Ted 2 (2015) Poster

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
250 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Spared For The Laughs
billygoat107126 July 2015
Ted 2 now focuses on the titular anthropomorphic teddy bear in, having his own life of marriage and plans ahead of getting a non-biological child. This leads to a strangely interesting conflict about gaining civil rights to a teddy bear. And it's stranger that at some point the movie does take it somewhat seriously, and eventually goes back to its crass hijinks. It's nice, but nothing much compelling in the end, because what obviously overshadows it is definitely the outrageous laughs. But even the degree of laughs suffers the same problem; it's full of energy at first then it awkwardly mutes its lighter tone for its climax. Fans of the first may get the same pleasure that they seek, but there is really nothing special to it, either.

The first half really has the strongest amount of funny moments and also brought some intrigue to the story's center. But the movie apparently cannot decide what exact approach it is generally taking. The outrageous comedy is still everywhere, but whenever it stops by focusing on its themes, it really takes it seriously, like it actually believes that it is saying something important. But the movie hardly earns anything to deserve that attention. It's just shifting from its outrageous nature to a sudden gravity back and forth. Even for a comedy that is actually just fooling around, it stills displays a mind of uncertainty. There is also some bits of attempting to replicate Broadway; with dance numbers and a song. Can't tell if that's one of the movie's way of tripping or the director just wants to show off that he can do a musical. Either way, it rather feels nothing more than a random filler. The movie is also a little too long, the movie hitting the same major problem of the first film by setting up a climax that it's supposed to drive tension. It never felt right for the film, even worse, it's more like a rehash, reintroducing the same villain except it takes place in a different location. It's rather awkward and tedious than effective.

The sentiment doesn't felt convincing enough for the movie's true colors, but then it's all about the humor. And if the humor works, then there is a worthy roar of laughter to get from this film. Predictably raunchy, pot fueled and consists pop culture references; that will certainly be enjoyed if you understand the language of a Seth MacFarlane comedy. It's fun if it really tries to be fun. The performances from its lead actors are still a joy to watch. MacFarlane still manages to put energy to the talking teddy bear and Mark Wahlberg is still committed to fool around as Ted's man child best friend.

Ted 2 doesn't bring the same surprise of the first one, but if you're in for more outrageous laughs from this profane talking teddy bear, then it won't be a problem, as long as you're not expecting too much. The film does try to bring on an important theme, but it's not as effective or as strong as it wanted to be; it does make some interesting arguments, just doesn't have any powerful or at least earned conclusion to it; but hell, who would exactly take that seriously, anyway? Well, no more than the movie itself. It should have been shorter, the storyline should have been tighter, and the third act should have tried harder than repeating its predecessor. Again, it can be really funny, it just suffers handling its ideas better.
25 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good one-liners and gags, zero plot.
jpb0072 July 2015
If there was a 6.5, I would give it. Because there was a lot to like in this movie. I like Mark Wahlberg. I like the bear. I like Amanda Seyfried. And there were a lot of good laughs in this movie. Good one-liners, and good recurring gags.

However, it just wasn't enough to make up for a horrible plot. The plot is lifted from "Miracle on 43rd Street." But it is not Christmas, Ted is not Santa. Somehow Ted does not rise to the mythical level of Santa, this is not a movie for kids. and the movie falls flat. Markie Mark is same as ever, and I do enjoy him. Kudos to Amanda Seyfried, who tries so hard to make the romance story line work. But I could never get past the fact that I was watching MW and AS and a wise-cracking stuffed bear. Some good laughs? Yes. A good story? Not even close.
45 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Waiting for Ted 3
Prabhat_KS11 July 2015
I really can't understand why many critics went harsh on this one.

The film is jutted with quality humour - social, political and personal. It lives up to the expectations and doesn't slack anywhere at all. It makes us laugh but also makes us uneasy at times not because of crassness but because it reveals the underbelly of our social setup.

I am waiting for Ted 3 - I sincerely hope McFarlene considers it. Ted should run up for Governor or President. It will fit in nicely with the US presidentials in 2016 and should reveal the shallowness of modern political campaigning.

Go Seth go...
42 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Raises way more questions about human rights than any Seth Macfarlane production should, and that's not a bad thing...
kieranbattams9 July 2015
In 2012 when Seth Macfarlane's directorial debut was released, I, like many other people enjoyed it a lot. It was a basic film about a man and his senile teddy bear who would just smoke weed, swear a lot and hang out. That premise was enough to get us on board and it worked for a one off feature film. After the box office success it received a sequel was inevitable.. but how could a film with such a premise possibly do anything more to become a franchise? Well not only does Ted 2 ramp up the laughs, it also gives us a surprisingly strong plot and pulls it off well.

The basic premise is that Ted has married Tammi-Lynn from the first film, whereas John has divorced Lori. Following some marital problems, Ted decides to save his marriage with a baby, but in order to do this he has to prove that he is a person and not just property in the eyes of the law. Enter Sam L. Jackson (Amanda Seyfried) and yes as you would expect there are many references to the Hollywood star. I knew Mila Kunis was not coming back for this film and after her performance in the lacklustre 'A million ways to die in the West' i was not expecting Seyfried to be a good replacement, but she fits in with the cast very well. Just like the first film the chemistry between John (Mark Wahlberg) and Ted (Seth Macfarlane) is what makes the comedy work so well, you really believe you are watching two real life friends hang out, rather than Mark Wahlberg and a CGI teddy bear. The plot wasn't what made the first so enjoyable, it was their bond. Amanda Seyfried fits in with these two so well and as a trio they really mesh well together. She brings a lot of laughs to the table and I actually liked her character more than Mila Kunis'.

Whilst the plot is very good and holds up, the third act takes a bit of a plunge and almost copies the last act of the first film completely. Giovanni Risbi reprises his role as Donny and does exactly what he did originally, just for a slightly different reason. The film could have done without this to focus more on the human elements, even though it was hilarious to see Ninja turtle Raphael dance to 'I think we're alone now'. It almost felt like filler to make a longer movie. The small road trip segment to me was great, we got spoofs of both Planes, Trains and Automobiles and a great Jurassic Park spoof in the space of a couple of minutes. In fact the pop culture references from Rocky to Flash Gordon (Sam J Jones returns) were pretty great. I also loved the courtroom scenes, and even Morgan Freeman in an extended cameo provided us with a very good look at what human rights are all about.

What i wanted from this film was to laugh, which i did, a lot more than i expected to as well which is a bonus. Look out for a hysterical cameo from Liam Neeson. The 'is Ted a human' storyline felt like a bold and wonderful step forward and brings up way more questions about human rights than any Seth Macfarlane production should.. but not in a bad way at all. It focuses a lot less on the drugs and crude jokes, even though they are very much still there! But the way it was executed was just great. I wish the third act had stuck with it, but by the end if you are a fan of Seth Macfarlane's work such as Family Guy you will come out satisfied after plenty of laughs and a surprising amount of heart. Will we get a Ted 3? Most likely, but if it keeps up what Ted 2 did right then i just might be okay with that.
25 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not so much stupid as boring with an occasional giggle
eran200021 July 2015
The truth is that Ted 1 exhausted itself right in the trailer and the rest of film was kind of superfluous, but it was cute to see a dumb summer movie that doesn't take itself too seriously and is occasionally funny. TED 2 on the other hand takes itself much too seriously in trying to deal with the humanity of Ted. Seriously, what can a potheads and fart jokes movie tell us about being human? Lots of recycled jokes from Ted 1 and Ted as the main comic attraction in the movie just doesn't work anymore. There are a few good jokes and visual gags as befitting a summer comedy, but the rest are only marginally funny with a boring movie plot that connects them. You can see it if you happen to be home and stoned with nothing better to do :)
67 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An average comedy that doesn't hit the levels of the first film
alindsay-al18 July 2015
After seeing the first ted film I was hugely excited for this film while also being a bit nervous because sequels of comedies are never usually as good and this one follows that tradition. The premise of this film sees Ted and John attempting to get Ted's civil rights so he and Tammy Lynn can have a baby. Now Seth McFarlane plays the voice of Ted and just like the first film he is great in this film as the voice of this foul mouthed teddy bear. Some of the things he says is hilarious and he even makes you care about this bear because he is so lovable. Mark wahlberg returns as John and once again he and Ted's chemistry is off the charts and is probably the best part of the film. Also wahlberg shows off his comedic chops in this film and it really does work. Amanda seyfried joins the cast in this film and she was also really good in this film and made me laugh. She also fits in really well in this film with John and Ted. However, I didn't feel the character of Tammy Lynn was that good and I just didn't feel like her character was funny in this film which didn't help. Also for some weird reason Giovanni ribisi is back in his role from the first film and it felt completely forced and completely unnecessary. Now what I liked about the first film is that even though it was a comedy it had a heart felt story to it that makes you care about the characters. This film is all over the place with its narrative structure and I felt like the story was really forgotten about and nobody cared about it. It could have been interesting but it didn't have the substance that it should have done. There was allot of funny dialogue in the film that will really make you laugh but there is also some dialogue that falls flat and you will just be sat there bored waiting for the next good joke that comes around. There is some really funny scenarios in this film with some good cameos but once again it just feels like it is a bunch of comedy skits and nothing to go with the cameos. Overall this is an average comedy that you won't really care to see again.
27 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
If you liked the 1st ted you'll love it, if you didn't well you won't like this one either.
himynameisart30 June 2015
Ted 2 lets talk about it! OK i saw this film 2 months ago at an early screening and unlike a few idiots on here i actually kept my mouth shut due to the embargo and quiet possibly getting sued if i let any info slip lol. Anyways i ENJOYED this movie a ton!!! Let's get one thing straight here, if you didn't like the 1st TED or you don't like anything Seth Mcfarlane related then STAY AWAY! This movie isn't for you and it won't change your mind about anything. I LOVED the first ted and i knew that this movie might be a weak sequel like most sequels are now in days...... and surprise, surprise it actually exceeded my expectations. Ted 2 is almost as good as the first! ALMOST! One of my concerns was the cast change, i hate when movies replace or change characters in sequels. SO i felt that Mila Kunis's absence was going to be very obvious and there would be a hole in this movie that the new lead Amanda Seyfried just could not fill. AND another surprise! Her character worked to PERFECTION!!! The chemistry that she had with Mark Wahlberg and Seth Mcfarlane was just amazing. I was like "there's no way she could be better than Mila" and BOOM she nailed it.

The story most of you may already know from the trailers, Ted gets married and then the State says Ted is property and not a person so the marriage is annulled and he basically loses everything. So the story worked, the first movie focused more on John and this one is more about ted. I had no real complaints with this film, there is a cameo with Liam Neeson which IMO was just pointless and not that funny.... There are some moments where they try too hard with the jokes or to be shocking but Besides a few nitpicks i had no complaints with this movie! It is laugh out loud funny, it has serious moments similar to the first and it's just a fun film! There are some returning characters and i won't spoil that. And ohh yeah the Comic Con scene in this film with Patrick Warburton and the running gag they have going on is SUPER HILARIOUS!!! I'm giving TED 2 an 8.5/10.
71 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not as funny as the first, the magic is wearing off
abdelgulabkhan13 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I was so looking forward to Ted 2 after really enjoying the first one.

What a disappointment!

Basically Ted is married to a hot girl and tries to get a baby to save his marriage. However it all goes wrong and Ted is investigated and the state say he is not a person so he loses all his rights job and marriage. Ted than has a court battle to prove he is a person which he eventually wins with the help of John his best buddy and girlfriend lawyer. Such a boring plot really bad. The old enemy Donny tries to get Ted as he is regarded as just Property, in attempt to make Hasbro rich - this gets foiled by john who saves Ted

There are some funny bits to the movie, like Jurassic park bit where they see cannabis field and some good one liners

However the film is looking and trying far too hard for jokes for every line in the movie - rather than naturally funny they try all the time to make one liners a lot of them not that funny.

The cute factor of Ted is wearing off and the magic too, I was so bored after the first hour I wanted to leave, the jokes and sarcasm were so predictable.

Hopefully no more Ted films but you can guarantee they will make Ted 3 just for the money.

Next time have a good plot and story this was very weak.
29 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Better to stare at the wall than watch Ted 2
pawel-lipko14 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The first Ted I saw was a brilliant comedy with great idea of showing a toy for little children playing a role of a s*x dr*gs'n'rock&roll guy. There was some jokes which hit my taste & were too disgusting - but overall whole movie was hilarious. Ted 2 - unfortunately has got the opposite proportion of these, being mostly disgusting with awkward jokes making me ill at ease. Scenes like a trying to w*nk out a person to get his sp*rm (Ted tries to have a baby) or John being weighed down by a cabinet full of sem*n containers (in a sp*rm bank)... and covered with... it... Just awful. I've seen some movies with kinda same sort of humor like: Borat, Bruno & The Dictator for example. These were hilarious or something around that... But this one goes far far lower & seeks for the bottom... Not recommending
42 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious! Must watch!
aallahverdian30 June 2015
Usually we all know franchise movies tank after the first one. But this one surprisingly was extremely funny and fun to watch. I went into the movies with a negative expectation just due to previous franchised movie history. The jokes were just spot on, original, one after another. The entire theater was laughing and of their seats. I loved the first Ted and now I also love Ted 2 just as much. I would even watch it again if another friend wants to go watch it. Seth is such a talented comedian and to me he's work and sense of humor is amazing. I highly recommend watching this and promise that you wont be disappointed watching this movie. It is defiantly worth a trip to the movies with friends.
48 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest Movie I have seen in a long time
lordxenucruise26 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I have not laughed in a theater that hard in I don't remember how long. It was funnier than the first. I am going to see it again. The jokes were disgusting but that is the point. If you liked the first one you will love this one. If you didn't you will still find yourself laughing despite yourself.When you find out the reason they cannot have kids it is funny to find out why a sperm donor won't work. When they see Ton Brady's equipment it is priceless. The twist at the end will have you wondering what the heck is going on but is funny as anything as well. The comicon seen with Patrick Warburton dressed up as The Tick (whom he did the voice for) was just spot on. The movie references sped at you one after another. I tried to keep track but I am sure there were a few I missed. Se how many you can spot.
43 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not bad per se, but lacks the novelty, likability of characters, storyline, and strong female role of the original.
MovieAddict201611 July 2015
I'm not the biggest fan of Mila Kunis, nor am I a huge fan of Seth MacFarlane. But despite my hesitations, I liked the original Ted quite a bit, for a variety of reasons; despite its obvious crudeness, it had some character development and poignancy that the film medium was able to afford MacFarlane that a TV cartoon wasn't able to. As much of an ostensibly "bro" movie as it was, it had some subversive commentary on the male id, and Mila Kunis' character was written quite well; she didn't come across as the harping, shrill female stereotype so often seen in movies about male arrested development (see: "Saving Silverman"). For every time Wahlberg and his teddy bear seemed to have a valid reason to continue their destructive friendship, she had an equally valid reason that they shouldn't.

How disappointing, then, that Ted 2 opens with Kunis' character lazily written off, discarded by Wahlberg's character as "the wrong woman" (or something to such an effect) so that MacFarlane can introduce a new love interest in the form of Amanda Seyfried, who is a fine actress in better written roles but simply isn't given the same level of material to work with here.

The other memorable aspect of Ted was simply the novelty factor: "potty-mouthed teddy bear." This was a simple premise that appealed to everyone everywhere, which is why it was one of the rare blockbuster comedies to make a lot of money overseas.

But now we have Ted 2, and the novelty is worn off. The balance of the first film is gone, too; the crudeness there was offset with surprisingly sweet, character-driven moments; here, because we don't really believe the characters from the onset (see: Kunis' character being shrugged off), there really aren't as many tender moments. None of it really rings true, it just seems like a typical sequel going through the motions trying to replicate the original but inevitably failing to do so simply because the appeal is a one-off (it kind of reminds me of the Hangover sequels).

Like the Hangover sequels, this isn't as bad as the critics might lead you to believe. It's not a terrible film. It's safe to say that, if you liked the original Ted, you'll at least find this an entertaining enough diversion for a one-time viewing. I also dug that they brought back Giovanni Ribisi, the best part of the first film, despite the fact that his inclusion made no sense whatsoever.

But this simply isn't as clever, funny, well-written or - frankly - surprisingly tender and sweet as the first movie. It's a decent rental but I hope there's no Ted 3.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funnier then the first one kudos to seth mcfarlane
bogota90927 June 2015
Movie was hilarious, besides certain awkward scenes, especially the introduction they could of done without, mark Walberg: never considered him a funny actor. But he has done very well in this movie franchise, Seth Macfarlane is a talented comedian director and creator The girl from dear john did very well filling Mila Kunis shoes, usually sequels bomb!!! But not this film very impressed how funny it came out, story line was mediocre but funny scenes made up for it. Usually sequels are over budget big propaganda and it started at first but the funny dialogue and thr hilarious scenes made not only myself but the people at the movie theater, rotten tomatoes rated this a 4.0 what the hell do.they know they always give crappy rating for funny movies, and as soon as they get a check from a crappy movie they rate those high, they are a insult not only to me but to all the real movie buffs so sit back and Enjoy it people Mike Sanchez (popcorn n movie)
54 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BETTER than the first one.
metallipowerman500027 June 2015
First off, the negative reviews are absolutely LAUGHABLE!...there's no way you can be a fan of Ted 1 and Family Guy and NOT like this movie, Period! (or you're lying about being a true Seth fan, because you'd Know what to expect from him) Ted 2 follows the exact SAME comedic formula as Ted 1! Lots of curse words and sex jokes and no holds barred, to the max! There are Lots of cameos, I was pretty shocked how many people Seth convinced to take part in this movie. The comedy is exactly what you'd expect... crude, nasty, no lines are drawn in the sand. There is obviously drug use and fights and arguments and downright touching moments to balance it all out, as well as plenty of adventure. The plot goes from serious to hilarious many times during the film. But why wouldn't anyone expect that, Ted 1 does the Same thing. Either way, If you're into crude humor that likes to intentionally cross lines and annoy the "politically correct", this movie is perfect. And there are TONS of "F bombs" in this movie...lots...obviously.
50 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unfunny Waste of time
himself21211 July 2015
Let me start by saying that i had an open mind when i first walked into this film. I heard that the first movie was supposed to be really good, even though i had not seen it. i'm glad i didn't throw away time on the first one either. this movie is basically a really long, and unfunny episode of family guy. It was filled with immature poop jokes and sexual references, that are funny to all the immature 5 year olds in the audience. If they wanted to make money from this "film" (Dare it be called one), they should've pitched it to young adults and kids, and made it PG-13. Because i'm not sure what kind of immature adults would want to watch a teddy bear curse and make poop jokes. Let me also state that i actually like Family Guy. i think its a really funny and well written show. But the writers of this, must have been on crack when they made it. Overall, i think Ted is way too over hyped and un-funny. It's a mess of stupid and unfunny jokes, that'll only have the 5 year olds laughing hysterically.
31 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Flagrant profanity and perversion, avoid this movie
bradley-8407521 September 2015
First let me say the movie seeks to push the limit of profane talk and crudeness beyond anything before. No spoiler here, i wouldn't watch it to the end. Just so you can get a sample of what to expect, the rest of this will be using the language in the movie. If you don't like profanity, avoid this movie and skip to the end of this review.

let me f**ing tell you about the s**t this f**ing movie goes into. it's not just f**ing gay s*x explained in detail, its every perverse f**ing kind of s**t you can ever f**ing hear.

if they used beeping to block the profanity? most of the movie would be a long beep. No I couldn't watch to the sh**ty f**ing end of this stupid f**ing filthy perverted movie, so the ending is a mystery.

America needs to bring back some kind of censors, thats the bottom line, this is f**ing out of control, the kind of s**t they put in this cr**py movie? about avery 7 seconds on average is another f**ing cuss word. da*m thats a lot of f**ing cussing, they tried to out-do HBO.

If you have any kind of family values, even faintly? avoid this movie.

you walk away from the movie thinking that having the Christian church get back into government/courts to prosecute people from crimes of debauchery is a good thing, we should really, literally consider doing this.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funnier and better than what I was expecting
Screen_Blitz29 June 2015
Seth MacFarlene, along with Mark Wahlberg returns as the trash-talking teddy bear who brought the laughs and fun in this sequel to 2012's hit comedy Ted. Mila Kunis, however, was unable to return as Mark Wahlberg's girlfriend from the first film. This time around, Ted has married Tami-Lynn (Jessica Barth), his feisty girlfriend from the first film. One year's passes by, they begin dealing with marital problems until Ted hatches an idea for them to have a baby, hoping it would solve marriage problems. His plans only ends harder than he expected. To make matter worse, the government rules that Ted is not a human citizen, which results in him losing his jobs, losing his bank account, and having his marriage with Tami-Lynn annulled. In attempt to get his life back together, Ted and his buddy John Bennett (Mark Wahlberg) get help from a lawyer named Sam (Amanda Seyfried) for a court case to prove he should be considered human.

After seeing the first film, I was more than excited for a sequel. As most sequels to comedies go, I didn't expect this to be as good as the first one. However, it ended being almost as good as the first film. It contained plenty of hilarious dialogue that had me laughing almost constantly. Yes, the dialogue is pretty raunchy and vulgar like it was in the first film, or perhaps even more so. Nonetheless, I was satisfied with it. The gags were pretty funny, especially during the scene when Ted and John were visiting the hospital to get sperm for Ted's baby. There are a few gross-out scenes that may not be funny to everyone, the hospital scene being a perfect example. Ted was funny as ever and often stole the show with his off-the-wall humor. Mark Wahlberg was also quite funny as well, perhaps even more so than in the first movie. In this one, his character is even more dumb and often lead Ted and himself into the most hysterical and unpleasant shenanigans. I also pleased by the casting of Amanda Seyfried as the lawyer who helps John and Ted during their mission. I think her character was very clever and well written, even if she wasn't as funny as Ted and John. The storyline was okay, even though I felt that the film could had a better plot.

This film may have gotten mixed reviews, but I think it deserves higher. If you loved the first film, there is a very good chance you will enjoy this one. Even if it may not level with the first one, it is still worth seeing.
40 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not as expected and definitely not up to the marks of TED!
gajjar-rushi-a24 August 2015
So last night finally I have seen this flick and except few scenes, I didn't find it much appreciable and good. Honestly TED set my expectations so high so I was eagerly waiting for TED 2 and finally when I saw it, I found no thrill and nothing similar to TED. I know every sequences and next parts can not be same as earlier one but this was not deserving for an applause.

Those who liked this movie, good for them! I didn't like it personally so just came here to warn those guys who loved TED and set their expectations so high for TED 2.

It could be better with some logic and more depth into the characterization. Chemistry between thunder buddies was not as it was in TED.

Many other things are lacking but I don't want to discuss anymore. I have already wasted my 2 hours behind this movie. :)
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Are you 12? This may be the one for you.
susanshaddock30 June 2015
If you are a 12-14 year old male with low or no standards for comedy who wants to be a slacker when you grow up, you may love this movie. Although I really like Mark Wahlberg and think he is the best thing about this film, I really disliked it overall (like you couldn't tell). I laughed three times: Liam Neeson, apples on the roof, and the first black cock. Apart from that, in my opinion this movie tries to lower the level of the lowest common denominator. Yes, it is true that I also dislike "Family Guy" and, had I realized who is behind "Ted 2," I would not have seen it at all. I don't understand people spend their money and/or time on no-brow "entertainment." "Ted 2" is just dumb, and it's definitely Ted LAST for me.
32 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
NOT FUNNY at all, its a waste of time!
siamakrahimi23 July 2015
This movie was not funny at all, I guess it is the second movie i couldn't finish watching in my entire life. The lines are so cheesy, the story is so childish and it seems they wrote the scenario in a week. If you are looking for some real comedy then you are in a wrong place. You will never get back this 120 minutes of your life back. Such a shame for Morgan Freeman's name to put on this film. The jokes are so not funny and they wanna make fun out of F words all the time. You might think the whole idea of the movie is unrealistic, that's right, but you can use some real humor in the most unrealistic situations. Conclusion, I WONT RECOMMEND THIS NOT-A-COMEDY-MOVIE, even for watching once!!
22 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
2 Hours of Rejected Family Guy Jokes and Stale Pop-Culture References
RustyShacklefordd26 June 2015
I thought the first Ted was decent, enjoyed the first few seasons of Family Guy, and love American Dad. Hell, I even thought A Million Ways to Die in the West was OK. With that said, I thought this was horrible! The first half hour or so was decent, some good jokes and cameos. However, once Amanda Seyfried and the whole plot with Ted trying to be recognized as a citizen starts, it's all downhill from there.

This almost feels like less than a movie than 2 hours of rejected Family Guy jokes and stale pop-culture references. The writing here is incredibly lazy and several jokes are repeated multiple times throughout the entire film. Like the first film, there are also a few jokes that are taken straight out of Family Guy. There's even one joke at the end that's taken right from Dumb & Dumber To. My biggest problem though is the fact that it's 2 HOURS when there is absolutely no reason it needs to be! The whole subplot with Giovanni Ribisi served no purpose to the film what so ever and could have easily been cut out and the whole Road Trip segment just felt like an excuse for a really lame weed joke and to crowbar in Seyfried's song. Wahlberg's character and Ted were a lot more annoying and douchier as well which didn't help. I also didn't like how the film shoves in this whole message about Civil Rights after spending nearly 2 hours making a ton of crappy race and gay jokes. That just felt smug of MacFarlane to do.

Overall, this was a painfully unfunny and incredibly lazy sequel. Even if you are a fan of the first, I wouldn't recommend it. I saw it with a group of 6 people and none of us liked it. It's stuff like this that really shows that MacFarlane can be a bit of a hack if you ask me.
39 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pure Garbage
danxo23 August 2015
People giving this film a 8 or 10 or even 7 amazing me to no end. They must have an IQ of less than 50 for them to love a film where a filthy mouth "teddy bear" is supposed to funny?

If you think this film is great, and you think repeating the F word over and over again is brilliant writing, with a paper thin plot, than that speaks volumes of where you come from.

Come to think of it. It you live in the sewers all your life, the smell will not bother you anymore...since you are used to smelling the filth that you have absorbed - then this film would be "great".. Just like the places you have been dwelling most of your life...
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Too Much Too Bear
jadepietro1 July 2015
(Rating: ☆☆ out of 4)

This film is not recommended.

In brief: Ted has its share of laughs, but only if you like off-color and offensive humor.

GRADE: C+

Ted, that cute but crude potty-mouthed teddy bear is back and so is writer /director Seth MacFarlane, offering more heaping helpings of sophomoric jokes and political incorrect humor. Again Mr. MacFarlane seems more interested in offending the masses and mocking any minority groups with an onslaught of racial and homophobic references than setting up a coherent story with genuine laughs, but that is is trademark formula which seems to work for him (excluding his last film, A Million Ways to Die in the West which died a million ways with his fan base). I'd say he walks a fine line, but that's quite a broad stroke he is traveling in Ted 2.

It is now three years since our last meeting. Ted has married a dim-witted bimbo and his human buddy has not had much luck in the dating game. But both have enough time to drink beer and smoke pot to occupy their days, much as before. Only now, a problem arises with Ted's marriage being legal. So it's off to court we go as they engage a young pretty attorney who takes their case.

The film starts off very promising with its opening credits, a wonderful send-up to the old Busby Berkeley musicals, but the rest of the film never hits this stride. After that, it's non- stop sex and drug jokes that purport the smutty and bawdy locker-room mentality MacFarlane has build his career on. This sequel is more of the same as before, with no risk, only risqué. Subtlety is not in his reach, nor is stinging satire. He hides behind shock humor rather than allow his jokes to flow with the narrative.

More often than not, this film has a nice directorial touch and some good comic timing. But more not than often do his skills as a screenwriter hit their intended marks. Much of the humor is overdone and lacks any finesse, as he aims to ridicule easy targets: Comic Con losers, Improv performers, bong and penis jokes are plentiful. Cameos by Tom Brady Sam J. Jones, and Liam Neeson fall flat. One can see that MacFarlane is going for deeper themes this time around with civil rights, marriage equality, and discrimination as the underlying issue. But he is still unable to delve into any measurable depth as he continuously sacrifices his meandering plot for a nasty zinger or gross-out gags.

The CGI of Ted and the voice-over work by MacFarlane again are the film's saving grace. The duality of cute vs. vulgar works for the most part. As for its cast, most perform adequately, some stronger than others, with many loyal friends and performers again availing their services to his films. Mark Wahlberg handles most of the duties and he manages to use his personable assets reasonably well to come away unblemished, as does Jessica Barth as Ted's trashy wife. Amanda Siegfried gives one of her better performances and is developing some comic chops. Morgan Freeman, John Slattery, Patrick Warburton, Michael Dorn, and Giovanni Ribisi are wasted.

For me, some of the gags worked, others did not. It was hit-and-miss all the way. Depending on one's own comfort level of off-color material, Ted 2 could be highly distasteful or very funny. MacFarlane follows the same lewd formula in this sequel. It's his comfort zone to make others feel uncomfortable. His target audience knows his brand of politically incorrect humor and...humor, as we all know, is in the gut of the beholder.

Visit my blog at: www.dearmoviegoer.com

ANY COMMENTS: Please contact me at: jadepietro@rcn.com
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Way more entertaining than I expected
Gordon-1129 June 2015
This film tells the story of a talking teddy bear who sues the government, so that he gets recognised as a human being and get human rights such as marriage and drivers license.

"Ted 2" is a hugely politically incorrect film, with a lot of swearing, sexual and crude humour. It is not usually a type of film I like, but "Ted 2" does have a way to get to my heart. It is sweet and emphasises a lot of love and friendship. Towards the end, the film gets very touching, and it made my eyes well up.

Having a touching plot, together with a funny script makes "Ted 2" very entertaining, way more entertaining than I expected.
21 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
As good as the first one!
raz-boy25 June 2015
As we know from experience the sequels to this type of movies are usually not even slightly close to being as good as the original, and are much worse. "Ted 2" was not the case for me. Really enjoyed watching this movie! Most of the jokes were really funny and not forced. Like the first one the movie has a couple of absolutely hilarious cameos!

Amanda Seyfried was a great addition. She is really funny and plays a much bigger role in the movie then I expected. I really bought the chemistry between all three main characters. The movie has a lot of heart, and you can feel that these friends really really love and care about each other.

My main and probably the only problem with the film was that it was a little too long. Many scenes were dragged out and definitely could use some fat cutting.

Overall, very funny! Still can't decide which one of the two movie I liked more.
27 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed