The Bronze (2015) Poster

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
61 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Crass and Funny
Bryan_Roderick19 July 2016
The Bronze

Low budget comedy that gets overlooked. Check. Amazing dialogue that will make your grandma be tickled pink. Check. Amazing acting from under-appreciated actors. Check. The Bronze is about a former medalist who has to struggle with no longer being in the limelight. The opening scene in the film is by far the most interesting way to introduce a character I've seen in a long time.

Melissa Rauch plays Hope. The extremely crass gymnast who doesn't care what she says but truly cares what people think of her. The first time I heard her voice I immediately thought of Bernadette Rostenkowski from Big Bang Theory, but then as she spoke more and she transformed into Hope.

Gary Cole plays another father figure. You might remember him from Reese Bobby from Talladega Nights or as Bill Lumbergh from Office Space. He's has a great character who just wants to make his daughter happy but at the same time be a responsible father.

Sebastian Stan plays Bucky Barns, no wait that's who he plays in Captain America, Stan plays Lance. Hope doesn't like most people, so when I say she hates Lance, it means something. He was a silver and gold medalist and took something very important to Hope when she was younger.

Haley Lu Richardson is excellent as an up and coming gymnast. This was the first time I've really seen her act. That being said I'm excited to see her in M. Night Shyamalan's Split coming out in 2017.

Verdict: I wouldn't recommend this to someone whose easily offended. If you've got the skin for it, I can't recommend this comedy more.
37 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Bronze wins Gold
My-Two-Cent22 July 2016
I want to start out by saying this film is fantastic..! It starts out REALLY slow & I almost made the mistake by turning it off but I stuck with it & boy am I glad.. Melissa Rauch who I'd never heard of before watching this film is hilarious.. She plays a mean foul mouthed former Olympian bronze medalist who is still living off that fame 12 yrs later & plays the part like a BOSS..!

*******WARNING*******

This film isn't for everyone it is filled with cuss words, sexual innuendos, nudity & a whole bunch of funny so if you like any or all of the above you'll love this film.. 7.5/10
30 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Much like Idiocracy & Office Space its a movie with tremendous re-watchability & quotable lines that you will be saying over & over.
cosmo_tiger1 August 2016
"I had no control of what people talk about. Take that up with the God of gymnastics." Hope (Rauch) is the darling of her little town after winning bronze in the 1984 Olympics. Since that time she has made a living just being her and making sure everyone knows who she is. When her former coach dies she is asked to train America's greatest hope at a gold, Maggie (Richardson). Hope must now make a choice, train her to be better than she was, or give up the chance to collect $500,000. This is a hilarious movie, just flat out hilarious. Offensive, over the top and so laugh out loud funny that I had to rewind this a few times to catch the jokes I was missing. Rauch is incredible in this and almost everything she says is comedy gold. If you offend easy this is a movie you should probably avoid, but if you are a fan of R rated comedies this is one of the best ones I have seen in a long time. This is the type of movie I could watch over and over and still laugh every time. Overall, not a movie that will win awards but much like Idiocracy and Office Space its a movie with tremendous re-watchability and quotable lines that you will be saying over and over. I loved this and easily give this an A.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ignore the haters, this movie is funny as hell
uberschizo8 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is the story of a a strong willed supremely selfish foul mouthed Olympic athlete who gets over herself. (Or does she?)

It's got Gymnastic lovin', gymnastic swearing, jabs at men's gymnastics (which, let's face it, no one gives a rat's gluteus about) secret handshakes, and an authentic small- town feel.

What's not to love?

Also, it has Bernadette.

Sure, the characters could have been fleshed out a little more (heh heh) but this ain't a period drama, it's a feel good comedy about winning, selfishness, maturity and being a stubborn but excellent human.

And when was the last time you saw a movie casting gymnastics in a positive light?
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Bad gymnast
Mr-Fusion15 December 2016
In some ways, "The Bronze" is so entertaining because Melissa Rauch is playing someone in diametric opposition to her mousy character on "The Big Bang Theory". Hope Gregory is the sort of Olympics washout that's fun to laugh at; a foul-mouthed brat who trades in her local celebrity for free stuff at the mall. Rauch really plays the Midwestern accent to the hilt, and it pairs very nicely with the coarse dialogue.

Somewhere in all of this is a sports movie, but that's not where it excels. This character ends up right back where she started, and it works great as an exaggerated portrait of a has-been in a no-name town. This flew completely under my radar, and I was surprised (happily) by how enjoyable it was.

She's very funny.

7/10
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Like it more as a sports movie on Gymnastics than as a comedy about coming in third
subxerogravity21 March 2016
I was not expecting much so I got a little more than I was bargaining for. It's not the best comedy that I've ever seen, but it's a pretty decent sports movie.

Very grounded in reality, The Bronze is about a gymnast still living off the moment she took the Bronze in the 2004 Olympics who is forced to train another gymnast from her hometown going for the gold.

Definitely amusing to watch Melissa Rauch (who I just realizes is one of the girls on The Big Bang Theory) as Hope, whose sad existence made for some laughable moments as she attempts to sabotage the promising career of Maggie, a bright eyed gold medal contender who worships the ground Hope walks on. I thought Haley Lu Richardson performance as Maggie was a definite highlight to a movie that did not have much going as far as real interesting characters.

It's not laugh out loud funny but it has some enjoyable moments. It does work as a sports movie with a more down to Earth summary of overcoming obstacles to be a winner and what happens when that moment is over.

Something to watch on the whim if you see on Netflix or something.
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
You'll Never Look at Gymnastics in the Same Light Again
SLUGMagazineFilms26 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
If you've ever wondered what would the world be like if Olympic champion gymnast Mary Lou Retton returned to her hometown of Fairmont, West Virginia and acted like an egotistical maniac for years after her career was finished, then director Bryan Buckley and married writing team Melissa and Winston Rauch have the filthy dark comedy you've been craving. Gymnast Hope Annabelle Greggory (Rauch) believes her hometown of Amherst, Ohio still owes her everything after winning the bronze medal in Rome. She's broke, rude, crude and treats everyone like a used toilet seat. But things change when Hope's former coach unexpectedly commits suicide and leaves a will stipulating Hope could receive $500 million so as long as she sets her ego aside and trains the town's up-and-coming gymnastics star, Maggie Townsend (Haley Lu Richardson). Team Rauch offers an explicitly lewd comedy that lets the "Big Bang Theory" star off the FCC regulation chain and shine as a fearless female comedian lead, which, sadly, does not happen as often as it should in modern-day cinema. Actor Gary Cole lends his skills as Hope's adoring father who's growing ever so tired of his daughter's disgusting behavior. With dialogue that would make a sailor blush and a sex scene that will burn hysterically disturbing imagery in your mind for life, you will never look at the sport of gymnastics in the same light ever again! -Jimmy Martin
24 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
No medal for this mediocrity.
jdesando16 March 2016
"I'm not a coach—I'm a star!" Hope (Melissa Rauch)

The Bronze is not a comedy—it's a dreary drama! A has-been bronze 2004 Olympic medalist, Hope, can't get over her misfortune of pulling an Achilles heel in that 2004 competition and thus aborting her future plans for gold. I suppose her bitter personality, verbally abusing everyone in her path, could qualify for dark comedy, but Billy Bob's Bad Santa she's not, certainly not Fargo or Shaun of the Dead.

When Hope is spitting invective on everyone, Hope has a Midwestern twang truly annoying and crying out for a coach. Beside that irritation, Ms. Rauch and her husband, Winston, have few if any lines worth the comic designation. Humorous in its own way is love interest Ben's (Thomas Middleditch) constant twitching, but even that endearing affliction gets old soon. Gary Cole playing her dad is a pro as a weak father trying to balance out his beloved daughter emotionally while she continues to abuse him verbally.

So you ask what's good besides Gary Cole? Well, Hope's transformation into a semi-civilized person comes as she's forced to coach sweet Olympic hopeful, Maggie (Haley Lu Richardson), a rival for the small-town Ohio's worship of Hope's Bronze achievement. Hope is much more likable as a coach than a former athlete, and some of those coach scenes are believable.

Also noteworthy is the production design, especially Hope's room filled with tacky trophies and teddy bears, attesting to this film's greatest achievement—a story of arrested development with little hope that Hope will be a model citizen. After all, it takes some moral fiber to disavow casual sex and mail theft for their cheap acquisition.

Her last scene, however, promises a transformation we get too little of during our time with her .
28 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Box Office Results Aside...
utility_infielder24 March 2016
...this is still a pretty bad film.

I hate to bash a low-budget indie flick like this, because it's obvious everyone in the cast is trying their best... It's just not funny.

I'm not a fan of 'Big Bang Theory' so I have no familiarity with the lead actress, but it's clear she was going for a Danny McBride-esque tone for the main character. Unfortunately, NOTHING about this character comes off as lovable, or even likable, so there's not a single moment in the film in which you root for her. This is a fundamental problem in storytelling that is forgivable in most "wacky" comedies (because, honestly, who *really* cares about character in that genre?) IF they managed to disguise the problem with hilarious set pieces. This movie didn't. The "raunchy" jokes felt awkward/out of place and most just fell completely flat.

It just wasn't funny.

I'm not surprised at all this didn't find an audience. I'm sure it'll perform better on DVD, but even then I can't recommend it.
29 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very funny comedy
sombroff15 March 2018
I have laugh from beginning to the end, and never feel boring during this movie. If more movies could be as good as this one it would be heaven. I don't understand why people can write bad reviews or give bad rating to this movie... It's maybe not a blockbuster, but if you want have fun watching a small funny movie with special people and special story, this movie is made for you!!! I hope this movie can have the success it deserves. And I really want to say a big thank you to every body have work on this movie, it makes people feel good to see this kind of comedy, which look like low budget but actually we can feel there is love and passion behind this movie, thanks to have pay attention to all the details and bring us this kind of fun in the life.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This was so much better than it gets credit for
Paola051427 January 2017
I avoided this movie because I saw a clip of the very raunchy looking "scene." I came across it tonight and I was blown away. It is subtle comedy, and yes, it is crass. But it is not crass in the way other movies (like Trainwreck- which I hated) do it to get a laugh. The laughs come from the situations. The character is a spoiled, self-centered, a-hole who cannot accept that her glory days are over (imagine the washed out small town high school quarterback). This is her attitude, her tough-as-nails, no b.s, cause I'm a winner kind of loser. The closest I can compare this is to Danny McBride in "Eastbound and Down." So if you like that kind of humor: the kind of pathetic jerk who can't see themselves as anything other than a champ and ends up getting a little heart (and pride kicks) along the way then you will probably enjoy this.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
"The Bronze" couldn't even win bronze in a 2-way competition.
dave-mcclain18 March 2016
July 23, 1996. Atlanta, Georgia. The Women's Gymnastics Team Finals. The American women had never won team gold. They were, however, slightly ahead of the Russian team heading into the last rotation in the team competition. American gymnast Dominique Moceanu failed to stick the landing on either of her vault attempts. Then, her teammate Kerri Strug also fell – and injured her ankle. With the Russians performing in the floor exercise event at the same time, the competition between the two teams was so close that the American women's coach, Béla Károlyi, told Strug that they needed her to make her second vault to secure the gold medal. Strug limped to the start of her approach, then she sprinted down the mat, sprung over the vault and… stuck the landing! Strug then began hopping on her good leg as she saluted the judges before collapsing to the mat in pain. She had to be helped off the mat and later carried by Károlyi to the medal stand. U.S. Women's Gymnastics had their first team gold in Olympic history and Kerri Strug was a national hero. It's this story that inspired "The Bronze" (R, 1:48), but that's all that Strug's heroic act of self-sacrifice has in common with this embarrassment of a movie.

At the 2004 Summer Olympics, American gymnast Hope Annabelle Greggory (Melissa Rauch, from TV's "The Big Bang Theory") suffered an injury during the Women's Team Competition, but still managed to perform in her final event, helping the U.S. to a team bronze. She spent the next dozen years in her small hometown of Amherst, Ohio (30 miles west of Cleveland) living off her fifteen minutes of fame, in the home of her devoted widowed father (Gary Cole), depending on him for most of her support. She also gets free meals at the mall food court, has a reserved parking space in front of the town diner and she wears her USA warm-up suit everywhere. Hope's glory days – correction, glory day is an Olympic-sized cow and she is milk-ing-it! This might not be so bad if she were a decent person, but she's rude, foul-mouthed, promiscuous, dumb, self-centered and meanest to those who care about her the most.

Certain circumstances arise that convince Hope to train another rising Amherst gymnast by the name of Maggie Townsend (Haley Lu Richardson) and make sure she's prepared for the upcoming Olympics. This puts Hope back in contact with an awkward, but sweet local guy named Ben (Thomas Middleditch) who co-owns the gym where Hope is training Maggie – and back in conflict with an old enemy, former Olympic Men's Gymnastics Gold Medal Winner Lance Tucker (Sebastian Stan) who is now a fellow Olympic Women's Gymnastics coach. Besides clashing with Lance and being mean to Ben, Hope's jaded and selfish personality contrasts greatly with Maggie's innocent enthusiasm, but Maggie and her hard-working single mother (SNL's Cecily Strong) are grateful to have her services. Hope herself ends up having more at stake in this scenario than she ever imagined – including her own hometown hero status.

"The Bronze" is rarely funny and often ridiculous. In the hands of more talented comedic actresses, this might have been an entertaining movie, but as it stands, Hope's steady stream of profanities, unladylike antics and self-aggrandizing behavior just come across as comedy by pummeling. (Or maybe, given this movie's subject matter, comedy by… pommeling.) The script, written by the film's star and her husband, Winston Rauch, is content to portray hope as an unlikeable, one-dimensional character through most of the movie and first-time feature film director Bryan Buckley (known mostly for short films and Super Bowl commercials) is unable to tease much that is worthwhile out of his actors or the script. Worse yet, he allows some of his main characters to speak in an accent that I have never heard anywhere between the Ohio River and Lake Erie, and the only well-directed action in the movie is not on the mat, but in a graphic sex scene late in the movie that feels dropped in out of nowhere. Propped up by only a few laughs and a little sweetness, this film couldn't even win bronze in a two-movie competition. "D"
31 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unrelentlessly raunchy and hilarious!
Score_The_Film24 January 2015
I caught this at the world premiere at the Sundance Film Festival and I about lost control of my bowels from laughing so hard. The opening scene (no spoilers) sets the outrageous tone for the picture and it is stupendously raunchy and funny as hell. If that first scene doesn't make you laugh out loud then you should probably just walk away. Hope (Melissa Rauch) is such an ass to EVERYONE that it's no surprise that the only friend in the world she has is her father, Stan (Gary Cole) and even his patience is wearing thin. The cast is outstanding. Really. Haley Lu Richardson (as Hope's protégé, Maggie) is so adorably likable that there's no reason to think she won't go anywhere in this industry but up. She's delightful and the perfect balance to Hope. Thomas Middleditch fits his role of Ben, the co-owner of the gymnastics studio and burgeoning love interest of Hope (if that's even possible but it is). And Sebastian Stan is hilarious as the good-looking former two time Olympic winner who has a history with Hope and is on track to steal Maggie away from her and get him into the spotlight. There are too many actors to name that also do a splendid job but these five are the ones we follow throughout the picture.

It can't be said enough how raunchy and wrong (in the right way) Hope is. Her personality is black and the paramount of selfishness but in that way that allows you to laugh and cringe at the same time. When you break the story down to its basic elements, there's nothing all that new about it. But it's how director Buckley handles it, the VERY funny script by Melissa and her husband Winston and the aforementioned talent in front of the camera that breathes severely entertaining life into a tired and reliable trope found in most sports movies. If I had to single out one moment to praise (and there are many) it's the scene were two gymnasts get it on but it's in the way your wildest dreams would suggest gymnasts would (boy to be a fly on the wall in the Olympic village). It's a close second to TEAM America: WORLD POLICE (2004) for being the funniest sex scene ever filmed. WOW! Tears, man, tears from laughing so hard. The funny runs from start to finish and I do mean finish. Listen to the lyrics Melissa sings in the closing credits song. In the Q&A after the film with the filmmakers, they tell how Winston wrote the lyrics on the drive to the recording studio as they had just been informed that Melissa was invited to sing on the PTAF track. It works beautifully and it's a great way to end one truly funny, FUNNY movie. The worst part of seeing it this early is having to wait that much longer to buy it so I can see it again but more importantly turn my friends onto it and look like a rock star for doing it.
27 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
a bad Napolean Dynamite
steeledanton10 August 2016
I knew i wanted to see this film the minute i saw the previews. Like the title states, this is a pretty low budget film which is very similar to two Jon Heder films we've already seen, Napolean Dynamite and Blades of Glory. BUT this is very raunchy. I hadn't seen nor heard bad language like this since Hot tub Time Machine 2. But the film is fun to watch, and we see the dehabilitating effects drugs has on individuals.So as the story goes, there is a gymnast who had competed in the Olympics...not the 2002 Salt lake City ones, but 2004 if I remember correctly. This girl, the gymnast ends up winning a Bronze medal..hence what the title of this film is. Well, her coach dies and influences her in a letter to take the protégé that she had been training onto and into a compettitive level as good as she herself had once been.And thats where the film becomes even more interesting, not to mention that some of the stars are virtual unknowns...one of the top billings is an actor that stars in HBO's Silicon Valley.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Much Better Than Critics Will Have you Believe
ChaCha4426 March 2016
As someone who has actually seen this movie and liked it, I feel a responsibility in taking it under my wing to protect it from some of the unfair criticism it's received. I think some people don't want Melissa Rausch to succeed because she's already a wildly popular TV star and they are punishing her. Some people are actually delighted that it's doing poorly at the box office.

I don't say this movie is a 10 (how many movies are) but its certainly enjoyable and original. While you can label it a comedy,it's more appreciated as a character study of Hope Greggory, a former bronze medal gymnast who had to cut her career short due to an injury and has put her life on hold ever since. I'm sorry if this has turned into more of a rant instead of a review but I'm just not understanding why it's being panned when this is a pretty good movie. Melissa is very talented and versatile and has a great career ahead of her after Big Bang Theory.
13 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A fun and dramatic romp
jaxsonstan22 January 2015
As my very first Sundance film ever and the very start of my film academia career I just want to say I had a wonderful unforgettable experience with this film.

Melissa Raunch plays a lovable yet complete turd of a human being, an adult Helga Pataki (for those of you Nickelodeon fans) if you will. Not only does she do a Ohio accent (I didn't even know they had one), you really believe her anger and plight. The acting overall was amazing. And seeing the Winter Soldier's Ass was a nice touch.

My only complaint is that the story seems too traditional for an indie film, the acting and characters defiantly were Sundance material, but not the story. Granted the story is done very well, but it involves a love story with betrayal, a familiar down in the dumps athlete turned determined coach, and perhaps the most tedious subplot in the history of the world, the gym/church/rec center/what difference does it make goes into foreclosure, yes it's that kind of movie.

But overall I really enjoyed it and I thank everyone involved for giving me this wonderful experience. It will truly be something I will never forget, a landmark in my new career, and even if this movie is forgotten in 20 years (which I'm sure it won't) I hope the people who made it know that they made a film new comer very happy.
20 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very well made drama with humor in it
tvsitcoms26 July 2016
Warning: Spoilers
For those who like senseless comedies or all Adam Sandler's movies, THIS IS NOT FOR YOU.

The Bronze has no linear characters, is not base on stupid comedy where people go around having sex and showing boobs. Yet, if you like a good sex scene, this movie has it.

The Bronze's characters are more deep than usual for this type of comedies, witch is a bless for my senses, I have to say. It has rude language but is not vulgar. I would describe it has a drama with humor in it.

People have this strange notion that all comedies are for children's eyes. I don't agree so my recommendation is, before you let your kid watch it, be sure you approve its context. Has I said before, is not a rude film, but its honest. And sometimes a story told with honesty can be choking.

Tumbs up for: 1- the non linear characters (that fish for pet was a good gag) 2- The Olympics gymnastic subculture (the endorsement scene was great) 3- The outstanding stunt doubles's work
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Too bad it isn't nearly as funny as it is raunchy
paul-allaer24 March 2016
"The Bronze" (2016 release; 108 min.) brings the story of Hope Ann Greggory. As the movie opens, we see footage of her at a young age trying to do cartwheels and other gymnastic related things. It's not long before we see her competing at the 2004 Rome Olympics, where, at age 17 and despite a severe foot injury, she manages, very much Kerri Strug-like in the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, to complete her final landing to salvage a bronze medal and instantly becoming America's sweetheart, most of all to her home town of Amherst, Ohio. Now, 12 years later, Hope has become an insufferable woman, obsessed with her moment of glory. But then, she gets an opportunity to coach up-and-coming gymnast Maggie Townsend, also from Amherst. At this point we're 15 min. into the movie, but to tell you more would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: while directed by Bryan Buckley and this is a Duplass Brothers Production, this is a Melissa Rauch movie all the way. Best known for her long-running role on TV's The Big Bang Theory. she stars as Hope, and she co-wrote the scripts (with her husband Winston Rauch). Almost from the get-go, the Hope character is so unlikeable, self-absorbed and rude that it frankly affects the way one can enjoy the movie. "I'm not a coach, I'm a star, I was in Dancing with the Stars, not Dancing with the Coaches!", Hope yells at her dad when the idea of her coaching initially comes up. What really surprised me what how raunchy the movie turned out to be. There is almost non-stop cussing and crude language. It's a shame that the movie isn't nearly as funny as it is raunchy. I will admit that there is one sex scene that is quite hilarious. It seems to me this movie is one big missed opportunity. You can see the potential, but it rarely materializes. There is some great song placements in the movie, including Britney Spears' "Work B**ch", Ace of Base, and others. And check out the song that plays over the movie's end titles, performed by Melissa Rauch herself and at her raunchiest yet...

You may have heard that "The Bronze", which opened wide (defined as over 1,000 screens) last weekend, completely bombed at the box office, and then some. It was one of the worst openings EVER for a wide release, and it's easy to see why. I had seen the trailer and was intrigued. The weekday evening screening where I saw this at here in Cincinnati turned out to be a private screening: I was literally the only person in the theater. I must say that the potential shown in the trailer never materialized in the movie itself. A darn shame.
12 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Heart Breaking Angry Comedy About A Girl's Stunted Growth After Sports Injury
SpiritMatter24 March 2016
A loving single parent father fails to use tough love to help his daughter get past her failed chance "to be somebody" in the gymnastics world and she desperately tries to hold on to her past fame in her small home town community. She slowly learns to move on and think about and appreciate others. Melissa effectively spewed her anger and bitterness at everybody. The other actors around her also did great jobs. Gary Cole played a great role as the loving father who felt guilty for pushing his daughter too hard and then made the mistake of not being hard enough. Haley Lu Richardson played a gorgeous bubbly teen whose innocent enthusiasm was perfect. Thomas Middleditch did an effective job as a humble sensitive admirer who hoped for more.
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Raunch from Rauch
ferguson-618 March 2016
Greetings again from the darkness. Leave it to the Duplass brothers (Executive Producers here) to turn the traditional sports movie genre upside down. Of course, this is about as much of a sports movie as Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story, but it does use the backdrop of the Olympics to make a point about fading fame. Mostly though, it's an excuse to crack wise, spew profanities and spoil anything and anyone remotely innocent.

Melissa Rauch (Bernadette on "The Big Bang Theory") stars as Hope, a former bronze medalist in Women's gymnastics, who captured the hearts of Americans when she battled through an Achilles injury to perform her final event. The movie picks up a decade after Hope's Olympic heroics and we first see her enjoying a clip of her big moment. And by enjoying, I mean … well, never mind. It turns out Hope never was able to compete again, and instead continues to milk her celebrity status around small town Amherst, Ohio. When her dad (Gary Cole) gently nudges her to take a coaching job, she shouts "I'm a star, not a coach!" Hope is a selfish brat whose egoism has her clinging to former glory and preventing her from joining society.

Hope gets tricked into coaching Maggie, the town's up-and-coming gymnastics prodigy. Maggie (Haley Lu Richardson) idolizes Hope and is her polar opposite in every possible personality trait – a very welcome upbeat and perky addition to the movie. Instead of embracing the opportunity, Hope goes out of her way to sabotage naïve Maggie's dream. Along the way, she also mistreats the gym owner who somehow fancies her – despite Hope's hopelessness. Twitchy Ben (Thomas Middleditch) is a sweet guy who sees the good in Hope and does his best to pull her from the dark side.

A twist of fate places Hope at odds with her old flame and former Olympic gold medalist, Lance (Sebastian Stan), who is now a leader in the world of women's gymnastics. These two banter like siblings who dislike each other, and also execute one of the wackiest ever on-screen comedic sex scenes – for all of you who have fantasized about frolicking with a gymnast.

Director Bryan Buckley is best known for his 50-plus TV commercials that have aired during Super Bowls, but here he lets Melissa Rauch do her thing (she also co-wrote the script with her husband Winston Rauch). There is some commentary on fame and celebrity (and cameos from Olga Korbut, Dominique Dawes, Dominique Moceanu), and some insight into narcissism; but mostly it's a chance for Ms. Rauch to flaunt her foul motor-mouth with some extremely crass and raunchy lines. It's kind of cute in an absurdly profane way, and some might agree it beats watching real gymnastics.

Note: Including a Doris Day song on this film's soundtrack may be the funniest, or at least most ironic moment.
13 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Bronze is a winner
Seth_Rogue_One16 August 2016
Really nice surprise this turned out to be, I had seen the trailer and thought it seemed like good mindless fun the rating was a bit low (currently at 5.9) so I wasn't too sure just how good it would be.

But I must say that it exceeded my expectation, and what I thought would be some mindless fun actually turned out to have plenty of substance to go along with the gags.

The lead-character is played by Melissa Rauch, someone who I never had heard of prior to this but she plays the role perfectly with a lot of attitude and even though she is pretty self-centred somehow she still manages to make her character likable.

I was surprised to see that she actually wrote the script herself (together with her husband) so that's even more impressive.

The plot albeit familiar manages to feel really refreshing and does well at not landing itself in cliché-land, which is more than one can say about most sports-movies.

But then this is more than just a sports-movie.

Really good performances from the rest of the cast as well, notably Gary Cole and Thomas Middleditch. And some really nice cinematography as well, especially the gymnastic-scenes.

Oh and the soundtrack fits perfect for the movie as well.

So yeah definitely worth a watch, if you don't mind f-bombs and adult humour of which there is plentiful here.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I seem to be fairly alone here, but I enjoyed the heck out of this
zetes20 March 2016
A gleefully profane comedy with good performances and well written characters. Melissa Rauch (best known for her role on the sitcom The Big Bang Theory) stars as a washed-up gymnast who is coasting on her 10+ year old glory as a bronze medalist in her small hometown in Ohio. She's pretty much a prick to everyone, especially her father (Gary Cole), but she is forced to try to get back on the ball when her former coach commits suicide, leaving her promising new student (Haley Lu Richardson) in need of guidance. This is more dramatic than one might have been led to believe, but Rauch is hilarious in all her foul-mouthed glory. Thomas Middleditch is also very good as her assistant/love interest. The film is far from perfect, with some plot developments that don't work very well and some poorly directed bits (the big nude sex scene, which finally shows us what Jerry Seinfeld wanted when he dated a gymnast in that one episode, is, I'm guessing, cut to pieces to get an R rating, but it also feels weirdly like it's out of some other movie). I enjoyed it a lot, though.
11 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Melissa Rauch was good!
whitneyassoc11 April 2016
I found this movie to be very good. It was funny, was not expecting too much but am a Melissa Rauch fan. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised. Her foulmouth was out of character from Big Bang but was a classic spoiled brat turning human with a wealth of antics. I am shocked at how poorly it did at the box office. Certainly was much better than the opening numbers showed. Well worth a look. The cast of characters is well chosen and Melissa plays the part well. The dirty humor is very good and timing is great.

The story is something out of the ordinary for a comedy movie line and the hotel scene certainly pushes the envelope. It all reeks of a Tonya Harding experience and is portrayed very well. Don't expect Gone with the Wind and you will be pleasantly surprised.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Gary Cole gives the standout performance
juliankennedy236 January 2017
The Bronze: An appealing comedy looking at a part of America only seen in Dan Bell's Dead Mall videos and during political campaigns about "Real America" . Gary Cole gives the standout performance as the put on dad sporting a Tom Skerritt mustache and the rest of the cast redeems themselves well. The film does bite off a bit more than it can chew trying to replicate two separate Olympic games and missing some easy targets involving NBC style coverage of same.

Some might find the main character abrasive beyond redemption but the movie sells that redemption arc adequately. An overall fun film with some good laughs.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I don't think I have ever disliked a lead character so much.
redwhiteandblue177613 February 2017
I have never heard so much cussing in my life. Way over the top. There was absolutely nothing likable about the lead actress. Nothing. I kept waiting thinking there would be some redeeming quality about her. But nothing. And if younger people watch this and think it is normal, no wonder the country is in trouble. I just wanted her father to slap her and kick her out. But no, he was a total punching bag for her. And her "boy friend" must have been really hard up for female companionship. Why anyone would put up with her was the question of the movie. Calling "The Bronze" a comedy is a joke in itself. A couple funny spots in an otherwise terribly dark film doesn't make it a comedy. A sad excuse of a movie.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed