Little Women (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
562 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The ending
nancyrn91630 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Some comments lament the movie has changed from the book (especially the ending). I heard a Greta Gerwig interview today where she explained she studied Louisa May Alcott and found out Alcott, in actuality, was pressured by her publishers, to marry Jo at the end of the book. Gerwig wanted to honor Alcott by ending it the way it really was meant to be. This knowledge made the movie so much better for me.
235 out of 289 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Entertaining. 94 version? Cannot judge which one is better
directorgod-223 January 2020
Finally saw LITTLE WOMEN 2019. Didn't expected much cause I really liked 94 version by Gillian Armstrong with Winona Ryder , Gabriel Byrne , Trini Alvarado , Christian Bale and Susan Sarandon. Well, the casting was something that I cannot judge which one is better. Both are so so great. But Christian Bale 94, I liked better than Timothée Chalamet 2019 (Although he was good but didn't overcome THE Christian).

Two things really grabbed me.

1. The camera and light. The camera is keep moving even for the steady shots. They released the tripod and moved a little to adjust each actors even a small movement they make. They also use sunlight so beautifully like Pride and Prejudice. Aldo a couple of slow motions and mintage sequences are beautiful too.

2. The music. It is not like here I am listen like Hans Zimmer or Max Richter or even Cliff Martinez who would say even if the movie suck I am still here. Think that at least you've watched a great Music Video cause of my music. In this movie the music is there clearly and when it comes to really important moments, It really boost up the heart of audience. But it's more like supporting way. I felt it from the very beginning. Ok wow this guy knows OST!! Alexandre is more of a classic composer who made OST like The Danish Girl, The Tree of life, Julie & Julia and Philomena.

I cannot say this movie will win (was nominated for 6 Academy) a lot of awards from all around the world but it has beautiful beautiful acting ensenble and light, camera and music wise. Work of art.

Also the acting sometimes made my heart beat. Even the makeup is so great. Of course the director is also an actress so she knows how to deal with these stuff, right?

Last. The time. It goes back and forth from the past to present a couple of times but it was not confusing or breaking any concentration cause it was so nicely connected by editing and bridge music. (The cast y-oung and old -was the same too which didn't matter as well.) Something that was different with the 94 version.

It is an inspiring movie after all and I won't rest tonight to finish my humble feature writing for my next project.
40 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
i didn't expect this but i really love it
palefumes17 January 2020
I love that greta's version of tells us more about the sisterhood, family, and being a woman. the romance between jo and march is still there, too, but it's not the first thing you see or feel when you watch the movie (for me at least). amy is still annoying as ever (just like in the 1994 version), but i love that meg and beth have more spotlights in this version, too. every words were written beautifully and touching. i love every single words that coming from each characters. i love how this movie ends, too, it's much happier and realistic. i love that its 2h15m long because i feel like greta is rushing to tell us the stories but she really took her time without boring us (me) at all.

i didn't expect to love this movie that much considered that i really love the 1994 version, but this movie has the same stories and characters but i feels fresh and warm for me.
46 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Movie to make a Star of a Woman
anthonymcdonald-5290221 January 2020
I know I am a little biased been Irish buy Saoirse Ronan is just a wonder in this Little Woman, without her what would the film be, nothing, she is in almost every scene of the 2 hour plus old style story telling drama. Its like stepping back into the years when Hollywood (America) made movies about people, not monsters, not killers, no CGI, Just a group of people brought together knowing if they give this their all it will be viewed/enjoyed long after they have passed. If Ronan does not get the Oscar this time (she so richly deserves) after so many near misses well no matter. Everyone who watches Little Woman in the years and years to come will be so satisfied by the whole production they will be so happy they gave this Film 2 hours of their life. Go and watch it with someone you love, it will be night you will both recall years later.
54 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great Period Piece About Women and Growing Up
hooberschmit9 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
First I will say that this movie is kinda about a few things. Firstly it is trying to highlight the struggles of women with what society expected from them around in the 1800s era. Very much so still "Get married and have kids". Clearly people were starting to wake up, as these women's aspirations extend beyond that into creating things. They have life passions, but society keeps stomping in their dreams. It's sad.

The second thing is about the nature of love, and it kind of plays into the first point in a way. You have three sisters in particular. On rejects love in favor of her passion, and lives to regret it. She realizes in her you adulthood that she is lonely and sad as a result of perusing her writing with all of her energy. She even comes to realize that she has compromised on her values as to what she wants out of writing. She ends up settling for her second pick of a relationship (or does she?) as a result of waiting so long to come to this realization. The second sister marries for love. The only issue is her husband is poor. She is a stay at home mom struggling to be fulfilled with what she has. She loves her life, ans would not change it, but she is suffering in a very physical way. The third sister loves the boy who loves the first girl. She becomes tired of failing repeatedly on the road to mastering her craft (painting) and decides that maybe she will get married. She decides "uck it I'll marry for money", but end up marrying the boy she loves, even though she is his second choice. The fourth sister dies of sickness, but was devoted to her art. It's significant because it is symbolism for purity. It's basically saying it is fragile and hard to maintain.

So yeah. A complex movie full of emotion with a lot to say about being you, being a woman, love, loneliness, passion and all of the other ailments of the human affliction. Fantastically done.
44 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Greta Gerwig's brilliant rendition of the all-time classic
harry_tk_yung18 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
If "Little woman" is not the most adapted (stage, movie, TV) classic of all times, it would be very close to being the one. What director Greta Gerwig has done is to make from it a movie of the second decade of the twenty-first century, and retain the original charm faithfully.

Parallel timeline is an often-used technique these days but few are as skilful as Gerwig. The toggle is not arbitrary as many others, but thoughtfully used to forward the story, enhance the mood, or accentuate key plot elements.

From the viewpoint of the original book, the first series of scenes in the movie are "seven years later" with Jo in New York trying to get some of her work published. We see her getting valuable advice from the editor: if the story is about a woman, it better end with her getting married or die, or else it just won't sell. Then comes the next series of scenes "seven year ago" (starting point of the book), the Christmas scene in which their kind-hearted mother succeeds in persuading the four sisters to show what I would call Good King Wenceslas spirit. The movie carries on cutting back and forth between these two time lines.

I am not going to details of the plot as it would be just as unnecessary as for, say, "Pride and prejudice'.

Going directly to the performances, Saoirse Ronan's portray of Jo is perfection personified, the strength, the weakness, the spirit, the vulnerability, the brilliance of this young woman. She is the most deserving of the Oscar nominees for best actress.

Emma Watson's Meg, not bestowed with her sisters' talents of writing, music or painting, is the most practical of the four. Although Jo does remind her of her acting talents, Meg decides to lead a simple life, marrying the financially unattractive tutor, the man she loves. This is not a difficult role to play but requires good discipline in measured balance between reason and passion. Watson is pitch-perfect.

Eliza Scanlen brings to the screen the endearing Beth, tragically lost to illness before the end. Very watchable is her father-daughter affection with neighbour lonely widower Mr. Laurence (Chris Cooper), starting with being invite to go over any time to play the piano that is left unused, "if only to keep it tuned", says the considerate old man.

Florence Pugh has received a deserved Best Supporting Oscar nomination for playing the free-spirited Amy, who laments "I am second to Jo all my life". Although she has not been favoured to win, she already has another breakthrough coming up, going toe-to-toe with Scarlett Johansson in "Black Widow".

There is a field of support with strength and depth. Playing the kind-hearted mother with passion and strength is Laura Dern, who is nominated for Oscar best support in another movie, "Marriage Story" (and already won in Golden Globe). Meryl Streep plays the rich aunt, with winks and grimaces that she can do even when she is dead (sorry Ms Streep, "in her sleep" is just not enough here). Her one-liners such as "I am not always right but I am never wrong" will not fail to remind the audience of Maggie Smith in "Downton Abbey" if they have seen that movie. Of the handful of men, not much needs to be said about Timothee Chalamer, doing what he does best playing Teddy, the heartthrob who captures emotions ranging from infatuation to devotion from young ladies across his path. The best though is Chris Cooper who must have plays any kind of character imaginable. As the lonely widower with a heart of gold, he melts hearts.

"Little women" does not have a Oscar nomination for cinematography, most unjustly. One scene that is particularly mesmerizing is a distant shot of Jo and Beth at the beach, with the sky and clouds bathing in ethereal light behind.

Talking about mesmerizing scenes, one depicts a sudden surge of inspiration showing Jo, in the wake of Beth's death, burns midnight oil (quite literally) turning out page after page of the sisters' life stories, spreading them on the floor. This brings back images of Doctor Zhivago's outpour of poetry on a desolate snowy night.
47 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another Christmas Movie
momzxxxooo16 January 2020
A line at the 12:30 show? All here to see Little Women I joked. Yes, they were & some seeing it again. Best movie I've seen in ten years. Word will get around, it'll be a best seller and then this will be one that we watch every Christmas with the grands. Don't be the last on your block to see it.
39 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great, enjoyable film
mmcshane-0823211 January 2020
I have not read the book and that might make a difference. My read the book and it didn't spoil the film for her. We both loved it. The acting is fine, although Emma Watson doesn't give it much. I understand the timeline is a bit fractured but there's a point to that and it's not complicated. Great film, beautifully shot, great acting. One out of ten reviews make no sense.
38 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Tender
francesco-musolino12 January 2020
Tender, beautiful rhythm, well-kept characters and an atmosphere that holds up to the end. we all know the story, making a good movie was not easy at all. 7/10
41 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An Epic Tale of Four Sisters & The Challenges of Growing Up
reubenstojan4 January 2020
Before I start, I should state that I have not read the source material nor watched any of the multiple adaptations, so this is coming from someone with no prior knowledge of the material. To my knowledge of the reception from my cinema audience, (mostly middle aged women), this film does take liberties with the book. On a pure filmmaking front however, I feel Little Women exceeds as a great story about young women finding their place in the world. To my surprise and joy, there is no heavily politically correct agenda shoe-horned in either (despite some of the marketing and publicity saying otherwise) and is just a really well-thought piece that appeals to both young women and men.

The basic set-up is four sisters with four differing personalities and desires grow up together with a loving, charitable mother who holds them together away from the horrors of the Civil War that has taken away their father. The sisters live a relatively enclosed life in their home and try to break free from these domestic shackles to embrace youthful desires such as artistic pursuits and yes boys. Which erupts from a random encounter with a rich cultured neighborly boy that pursues pleasures over hard work. The story takes us over a decade of these sisters lives as their lifestyles change, their needs adapt and the incoming adulthood is about to change their naive bright youth.

It's a wonderful film that is a huge step-up for Greta Gerwig (her first film Lady Bird didn't really blow me away as it did for some) and perfectly orchestrates a tight web of stories and arcs. While you may see some events coming, none of them are eye-rollingly obvious and it's just a pleasure being in the company of all these characters. No one feels left out and all have emotional resonance to the plot.

The performances unsurprisingly are top-notch with Saorose Ronan and Florence Pugh (who has quickly made herself one of the lookout young stars of her generation) pulling in astonishing roles. Pugh especially deserves an award or praise for making a character that can be at times whiney and repulsive to being rather sympathetic and loving. She pulls in a perfect blend. I also want to praise Laura Dern as well for her performance as the mother. It's been a while since I've felt Dern has really stood out in a film but here, she really blossoms as a caring woman who has the burden of looking after four children during wartime.

Overall, Little Women is a film I can't recommend enough. It just works on many levels and is a shining work of what films about women written and made by women should be like.
56 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Outstanding Version of Alcott's Classic
springfieldrental8 January 2020
Greta Gerwig, in my estimation, is one of the most brilliant female scriptwriters/film directors currently making movies. Her version on Alcott's classic novel is spellbinding. She adroitly juxtapositions a several years span between the year composing and publication of her 1868 book and the Civil War years at home when the novel's events took place. I am also appreciative of Yorick Le Saux's plush cinematography. What a duo Gerwig and the French photographer made to produce one of the most gorgeous period pieces in many of a moon.

Two minor complaints: The casting of Timothee Chalet, the love interest of two of the sisters. He's portrayed as a young wastrel whose apathy somehow attracts the two into wanting to marry. Another is that Alcott had writing success writing under the nom de plume A.M. Bernard before composing Little Women, a detail totally ignored.

Otherwise, an outstanding film that surprised even this guy who went on his wife's insistence.
44 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
not just another superfluous adaptation, but an exquisite showing in its own right
Special-K888 January 2020
Writer/director Greta Gerwig tries her hand at Alcott's timeless, semi-autobiographical coming-of-age story by spotlighting two different time periods in the lives of the indefatigable March sisters, with first-rate casting featuring Ronan as the free-spirited, aspiring storyteller Jo, Watson as the fashionable, domestic Meg, Pugh as the economical, attention-seeking Amy, Scanlen as the quiet, musical Beth, and their journey from childhood to young adulthood as they pursue their individual hopes and dreams during the 1860s. Even though it isn't a direct page to screen adaptation, and the overlapping of timelines can be taxing at times, Gerwig is able to stage many powerful scenes that explore the all-important themes of sexism, loneliness, friendship, love, and unbreakable familial bonds thanks to four fabulous leading ladies, and quality work from Chalamet, Cooper, and Streep who are invaluable in key supporting roles. ***
44 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable ensemble cast performances
paul-allaer7 January 2020
"Little Women " (2019 release; 135 min.) brings the story of the 4 March sisters (Amy, Jo, Meg and Beth) in the 1860s. As the movie opens, Jo is offering a short story to a New York publisher, who to her delight offers to buy it, albeit with serious edits. Meanwhile Amy is in Paris with her aunt, where she runs into her friend Laurie. Back to Jo, who gets a letter that her younger sister Beth is very ill, so Jo returns home. We then go to "Seven Years Earlier, Concord, Massachusetts"... At this point we are 10 minutes into the movie but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this is the latest adaptation of the famed 1868 novel by Louise May Alcott. However, it is the first directed by a woman, namely Greta Gerwig. Following her strong 2017 directing debut "Lady Bird", Gerwig returns as director (and script writer). Gerwig confirms that she is a director to reckon with, as the movie is as pleasant as it is timely and contemporary (among others, examining the role of women and marriage). Saoirse Ronan, also the lead in "Lady Bird", is the central figure as (as Jo), and the main glue that holds together the large ensemble cast. The other sisters are played by Emma Watson, Florence Pugh, and Eliza Scanlan. Laura Dern is delightful as the gruels' mom. Timothée Chamelet, typically so solid, looks lost most of the time as his character tries to decide which of the sisters he really likes best. Meryl Streep gets about 10 min. of screen time as the crabby Aunt March. Last but not least, there is a wonderful orchestral score courtesy of Oscar-winnning composer Alexandre Desplat, and I wouldn't be surprised one bit if he gets another Oscar nomination for this.

"Little Women" opened wide on Christmas Day and has done very well, both critically (it's currently rated 95% Certified Fresh on Rotten Tomatoes) and at the box office against formidable competition (the latest Star Wars). I saw it this past weekend and the Saturday early evening screening was PACKED (just short of a sellout). If you are in the mood for another take on "Little Women", or simply are a fan of Greta Gerwig or Saoirse Ronan, I readily suggest you check this out, be in the theater, on VOD, or eventually on DVD/Blu-ray, and draw your own conclusion.
50 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
So relatable
chloeurc6 January 2020
Usually a movie taken place in the 1800s isn't relevant to today's world but this story is timeless. I grew up loving the 90s version and was excited to see a big name directed and actors tackle this, and they did a great job! Saoirse did Jo March justice and deserved her nomination but I already knew she would do great. Florence playing Amy is the big surprise here because she did an amazing job and deserves some recognition as well. If the editing of the movie did not have the story jumping back and forth with the timeline the movie would of been even more impactful. All in all though it was a great film.
47 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Endearing Characters, Excellent Framing
Paranoid_Indifference28 January 2020
I would like to hang out with these characters. These "little women", if you will. They exhibited themselves with such boisterous youthful brashness that I often found myself laughing, if not gut-chuckling. What a wonderful family-unit; but no, more of a {italics}sister-unit{italics} than a family-unit. I loved the way they got on together and had a whale of a time. (Yet there were also some sad scenes that caused my eyes to self-lubricate.)

My favorites were Amy (Pugh) and Jo (Ronan). Amy was rather forceful, fun-loving, raucous, yearning, excitable, whim-worthy, world-trodden, and multifaceted. And she was proud of her feet. Jo, for her part, was well-reasoned, impassioned, headstrong, determined, focused, social-sickened, expectation-allergic, hubby-shunning, void-gazing, and contemplative. And she was a non-breeder.

The framing was excellent, some of the best I've ever seen. There were shots of swooning countrysides, stately mansions, comfy cottages, bustling theatre-facades, shivering staircases, glistening snow-scapes, and swirling sand-winds.

Greta Gerwig did a great job! 💃💅👠👗🏡
21 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Incredible
aspeygabe16 January 2020
Can't remember enjoying a film so much, utterly incredible and beautiful piece of film work.
34 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Gerwig Masterpiece
LumsT16 January 2020
Many will rightly speak of the exceptional acting on display. Each of the 6 leading ladies, from Streep the matriarch, Dern the mother, and the four siblings are played with great artistry. Pugh is excellent, barely recognisable from her BBC dramas, but it's Ronan's performance that dominates and drives this movie.

However, the lady that most impresses is Gerwig. This is a truly masterful piece of movie making. Every scene is framed, coloured, and scored with the eyes, ears and hand of someone who should be thrice her age, such is the perfection.

The dialogue is exceptional, but the visual artistry is so strong that if the actors were to not speak their lines - though retaining the quite beautiful score - and an intertitle were captioned every few minutes the storytelling would remain as powerful

And that is what I felt watching it: this is Chaplin at his finest nearly 100 years after that genius's classic silent movies. (Liberal quantities of Capra and Preston Sturgess feelgood sprinkled on top.)

If you love cinema you must see this movie.
34 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A good natured adaptation of a classic piece of American literature successfully brought to life for today's audiences
MrDHWong16 January 2020
Little Women is a coming-of-age drama film written and directed by Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird) based on the novel of the same name by Louisa May Alcott. Starring Saoirse Ronan, Emma Watson, Florence Pugh, and Eliza Scanlen, it is a good natured adaptation of a classic piece of American literature successfully brought to life for today's audiences.

In 1861 in Concord, Massachusetts, the four young March sisters Jo (Saoirse Ronan), Meg (Emma Watson), Amy (Florence Pugh), and Beth (Eliza Scanlen) all live in the care of their mother Marmee (Laura Dern) while their father is off working during the American Civil War. As the sisters are in their late adolescence, the four of them are each contemplating their future prospects, whether it be to follow up on their creative talents for a long-term career or to simply find a wealthy man to marry. The second youngest, Jo, is an aspiring writer and ultimately decides to write a novel documenting the life experiences she and her sisters involve themselves with during this important part of their lives.

With a warm sincerity to its characters and source material, Little Women hits all the correct notes for a modern day adaptation that manages to transcend its subject matter to provide enjoyment for just about everyone. Even though someone like me is not the target audience, such things should not matter so long as the story is worth investing in and the characters are likeable enough, which this film has in spades. I was surprised at how much I ended up genuinely caring for each of the four sisters as they all came of age in their own different ways. I assume this is one of the many reasons why the original novel is held in such high regard, as there is certainly a timeless feel to the way it has been written, despite its 19th century setting.

Writer/director Greta Gerwig, who rose to prominence with her 2017 film "Lady Bird", follows it up with yet another charming coming-of-age story, one that would be more familiar to the general public. This is definitely a film that needed a female director as it requires the viewer to adopt a woman's point-of-view, something a male filmmaker would struggle with. With that said, Gerwig does her best to make this as entertaining as possible to either gender by showcasing each of the characters with relatable problems and realistic aspirations that anyone can invest themselves in. Unfortunately, she does occasionally struggle with the pacing and editing of the film. With a runtime of 135 minutes, there are moments where you can truly feel the film's length and this does cause it to drag at times. In addition to this, the film flashes back and forth between two different years and because each of the characters don't look that much different in either year, it can cause confusion figuring out which year we are supposed to be watching. Considering the original novel was long enough to be released in two parts, it was no easy task to adapt it perfectly, so Gerwig earns credit for the personal effort she has gone to for this film.

Each of the four sisters were played wonderfully by their respective actors, with Saoirse Ronan clearly being the standout amongst them. It amazes me how such a young actress can carry a film with this amount of poise so intricately without becoming overbearing to the audience. This is easily her best performance to date, which is saying a lot considering how many fantastic roles she has played previously. Worth mentioning as well is Timothée Chalamet, whose memorable supporting role as the sisters' rich neighbour contributed to many of the film's best moments and had me looking forward to each time he would interact with the rest of the cast.

In conclusion, whether you care for the source material or not, this adaptation is certainly worth checking out. Personally, I have never read the original novel nor have I seen any prior film version, but this one has made me curious about doing just that. This goes to show how timeless such a story is and by the looks of things, it can only keep getting better with age.

I rate it 8.5/10
34 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
We need more films like this
beachy-3843115 January 2020
So the writer/director was snubbed by the Oscars. And the industry wonders why the audience is no longer there. It's because people won't pay your high prices for the crap you are producing. Few of the really good films were even nominated for an Oscar. So keep producing films that only others in Hollywood will go to see, and you will go broke. Now for this film. Like another reviewer I have never read the book or seen previous movies. But I really enjoyed this movie. My only complaint is that because of the constant change of time (like in all other movies that use that method of transition) the story is hard to follow. I must say the actress playing the lead and Laura Dern are superb. I have long been in love with Laura Dern and now even more so. I also am in love with Emma Watson but was very disappointed with her performance. I'm so glad I saw her in "Beauty and the Beast".
34 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant, Powerful, Timeless, and Heartwarming
allanjiang15 January 2020
Not having watched any previous adaptation nor read the original novel, I walked into the theatre with no expectations, but nevertheless a little wary about the title, but aware of the stellar cast. Despite being overshadowed by the likes of 1917, Star Wars The Rise of Skywalker, and Jumanji, Little Women has passed a whopping $100 million in its worldwide gross, and the reason for that is obvious, it's a superb film that tugs on your heart as you take a trip to the 1860s.

Saoirse Ronan delivers a powerful performance and her connection with Chalamet is undeniable, but the sisters, Jo, Beth, Amy, and Meg show cinematic synergy of the likes never captured before and that's thanks to the spectacular acting done by Ronan(Jo) , Watson (Meg), Pugh (Amy) and Scanlen (Beth). It's no wonder why it has 6 oscar nominations, and we'll soon see which ones it'll be able to grab.

My one and single complaint is that the flashbacks in time can be muddy at first and slightly confusing, but after moments into the scene it becomes obvious as to whether it's the present or not. It's a nitpick but nevertheless there.

This is the one adaptation to watch and I would reckon the closest thing to reading the novel. Greta Gerwig has delivered again with this movie, the cast is amazing, the script is amazing, the directing and shooting is amazing, the movie, in all the ways possible, is amazing.
34 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Joyful Celebration Of Sisterhood
CinemaClown14 January 2020
The 7th film adaptation of Louisa May Alcott's classic novel of the same name is the only version that I've seen so far and frankly, I don't need to check out the ones that surfaced before anymore coz Greta Gerwig's Little Women is an instant classic that impresses on all fronts, and also establishes her as a creative force to be reckoned with.

Written & directed by Gerwig in what's her solo sophomore effort, the film is crafted with so much love, passion, honesty, authenticity & heartfelt warmth that it has the viewers under its spell within minutes. Gerwig captures the joy, pain, tenderness & everlasting love between sisters with such effortless purity that it's just beautiful to watch.

Coming off the critical & commercial success of Lady Bird, Gerwig proves that she is no one hit wonder, for Little Women is much better & far more mature work from her. The period details, costume design, low-light photography stand out with ease, while excellent editing makes sure there isn't a single wasted scene in the final print.

Gerwig's script bestows each character with arcs that exhibit depth & richness, and then she directs the terrific cast of Saoirse Ronan, Florence Pugh, Emma Watson, Eliza Scanlen & others to help them bring their respective roles to life with finesse & vibrancy. Ronan's input is amazing, Pugh is just as good & the rest provide brilliant support but it's their chemistry with one another that clicks best.

Overall, Little Women presents Greta Gerwig in stellar form, and is another quality addition to her filmography. Exquisitely highlighting the women's plight, prejudice & powerlessness in those days and to an extent even today, Little Women is a joyful celebration of sisterhood that's highly faithful to its source material and is winsome & whimsical in wonderful ways. One of the best all-round films of 2019.
34 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than I thought
Dorsa_k5 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Very good performance by all crew, especially Timothée Chalamet and Florence Pugh. The melancholy that Timothee has added to Laurie's character gives it a sincere darkness that makes the character and his behavior more believable. Florence's dual character in the story, both as a young girl as well as a lady are portrayed well. Laurie and Amy's character bring coherency and strengthen the story. The lack of unnecessary dialogue, especially in the romantic scenes have been a more befitting choice, especially between Laurie and Amy where we see a skip in the dialogue, replaced by silence. Joe's "I tried and I failed" gives a good explanation, a good add-on to her reasons for her decision and a good complication to her later changing her mind. Her disappointment upon hearing the news is fantastic. This is More believable and tangible. I'm comparing it to the unnatural joy of Joe in The previous Version. Comedy well incorporated and funny. A little slogan in the end about domestic struggles. Good point, but Decreases the naturalness of the scene. The movie does address the fact that the ending was not intended by the writer herself in an audience-pleasing manner. Still pleasant for its genre. And we must not overlook the good music composed for this movie that suits the scenes well.
52 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I can't believe I'm giving it a 9...
Brad_G3518 January 2020
I totally expected to not like this movie. Initially, I only wanted to see it because of Timothee Chalamet... I love that actor. He hasn't been in many things but I see everything he's in. His role is great with a few subtle laugh out loud moments.

I'm not a big fan of Saoirse Ronan but she honestly knocks it out of the park in this movie. Great performance! Not one complaint.

I'm also not a huge fan of Greta Gerwig. Before this movie came out, early critics were saying it was Greta's Taxi Driver(I saw a headline that threw that out there). I immediately rolled my eyes. I'm not sure if it's the greatest movie out there but it's certainly Greta's best and it's the adaptation that would've made Alcott happy.

There are a million great things about this movie. The cast: From Emma Watson to Meryl to Bob to Florence Pugh to Laura Dern... it's wow on all levels. I honestly can't believe Florence Pugh was in Midsommar that I saw earlier in the year. Great actress and I feel like we'll be hearing from her in the future.

See this movie. I think it'll be one that we remember in the distant future. I doubt it's going to win any Oscars besides maybe costume design but it might sneak in their and get one of the screenplay awards.
37 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cast does not disappoint!
kateorourke15 January 2020
Awesome film! The youngsters definitely brought it all together adding life and quirkiness to the movie. I loved the portrayal of Jo challenging the gender roles and equality. Saoirse and Timothee were great together!!!
37 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful, Life-Affirming, Woman-Affirming Film Every MAN should see it!
JamesDiLuzio15 January 2020
Men must see the film LITTLE WOMEN currently in theatres (Opened Christmas Day).

I just got back from seeing LITTLE WOMEN for the second time and, once again, I was so captivated by the performances and the beauty of the film. I enjoyed it even more the second time. It is a timeless story about family, togetherness, hope and ambition and mostly about love in all its many forms. Though I am blessed and content as a celibate priest there were moments in the film that I simply melted witnessing how feminine energy can captivate a person and how easy it would be to fall in love with any of the March women. There are a couple moments in the film where you see the male characters standing at attention in awe of the interaction of mother and daughters. The moments are priceless and I daresay must prove indicative of most people's reaction to the movie.

A note to married men and those seeking marriage: You will appreciate your wife and woman friend all the more after seeing this movie: The Wonder of the Feminine" is in full display here --its strengths, its solidarity, its honesty about the friendship and competition among sisters--not so unlike that of brothers (Surprise!) and their love for men in the special sense of all humankind but also their appreciation and respect for the marked differences between us.

This new film written and directed by Greta Gerwig also highlights the way echoes of the 19th Century limitations upon women continually need to be addressed for men and women in society today for we are not yet true partners at home, at work nor in our collective mission to make this a better world, lovingly, respectfully and with integrity. There's also some important social commentary about the proper and improper use of wealth but I'll let Meryl Streep's characterization of Aunt March spell that out for you. (Streep is amazing as always in a significantly minor role.)

All performances are luminous and completely "right," but three stand out for me: Saoirse Ronan as Jo, Florence Pugh as Amy and Laura Dern as "Marmee" ("mother"). Timothée Chalamet as Laurie, ("the boy next store" and devoted friend) is also excellent, especially in the scene he confesses undying love to Jo. Gerwig's script gives them great opportunities to be "REAL" and the way the script and editing move back and from within a seven-year time period adds layers of perspective that adds to the insights this family drama offers. Cinematography, Set Design and Costumes are A+. A fine score, too, by Alexander Desplat.

GO SEE THIS MOVIE with as many men and women and young people as you can. I'd say age 10 and up. And then read the book and DISCUSS it with women and men, boys and girls because it is not only about girlhood, womanhood but about life and death, love and ambition, inner and outer conflicts, timidity and boldness--i.e. it's for everyone. I believe it needs to be back on the school's reading lists, too. When I was a student teacher long ago, I put it on my reading list for high school freshmen but didn't get the chance to teach it. Perhaps it would have become a deterrent to my vocation. Evidently God had other plans for me, but I shall continue to appreciate and enjoy the story and the women in my life always and always.
37 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed