Pixels (2015) Poster

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
438 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Innocent special effects romp is highly enjoyable
robertemerald14 February 2019
I guess the the way to describe this movie is Ghostbusters lit up in neon. Please see it just for the cgi, it's awesome. If you have the dvd look for the short on how they created one of the cute characters. The comedy is snappy, almost witty, and yet nothing new, but it works. You'll smile rather than laugh out loud. The story is absurd, which is exactly what we pay Hollywood for, and with this one they've outdone themselves. There's a classic chase. There's a great cameo appearance. There's a cleverly worded love affair. There's a great homage to nerds of the 1980s and overall, I thought, a really whacky satire of big budget invasion movies. It's just such fun.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Highly underrated
nicknic5 January 2019
A fun movie, with bright actors. Entertaining and authentic. Worth surely the view
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ignore The Pretentious & Pompous Film Critics
angelamparo29 September 2015
I'm really not quite sure what the film critics were expecting from this film. It's a movie about a video game apocalypse starring Adam Sandler. What in the world were they expecting? Citizen Kane? The Godfather?

The problem with these so-called film critics today is that they're impervious to accepting anything at face value. I believe it got such awful review from critics because it starred a lot of big name actors and maybe they expected more substance from them; but you have to look at the source material before making those determinations. This is a tongue-in-cheek slapstick comedy that's meant to entertain people especially those who grew up in the 80's and can relate to the video game evolution nostalgia of that time. If you watch this movie with that mindset, I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
183 out of 277 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This was a perfect family movie!
staciebriggs20 October 2015
Okay, I am actually a little upset I listened to IMDb on this and didn't see it when it first came out.

This is my ideal type of movie, a Sci-Fi - Comedy, that is family appropriate.

This movie was very well made, graphics were great, and the story line and characters were fun to watch and kept you involved throughout the movie.

Its one of the few movies I have seen this year that I actually re-watched and was still loving the movie.

Yes, if you are hoping for a curse filled / sexually derogatory movie... you will not be happy with this.

But if your looking for a family movie that does not have dora the explore,care bears, barbies, or CGI animals in it... this is a great movie.

Perfect for the 20-40 somethings that played the games as kids and now have kids of their own.

Wish they would make more movies like this.
96 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie ! Can't Believe all the Abysmal Reviews
attorneychriscarr13 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I think some people are expecting WAY too much out of this movie. It's a kids movie which has a lot of appeal for adults. It's one of the more appealing kids movies I've seen in years. It's definitely geared more towards the 8-12 crowd, rather than younger kids' movies (like Despicable Me, which is also great). The language is a bit course at points, but nothing too bad.

I read all these horrible reviews and was not looking forward to it, but it was SO entertaining! I was worried that it would be another crappy Adam Sandler movie (I like him, but he has definitely had some real bombs). But he did NOT try to hijack the entire movie like some people suggest. He shared the screen well with the other actors.

Sure, Kevin James was a strange choice as president but, again, IT'S A KIDS MOVIE! While some adults can't handle the package delivery guy from King of Queens being president, most of the target audience probably doesn't even know who he is. And he is NOT playing some bumbling doofus like in Mall Cop. He successfully pulls off the role of a president who is stuck in a video game and I cannot imagine anyone else doing a better job.

All in all, the movie was very entertaining (better the the Minions movie I took the kids too last month--snore...). How do you NOT enjoy seeing Pacman gobbling up cars and people like dots on the streets of New York City. Each game was parodied just the right amount. I wouldn't have wanted 90 minutes of any one video game, but I think they are successful in giving you just enough of each video game "battle" to keep in interesting and not boring.

It's exciting enough for kids that aren't familiar with the old- school games, but gives some nostalgia (and some subtle grown-up humor) to keep the adults entertained.

Sure, no one is going to win an Academy Award for this film, but it is funny, entertaining and an enjoyable way to spend an hour and 45 minutes.
142 out of 251 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I really don't understand the ratings on this one
mcgregorrowland7 August 2015
A 5.5 on IMDb. Really? This movie was not bad! It was funny, action packed, and just all out fun.

The idea and the storyline of this movie was very good. It was very creative and it brought back memories of older games such as PAC-MAN, Galaga, and Donkey Kong. The CGI for all the animated game characters was awesome. The cartoony animation was absolutely great and made the characters fit in well with the real world.

The comedy was hilarious! I found myself laughing very hard at times and it was just great, classic Happy Madison humor. Part of this was because of the acting which was great by the way. Everyone keeps saying that Adam Sandler is not funny anymore but I disagree. He still was funny at times to me and I thought he did good acting. Kevin James as the president was hysterical. Michelle Monaghan did great. But the two who were just hilarious and almost made you cry because they were so funny was Peter Dinklage and Josh Gad. They were so funny and the stuff they said and did was totally laugh out loud funny.

Surprisingly, the action in this movie was really good. The PAC-MAN car chase, the Donkey Kong battle, and the video games attacking the city was great action and there were some cool new stunts I have never seen before and that was nice to see in a comedy film.

If you love the old time video games, Happy Madison, good, laugh out loud comedy, and some cool and comical action then you will love this movie. Sit back, don't take it too seriously, and enjoy this fun film.
154 out of 283 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Look at most of the reviews and judge for yourself
auvoir-4211313 August 2015
This is my first review and i really had to write it after just coming back from watching Pixels.

I'm not going to really talk about the movie, the premise is simple, its just a show about the old arcade games attacking the world.

Is it fun? Hell yeah it is.

Is it funny? Yep, sure is, is it really really funny? Not really, but are there really really funny shows out there anymore? Nope

Is it worth your money? Yes it is.

So look here, the show is about ARCADE GAMES ATTACKING THE WORLD, so why take things so seriously? The people who slam this movie are going on and on about acting, the show being not funny, lame jokes, Adam Sandler trying to make money

Please..who makes movies not to earn money? Look at yourselves, if you didn't enjoy yourself at this movie, you probably are taking life or yourselves too seriously.

The ratings are low because people enjoy arty farty movies too much? Or they are trying to show that they are sophisticated? Movies are supposed to be fun and this one sure is. Looking at the ratings at rotten tomatoes epitomizes the way people think nowadays, all uptight, trying to find a perfect movie and just plain wet blankets.
75 out of 134 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
So, after reading the reviews, I had to watch this.
ioio32l28 July 2015
I enjoyed it, Pixels is much better than people say. It has some really funny parts, and if you grew up in the 80's and played some old games you will like this I am betting.

Of course there are some silly parts, but that's how all Adam Sandler movies are. It reminded me a bit of Billy Madison or Happy Gilmore. It was fun to watch.

Ignore the reviews from critics, the SJW's these days will find anything to complain about and they did with this movie too. They want everything, whether it be a movie, video game, or comic book to cater to them. Anything they find offensive immediately they claim to be insulting and they will overlook anything good about the movie just so they can talk negatively about it.

Never listen to an SJW when it comes to reviews, they are awful critics.

Watch a movie, and judge it for yourself.
137 out of 266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Yes its ridiculous but funny and entertaining.
tdr-9144325 July 2015
I want to start off by saying that, I have never reviewed a movie before. I felt compelled to do so due to the bad rep this movie appears to be receiving. The bottom line is it was comical and entertaining. The idea though ridiculous, was at least fresh to all the movies being produced today appearing to be recycled from other movies. It kind of reminds me of the original Hot Tub Machine movie that was unexpectedly a fresh idea and was entertaining. Like that movie , there were parts of this movie that were just plain funny and amusing. The movie theater I was in most people laughed multiple times, I can not remember another movie (recently) where the majority of the moviegoers were noticeably laughing. I enjoyed the movie for a new idea and found it to be entertaining. Isn't that what a movie is suppose to be?
79 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yes, it was ridiculous and stupid but I enjoyed it!
tquitt-8165210 August 2015
Feeling the need to beef up the score on this movie. I enjoyed it! Yes, it was ridiculous and stupid but I enjoyed it. Paul Blart, The Mall Cop is President of the United States, and Happy Gilmore, the voice of Olaf the Snowman and the children's author that Will Ferrell calls "Elf" are going to attempt to save the world from alien invaders using 1980's video games. I was surprised that my ten and seven year old girls liked it too. However, they had many questions about the references to the '80's pop stars and icons and many of the arcade games meant nothing to them. If you spent any time in the arcades in the early eighties then I am pretty sure you will appreciate this movie!
106 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Old School Nostalgic Fun!!!
Pumpkin_Man25 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Wow, I can't believe so many people are hating this movie just because it has Adam Sandler in it. I think it has the potential to become a cult classic years down the road. The idea of video game aliens coming from outer space to attack us and the only hope to defend mankind are some video game nerds from the 80's who knew what gaming is all about. I'm a Sandler fan, and there were actually times where Josh Gad and Peter Dinklage had funnier lines. This review WILL contain spoilers!

In 1982, Sam Brenner and Will Cooper count down the days to when the new video game arcade opens. They enter a video game competition and are up against Eddie Plant, who is a pro at playing Donkey Kong. Meanwhile, NASA sends up a time capsule to outer space with 1980's culture of video games and clips from TV shows as a sign of peace in hopes to make contact with alien life. (This is the Adam Sandler video game version of 'Battleship'

33 years later, Sam Brenner works for a tech company and his best friend, Will is now the President of the United States. The world is soon attacked by video game characters because the aliens took the message the wrong way. They send down Pac-Man, Donkey Kong, Centipede, Mario, Space Invaders, Arkanoid and Tetris. Sam, Will, Eddie, and conspiracy theorist Ludlow must team up and stop the video game aliens from destroying and pixelating the world. This is a cheesy fun ride. Don't take it too seriously and you might enjoy it. I would definitely recommend PIXELS!!!
104 out of 203 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
pretty good movie to watch with kids
fuzzhead724 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I've been hooked on video games, especially the classic ones, since I played Space Invaders, Pac-Man, Dig Dug, Wizard of Wor, Frogger, Donkey Kong (etc., etc., etc.) at the arcades from the late 70's through mid 80's, and of course on home systems afterwards. My kids have played many of these classic arcade games on MAME and on compilation disks on the Gamecube. We absolutely loved Wreck It Ralph, so when I heard that there was another video game themed movie coming out, I was looking forward to watching it.

I wasn't able to get to the theater for the first month, but then it was showing at a local drive-in as the second feature. I went to watch it with my oldest son, who is not quite a teen yet. We were pretty bored by the first feature, which was a failed attempt to reboot yet another 60's TV show. However, Pixels really captured our attention, and we both loved the humor and the video game action.

I could have done without the reference to Martha Stewart that they put in there, and I would have liked to see maybe 4 or 5 more classic video games featured. I also would have liked for there to be some form of personal appearance by the alien A.I. in charge. Overall, however, I think it was the most fun my son and I had watching a movie this summer, and we've watched more than a dozen. After we watched it, he came home and played a bunch of the old video games for a few hours. I finally bought Pac Man Championship Edition DX+.

It certainly isn't a blockbuster, but with the international box office, it will finish at about 2.5 times its budget, so it will ultimately be another profitable movie. Is it the greatest movie of the year? No, but it would be a good choice for anybody who has played classic arcade games through the mid 80's.
76 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ignore the brainwashed haters who did not even see this great film.
IsaacfromUSA25 July 2015
In 1982 in the hopes of establishing peaceful communication with extraterrestrial life, NASA launches a time capsule into outer space containing images and footage of Earth life and culture. However, the aliens misinterpret enclosed video-feeds of classic arcade games as a declaration of war. They attack the Earth using the games as models for their various assaults including Pac-Man, Donkey Kong, Centipede, Space Invaders, Arkanoid and Tetris. Their technology creates voxels that change form and are capable of turning any form of matter into more of itself. President Will Cooper (Kevin James) calls upon his best friend since childhood, former video game professional Sam Brenner (Adam Sandler), who is now a home theater installer and had a previous relationship with Cooper's wife (Jane Krakowski). To combat the video game characters, Brenner decides to lead a team of retrogamers Eddie Plant (Peter Dinklage) and Ludlow Lamonsoff (Josh Gad) to defeat the aliens with technology similar to those used in games.

Pixels is a great 2015 American science fiction comedy film all people must see. Ignore the brainwashed haters who are reviewing this movie without even seeing it. See it on my own responsibility,satisfaction guaranteed.
248 out of 513 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fun Fun Fun
RNMorton25 July 2015
I suspect those panning this film didn't live in the 80s. This is fun from the word go as Dinklage, Gad, Sandler and James save the world from an invasion of 80's arcade monsters. When the going gets tough, the nation has to turn to the nerds as an alien race attacks the Earth with warriors based on old arcade games. A ship was sent out to contact other races in the 1980's, and what was meant as a peace gesture was interpreted as a threat. I found some of Sandler's recent movies not as funny, but to me this one puts him right back in the comedy driver's seat. All the supporting characters are right, including Dinklage as Sandler's old arcade nemesis. Ignore the other reviews and go and enjoy enjoy enjoy.
108 out of 213 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Adam Sandlar fans will love this movie!!!!!
garrettheinrichs27 July 2015
Honestly, if you are a Sandlar fan hands down liking his comedic approach and adoring his movies you will love it.

Sandlar has proved himself again and it's magnificent! The majority of the negative reviews (from what I read) don't appreciate or like any of his movies. Why go if you are just gonna hate it? He still adds his classic jokes so I would recommend this movie if he makes you laugh.

I grew up on those arcade games as a child and I loved how he portrayed it. My friend who hasn't liked any of his movies since "Don't Mess with the Zohan" loved this movie and I dragged him to it.

He can't stop thanking me.
60 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Definitely worth the trip to the theater!
Rossella125 July 2015
This movie is great and definitely worth the trip to the theaters! The special effects are great, the comedians don't disappoint, and the relationships that develop between the characters feel natural and unforced. What's more, those who remember the older games (Donkey Kong, Pac Man, etc.) will love reminiscing on the older style of games, while those who are fans of the newer games will be glad to find the new games play a role, as well. I know that, so far, this movie is getting mixed to negative reviews, but I strongly recommend seeing it yourself before making up your mind about it. The whole theater was laughing and enjoying the movie. I'm glad I spent the money on the theater version.
96 out of 189 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Such hate for this movie from critics WHY!
professor724 July 2015
Took my family to see this movie ages 6 to 14 and everyone had fun and loved it. I don't understand the hate coming from the critics about this movie. Did Adam Sandler steal their lollypop or something? I mean the movie is not the greatest film of all time but it was light and fun and had almost no negatives. Why such hatred. I don't get it, but remember that critics like these said that Star Wars would flop and the ET wouldn't make a dime. Someone brought up Siskel and Ebert and I laugh because they hated both ET and Star Wars. Ignore the critics who hate everything and have no fun in life. Go see this movie don't take it seriously and have some fun!!!
130 out of 262 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This film should have been made with someone else, not Sandler.
Nixon_Carmichael24 July 2015
Adam Sandler is so wealthy at this point, he could about anything he wants, very well, but no.

This movie should have been made FOR me. I am the target audience, I grew up in the 1980s and 1990s playing these games and I WANTED to love th hell out of this film, but this could be the worst movie of 2015.

The video games attacking earth is a great idea, and execution of the game characters themselves is pretty good. The movie fails at its most basic as it is supposed to be a comedy but it's just not funny. Adam Sandler is clearly phoning it in, Kevin James is up to his usual antics, the clumsy fat guy, Josh Gad screams at the top of his lungs in every scene, and even the great Peter Dinklage is not good here, though Dinklage delivers the one laugh worthy moment in the film.

I was disappointed when I discovered that Chris Columbus directed the movie, as he is usually really good.

This is absolutely a 2/10 production, I'm not a hater, I wanted to love this movie so much, but the terrible execution from script to screen was too poor to even consider this as something that I could recommend in good faith. With a different lead actor/approach, this could have worked in spades, but the complete lack of effort here is the true disappointment. It's as though Adam Sandler didn't even try.
148 out of 304 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ignore the negativity, go see this movie!
Musicnerd67224 July 2015
I want to start off by saying that I think people are being unfairly critical of this movie. I went in with medium expectations, and I was blown away. Sure, it was silly, but it is a comedy, not an Oscar-winning drama. The visual effects were very intriguing, something I had not seen before in a movie. I think all of the actors gave fantastic performances, yes, even Adam Sandler, and the full theater I was in was laughing constantly. Most importantly, I left the theater feeling better than I did going in there. I left this movie with a warm feeling, and a smile that would not leave my face. This film is heartwarming fun for the whole family, and plenty of nostalgia for fans of the 80s. Don't listen to the critics! Go see this movie and form your own opinion! Definitely Adam Sandler's best movie in a long time. I cannot recommend this movie enough! If you want to have a great time on a hot summer day, go see it!
100 out of 202 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
had some flaws(to me), but enjoyed it.
packor29 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
*there is a tiny amount of spoiling in this review*

I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Like other Sandler films, this one is mostly over-the-top comedy. Nothing particular to note.

However, I know it's not supposed to be serious, but there are some things that I wish would be more sensible. Trained soldiers can't even aim and hit a target properly, while a person untrained in the use of arms can just pick up a heavy weapon and nail everything because of "video game experience". Having "cheat codes" for an arcade game when it'd be impossible to even enter any on the console, and being able to even cheat without anyone spotting it when you have a mass audience. Just a few plot holes that you're just expected to go with because it's not a serious story. Otherwise, the film is perfect considering what kind of movie it is.

What really made me gave this 10 points is the ending. The short scene after the black out and the animations in the credits were spectacular; very nicely wrapped up.
62 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better alien invasion comedy then The Watch(2012)
DarkVulcan2924 July 2015
I understand why critics come down on Adam Sandler, when it comes to his comedies they are pretty much hit or miss, but to some more miss then hit.

Gamers from the 1980's are called upon by the government when an alien invasion comes in the form of old video game characters, and half to try to defeat them like the game. But will they save the day before it's too late?

Like some of Adam Sandler comedies, this is not a great film, but it never tries to be, but it is entertaining, I did laugh a few, end enjoyed the effects. Adam Sandler is good, so was Michelle Monaghan, I won't forget Kevin James. But the real scene steelers that take the cake are Peter Dinklage and Josh Gad, they get the most funny lines, and never go too far over the top. I enjoyed this movie, it never tries to be anything more than what it is, just a fun time, sometimes that is all you need. The cast play off each other perfectly, but if you where not entertained by this, I'm sorry that you weren't.
80 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
nostalgic and fun
mslillyreyes28 July 2015
**mild spoiler alert** My nephew wanted to go this movie, so I took him. We were 2 adults, 2 tweens, 2 teenagers, and 2 toddlers, all of us walked out happy, it is a wholesome family movie. This is the kind of movie kids should be watching. If you lived through the 80s, u will get a kick of nostalgia. If u are a kid, u get a lot of laughs, kids like some raunchy, it sure beats profanity and over sexualized movies. They get to use their imaginations,my nephew was already planning Pixels 2, and it was beautiful to hear him, give me these different versions of how it would be

**here it is** Lisa might have been "too hot", lol.(this is me hating)
72 out of 143 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not bad at all
atnika25 July 2015
Being an old school gamer of the 80s myself, I did enjoy the movie and there were a few funny moments. My wife even cried a bit a couple of times, and my 5+ y.o. son was frightened a couple of times, too :) For modern kids some of the scenes would require a bit of explanation, but my son is familiar with the most big titles of the 80s, so the movie was entertaining for him as well. I'm not too demanding on the plot part, I'm happy that such "bitxploitation" movies are filmed at all. The beginning was especially promising and made me a bit sentimental. Overall, pretty good work. Not sure why it has got so many negative reviews.
93 out of 189 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best movie of The Year, and one of the best Comedies I have seen in years.
stigrabbid26 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I don't get why people are hating on this movie,it is t is pretty clean, and family friendly.

It does have a few juvenile moments and jokes, but that is to be expected in an Adam Sandler movie. The actors work quite well at their parts and the characters are quite believable. The CGI is good, and so are the other special effects.

It starts out funny and continues all the way to the end, and the credits are quite interesting, matching the theme of the movie quite well. If you watch the movie, stick around for the credits.

If you love 80s Video Games, give Pixels a try, it isn't a bad movie in any way.

The cameos fit into the movie quite well.

There is not very much Advertising for products in the movie, which is good. The only Products that appear are Yoo-Hoo chocolate drink and Bud Light beer, really.
78 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
IGNORE the critics! This is a FUN Summer Flick.
ursasolus27 July 2015
Is PIXELS going to be nominated for any awards? NO. But this fun Summer Flick will keep you and your kids entertained, and give you a good return for your $$ spent at the box office.

Here's the deal. If you were a teen or pre-teen in the 1980's, and have teens or pre-teens of your own now, this movie will leave you with that feel good Summer Fun feeling that campy movies of your youth gave you back in the day. It's packed with action, witty humor, and plenty of nostalgia to share with your kids.

If you are a 20's/30's something that can't remember anything father back that when Super NES was replaced with a PlayStation, then you're too old, and too young, to truly understand this movie for the gem it truly is.

The movie hits its target audience spot on. IGNORE the critics, who obviously have some beef with Adam Sandler, and definitely go see this one, before it comes out on DVD to become one of the the next cult classic movies.
74 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed