American Bistro (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Heartfelt father/son duo!
MarkAnder_17 April 2019
This film is truly heartwarming with unique comedic stylings. I was shocked to find out the two leads are real life father and son. Definitely fits my criteria of a fun, entertaining, unique film!
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A nice surprise!!!
info-835913 August 2019
This film, like many good indie films, has a way to subvert any expectations. It is the kind of comedy that may only make you laugh a couple of times but will have you smiling throughout the whole story. The chemistry between the actors is magic!!!!
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Must have many friends or crowd-sourced reviews...
eyefordetail26 September 2019
The average rating of this movie is impossible, and has the potential to destroy the entire IMDB rating system reputation. This movie is utterly unwatchable. Not fun, not entertaining at all. Just incredibly poorly made, acted, directed and scripted. Could possibly be used to torture suspects into confessions.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Charming
chanceoflifee2 December 2019
I liked it. A real, feel-good comedy movie but serious in a way. Honestly was good fun, watched it with my family and we had some great laughs.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Grade School Movie
bobby-valenzuela15 August 2019
This movie is a waste of time to watch, an amateurish piece of garbage... walking the dog to the park is more fun.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Superbly Entertaining!
alexus-9715914 August 2019
A uniquely witty and uplifting film that kept me smiling throughout. As real life father and son, you can sense the chemistry between Edmund and Medor immediately, which is important to me when watching any film. It was inspiring to watch him chase his dreams despite the setbacks life so often throws our way. If you are looking for a film that will not only entertain, but lift your spirits, I would recommend giving American Bistro a watch!
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I understood the intention of the film but the production is very, very cheap
rruas19 January 2020
The perfect allegory for this film is the same with restaurants. We usually visit those restaurants that are recommended to us or have good reviews, then you visit and discover the tragic reality. This film doesn't know what it wants to be. I know it's an independent film and it's not easy to make movies, but besides some problems with the script, there are unforgivable technical problems, mainly with the audio editing. The premise of the script is interesting but the acting seems close to that of a high school film. I wish all the luck to the authors and director but I didn't like the film very much.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Great movie with some real life craziness
powerkidz28 December 2019
My wife and I loved this movie. It is a little slow at first but once you get past that it picks up the pace. It has some quirky characters who are relatable. There are some really great bits and some very funny. If all the interviews were like the one in this movie it would certainly shift the wheat from the chaff. It was endearing and heartfelt.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved It!
jaredriley03329 August 2019
I could relate to this film as my family had a restaurant back in the day and we had to do everything from scratch right from picking the location. Loved the chemistry between the father and son, quality production and some of the scenes are super funny. We loved it! Entertaining, good job Arthur!
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A surprisingly funny and touching film! Barely a boring scene! A must watch film!
kwenchow5 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This film start with a man "Edmund" ask for help from his uncle "Medor" after he broke up with his girlfriend and Medor throw a guy out of a door and beat him on the ground scene! Medor actually saw the guy having sex with his wife! As turnout, this film is about Medor and Edmund recruit a bunch of misfits to open a restaurant! Entire film full of comedy scene and laughable conversation! Medor beat the guy at the opening scene quite bloody! Funny scene! 1)Edmund carry Medor on his shoulder and dancing! 2)Medor ask Edmund to hit his face but later he saying Edmund hit too fast! 3)Edmund throw out a lot of money from his bag to lend to Medor, Medor very surprise and realize the money is Edmund college money! 4)A wanderer crawl out a trash container when Medor and Edmund at the location of the restaurant, the wanderer actually is the restaurant former worker! 5)They open the restaurant to check but the electricity shock them! 6)Medor and Edmund interviewing one of a female employee who want to work, she saying she only want work on Wednesday! 7)Edmund test the employee who can qualify the job by shooting at them! 8)Edmund dreaming he saving the female employee "Lizz" from the male worker who harass her! 9)Edmund impress the food critic "Sheldon Crassus" by comment a dick gallery picture! 10)Medor and another worker throw up in the kitchen while restaurant first day opening! Edmund encourage his uncle to pursue his chef dream actually quite touching! His uncle after found out his wife has affair with another man and want to divorce him, but he still want rebuilt their relationship, also very touching! At the end, Medor and Edmund successfully open the restaurant and they burn a panda on a boat at the beach! At the very end, the director dedicate this film to his dad! That's it! This really is a surprisingly good and entertaining film! A must watch film!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun watch from first time director
mandyevenmoore13 August 2019
Very impressive debut from Arthur Diennet. Although this isn't a perfect film and is a little clunky at times, there's definitely heart here and Arthur is one to watch. It's funny how the film itself seems to emulate the moral of the story stated at the end of the film. Give it a watch, it's not bad.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A well-made, wholesome experience
aractos-890-6071338 December 2019
--Heartfelt indeed. I feel American Bistro does a great job of throwing some relatable and arduous life experiences your way, only to quickly spice them up with wry humour. And to top it off, there are decent emotional payoffs to the hooks which are laid, as well as solid messages about life that tie up the movie's points.

--The musical score does nothing extraordinary, but it is tasteful and does its job of guiding you through the movie's emotions quite well. I don't remember seeing any of these actors before, which probably tells more about my lack of engagement than their talent, because they deliver great performances. Particularly the two male leads. The movie largely approaches the problems it ponders through a father/son dynamic and the female characters, while they have fun personalities and moments of expression, are mostly there for the ride and do not greatly influence the plot. This isn't criticism, but a notification for any girls or women reading this. You might be amused, but may find fewer points to relate.

--There are only two points where I felt the movie's quality weaken. There is one argument between Medor and Gwen which felt somewhat theatrical, but both actors display good performances outside of this scene. At the very end of the movie, it decides to really drive certain ideas and messages, and somewhat forces them upon the plot. Perhaps some screenwriting or editing magic could have made it more seamless. I felt a jog in the pacing, but even with that in mind the resolution unfolded quite well.

--If you're looking for a well-made, wholesome experience, I'd argue this movie is a fine choice.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
mitchietorres3 December 2019
Thinking this was going to be cheesy I was a little hesitant on watching it but it had a bit of everything in this movie. Great jokes, solid cast, acting and the trial and tribulations that life might throw at you at times. I've rated this the highest just because they proved me wrong. Well Done!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Comedy
gary-ent-1992 December 2019
We had a great laugh, there's a bit of profanity and yes it gets dark at certain parts in the film but such is life. Watch it!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heartfelt
spotterjoneszz2 December 2019
I'm shocked as to the bad reviews that's on here. This was a lovely movie! Inspirational, funny and sad at times and the ending was superb. This is a perfect movie to watch with your family during the holidays. I'm giving it a 10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Almost two hours of excruciating pain!!!
jorge_reynal-400-11675613 September 2019
This is one of those..."things" that you can't even call it a film. Poorly acted, poorly directed, poorly edited, poorly filmed. Actors overact, underact. Jokes were bad. The sad moments were disgracefully acted. The score didn't match the scenes. The camera went too close or too far away, cutting the actors' head. Please I beg you, dont waste your time. You'd rather chew glass than watch this melange.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't be fooled
efrat-konforty13 October 2019
It was a disaster... This is a narcissist need of father and son (I assume) to write and play together. There are ZERO acting skills, the plot is mediocre and the acting, again, it is a persoanl need that is asking us for money and attention. In a world where time is a commodity, this is a waste of it. Spend your time (and dime) wisely. Avoid this one.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
What would you do if you opened a restaurant?...!!!
rondna18 August 2019
American Bistro Is the Feel Good Movie of the Year

American Bistro grabs the audience's attention from the start and doesn't let go until the end. In the first scene a young man named Edmund (portrayed by Arthur Diennet) is grieving over his past actions and pondering the consequences. He asks that question that we all have asked. The question that is impossible to answer, "what if."

And the tone is set for the rest of the movie. Arthur Diennet wrote the script which he also directed and produced. He takes the viewer on an emotional, but joyous, ride as he investigates the themes of love, loss, anger and regret.

In his state of confusion about life, Edmund turns to his uncle Medor (played by Diennet's real life father Marcel Diennet - Medor is also gripping with loss and regret.

Marcel Diennet is a cinematic genius and a lesser artist would buckle under the weight of the many hats he wore during production. He joined drama and comedy together perfectly without sacrificing either. The final result is almost flawless.

The few criticisms are almost too small to mention. A few of the lesser characters are stereotyped. There is one too many vomit scenes. This movie is strong on its' own and low brow vomit scenes are not necessary.

Diennet gives us the answer to the question he asked at the beginning of American Bistro. An adventure is a problem after problem. A true hero is the one who surmounts problem after problem.

In the end there can be no light without darkness.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed