Dhobi Ghat (2010) Poster

(2010)

User Reviews

Review this title
195 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
This movie is NOT a tool for escapism
jon_s_chan15 October 2011
What prompted me to write this review is the kind of negativity this movie has received from reviewers on IMDb. I understand that every review written here is an honest opinion, but the number of 1 out of 10 scores I have come across from people who also had time to write a review amazes me. I have taken time to read most of the reviews and I see that they were all disappointed with the movie not featuring Aamir over other actors. I have one thing to say to all of them, THIS MOVIE IS NOT ABOUT AAMIR KHAN!!! There is much more this movie has to offer than Aamir and don't downvote the movie for such a silly reason.

I once watched a movie called "Adrift in Manhattan", was reminded a lot about it while watching Dhobi Ghat. Yes, the concept of Dhobi Ghat isn't fresh if you have seen many American Independent (Indie) flicks, but it was a courageous attempt if we are talking about Indian Cinema where mass masala has become the recipe for success again. The major thing about this style of directing is that you are either a fan of it or you aren't.

This movie does not focus on a burning controversy, nor does it focus on a love couple and certainly does not focus on a one man army daring to bring down the corrupt government. It focuses on 4 common individuals and the common events that happen over a span of few days in their lives. Nothing out of the ordinary happens, just some interesting encounters with people and places which is what the movie is all about. The beauty of the movie lies in how beautifully the writer/director allows the characters to develop based on day to day events. It is so fresh to see this in Indian cinema, I cannot believe such a thing isn't being appreciated.

Another major reason this movie is under-appreciated is the fact that you aren't escaping into alternate reality by watching the characters of this movie. The average movie goers, no matter what the nationality is, wants to imagine himself as a guy making beautiful girls fall for him or acquire power or even be an agent of chaos. Watching movies has been the best tool for such a thing, but in this movie, most of the Indian populace would feel like looking into their own lifestyles. Does not sit well with average movie fans, which is why even in Hollywood, movies such as Taxi Driver and The Machinist are critically acclaimed, but not well reviewed by general audience. Of course, over time once the movies age like fine wine, people will realize the kind of masterpiece of Indian Cinema this movie is, like the world appreciated aforementioned Hollywood flicks.

I don't know why people are disappointed with Aamir Khan. Does his presence mean his character is supposed to do something extraordinary? For the character he was asked to portray, which I admit could have been pulled off with ease by several others, Aamir did perfect justice. What else is left to complain about? Aamir was fresh as ever to me, and the new faces added to my delight. Really talented bunch that pulled an easy job effortlessly. Overall, I would not suggest this movie to the casual audience, by casual I mean the ones mostly into blockbusters. This movie is more for serious movie goers who mainly are accustomed to the independent Hollywood flicks which really introduced to us great actors such as Christian Bale, Edward Norton and Ryan Gosling in recent years.
30 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful film full of melancholy...
Aryia29 April 2011
I'm not myself such a big fan of this kind of film, I don't plan on buying the Dhobi Ghat DVD, but I nevertheless give a 9/10 because the movie deserves it. There are writing and technical achievements that you can't take away from the film, even if it didn't appeal to you.

The first great achievement of this film is its screenplay, written by Kiran Rao. The danger for a mosaic movie is to have its story drift endlessly or split in too many branches. It's not the case in Dhobi Ghat, and on the contrary it keeps a strong core around which the various characters and stories revolve. What is this core? The city of Mumbai of course, the 5th character of the movie, as the director claims... but not only.

The English title of the movie, Mumbai Diaries, could also have been "Mumbai Visions". Yasmin makes video recordings of Mumbai as she discovers the city. Shai wants to photograph the real Mumbai. Munna creates another self through Shai's camera, to reach the filmi scene of Mumbai. Arun gets his inspiration by watching the city, or watching the city as seen by Yasmin. One scene I really appreciated is Shai unnoticed taking pictures of Arun watching Yasmin's recordings. So, instead of just having the characters wander in Mumbai, the core of the movie is the sights the city impresses on its inhabitants and our protagonists.

The next achievement of Dhobi Ghat is its direction: refined, subtle, it delivers sights of Mumbai in a very intimate way. It's completely appropriate for the screenplay (well, logical, since both story and shooting are from Kiran Rao), and probably helps us rapidly feel close to the characters. I particularly liked all the scenes recorded by Yasmin, featuring small everyday events, but yet really meaningful and emotional. But it's also a strong technical direction, as is enough to prove it that scene where Munna runs in the middle of Mumbai chaotic traffic. A real moment of cinema.

To finish, the third good point of the film is its cast. Aamir Khan is flawless, as usual, though in the rather unusual role for him of a loner (he's done that kind of roles before, but not very often). Kriti Malhotra is a particularly moving and very beautiful Yasmin, Prateik Babbar excels in the role of the shy Munna, and Monica Dogra plays very naturally the modern American-Indian Shai.

The only thing I liked less in Dhobi Ghat is its end, a bit too open to my taste. But that's very subjective and on the whole the film deserves praise for its coherence, its sensibility and its artistic direction. I would call it a must-see.

P.S: People who hated it must only be used to watching Masala stuff. Seriously, the movie can appeal to a large audience, it's not AT ALL an obscure art movie that could appeal only to a very small fringe of audience...
50 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
beautiful..leaves you wanting more.
golden-silence20 April 2011
I dunno why people here have been giving this such bad reviews. I understand this movie is the typical bollywood movie, but that does NOT make it a bad movie. I know many Aamir Khan fans who went to see the film were probably disappointed as it is not like his usual films...

I have always enjoyed his work and I think this movie has a LOT more to offer than Aamir Khan. The others actors were INCREDIBLE, and it's amazing that they are just ordinary people. Maybe that's why there were, because in a lot of ways, Mumbai Diaries is about every day life.

Kriti (the girl who plays Yasmin) was amazing. I laughed when she laughed and cried when she didn't. I LOVE the way her part was incorporated in the movie and that credit goes to Kiran Rao. Which brings me to my next point. I think Kiran did a wonderful job with this film, and I actually don't see how people could criticize her just because her husband is Aamir.

The story lines were written beautifully. Each story had depth and meaning. Every one meant something to one another, but there was no place for them in the each others lives.

Munna's character is so endearing and sweet, he makes you fall in love with him from the first scene. And Shai's performance leaves you wanting more. She plays the international girl perfectly, and being a bit of an 'outsider' myself, I know exactly how it is going back to your roots. Shai had it down pat. Yasmin, again, I think for me..was the best character. I loved her from the very beginning. She was innocent and happy and almost child-like, you couldn't help but love her...Aamir was like always, brilliant. The guy's talented as the world knows.

This film is not you average Indian movie, but it is a beautiful piece of work and truly captures your attention. Not once was I bored or wondered when the movie would end. Yes it had it had some flaws, main one being the cursing...for some reason that made me laugh. I felt it didn't really go with the situation, and was a bit forced. Other than that, kudos to the whole team for creating this movie.

Numbers and 'hit'/'flop' status does NOT make a movie a 'good' movie...every one is different and has their own opinions. For me, this was a great movie. :) Def one of my favourites.
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I had given up on Bollywood movies for a long time, and then I saw this.
raazgupta13 May 2011
Let me start by saying that if you were expecting Transformers, this movie is not for you. If instead, you find yourself in a quiet room with the patience to watch something intelligent, then this would be your cup of masala chai :) Anything I say about this movie will not be enough to praise its quality. I have to go back and watch it a couple more times, before I have anything insightful to say. But I must say something, because of the way in which this movie has touched me.

I had grown jaded over the past few years, looking at the quality of movies being released in Bollywood. I would start a movie only to find myself bored by the same age-old clichés. So my expectations weren't very high when I started this one. But by the end of it I was sitting up straight, with my hands in a praying pose, watching with the utmost concentration. I guess I see a little bit of myself in Arun and Shai. I also sometimes think about the people that we the privileged don't see in our daily lives. The builders who build skyscrapers, yet have no place to call home. The dhobis who clean other people's clothes, yet hardly have any themselves. Kiran Rao does an amazing job of taking all these elements and representing them in the form of video, photography, art and music. There are coincidences and small clichés, but they aren't as blatantly idiotic as in other movies.

There is poetry in this movie about the privileged, the loved, the lost and the city that is Mumbai. One of my favorite movies of all time. I'm definitely going to keep an eye out for Kiran Rao and Aamir Khan productions.
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Aamir Khan never ceases to amaze me !!
joanne-athaide4 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I am very disappointed by the negative reviews of this film which in my opinion is one of Aamir Khan's and Kiran Rao's greatest works. I have one thing to say to there folks who did not like it - The beauty of the movie is not in what is explicitly conveyed, it's in the things left unsaid and in the emotions it brings about. If you did not understand it, the loss is yours and not Kiran Rao's or Aamir Khan's who I hope continue to create such pieces of art.

I myself being born and brought up in the beautiful city of Mumbai felt the true essence of my beautiful city throughout the movie. It is indeed a place where people from different backgrounds come to pursue their dreams. There have been many movies made which show the lives of strangers intertwined. But this one touched me like no other. Maybe because it is my home. But mostly because the the stories of these people struck a chord with me.

There is the story of Yasmin - the lonely housewife. But you cannot pigeonhole her into just another lonely housewife. In her eyes you see the hopes of a young optimistic girl who loves her family more than anything. She is a simple and innocent girl put into a new life in a big city. She portrays a brave front but is completely lost and alone. You only realize at the end that behind those beautiful eyes, was a hidden lonely struggle which had a tragic ending.

Then there is Munna, a simple, resourceful and hardworking lad - a dhobi from the slums. And Shai, a rich, intelligent and creative young Indian girl brought up and probably born in America. I am putting them together because their story touched me collectively. They come from totally different worlds but have a connection or rather an understanding. He is infatuated with her and she cares for him. He knows his world was different from hers and she is completely out of his league so did she. But when they were together, they had a world of their own. The best part is he never made a move on her even though he could have on several occasions. It shows that he may have very little education and a slum boy, but he had integrity, intelligence and a wonderful heart. The last scene between them when he runs to her cab was probably my favorite. There was nothing said, but there was so much understood. They both knew they had no future, but they both cared for each other deeply. It was so intense and I applaud the director and the actors for that. It was an exquisite shot.

And then there is the artist. He too is lonely in spite of having people around him. Probably looking for something real. He finds that in the smile of that sweet innocent girl who he cannot get enough of.

There is no doubt that Prateik stole the show and won our hearts with his brilliant performance.

If I can find one flaw, it would be the underrepresented "Marathi manoos" in the movie. Not to please the masses or politicians, and I am not one myself, but because that a big part of the ethos of the city.

The reason this film probably did not click for the Indian audience is because it is worlds apart from the mainstream madness of Bollywood. It did not need intense drama, songs, duologue's or dance. It is in the subtle sadness behind the smile, the aspirations of a young, but true heart, the search for something real in a fake world.

It's a story of 4 people searching for the truth, searching for love. They find it very briefly with each other. They all belonged to Bombay, Mumbai, yet they all belonged to different worlds, as is the true spirit of the city.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A poetic tale of people living in Mumbai
aafreen-karim8 March 2011
Dhobi Ghaat-Mumbai Diaries:I didn't even know that Mumbai Diaries was a part of the title but thats what the film is truly about.Mumbai is not just a city/habitat but a character which is the common thread linking the 4 human characters.It's like a person molding all of them differently.A bored wife from small town finds Mumbai - a companion,the ocean - a confidante, Mumbai rains- the romance that she could never find in her husband.A girl from New York finds Mumbai to be an exploration of the landscape and of human beings,life in its by lanes and how it changes by day and by night,discoveries and realities of life ,of the wedge still existing between the rich and the poor so simply shown in the way that tea is served to an employer and to a Dhobi.Prateik Babbar perfects the lingo and nuances of a Dhobi/life in slums to the T.Pratik's character is so well defined from how he goes by the railway tracks doing his daily morning ablutions while the sky is still dark, the place where he lives, the bed soaked by the first sign of rains and for some privacy just a curtain made of patches of cloth and no door.Aamir's character becomes intertwined with a woman who is just an accidental and disconnected find and goes on to become a muse and then to someone whose loss is nerve-wracking.There are just too many beautiful moments only to be seen to be experienced in this movie, the first time Prateik/Munna gathers enough courage just to share the armrest in the theater with Monica Dongra/Shai and how happy and blissfully he is doing that, how he finds shame in being a rat killer,how he falls in love but restrains himself even while having the opportunity, how he even tries to make her feel jealous even while realizing the futility of doing so. These characters are what every Mumbaikar is all about, going about our daily lives/chores while still aspire to find love, build a connection with another person,achieve our dreams, find a little romance by the sea, culinary bliss in the Malpua of Mohammed Ali road and Bhel-puri of Juhu. It's all there in mumbai and in this beautiful film. The background score and the Mumbai noise lifts the film, the casting is apt and such a delight and the story lucid.I loved the end.For a first time director its certainly an achievement to transform her vision so beautifully on screen. Sheer Poetry in motion. Take a bow!
29 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Piece of Art
reesu_daddy15 July 2011
First of all this movie will not appeal the regular Hindi movie audiences who would like to see a hero and a heroine and a romanticism growing with elements of beautiful songs and music. Sorry guys, this is not for you. It will appear tremendously boring for those (Most of the reviews will tell the story).

Just change the setting and location, this movie will become a Hollywood movie (Art Type). There is no hero or heroine in the movie. It is a tale of 4 people, their lifestyle, and Mumbai's rapidly disappearing living history. The idea of the movie is little ahead of the regular audiences.

If you are into Art Films, watch this and enjoy every bits and pieces. If you do not understand art, please never try to watch this movie.
21 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fresh, calm. A nice try overall
i_of_the_tiger2 May 2011
It's not perfect, but it's definitely worth viewing. One does not find such attempts in Bollywood very often. All the characters are fantastic, and so is Mumbai. :)

The plot could have been more tightly strung up, but what the heck.. for a debutant, it's amazing. It comes to it's best when no dialogues are being delivered, just the rolling camera. The movie has no 'message', no climax, it just flows with lives of the characters. Moral of the story : Life comes in full circles, like clothes at a dhobi ghat. The background score is quite experimental as well.

Do not go expecting the usual Bollywood routine. If that what you want, I'm sure there are plenty of options around.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A very different sort of Bollywood film...
MartinHafer13 January 2013
"Mumbai Diaries" is a very, very unusual Indian film. For those familiar with Bollywood films, you might expect a lot different movie than you get. There are no song and dance numbers. There are no film clichés or formulas. And, there is no real resolution to the characters and their problems. This is NOT a complaint--I liked the film--but I just want you to understand that "Omkara" is not what you are probably expecting.

The film, not surprisingly, is set in Mumbai (Bombay). The story is about four people who are, in their own way, alienated. One is an artist who is afraid of commitment, another is a slightly out of touch American of Indian descent, another is a very poor man and the final one is a woman on videotapes--and you never actually get to see her live in the film. I could say a lot more about it, but frankly it's best to just watch the film and see it unfold. Because of excellent acting, the vague script manages to satisfy. Well worth seeing.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Mumbai Diaries
manoj-aryan16 November 2011
We are at an art gallery in a painting exhibition. Appropriately low key. City is Mumbai. Kitu Gidwani is manager of the whole thing and announces artist decided to make an appearance and should say a few words. Artist Arun (Aamir Khan) is visibly reluctant presence facing the crowd or art-lovers whatever says in man-of-few-words fashion that it's a tribute to people from different states and raises a toast to Mumbai, "To my muse, my whore, my beloved…."

Kiran Rao's debut film also a tribute to this bustling city of millions where four characters randomly run into each others' lives and make an impact. Like us meeting people and our story meets their story, vice- versa and streams go on. At the same gallery amongst the attendant an American NRI on sabbatical Shai (easily find of the year, inspired casting) meets Arun. Art talk, smoke, alcohol mix well. Fingers touch, so does the bodies. But the night-after ends badly because of Arun being asshole finding it difficult to say simple words 'not looking for something serious'.

There is a dhobi guy Munna (Pratiek, natural brilliant) who Shai befriends. She from another world treats him well, equal, goes to street photography with him to Nagapada, Machali market etc which is of course local to him. This boy, a wannabe actor (Salmaan being his idol) falls for the girl of course in the course, but never crosses his boundaries. They belong to different worlds (for society different classes) he and she both knows. Their odd, tender love-story or story, unsullied, forms the core of the Dhobi Ghat for me. There is definite chemistry between them. But never spoken of. Captured in gestures. Stolen yearning glances. Half chances. Even obvious finale burst out is still with no words. There is a beautiful night scene shot in rain where Shai and Munna have a drink at her place, later she falls asleep, air is electric, boy is tempted, leans for a kiss, backs out at final moment, leaves.

Meanwhile on other thread Arun looking for inspiration changing homes stumbles into few video tapes, sort of video letters of a recently married and migrated girl previous tenant of the flat Arun is living. Her name is Yasmeen (Kirti) and tapes are addressed to her brother back in her home town describing city from her eyes. He is hooked, possessed by these tapes, like porn her manager taunts. We don't blame him. Scenes in these tapes are almost poetic. We literally see how innocence is crushed in this endless city which swallows, sees everything from great successes, glamour to horrors of the fate, people.

All the principal characters are kind of chasing other. Munna chasing Shai, Shai-Arun, Arun-Yasmeen and Yasmeen her dream in city (which is fifth character in the movie). We go after things most try to attract us, evade us. And it's city like this which can shelter such diverse characters with desires, caution secrets, waiting to be discovered, fulfilled, hurt.

Lensed on slick, clean canvas and dream background scored by Gustavo Santaolalla movie is shot guerrilla-style on location minimalist approach, low on budget, rich in content. In this character driven piece ninety six minutes no interval (finally nice to see some arts winning over commerce) eventually everyone will get some kind of closure or otherwise. Just like in real life. Their stories are scripted like in a diary, aptly titled Mumbai diaries told soulfully by its sensitive director. Lovely.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
If you don't get it, that's too bad
sohamorrohit-125-2606233 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I've read many bad reviews about this movie here and honestly it baffles me. This is, without a doubt, one of the better films made in Bollywood EVER. If Slumdog Millionaire can get regular 9s and 10s then this film deserves much more. You can sense the intimate direction and camera-work(this movie was shot with a regular DSLR) in every scene. Indians are so used to crass films where you don't have to think, that whenever a movie like this comes their way, it's just too much work for their fat asses - sad but true. IMO, this film enfolds the viewer(or at least me) into all four lives. Which is why you can understand with Arun(Amir Khan), a loner gets so into Yasmin's(Kriti Malhotra) life and why he is so affected by her death. Shai's(Monica Dogra) overnight attraction to Arun is a beautiful contrast - and a reminder that there are always more than one path - to Munna's(Prateik Babbar)gradual fondness for Shai. Furthermore, this film deserved a good score and Santaolalla(one of my favorites) did justice to that. I have been an Amir Khan fan for a while and now I am well and truly a Kiran Rao fan as well.

9/10
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Prateik is great!! ... thats all there is...
mawrouri3 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Not much of a story. It revolves around four persons. If you are bored from the movies-for-non-intellectuals (viz, Dabang, TMK..), then this one is also not for you; as it involves poor direction and lack of soul.

The main characters: Munna (Muslim Clothes washer), Shai (banker) , Yasmin(Married-Muslim Girl) & Arun (Painter). I think Arun & Shai too are Muslim. MUMBAI DIARIES is a misleading title, as it involves only Muslims.

The Narrative is juggling all throughout with recent past & the present. Their is an aunt in Arun's neighboring apartment who is symbolized as Mumbai; always observing, yet non-participating.

I was kinda freaked by the Rat killing scene. It was gross and worst part was that it was prateik doing it. I don't like cute people doing nasty things.

All the girls who loved Prateik Babbar in 'Jaane tu ya jaane na', will definitely like him in this movie. Actually, I went to see its screening only for him. All the audience was so blown out by his performance. This movie's fate at box-office is highly dependent on Prateik's immensely intuitive acting, which has not much room for it to get better..

It was a good idea of director, to rope in her husband in order to promote the movie. Everyone anticipates the movie to be good & perfect if Aamir is in it. But, I'm sure the viewers are gonna be disappointed.

If you love Prateik, go for it. But, if you seek a beautiful performance by cast or an intelligent script then i would say a definite no.
119 out of 217 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
COPIED from Babel, Amores Perros, 21 Grams....
giomiomi10 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This film is shamelessly copied from Hollywood's Babel, Amores Perros, 21 Grams.

Generally i do not write reviews here. But, i am making an exception. I was horrified to see a movie of 'minus' rating to be having a 7+ rating on IMDb.

Due to the hype i went to see the movie at INOX, but it was such a BORE. A Painter rents an apartment where a Muslim lady commits suicide. He gets inspired and starts painting. A NRI girl who has a crush on a Dhobi. A Dhobi who kills Rats at night.

Totally SICK movie. No skill in compilation of scenes. You should know how to capture a scene and present it to the audience.

Really, unworthy people making films is the KALYUG of Bollywood.
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Story behind the infamous Dhobi Ghat
ijpohncdqjpw21 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Movie is about four people living in Mumbai who in some way or another affect each others life. Yasmin - a newly married Muslim immigrant comes to Mumbai with her husband. She makes home videos for sending it back to her family. She later finds out her husband is having an affair and commits suicide. Arun - a painter starts leaving in Yasmin's apartment and finds the home videos made by her. He gets inspired and paints a master piece. Shai - an NRI investment banker comes to Mumbai to explore her hobby of photography. She has a crush on Arun and finds ways to get closer to him. She also uses the Dhobi ghat as theme for her photography. Munna - a Muslim clothes washer. He has a crush on Shai and helps her in her photography project.

OK, now that the cat is out of the bag. Everyone knows how bad the movie fair at the box office. But, very few know the story behind the story of Dhobi Ghat.

Dhobi Ghat was the outcome of desperation of the director to cope up

status insecurities with mega star hubby. She had scribbled this story after summarizing few mumbai related movies and then assessed the psychology of the movie goers.

It was felt that the time is right to give movie goers something that is not glamorous.

So, the script was hastily made ready in order to cash the opportunity. It was first assessed with family & relatives. It was decided to follow the proved strategy of first releasing in Canada.

Releasing it is Canada for screening was a great advertising gimmick. People like to see well known film stars in person. So, the response at the Canada screening was real good.

Then, advertising was started at Movie Theaters in Indian metro cities. It is best to put money in advertising which is more effective and for most relevant audience.

However, Aamir had this feeling from the start that this might not 'click' with the audience. So, the expenses made for further advertising were with due economical consideration.

It was decided from the very start that the film model will hold; majority of fresh faces, a little known face from a hit movie and of course our well known mega star.

With all this the film got bombed. It was a great experience for the director. It was like a training people undergo upon first recruitment.

Applause for the strategist!! Movie is a definite no-no!
76 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A Lesson for the movie buff...
campgroundclaxon1 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This is a true lesson for the movie buff who go and watch all the hyped movies after seen their advertisements.

No matter how much you try to flush out the movie, its NAUSEOUSNESS lingers on....

I'm a big Aamir Khan fan and have been for the best part of 2 decades. This has to be one of the most disappointing movies he has made - certainly in this century.

It shows all characters as Muslim and their servants/slaves are shown as Marathi people. Their is a casting of a FAT Black MARATHI girl who is humiliated on the camera by a Muslim lady.

Essentially, its the stories of four lives in Mumbai. I'm sure you've heard that so many times about this movie, but that's about all there is to say about it. The movie starts at a random point in their lives and continues for the course of a few days. There is little character development and there is hardly a story to tell. To be more accurate, this is effectively a 'documentary' of some fictional characters against the background of 'Old Mumbai'.

You'll be disappointed if you're expected something in the vein Aamir's recent movies. There isn't any poor acting - there's hardly any opportunity for someone to have put in a bad performance. I kept waiting for the movie to get going but it never did. Sorry Aamir!
22 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yawn
unthinkingroominess13 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Thank-you to all the cast of Mumbai Diaries for a sleep inducing and boring performance.

I wish the length of the movie was more, like 3 hours. So, I could have slept more.

It was really first of its kind movie i have seen in the 21st Century. Boring right from the beginning.

The movie proves that script, direction, compilation are much more important than the movie stars. Aamir's performance is surprisingly passe.

One of my friend was a bit more upset. He chose to leave the Cinema hall after 25 mins of the ordeal(as he says).

OMG, writing about it is making me recollect the boring storyline. I am gonna go sleep now. Zzzzzzzzzz.....
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring Film is an understatement....
crostait26 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
My God what waste of people's time & money.

This is not even a movie. Just a collection of short clips for four people's live. A desperate attempt to combine it into a single clip.

I was really hoping to have a gr8 time this republic day, but it was all spoiled by this stupid excuse for a movie.

Giving this a 2/10 for prateik. otherwise it would have been a MINUS score!! It was great idea to cast Monica doga, as she neutralizes the classy & royalty looks of Babbar nawab.

Would NEVER watch another film by KIRAN RAO!!! Will love Aamir forever, though..
47 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
You cant show rubbish in the name of Short Film
proudrol10 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This is the output of 11 years with Aamir??

This is an eye opener for all. It shows to what extent Kiran has used Aamir's status to go up her career.

Poorly written script. Rubbish casting. (Monica Dogra would be more suitable for a domestic servant). Amateur direction. Production.. well those are Aamir's money & god knows who else's black money.

An A certificate for 'rat killing' scene. LOL. You must have really tried hard to get monica to show some flesh, but i guess, as there is NON, you must have used the rat-killing-strategy to mislead people in believing it contains nudity.

I experienced disgust while coming out of the hall actually i don't get what the story is all about... director is damn confused.. the movie fails to connect even for a single minute to the audience.. and thanks to the blunt dialogs.. there was nothing at all interesting in the movie left... i would like to ask kiran that what she actually tried to tell, and why she decided to forcefully connect the 4 stories in the movie which at most of the times seemed impractical... plz,you are a talented director.. it could had been much better than it was... 4/10... thumbs down...
18 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stupid Movie! Jaago Grahak jaago!
vehementsoftened30 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Before you go on an read this, I would like to make it crystal clear that there is no doubt that I am a big Aamir Khan fan. I love the way he makes movies and puts life into it. He has this ability to show any ordinary story as a special one. We all are aware of this fact but according to me master faltered this time in Dhobi Ghat. I was disappointed to the core because when you go to watch a movie for which you have been waiting since past 2 months and you have put the theme music as your ring tone. Like a loyal patron of Mr. Khan I saw this one on Friday morning show.

The movie is about 4 characters, all soaked in different situations. Arun ( Aamir Khan) is a high profile painter, stays aloof from people. He has been shown as a personality having problems to gel in with the social life and a complete loner. Arun meets Shai ( Monica Dogra) at a party. She is a pampered child of a NRI who owns Edulja Builders. Shai is an investment banker in a multi national company and has come down to Mumbai for a break. She intends to see vivid shades of the city and wants to experience the life of Mumbai. Under the influence of alcohol Shai and Arun spend a night discussing their lives, and Shai fell for him. Arun tries to rectify his mistake by explaining Shai about his inability to mix in with the crowd. Munna is a Dhobi ( the movie revolves around him) who attends Shai as well as Arun. Shai has a thing for photography and keeps capturing different shades of Mumbai. She become friendly with Munna in no time, meanwhile Munna's urge to become a model arouses after he came to know Shai can make a portfolio for her, in return Shai takes a promise from Munna that he will show her around. Shai still stalks Arun along with some of her friends. Undoubtedly Munna falls for her, I loved the way his character has been portrayed. Calm, consolidated, loyal towards work. Munna soon realized that Shai like Arun and takes his time to gulp down this fact below his throat. Meanwhile Arun finds out some old tapes of Yasmin( Kriti Malhotra) who used to stay in the flat where he recently moved in. Yasmin who had just moved in to the city ( when the tapes were made) instantly fell in love with it. She has recorded all the places that she visited and misses her younger brother. Arun gets so involved into her tapes that he starts making paintings of whatever he perceived about her life from the tapes. The movie is more of a '' MUMBAI DARSHAN'' that shows various places around the city. At one point I thought the spark in the movie would come up and lift the standards, but unfortunately I was wrong. Very ordinary movie, with pathetic dialog delivery. Most of them are one liners.

Don't give me that crap that this is how art movies are made. Come on, we all have seen art movies. Just by showing some strokes of paint, some old Mumbai streets and Munna's innocence you cant get away so easily with the movie. Kiran Rao, I can understand that you a have a celebrity , almost perfect, and a very successful husband, I really sympathize with you, but that doesn't give you the right to make a movie like this. The story makes no sense at all, the ending is abrupt and shortcomings are endless. Aamir Khan productions might have broken even, but people have certainly realized that this time the dish served tasted pathetic, just the garnishing looked tempting. I hope you don't allow your undeserving wife to direct any more so called art movies.

The name is very apt. the movie has been pitied just like the clothes at Dhobi Ghat. If I wanted to see Mumbai's beautiful places I would have done that myself, we don't require a movie to show the same.
37 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Way ahead of its time...
ballockfigurer30 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Way ahead of its time in STUPIDITY, IMMATURITY, and DISGUSTING NEPOTISM...

This movie should be stopped from screening at all theaters!! It puts on a really bad image of film industry.

Movie is about four people living in Mumbai who in some way or another affect each others life. Yasmin - a newly married Muslim immigrant comes to Mumbai with her husband. She makes home videos for sending it back to her family. She later finds out her husband is having an affair and commits suicide. Arun - a painter starts leaving in Yasmin's apartment and finds the home videos made by her. He gets inspired and paints a master piece. Shai - an NRI investment banker comes to Mumbai to explore her hobby of photography. She has a crush on Arun and finds ways to get closer to him. She also uses the Dhobi ghat as theme for her photography. Munna - a Muslim clothes washer. He has a crush on Shai and helps her in her photography project.

A director who starts her career in 2001 in lagaan and then works until 2004 in various others, takes a 3 year gap (;) dunno what happens in this time) and boom comes up in taare zameen pe, jaane tu ya jaane na, peepli live.. and now tries something of her own.

I am really sorry for that guy, i know how 'used' he feels. Living his ex-wife and putting in line a nice career and for this!!! The Movie directly goes to the trash bin!!! However, the Babbar kid is great. Other casting is horrible. The side heroine, Monica... omg! i thought she was playing some "chanda in DevD" due to her 'kaamwali bai' looks.

Please, guys make good movies.!!
26 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Ghatia Movie...
electioneeringideal30 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
kya yaar... Ghatia movie... well in English it means the disgust which i experienced while coming out of the hall actually i don't get what the story is all about... director is damn confused.. the movie fails to connect even for a single minute to the audience.. and thanks to the blunt dialogs.. there was nothing at all interesting in the movie left... i would like to ask kiran that what she actually tried to tell, and why she decided to forcefully connect the 4 stories in the movie which at most of the times seemed impractical...

Coming from an Aamir Khan production (camp) I was expecting a lot more and I surely enjoy this genre of cinema, however it was down right boring. Kiran Rao rather arrogantly and rudely commented "This is an unusual film and not for everyone's taste, which was expected. I am glad that that the audience I made the film for are liking it,"- if you read between the line it insults the viewers intelligence saying if you don't like it too bad it was higher than your taste. Not so ! I had read that Mumbai is the fifth character in this movie and to an extent I liked what I saw but it wasn't portrayed as a character. There's less of Mumbai and more of let downs coming from a superstar's wife. The hype was nothing more than a balloon with less air, Aamir went to promote to create the hype only, not promote a movie.

I would rather watch Udaan again or Naseerudin Shah's small time; very little known 'Amal' again any day about the life of a rickshaw driver. If you compare this movie to his last Peepli Live this is a dud.

I would not term this as an art movie or a drama, this lacks realism and the plot is flat.

The camera angles, the cinematography, the locations, the art directors vision is all simply stunning, I love this type of a combination but then what is required is a script and characterization.... and that is missing. In the most simple words it's a love triangle, old wine new bottle.

I unfortunately cannot even brand this movie to be boring as to be boring the script must have a point, a destination, a climax, an end or a direction.

Aamir clearly pulled some strings with the media to get some rave reviews to hype up the ratings and entice the movie-goers.

As a photographer I loved the photography and for that I would give it 4 rather than a 3.

Performance wise Prateek/ Aamir/ Monica are very good but this movie required stronger characterization and I'm sure Prateek and Aamir would have delivered if Kiran Rao knew how to extract it, unfortunately she went by the script and what's on paper, not by a vision or a perception. Prateek will go places surely but this was a damper for his talent.

'Dhobi Ghat not for everyone' read the title of the Hindustan times, in fact I'd say, not for anyone. I'm sure those that applauded this dead horse with false pats on the back and thumbs up were either connected to Aamir or those that are diplomatic and want to be in his good books or just good at their PR skills.

They went to Gustavo Santaolalla to have the background score, I wonder why AR Rahman was not good enough for it.

In the end it made me beg for what was missing, the climax, and moreover Mumbai which in the reviews was promised.

Yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn Kiran Rao.
28 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Dear To All The Muses
Prince_Adam14 April 2014
Lo and behold, there's a new talent on the director's chair. Take a bow, Kiran Rao, this is one of the best directorial debuts ever.

Dhobhi Ghat is a scholar's (Kiran Rao) dedication to its muse (Mumbai). A savoury ode to one's fetishes. A philosopher's view of the contradictions of our civilization. And a guiltless acceptance of one's harmless pursuits. There is no scepticism in Rao's love for the city. It's pure and unconditional. That is why she chose "Dil tadap tadap ke keh raha hai aa bhi ja" as the song to describe her feelings.

He meets her, she meets him and he meets Yasmin. There's no beginning. There's no end. There's a journey that goes, ripping the obstacles around it, while walking, sipping a cuppa tea, smelling the fragrance of flowers and hacking the caustic forces in form of cruel changes before they suck our passion.

The editor's chopping table called for a sacrifice; as a result, the fifth character, that of the labourer, went away. One may call it a mistake, but perhaps it was influenced by the ruthless impatience of today's young breed.

We all know Prateik had talent. We all saw how he turned an unlikeable introvert from Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na into a lovable character. This time he submits himself to his character of Munna, a ghetto boy. Never do you feel that he is the MTV-watching yuppie. The ode to Salman Khan, the Khan of all seasons, is a masterstroke. How could Munna be a fan of anyone else, other than the 'Bhaijaan' of the Hindi film industry? Monica Dogra is impressive. She underplays herself so well. We need to see more of her. Kirti Malhotra (Yasmin) is a talent to watch out for.

Now on to the biggie: Aamir Khan. He is the only mainstream actor, a man of the classes and the masses, who'd have the guts to be a part of a cinema like this where he is basically a supporting character, free from any starry traits. This character is the opposite of what he played in Ghajini. There he played it to the gallery with aplomb. Here he's restrained, virtually immersed in the background. He talks less, thinks more. For those not used to subtle acting, this performance of Aamir warrants a repetitive viewing to get the notes correctly.

Here lies a cathartic passion of finding one's inner-self in Mumbai Diaries. In many ways, it's a kind of a love story where one doesn't realises that one is in love till years go by -- an unchanging soul of one's life. It grows on you like a fine malt.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Everything Aamir touches doesn't turn to gold!!
heclauai9 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Everything Aamir touches doesn't turn to gold, it can very well turn into ****, with a little bit of help from Kiran.

Movie is total waste of time and money.

Ever since she embarked on her career in film industry, she has only come up because Aamir was lending her the rope. But, Dhobi Ghat seems like such a big boulder in the back-pack, that forget about Aamir pulling her up, SHE has brought down Aamir from his status of a Class A actor to a retired veteran.

Of course, there are hopes for Aamir in Dhoom 3 and Delhi Belly. But, still Dhobi Ghat IS AND WILL BE a PUNGENT BLACK mark in his career. Thanks to Kiran.

After a pathetic attempt at story & direction, she does not even let that be it. You should learn from your experiences and not keep on trying to erase your wrong. Well, there are a lot of wrongs you would need erasing.

The movie does not have a soul. If this movie was supposed to be a hit, then it is an insult of audience!!! Audience wants something enjoying, refreshing, something that is full of life.

After getting bombed at the box-office, pathetic attempts are being made to control damages.

1. TV advertisements are increased.

2. Parties for critics so that they write good biased reviews.

3. Putting up a face of a winner.

4. Shelling out moolah or favors for all those who have potential to hamper movie's image by telling their honest opinion.

5. Parties for all well known newspaper movie executives.

6. Online Marketing services have been hired by Kiran to upload false reviews on multiple sites.

It is really Pathetic!! If you had put this much effort in the story, all this would not have to be done.
20 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A great film for retards, not sane people!!
consolidateimpassiveness30 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
OMG! Kiran! How could you make a movie on Mumbai and degrade the marathi manoos.

The movie establishes that Mumbai is made by people from Bihar, Karnataka, Tamilnadu. And that the marathi people are introvert, poor scum who are just servants of the Muslim population. Also, Major characters in the movie are Muslim.

I don't know how the MNS or Sena did not protest. I thought at least MNS cared about Marathi Manoos.

The Direction of the movie is totally rotten. No sense at all. Kiran you might might have forgotten lessons on continuity between scenes. Oh, wait a minute you just skip those lessons as you had the Aamir Airline ticket.

POOR SHOW! RACIST FILM! MUST BE BANNED in MUMBAI.
29 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
People have LOST the purpose of making movies...
grislymalignity1 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Before you go on an read this, I would like to make it crystal clear that there is no doubt that I am a big Aamir Khan fan. I love the way he makes movies and puts life into it. He has this ability to show any ordinary story as a special one. We all are aware of this fact but according to me master faltered this time in Dhobi Ghat. I was disappointed to the core because when you go to watch a movie for which you have been waiting since past 2 months and you have put the theme music as your ring tone. Like a loyal patron of Mr. Khan I saw this one on Friday morning show.

After a pathetic attempt at story & direction, she does not even let that be it. You should learn from your experiences and not keep on trying to erase you wrong. Well, there are a lot of wrongs you would need erasing.

The movie does not have a soul. If this movie was supposed to be a hit, then it is an insult of audience!!! Audience wants something enjoying, refreshing, something that is full of life.

After getting bombed at the box-office, pathetic attempts are being made to control damages.

1. TV advertisements are increased. 2. Parties for critics so that they write good biased reviews. 3. Putting up a face of a winner. 4. Shelling out moolah or favors for all those who have potential to hamper movie's image by telling their honest opinion. 5. Parties for all well known newspaper movie executives.

It is really Pathetic!! If you had put this much effort in the story, all this would not have to be done.

The movie is about 4 characters, all soaked in different situations. Arun ( Aamir Khan) is a high profile painter, stays aloof from people. He has been shown as a personality having problems to gel in with the social life and a complete loner. Arun meets Shai ( Monica Dogra) at a party. She is a pampered child of a NRI who owns Edulja Builders. Shai is an investment banker in a multi national company and has come down to Mumbai for a break. She intends to see vivid shades of the city and wants to experience the life of Mumbai. Under the influence of alcohol Shai and Arun spend a night discussing their lives, and Shai fell for him. Arun tries to rectify his mistake by explaining Shai about his inability to mix in with the crowd. Munna is a Dhobi ( the movie revolves around him) who attends Shai as well as Arun. Shai has a thing for photography and keeps capturing different shades of Mumbai. She become friendly with Munna in no time, meanwhile Munna's urge to become a model arouses after he came to know Shai can make a portfolio for her, in return Shai takes a promise from Munna that he will show her around. Shai still stalks Arun along with some of her friends. Undoubtedly Munna falls for her, I loved the way his character has been portrayed. Calm, consolidated, loyal towards work. Munna soon realized that Shai like Arun and takes his time to gulp down this fact below his throat. Meanwhile Arun finds out some old tapes of Yasmin( Kriti Malhotra) who used to stay in the flat where he recently moved in. Yasmin who had just moved in to the city ( when the tapes were made) instantly fell in love with it. She has recorded all the places that she visited and misses her younger brother. Arun gets so involved into her tapes that he starts making paintings of whatever he perceived about her life from the tapes. The movie is more of a '' MUMBAI DARSHAN'' that shows various places around the city. At one point I thought the spark in the movie would come up and lift the standards, but unfortunately I was wrong. Very ordinary movie, with pathetic dialog delivery. Most of them are one liners.

Don't give me that crap that this is how art movies are made. Come on, we all have seen art movies. Just by showing some strokes of paint, some old Mumbai streets and Munna's innocence you cant get away so easily with the movie. Kiran Rao, I can understand that you a have a celebrity , almost perfect, and a very successful husband, I really sympathize with you, but that doesn't give you the right to make a movie like this.

The story makes no sense at all, the ending is abrupt and shortcomings are endless. Aamir Khan productions might have broken even, but people have certainly realized that this time the dish served tasted pathetic, just the garnishing looked tempting. I hope you don't allow your undeserving wife to direct any more so called art movies.

The name is very apt. the movie has been pitied just like the clothes at Dhobi Ghat. If I wanted to see Mumbai's beautiful places I would have done that myself, we don't require a movie to show the same.
21 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed