge in her court from nasty ICE agents i decided i had better things to do with my life
47 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
drdriggers2 October 2019
Anybody below attempting to defend this show are not serious. It is a mockery of a courtroom, where "law takes a backseat", and the judge is God. She let a illegial immigrant try to escape.... then because he "believes" he is innocent? What are we teaching kids?
35 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nope
jacquelinekeeling1 October 2019
Wade Bethel was terrific in Hart of Dixie, and I was looking forward to this show because of him. The acting is fine, I guess, but the script is so awful that I barely made it through first episode. 10 minutes into second episode, I stopped watching and deleted the series from my DVR queue.
32 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Socialist Election Manifesto...
jimj405 November 2019
Wow - how corny and biased can you get? At first this seemed like an interesting take on US justice and how a new judge might bring a new perspective but it rapidly became a juvenile political farce showing how some states encourage illegal immigration and some people in the legal establishment are prepared to bend the rules for those whom they view as the "goodies".

This might go down well in a Democratic kindergarten but it's depressing to think that so-called grown-ups lap this rubbish up!
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage
imdb-740025 September 2019
Formulaic. Predictable. Too slick for it's own good.
38 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Couldn't get passed the first 30 seconds
heatherleefox24 September 2019
I watch A LOT of shows so i don't have room for any new shows that don't grab me immediately. Much less ones that start badly. Unrealistic reactions to situations (in the show) that are written by people that just don't care.
43 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Give me a break
mhartfor11 October 2019
She is a JUDGE! If she really wants to crusade for these under represented or poorly treated people she needs to quit and become a public defender. A JUDGE is supposed to be impartial and uphold the LAW not some politically correct BS social justice agenda! If a judge actually behaved like this they would taint every case that came before them, allow the cases to be appealed and overturned by a higher court and be fired FAST! Yeah, you social justice morons will love it and think it is great that "minorities" are "getting justice", NOT, and the police are being shown to be corrupt but again this is FAR from reality and just pathetic pushing of a dead agenda!
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dreadful in Many Ways
Ladybbird-269-94514627 September 2019
Soooo boring, corny script, so much over-acting & unbelievable story lines. Struggled to watch past 7 minutes
40 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yikes! Surprised by the positive ratings and reviews
lusciousmuffins17 November 2019
I am genuinely shocked this show is doing so well with viewers and critics because I could not stomach it. The problems I have with this are manifold. 1st, it is so unrealistic. I know real courtrooms can be boring, but this is so detached from reality that I found myself groaning at the ridiculousness of it all. 2nd, not only is the show itself unoriginal, the episodes I did watch were basically so formulaic they kind of blurred together into a generic mess. 3rd, it might just be me, but I find the main character profoundly unlikable. CBS seems intent on pushing a ultra-plucky Black lady as a lead character without giving them any depth. This judge seems like a carbon copy of Star Trek Discovery's lead, who they just dressed as a judge. This woman is slightly more tolerable than Michael Burnam, but not by much. 4th, as is true of far too many TV shows and movies these days, the stories presented in this show feel less like entertainment and more like political and moral lectures delivered from on high. Perhaps it's just me, but I look to TV for escapism, not heavy handed preaching about how evil America, White people, the Justice system, men, etc... are. Basically, I'm done with this show because it's just a downer that does not offer anything new or engaging, only recycled ideas, one dimensional characters, and finger wagging.
16 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
All the nuance and depth of a Hallmark movie plot
gwsain-542607 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This is awful. Basic script: Accused is a sympathetic, innocent victim. Clearly a good person, just the system is stacked against him/her. Youthful, idealistic, black, female judge instantly recognizes accused is innocent, and proceeds to fight the system. Rest of judges resent her upsetting the process as evidenced by elevator full of grumpy old white guys letting elevator close in her face. (yes, it happened) Cynical, jaded assistant tells her she is bucking the system (although she secretly admires her). In response judge rhetorically asks "Aren't we here to see justice prevail?" or some other 'for the people' statement. By end of show, judge finds some quirk of law to get victim off, and everyone hugs.

Lather, rinse repeat.

If it makes it to the end of the season, be prepared for the big season ending cliff hanger where Judge Carmichael finally pushes too far across the line where she's under review by the judge board to remove her. Nothing predictable here... Update-Well they did surprise me. The cliff hanger/review by board wasn't the end of season finale, it was the mid season finale. Guess the writers are getting desperate.
19 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Liberal garbage.
timbirk25 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I turned it off as soon as he pulled his gun out and shot at the judge obviously this show is going to present asevil,greedy.
45 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed