Fish Out of Water (2009) Poster

(I) (2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A fabulous, quick lesson in scripture
pdille21 November 2018
This film will change your mind about any thing you've ever been told about Christianity and sexuality. I highly recommend it to any family members or people who have ever struggled to reconcile the two. The movie is fun and witty and fast, while also smart and thoughtful and enlightening. It uses animation to unpack the Bible. It's easy to watch and makes you feel happy after watching it...and smarter.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
a sense of precept
ypandalove9 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
My first impression for this film was boring, because I thought this film describes one man's commutation of unvarying routine by rowboat. However, after watching this film I found this is so funny film. An ordinary salaried man brings his oars to commute every day. He has to cross a sea from his island. After crossing the sea a woman who is fishing waits him. They look at each other and smile. One day, a strange but beautiful career woman waits the man a side of the seashore. The man puts her on his boat and rows lightheartedly. The fishing woman's face betrays a mixture of emotions. Next day however, a fat man waits the salaried man with that career woman. And another person who wants to ride the man's boat increase day by day. The man becomes disgusted and the end of the film is so shocking! I find this film tells us the importance of modesty and a hint that how should we get out of pinches.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
smart
kmyuu_hmtr7 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
When I saw the title "fish out of water", I imaged the movie is about fish. But it isn't about fish. It is about a man who commutes to company. His way of commuting to work is different from ordinary people. He goes to company by rowing a boat to avoid traffic jam. Everyone don't want to be caught in traffic jam. I think so, too. Everyone probably gets irritated at traffic jam. He is very clever. However it takes much time to row a boat. One day, a woman came to him to get on the boat he rows. Day after day, more and more people came to him. He was tired of such people, and he finally started to commute by swimming in the sea every day. After I watched it, I really felt better. I admired the idea he came up with. I didn't image he goes to company by swimming. It is a nice idea but it is tough to swim every day. If I go to company by swimming, I'm sure to have a doze during work every day. The movie is very interesting. This movie makes me so happy. I want to this movie again and again.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
fish out of water
karinv-8511523 July 2016
Warning: Spoilers
If you have the title "Fish out of water", you may imagine a story of fish. However, this story isn't about a fish, but a man who works in a company. He rows a boat every day and goes to his company every day. Perhaps because he commuted by car before, he is always irritated because of a traffic jam, so he calmly commutes by a boat. One day, a strange woman waits for him to row a boat in front of a wharf. He is compelled to get into a boat with her and rows. On the next day, more people wait. He is irritated to commute by boat. Then he just hits upon a good idea. He starts to commute by swimming like a fish! He enjoys commuting by swim because someone don't interrupt him.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A big clever fish comes out of water!
k003854612 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This story is not about a fish. It's a story about a worker who goes to work by rowing a small boat to the opposite shore every day. One day, a woman comes to ride on his boat. The worker think it is fine. Then the next day, the woman and another man who was quite a bit impolite also comes to ride on the boat. He isn't happy about it. And one day after, two more rude guys come to ride. He can't stand it anymore. The worker doesn't want to let them ride on his boat. So, what does he do? Simple but funny! He goes to the opposite shore by swimming like a fish! Now that the worker is annoyed by no one, he can go to work delightfully. This film makes me really feel great. The story and the ideas are quite simple but it is fun and makes us feel invigorated.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fish Out of Water (2009)
lissitellez23 July 2013
This movie is well documented uses scripture it keeps your interest going it is fast pace. I would like to say that God does love a gay person however even though He does love gay people does not mean He approves this lifestyle. God does not want you to be deceived. He loves you too much. The bible does say there will be severe consequences and whether you accept it as truth or not does not make it any less true. He is the only one who can set you free the choice is up to you. He wants you as you are and if you give Him permission He will totally transform the person that you are to the one God says you can be. He is waiting with love and open arms He will not take anyone by force.
2 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Interesting
bongiovi-4400624 July 2017
This movie is interesting. The lead character is so smart that he finds the way avoid a commuter rush and commutes without stress. But one day, a sexy lady found him and joined him, then other men followed one after another. He looked like a "fish out of the water." How does get back to the stress free commuting like before? At the end of the story, everybody must feel exhilarated.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
different another
sayuna21 July 2017
I like the part when the man smiles at the fishing woman. This is not the main story, but this small romance has a presence. Facial expressions of characters are easy to understand their emotion and what things happen. I was amused what would happen and who would wait for the man next. I wonder who the people wearing suits were. I think nobody can come up with his final solution. It was unique. I want to know about how to shoot the scene where the man rows the boat in the lake.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed