Zootopia (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
648 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
"I don't know when to quit!"
classicsoncall16 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Well, I'll tell you what. I'm not a big fan of animated features but this one was a blast and a half. Just when I thought Flash the Sloth at the Zootown DMV couldn't be topped, we wind up meeting Mr. Big doing the Marlon Brando "Godfather" bit. I thought both were hilarious, but Flash was inspired - who hasn't run into someone with no sense of urgency clogging up your day like that? I couldn't stop laughing.

I also got a kick out of assistant mayor Bellwether, very reminiscent of Shari Lewis's Lambchop from her TV show during the early Sixties, which goes to show you how long this reviewer has been around. Too bad she had to go rogue and hit Nick Wilde with the savage pill.

As for the larger story, there are some good messages here for the kiddies, like 'being all you can be' and chasing your dreams no matter what the detractors might say. I'll concede the messaging at times got a bit too political and can understand some of the reviewer backlash on this board. But still, the more meaningful theme that comes out of the story is best expressed by a line in that Lady Gazelle song - "I want to try even though I could fail...". It's a good one for kids who are tentative about trying something new and fear embarrassment if they don't measure up. A responsible adult could go a long way to help foster that message.
48 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Disney movie made ever!
sennotaphoorn-414739 January 2018
How can someone not like this masterpiece!

the characters they created are awesome! the world they created is mindblowing! the story is good!

Everything about this movie is just awesome!
71 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the best of the recent Disney CGI cartoons
Spike-Washington23 December 2017
As much as I liked movies like Toy Story and Finding Nemo, it made me curious about other CGI animated movies. I didn't actually see this movie in theaters, but I did rent it and was pleasantly surprised. Not everything is in black and white in this movie, and various stereotypes are broken. And things are not always what they seem. I loved the main characters and they all get my standing ovation. This, along with Wreck-It Ralph and Big Hero 6 are my favorites of the non-Pixar Disney CGI films. If you like anthro animals and want to see them in a somewhat modern setting with no humans, look no further!
20 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Change starts with you
nogodnomasters20 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Judy Hopps (Ginnifer Goodwin) is an optimistic idealistic bunny who wants to be a cop and make the world a better place. Her parents prefer that she stay on the farm in Bunny Burrow and make the world a better place by growing one carrot at a time. Judy obtains her wish and goes to Zootopia where the lion lies down with the lamb, both predator and prey live in harmony. In spite of 14 mammals being missing, Judy can't overcome the prejudice and stereotyping on the job and is assigned parking ticket duty. Here she meets a fox (Jason Bateman) someone she holds a stereotype and prejudice against. The overall theme of the film is diversity. Together they form an odd couple (i.e. typical film mismatched police officers) as they attempt to crack the case, one that takes them to a Godfather scene, one the adults can enjoy on a different level than the kids.

There was a room where all the animals roam naked as they were intended (Bunny averts eyes of spread eagle elephant) and another scene which stereotype the DMV as sloths, reminding me of a scene from "The Hitchhiker's Guide..." These scenes while funny, went against the grain of the production.

The major theme of the film is diversity, Even though some in a group are bad, it doesn't make everyone in that group bad, perhaps a light message about the current terrorist situation.
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprisingly great story!
mobadizhere11 September 2018
I thought this movie was going to be some annoying furry movie. But it was much more than that, Zootopia is one of the greatest animated flicks to date. It's enjoyable, funny, and really smart. I enjoyed the main characters, and I even cared about them! I also really liked to premise itself, it's simple and easy to grip. Zootopia is one of Disney's best!
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What a Great Surprise
Hitchcoc25 December 2016
I hadn't planned on seeing this film (I feel we are over-saturated with animated films these day, most of them mediocre), but I looked on as my kids watched it. This is a really fine film. It takes on issues of prejudice and cultural diversity. Zootopia is a city where animals live side by side, predator and prey. It is not a utopia because law and order is necessary. A little female rabbit messes with the male dominated police force. She is put on duty as a meter maid and realizes sexism along with her species is under attack. She is feisty and eventually hooks up with a con-man fox (the least trusted species) whom she enlists to help her solve a kidnapping case. Actually, it's otter napping. In the process, she reveals her own prejudices and hurts her partner. The movie has stunning animation and intelligent dialogue and lots of social references. Very good stuff.
54 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Best Film Of The Year, So Far.
CinemaClown2 June 2016
From the studio that brought you Tangled, Wreck-It Ralph, Frozen & Big Hero 6, Zootopia surfaces as a highly original, incredibly refreshing, thoroughly engaging, surprisingly timely & delightfully subversive beast fable about prejudice & stereotype that not only marks a new creative high for Disney but is arguably the finest film that this legendary animation studio has come up with in their Revival Era, so far.

Set in a world inhabited by anthropomorphic animals, the story of Zootopia takes place in the titular metropolis and follows a bunny cop named Judy Hopps who, despite her par excellent performance in the class, is assigned parking duty by her superior. But when she volunteers to undertake a missing-predator case, she is given 48 hours to solve the mystery or resign, following which she blackmails a sly fox into helping her, and uncovers a sinister conspiracy.

Co-directed by Byron Howard & Rich Moore, the duo put up an intriguing world on the screen that does have a fresh quality but there is still a deep sense of familiarity to it. However, where the two leave a lasting impression is in finding that perfect balance between its consistently gripping storyline & moments of pure hilarity. The writing staff also deserves a mention, for their screenplay brims with numerous pop culture references, parodies many renowned classics & handles its topical themes with care.

The 3D animation is absolutely top-notch, for the images retain its crispness, clarity & vibrancy from beginning to end. The animators put up a vast number of characters on the screen, ranging from the largest elephant to the smallest shrew, yet they are all given a well-defined arc. Cinematography further enhances the overall look n feel of the story with its fluid camera-work, splendid use of colour palette & spot-on lighting. Editing provides just enough screen time to all the relevant characters while moving the plot forward at a blistering pace.

The cast is wisely chosen, and all the actors do a competent job in lending their voice & soul to the mammals they play. Ginnifer Goodwin brings a bubbly side to the new cop in town and confidently plays her role. Jason Bateman plays his part with finesse plus his voice really fits his cynical con artist character. Also, the chemistry between the two is a highlight in itself. Michael Giacchino's ebullient score seamlessly blends in & compliments the narrative while Shakira beautifully wraps everything up with a catchy, uplifting & wonderful song that smartly summarises its themes & message.

On an overall scale, Zootopia finds Disney stepping out of its comfort zone to tackle a bold, ambitious & risky project, and it is one gamble that pays off tremendously well in the studio's favour. Also, its arrival couldn't have been better, considering how its elements of prejudice & stereotypes mirror the racial hostilities present in our very own current social environment. An ingenious blend of sophisticated storytelling, jubilant humour & thought-provoking themes that amazes, entertains & enlightens without ever compromising with the fun factor, Zootopia is a definite delight for viewers of all ages, and is undoubtedly the best film of the year, so far. Strongly recommended.
90 out of 135 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the Most Excellent Animation Movies
michael-9142510 October 2017
This is a wonderful animation film that definitely surprised me! Expecting it to be another average Disney film, I was delighted to find it was not quite so. First of all, the animation is extremely well done which makes the movie enjoyable to watch. The amount of details is astonishing and watching it twice was not a punishment for me. The plot is also surprisingly well thought-of, being funny yet dramatic and it keeps you on your seat while also making you laugh multiple times. Although a city full of anthropomorphic animals that dress and act like humans has been extremely popular since animation existed, I believe this Disney movie takes it to a new level. It really does feel like everything took years to develop as the environment is complex and believable and the animal characters resemble their real-life counterparts remarkably well. It's amazing how they could produce a movie with simple jokes suitable for kids yet still silently addressing real-life issues at the same time. At last, I definitely recommend this movie for the whole family as I deem it enjoyable for all ages.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Of The Best.
blondlover6 April 2016
A cute and smart rabbit Judy Hopps is so ambitious and intelligent.She wants to become a police officer. No bunnies ever before became police officers in the animal world of Zootopia because they are not strong enough. But Judy doesn't care what other people and animals think about her . She wants to overcome the prejudice and bigotry that a rabbit is small and weak animal and thus is not fit to become a police officer.

She's determined to make her dream come true, but unfortunately for her,she faces problems. She caught a convicted Fox who has already committed a crime, and gave him the option that she can help him to avoid jail imprisonment if only he can definitely help her in finding the missing animals. As a result, the fox and the bunny become friends and because of the intelligence of the amazing Judy (the bunny) she cleverly tamed the sly fox and attracted him to do the good and to refrain from doing evil especially after he fell in love with this yummy bunny Judy.

Zootopia is best of the best for the spectacular cinematography,impressive story,enchanting music and stunning acting.
157 out of 261 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the BEST Disney films I've seen in a while!
elijahbutler-4011918 February 2018
When I first heard about this movie back in late 2015, I was kind of interested in seeing it in 2016. I knew NOTHING and I mean nothing about what this movie was going to be about! I stayed away from some trailers and I wanted to experience this movie myself and I was ABSOLUTELY touched by this movie! Zootopia is a fantastic film that has breath taking animation, AMAZING characters and a very clever story! I absolutely LOVE this movie! I love Judy Hoops and Nick Wilde who are both played by Ginnifer Goodwin and Jason Bateman! These are a great example of characters in animated movies! These two characters weren't your average Dreamworks movie characters, these characters were VERY well written and very mature! I also loved Idris Elba as Chief Bogo. His character was also very well written and mature. In fact, this entire movie brings great and mature messages for both kids and adults! Certain things that happen in Zootopia deal with everyday crimes, segregation and racism, even some signs of drug use in this film! Yeah and I mentioned that this was a Disney movie! Zootopia is not only a Disney film that kids can enjoy, the entire family will have a blast watching this movie and to be honest, adults might enjoy this film more than the kids! Zootopia surprised every single body part inside of me and this is definitely a film that will become a Disney masterpiece and a classic as time goes on and a film that EVERYONE can watch and have fun with and i'm gonna give Zootopia a 10/10!
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I ❤ Zootopia!
viganvina2 December 2018
This movie was simply amazing! The characters were awesome, the city was awesome... This is a jumbo pack of excitement and adventure! Plus, this movie brings a major role showing that people are very trustworthy and it's wrong to judge a book by its cover! Like how Nick hated Judy at the beginning and stood up for her when Chief Bogo ordered her to give her batch! This movie is the BEST movie I've seen in my life...
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Welcome To The Terrific World Of Disney!.
mailoflove1 April 2016
A Terrific Movie From The Great Walt Disney Pictures.

In The World Of Zootopia,all kinds of animals live in peaceful harmony.

There is no kind of racism or violence:" It is a perfect world where love,equality and peace of mind rule".

It is true that peace can never happen in any place in the world if there is oppression,racism,inequality and discrimination.

Walt Disney Pictures clearly delivers a useful moral of love,unity,integrity and peace of mind.

This Top movie also stresses on the fact that drugs are harmful.

Zootopia tells the story of a rabbit named Judy Hopps (Goodwin) who wants to be the first rabbit cop, so she joins the ZPD (Zootopia Police Department).

The smart and cute female rabbit plans to achieve justice in Zootopia.

This masterpiece movie is highly recommended for all kids and for every adult individual in the world who seek justice,freedom and peace of mind.

Honestly Speaking ZOOTOPIA IS INDEED A TERRIFIC WALT Disney MOVIE.
180 out of 326 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simply The Best.
lovenewyork-2116610 April 2016
"Zootopia" is simply the best animated movie of the year 2016 because the animation was terrific,the acting was mesmerizing and the plot was impressively perfect.

A female bunny Judy Hopps faces discrimination from other prejudiced and bigoted animals who made fun of her size and could not believe her strong determination to be a cop.

since Judy is brainy and has a strong will to be a successful cop,she made a deal with a sly fox to get what she wants.

When the genius and the yummy bunny Judy became a policewoman,she was so just and confident in dealing with other animals and soon she receives all the estimation from all the animals including the previously prejudiced animals who underestimated it.
126 out of 225 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Indeed An Excellent Movie.
nomoreprejudice7 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
In a world populated by anthropomorphic mammals, Judy Hopps, a rabbit from rural Bunnyburrow, fulfills her dream of becoming the first rabbit officer in the police department of nearby city Zootopia. However, upon arrival, she is assigned parking duty by Chief Bogo, an African buffalo, who doubts her potential due to her being a rabbit and thus smaller than most of the large animals on the force. During one of her shifts, she meets Nick Wilde, a con artist fox.

Hopps abandons her shift to arrest a thief, Duke Weaselton. She is reprimanded by Bogo and nearly fired until Mrs. Otterton, an otter, arrives pleading for help locating her missing husband – one of many animals recently missing in Zootopia. To Bogo's dismay, Hopps volunteers and agrees to resign if she cannot solve the case within 48 hours. She sees Wilde in the last known photo of Otterton and tracks him down, coercing him into to assisting her with the investigation.

After acquiring Mr. Otterton's license plate number, Hopps and Wilde track the vehicle to Mr. Big, an Arctic shrew crime boss. Mr. Big informs the pair that Otterton, his florist, had gone savage and attacked his chauffeur Manchas, a black jaguar. Hopps and Wilde locate Manchas, who mentions "night howlers" were responsible for attacking him before he goes savage and chases the pair out of his home. When Bogo and his reinforcements arrive, Manchas disappears. Bogo demands Hopps resign, but Wilde takes a stand, insisting they have 10 more hours to solve the case. As the pair leaves, Hopps learns from Wilde that he was bullied by prey animals as a pup and became a criminal, believing he would be stereotyped as one no matter what due to being a fox.

Wilde realizes that the city's traffic camera system may have captured Manchas's disappearance, and the pair consult Assistant Mayor Bellwether, a sheep. They identify the captors as wolves, hence "night howlers". Hopps and Wilde locate the missing mammals (including Mr. Otterton) at Hillside Asylum. All are predators, and all have gone savage like Manchas. The two discover Mayor Lionheart consulting with a doctor about the predators' condition. The pair escape with the evidence and the police swarm the area, arresting Lionheart.

Having developed a friendship with Wilde throughout the case, Hopps requests that he joins the Zootopia Police Department and become her partner, which Wilde happily considers. However, during a press conference, Hopps mentions that the savage animals are predators and argues they have gone back to their "natural state." Wilde is hurt and angrily walks out on her offer. Fear and discrimination against predators spreads across Zootopia, and a guilt-ridden Hopps resigns. During this time, pop singer Gazelle holds a peaceful protest and publicly asks for the harmonious Zootopia she loves to be restored.

Back in Bunnyburrow, Hopps learns that "night howlers" are flowers that have a severe psychotropic effects on mammals. Hopps returns to Zootopia and reconciles with Wilde. They locate Weaselton and learn that he has been collecting night howlers for a secret laboratory. The pair discover the lab and find ram scientists creating a night howler serum, which has been injected into predators via dart guns. Hopps and Wilde race to the ZPD with the evidence, but the rams pursue them.

Just short of the ZPD, the pair encounters Bellwether, who tries to take the evidence. Realizing Bellwether is the mastermind of a species-supremacist conspiracy, Hopps and Wilde try to flee, but Bellwether shoots a dart at Wilde and calls the ZPD for help. Wilde becomes savage and corners Hopps, but it turns out the pair were acting and had swapped out Bellwether's darts for blueberries. With Bellwether's confession recorded on Hopps's carrot pen, the two have enough evidence to unravel the conspiracy.

Some months later, Hopps is reinstated into the ZPD. The savaged mammals are cured. Lionheart is cleared of all charges and is reinstated as mayor. Wilde joins the ZPD as the first fox officer and Judy's new partner. In the final scene, all of Zootopia enjoys a performance by Gazelle, who dances with four tigers.
218 out of 402 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Since It Is Disney's Production,it has to be perfect.
HealthyLove1 March 2016
From the largest elephant to the smallest shrew, the city of Zootopia is a mammal metropolis where various animals live and thrive. When Judy Hopps (Ginnifer Goodwin) becomes the first rabbit to join the police force, she quickly learns how tough it is to enforce the law. Determined to prove herself, Judy jumps at the opportunity to solve a mysterious case. Unfortunately, that means working with Nick Wilde (Jason Bateman), a wily fox who makes her job even harder.

I am absolutely sure Zootopia Will Be Number 1 In All Countries Of The World Without Any Exaggeration.

Since This Movie is The Production Of Disney,it has to be perfect.
232 out of 443 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good animated film
jonathanmark-7704810 May 2016
Plot: In a city of anthropomorphic animals, a rookie bunny cop and a cynical con artist fox must work together to uncover a conspiracy.

This was a film that I was hoping would be good, since most trailers can trick you these days but this film surpassed my expectations. Each of the voice actors do a wonderful job playing their characters, the standouts are Ginnifer Goodwin who plays a really likable and relatable character and Jason Bateman who plays a character that is at fist unlikable but manages to improve throughout the film. This is not your typical kids film, it doesn't have the bathroom jokes like in most kids films. The script is smartly written and uses the message effectively unlike others which beats you over the head with theirs.

Zootopia is one of my favorite films of the year, if you haven't seen it, give it a chance it's not your typical kids film which is what I like, I just wish more of them were like this.
72 out of 129 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ingenious and subversive, but just a start
cliftonofun27 December 2017
Disney certainly has its mojo back. This movie managed to be original, hilarious and brilliant storytelling...not only that, but it was pretty ingenious/subversive commentary too. I wish that they would have done more to address systemic oppression rather than just individual stereotypes, but it was intended to be a conversation starter (as opposed to the entire conversation). Certainly a movie that is worth re-watching and discussing.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun. Solid Story
iquine30 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
(Flash Review)

In a world where all the animals live together in harmony there is still corruption at play. Much of the police force consists of the stereotypical big and strong animals. And here comes a little bunny, who is intelligent and crafty, who decides to join the force. Since she is small she is scoffed at and giving the task of meter-maid. She stumbles into something larger and important and the story gets even more exciting from then on. The simple storyline is even if you are small and viewed as less important, if you have courage, you can still have a large impact. One other 'parents storyline' is a satire on the political system and how it is corrupt. The animation is really good, the story is well edited and has many funny moments. The funniest parts are still the scenes from the trailers with the slow moving sloths.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
No one can deny that all Disney movies are terrific.
lovemormonism27 March 2016
Zootopia is a perfectly hilarious and remarkable movie not only for children,but also for adults.

A rabbit Judy Hopps (Ginnifer Goodwin) peacefully fights for the rights of weak animals.(A good theme from the great Disney).

There are several animals with various characters and different traits exactly as there are numerous individuals with different characters.

The script is didactic,great and funny.

Just like us Virtuous Christians And Good Mormons,we never discriminate against Jews,Muslims, Blacks.... et cetera so is this movie's terrific theme:"Don't have prejudice and discrimination about others. Learn to treat others well, respect and estimate others exactly the way you would love to be treated".
109 out of 220 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Magical film
Sleepin_Dragon26 December 2016
Walt Disney has always conjured up magic for us, and Zootopia is the latest offering to continue the trend. An absolute treat for youngsters and older viewers, it's funny, it's moving, full of hidden messages, just a genuinely magical film.

Beautiful animation as you'd expect, the voice overs fitted the film beautifully, and the soundtrack is uplifting and wonderfully in keeping with the tone of the movie. Ginnifer Goodwin and Jason Bateman are utterly incredible, as is Idris Elba, a role I never thought I'd see him doing.

Mr Big was without a doubt my favourite character, the Marlon Brando thing he had going on was hilarious.

Definitely see and buy this film, it's a cracker 10/10
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sly foxes and dumb bunnies come together to make the slickest, smartest animated film of the year
StevePulaski4 March 2016
You owe it to yourself to see Disney's new animated film Zootopia, a film so timely and relevant it's almost startling. You owe it to yourself to seek it out in a time in America where craziness, hatefulness, and fear is being further instilled in the general public by the very same people who should be fighting against it; the very same people who should be forcing us, as a collective, to rise above simple-minded assertions and mass generalizations about the people around us. You owe it to yourself to see this film simply because it's a brand new Disney classic.

The film takes place in the vibrant, diverse world of Zootopia, a place where predators and prey live together in harmony, and are free to be whoever and whatever they want to be. These reasons are precisely why the land attracts Judy Hopps (voiced by Ginnifer Goodwin), a small bunny with dreams of being a police officer. Living on a farm, her parents fear this because, not only has a bunny never become a police officer, but they feel Judy should confine her aspirations to selling carrots on the family farm, something Judy has no interest in doing. After successfully completing police training, Judy is thrust into the force alongside other, more muscled animals such as rhinoceroses, rams, bulls, and elephants. Oh my.

Judy's boss, Chief Bogo (Idris Elba), a buffalo, forces her to be a "metermaid" while the other animals take on the bigger crimes, specifically a case involving fourteen missing predators. Judy tries to show herself by issuing over two-hundred citations in just a couple of hours, but to no avail, as Chief Bogo wants to make sure she knows her place on the Zootopia police force. When Judy winds up catching a weasel after robbing a store, she is just about to be fired when Chief Bogo tasks her with finding a local otter who has been missing for over a week. If she can find the otter in forty-eight hours or less, she can keep her job, but if she doesn't, she'll be forced to resign. Judy enlists in the help of Nick Wilde (Jason Bateman), a fox, one of the most looked-down-upon predators in Zootopia, who has been doing number of odd jobs since he was young, after blackmailing him in order to get him to cooperate. Together, the two work to find the otter, but in turn, discover something bigger. Oh my.

Zootopia wears its intentions on its sleeves, but not in a way that distracts or simplifies its core themes. As you can probably tell, this is a film about both racism and sexism, two features of society that, while probably never going away so long as humans roam the Earth, do not have to be such amplified forces of hate. Screenwriters Jared Bush and Paul Johnston carefully construct a world, predicated upon a particular dream, and within that world, populate it with a variety of characters, some labeled as normative, others quietly labeled as the enemy that many are waiting to step out of line. It doesn't take a scholar to see that rabbits represent women in society, while predators represent minorities.

It does, however, take considerable screen writing talent to create a film that can be enjoyed and understood by both children and adults on a fairly similar level. Even Pixar's Inside Out was a film that sort of teetered a bit more to the adult crowd, with its lofty morals about children coping with their emotions, despite the fact that kids of all ages could at least enjoy the film as surface-level entertainment. Bush and Johnston pen Zootopia carefully, but bluntly, to the point where you can't ignore its profound, but simple message of inclusion and acceptance of peers. Oh my.

Countless animated films have made themselves about preaching the gospel of acceptance and loving thy neighbor, but few have done it with the kind of thematic relevance, consistent wit, and zealous energy as Zootopia. Rather than sticking too a cleverly storyboarded, intricate plot, Bush and Johnston also have no problem playing around, allowing both Judy and Nick to free-roam in a sandbox full of original characters and allowing conversational/situational humor to prevail. This is why we get uproariously funny sequences involving three-toed sloths at the DMV, in addition to immensely creative, blink-and-you-miss-it chase sequences between a rabbit and a weasel. The film is not short on ideas nor energy, and the remarkable thing is how the film can go almost one-hundred miles an hour in every department and not even come close to running out of gas by the end credits.

Zootopia is a contemporary Disney classic and should be treated as such; it will certainly give Pixar's questionable Finding Dory a run for its money in quality, awards, and overall relevance when it comes out this summer. This is a film that finds a way to be both sweet and simple, yet so urgent and topical, with an A-list voice cast, that you feel it's a soft rallying cry for unity, which is all the more reason why you shouldn't ignore it.

Voiced by: Ginnifer Goodwin, Jason Bateman, Idris Elba, J.K. Simmons, Tommy Chong, and Octavia Spencer. Directed by: Byron Howard and Rich Moore.
97 out of 195 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
May Just Be the Best Disney Movie Ever
bkrauser-81-3110648 March 2016
To put it in the most succinct way possible, Zootopia is an absolute marvel both in scale and in execution. Disney's 55th animated film may honestly be it's best. I realize this sounds like hyperbole but I cannot lie, Zootopia may frankly be the most complete, organic, emotionally resonant, socially relevant, incredibly funny film to ever come out of Disney aka the studio that has pretty much monopolized on our entertainment.

If ever there was a textbook definition of an upstart it would be Judy Hopps (Goodwin). Undaunted by the discouragement around her, Judy dreams of becoming a police officer in Zootopia, the city where predator and prey live in harmony. It's easier said than done, in fact not one of her species, nor any species smaller than a wolf, has ever made it through the Police Academy. She however finds a way and achieves her dream...only to become a meter maid. As she struggles to become an asset to the force, trouble brews in the city as predators start to disappear. Judy has a hunch concerning one of the predators and recruits the unwilling Nick Wilde (Bateman) a fox with a knack for getting into trouble.

One of the first things I immediately noticed about this film coming in was the humor, which while certainly filled with corny animal jokes, is organic to the characters and the situations. There are no unnecessary and useless comic-relief characters or smug jabs meant to up the snark-factor. In-fact some of the humor is so subtle yet brilliant that it kind of washes over you. Take for example Judy's neighbors, two male bushbucks which immediately inform her they're loud and are heard sparring in their apartment. This joke will go far over the heads of children and adults alike but it's still there in the details.

There's also detail in the complex relationships between the characters. Predator and prey are said to get along in Zootopia but Judy slowly realizes that that bond can easily be disrupted. Predators are a minority in the city generalized as aggressive and in the case of foxes, sneaky. There is certainly a subtext here and Disney has no problem with mirroring contemporary notions of racism and sexism and intertwining it's themes with the narrative of the story. In any other story a rabbit and a fox would be mortal enemies but in this case Judy and Nick become fast friends as they solve a convoluted crime.

There are many moments I found myself rolling on the floor with laughter while simultaneously in awe at the mosaic the dream-makers at Disney have created. Any other year, a movie of this kind would have been a high-watermark of entertainment yet in the era of #blacklivesmatter and unabated police brutality, Zootopia has reached new heights. Zootopia has latched onto the zeitgeist of modern America like few movies ever have. To my recollection, only Spider-Man (2002) has achieved a similar balance between light and airy entertainment and seizing the moment to become something more. Just replace the uncertainty of post-9/11 America with the uncertainty of post- Ferguson America and you got the perfect movie for the times. One that is equal amounts of hope and optimism.

I love this movie. It's beautifully rendered, smartly executed, and shockingly timely. The vocal cast is unparalleled with Goodwin and Bateman providing the best performances in an animated movie since Craig T. Nelson and Holly Hunter in The Incredibles (2004). Disney is world renowned for it's ability to give quality family entertainment and do so with a stunning sense of grace. Zootopia only continues that trend and does so while resonating with audiences in a manner few films dare to. Watch Zootopia with the entire family then, on your day off, watch it again; it's that good.
43 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
They did it again.
CitizenDevi3 March 2016
I was blown away by this. I didn't expect this movie to be like it was. This film is not like it is being promoted, of course it is funny and a little goofy... but it is way more than this.

This movie has a lot to say about racism, drugs and other serious issues in life and it succeeded in every way. This movie was not boring one bit, the animations were hands down amazing and I got nothing else to say but: Go and watch this movie you won't be disappointed. Everything is completely thought through and there is a mind blowing amount of detail here for you to see and all of this makes it worth watching more than just one time only. A lot of people cried in my theater, very emotional movie.

Also: Great voice acting, extremely funny scene at the end.
79 out of 162 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I expect a lot more from Disney now
luminesce17 April 2016
Walking into the theatre, I expected to at least be entertained by Disney's 55th animated movie, after the crazy streak that is Tangled, Wreck-It Ralph, Big Hero 6 and Inside Out. Thank you Disney, for taking my expectations, crushing them so hard and renewing my faith that Disney is still steadily improving. (However, I am likely to be disappointed after this movie, just goes to show how much this movie elevated my expectations. It's that good, to me at least).

Why do I like this movie so much? That is because within its entertaining buddy cop facade, it shows a lot more and has a lot of relevant messages to tell. It unfolds at an engaging pace and will manage to surprise viewers.

Protagonist Judy Hopps (voiced by the bubbly Ginnifer Goodwin) has big dreams and wants to prove the world wrong - that a tiny bunny can take on the big mammal job of a police officer. This is certainly something that connects well with the audience. She wants to break the small-animals-can't-do-tough-mammal-job stereotype. Ironically, she is eventually roped into a battle with her own subconscious stereotypes of others. Meanwhile, you have the flip side in Nick Wilde (voiced by Jason Bateman, who has no problem playing an animated version of himself), who succumbs to his stereotype. What seemed to be a message that "you can be anything" slowly turns into a (surprisingly) timely lesson on tolerance in diversity, discrimination and racial politics.

The two lead characters Judy and Nick, have great chemistry and you'll find yourself rooting for them throughout (some even want more chemistry *ahem*. A lot more). Chief Bogo (voiced by Idris Elba) and Ben Clawhauser (voiced by Nate Torrence) were nice additions to the cast, though the lack of focus on them is understandable. J.K. Simmons and Jenny Slate also lends their unique voices to Mayor Lionheart and Asst Mayor Bellweather, both of which are remarkably well-suited.

To make it more fun, the movie is also riddled with references (both in pop culture and biological), hidden jokes and easter eggs. However, adults will probably have a lot more fun with these as they cater to the older audiences, like with the Godfather reference.

Last but not least, the animation is beautiful. Everything, from characters to architecture to effects, looks spot on.

All in all, this movie was awesome. It is guaranteed fun for the whole family (though kids might be a little scared at certain points). I enjoyed it thoroughly (maybe even felt close to crying) and I certainly would like to see more, sequels or series, just please keep the voice actors. Kudos to Disney once again.

*Fair warning though, be careful with Google*

10/10
58 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Delicious dark chocolate, Zootopia looks colorful, tastes dark, but will be among the best films of 2016
diac2286 March 2016
Some movies perfectly personifies the past (Saving Private Ryan), some movies predict the future (Fight Club), and some (like this one) perfectly nail the current issues so accurately you feel like they financed, wrote, and filmed the movie yesterday. Read the following sentence slowly because you might not believe it the first time you glance through it: Zootopia is the best film under the Walt Disney Animation Studios banner since Emperor's New Groove, and is arguably the most important animated film since Princess and the Frog. Yes, the clock has to reach back 16 years before you can find a Disney Studios animated film as strong as this one. Between the layers of intense subject matter and a surprisingly strong mystery plot lies a beautiful message for the kids and tweens that needs to be heard, especially today.

Nothing on the surface can actually prepare you for what happens once you enter the setting of Zootopia. However, the surface is quite delightful to look at. The animation is spectacularly detailed and contributes mightily to the storyline about animals living together. The main city itself branches off into several subdivisions, each with its own distinctive personality. Unlike most Disney films, Zootopia itself is so massive its practically begging for continuations through film and television. It's an expansive visual feast of colors and colorful characters, similar to the creative world of Wreck-It Ralph. However, once the movie gets going you will quickly realize that although it is a children's movie, there is plenty for teenagers and even adults to laugh at and to be moved by. The mystery is slightly more mature than what is expected, and we even reach quite dark territory once the second half kicks into play. This is a children's movie, but has an incredible script full of heart, soul, drama, and necessary comedy to offset the bleakness. Using Pixar's collective creativity technique (which has been rusting lately), we have three directors and nearly a dozen writing credits attached (two wrote the screenplay, many others contributed to the story). It is a miracle that so many contributors to a single script made a film that flowed so well.

Disney and Pixar are the best at coming up with the required vocal talents to bring the animated films to life, and this is no exception. Jennifer Goodwin and Jason Bateman are absolutely perfect for each other and play to their strengths: Goodwin with her charming all-American bubbliness and Bateman's sly hustling ways. They dominate the film but luckily you'll learn to love them immediately through their strengths and their flaws. And in keeping with recent tradition, you won't know who the true villain is until later as the stakes start getting higher.

Rich Moore (most experienced of the three-director team) should be a bigger name because his directing credits includes the early 90s Simpsons and some of Futurama's greatest episodes. What those shows and this film has in common is the electric mix of well-paced story, strong characters, and shades of drama and commentary that speaks to the current issues. Zootopia explores racism, sexism, classism, and diversity fears better than any of the trailblazing Disney animated films before it. That being said, it's not a knock on Princess and the Frog, Mulan, or Hunchback of Notre Dame---the truth is Zootopia would have never been fully greenlit by Disney in the 90s, and perhaps even the 2000s.

Disney has gotten gutsier and ballsier in recent years with the Too Big to Fail attitude; and although the company definitely remains officially mum on the current political turmoil, Zootopia can and should be its resume and cover letter concerning what side of the fight they are on. Zootopia is a daring animated film that will frighten you (especially the youngsters), will emotionally hurt you, and will leave you thinking long after Shakira's gazelle character lets out her final note. It's the perfect concoction of mystery, comedy, action, and social commentary that not only allows it to become an early entry for Best Animated Feature, but (dare I say it), a Best Picture nomination.

Zootopia on the surface, beneath the surface, and everywhere in between is essentially flawless. It has something for everyone, although the youngest ones will struggle as it gets darker. Through its importance as well as the engaging, ever-revolving plot, I give this film the highest marks. Zootopia will stand as one of the best in all of 2016, and among the best works of animation this entire decade. Disney has unveiled its stance through adorable animals while simultaneously proving that it remains the animation king of the world.
50 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed