The Lego Batman Movie (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
318 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Just go
jasonthomas-934239 February 2017
I'm not sure how anyone can criticize this movie for anything. Its 2 movies in one. The kids see Lego's with colors, action and subtle lines they understand, but children are more focused on the action and not dialogue. For adults, it is full of Innuendos that keep you laughing non stop. I literally cried from laughing so hard.

So if a movie for a family is entertaining for the kids and makes adults laugh and not look at watch to see "when this is over", then that's a 10. No kids here. And my fiancée was like omg, what! When you leave a movie still laughing and repeating lines....10.

Kid tested, parents will hoot!
127 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's not just a great kids movie, it's a great Batman movie!!!
Thekeybaldemasterrises10 February 2017
This is the best theatrical film based on DC property that WB has put out in years. Sorry fans but this blew all 3 of the cinematic universe movies out of the freaking water. Just like the movie before it, the LEGO Batman movie surprises yet again with a fun piece of imaginative work. It has the humor, the action, the animation, and surprisingly again the heart. We thought to ourselves a Lego movie would never work, it sounds like the ultimate marketing sham Hollywood could ever put out to sell toys, but it became one my favorite animated films of all time why? The first movie blew me away because it not only worked as a story, but it encompassed everything a fan of Lego remembers. In a similar fashion, this movie encompassed everything you know about Batman, and I mean everything. I swear there was almost a reference to everything you remember about him, from Detective Comics all the way to Batfleck. It sounds like I'm talking about fan service because yes, it is most of the time. They use it to their advantage here, they praise and mock everything great, and everything terrible Batman has gone through over the years. You almost miss too much because they cram so many funny nod ons and jokes you wish they had spread em out a little bit. But In other words, the script is a hilarious tribute to arguably one of the greatest superheroes of all time, and surprisingly the most emotional. The focus of the film actually deals with to me a critical factor of Batman. His isolation and loneliness, his fear of becoming part of a family again. The special relationship Batman has with the Joker. It hits all the emotional beats just right with all of its themes. It utilizes it's imagination of Legos to it's potential. And it produces a fantastic message for kids, as well as a touching tribute to fans of Batman. Seriously this movie had a smile on my face except for the parts when it really hit home for me. It also makes me mad, because the film proves that WB is just sitting on a character's pile of good material to work with, and they don't know what to do with them in their real films. This movie has such a stronger emotional impact than anything the DC cinematic universe has done with its last three films. It doesn't mean DC has to sell to Disney, it doesn't mean critics are biased against DC. It just means when you get people who know the material well, they're gonna make it a great film if they know what to do with it. That's what's happening here, if WB can take notes and study why this movie really works, maybe the Justice League and Ben Affleck's Batman film will actually make a better impact? Regardless, this is the standard animated movies need to have outside of Disney, and WB really needs to bring the heart this movie has into their live action films. If you love Legos and Batman what are you waiting for?? Go now!! You don't even have to take a kid, it's a total blast for all ages, and I will definitely be seeing it again real soon.
118 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Celebration of everything Batman!
hjalsayegh14 February 2017
It's odd that this would be the movie that takes a look back at 78 years of batman and says... yeah it's silly, LET'S CELEBRATE IT ALL!!!

I actually thought some of the characters in this movie were just a joke but nope, there really was a condiment king in the batman comics that walked around with a ketchup and mustard guns, there was a character called "the Eraser" that looked like a pencil!

Best of all was the most iconic villain from batman, the Joker! Just replace the word "hate" with "love" and it's a rom-com between the two with batman refusing to commit and Joker feeling like his "hate" was only one sided and he deserves better, Hilarious!!!

They actually reference all of batman from the silly TV show of the 60's, the bam and kapow that pop up in the comics when he hits someone, his dark night trilogy, you name it it's there... and sometimes they'd even play some footage!

If you know anything, really anything at all about batman then I'd recommend you watch this movie. age doesn't matter. The one flaw I could think of was how fast this was going with the jokes, at times I wish it would slow down because another one comes in before I was even done laughing at the previous joke.

10/10 and yay for parody not being dead!
76 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An Enjoyable Ride Thrusting Us Back Into The Lego Universe
CalRhys6 February 2017
Growing up, Lego meant everything to me, my aspirations of becoming an architect, and even the result of me studying design engineering in university, were all due to my fascination with Lego as a child and the complex structures you could craft and create. In 2014, upon the announcement of 'The Lego Movie', despite my love for the toy, I was kinda doubting the general premise. How could you make a movie out of Lego? Well, that question was soon answered as I gawped in awe at the screen, the movie was fantastic. Now, the character from 'The Lego Movie'' that garnered the most love was Batman, a cocky, sarcastic, childish take on the superhero we know and love... well it was only going to be a matter of time before he got his own motion picture.

'The Lego Batman Movie' was definitely an enjoyable ride, and whilst I think it lacks in comparison to its predecessor, it stills thrusts us back into the universe that we came to revere in 2014. With an admirable cast of voice talent, and stunning animated visuals, 'The Lego Batman Movie' boasts undeniable creative talent, but does at times seem to be trying a little too hard to be funny, building off the reputation the initial film garnered.

Is this film worth viewing? Most definitely, it's a hilarious feel- good animated comedy, and definitely perfect for the younger audience. I actually saw this film prior to its full release during a preview a few days early, however I believe it may have been aimed more as a kids matinée... I was literally the only adult there, shameful I know, but heck, I didn't care. The kids in the audience continually laughed with glee, so its definitely something suited for that kind of audience, but don't skip over the older adults who are still children at heart, it's an alluring comedy that piles on the laughs, definitely worth a watch.
46 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
bloody sick movie.
adamrice-1881115 February 2017
loved this film. i never normally laugh in the movie but did to this (maybe because of the joint i smoked 5 minutes before but unconfirmed). Id rate this better than the Lego movie.

I expected the story to be about Lego batman in the Lego universe but i was pleasantly surprised to see that it was basically all DC universe characters and settings, apart from a few villains which worked well anyway. Master building was only mentioned once, which was nice.

Strangely enough, this movie had better character development that the last batman film we saw. This needs to be rated AT LEAST an 8 because i loved it.

highly, highly recommend. try and get later times to avoid the annoying children narrating the entire thing
58 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Whole lot of fun!
zomboyproductionz12 February 2017
This movie is an abs-olute (you'll get that joke after you see the movie)! It does everything a movie should do: let you escape from reality and just enjoy yourself

The movie has jokes, action sequences, jabs at the live-action Batman movies and shows phenomenal voice-acting, beautiful animation (like its predecessor 'The Lego Movie' (qv), epic cameos, and most importantly a heartfelt message!

This movie is certainly fun for the entire family-containing jokes and entertainment that will apply to all ages at once!

What are you waiting for? See this movie!!!!!!
67 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lego Batman is as fun, funny, inventive and touching as you'd want it to be
ryanjmorris6 February 2017
Let's be honest for a second and agree that The Lego Movie should never have worked. On paper, it's a horrible idea. Yet, Phil Lord and Chris Miller did what they always do - take a strange and unwieldy idea and turn it into something great. Including Batman in The Lego Movie seemed a bizarre choice, but the Will Arnett voiced character was a highlight for pretty much everyone who watched it and it didn't take long until a spin off was announced. With Lord and Miller only serving as producers this time, the satisfaction of The Lego Movie wore off and we were all sceptical about whether the spin off was a good idea. It turns out that, just like last time, we never needed to worry at all.

When he isn't fighting crime as masked vigilante Batman, Bruce Wayne (Arnett) lives in recluse in his mansion with his butler Alfred (Ralph Fiennes). His arch nemesis, the Joker (Zach Galifianakis), rallies together an endless group of villains to attempt to rid Gotham City of the Batman, all while new Police Chief Barbara Gordon (Rosario Dawson) proposes that Batman abandon his solo nature and work alongside the law enforcement. After a misunderstanding, Wayne also accidentally adopts local orphan Dick Grayson (Michael Cera), who he reluctantly takes on as a protégé. Eventually, it is down to Batman, Grayson, Gordon and Alfred to battle the Joker and save Gotham City.

If it sounds kind of mental, it's because it is. If you thought The Lego Movie was high octane and relied on energy, it pales in comparison to The Lego Batman Movie. But, once again, here we have a film that is not only zany and energetic but also consistently funny, mindbogglingly inventive, nimbly structured and genuinely touching. While it loses the surprise effect that made The Lego Movie such a treat and its conclusion doesn't rival the sudden foray into live action that made its parent film so poignant, Lego Batman remains a highly enjoyable film that puts a smile on your face from beginning to end.

I would comfortably say that this is a funnier film than The Lego Movie. The jokes come thick and fast, a large percentage of the film is more than prepared to drop at least three jokes per minute and they all land. There are digs at other recent Batman stories - most notably Suicide Squad and Batman v Superman, obviously - and multiple other references to other films, but Lego Batman even finds room for more adult humour (how the number plate on Bruce Wayne's car made it into the final cut is hilariously baffling to me) and countless sight gags. The faux stop motion animation style carves the way for some brilliant little visual flourishes that add depth to the film's comedy - it isn't just content to run one joke into the ground, rather it consistently finds new comedic territory and makes every joke its own.

The way Lego Batman even lands on something genuinely moving in its finale is even more impressive. You could make a case for the film's central theme being a bit obvious when it comes to Batman - the whole film is pegged around isolation and loneliness and how you combat that to form a human relationship of any kind - but it handles it excellently. It's written smartly enough to simultaneously act as a life lesson for small kids as well as a powerful sentiment to older viewers. The fact that it has a better grasp of Batman as a character than Batman v Superman did isn't exactly surprising, but what is surprising is just how committed to this theme the film really is.

It doesn't just form it around Batman. Young Dick Grayson feels the same emotional distance, Barbara Gordon only wants to do well in her first challenge as the new Police Chief, Alfred wants to help his adoptive son refocus his life and even the Joker just wants to comfortably know that he really is Batman's arch nemesis. It all sounds silly, and of course it is, but Lego Batman excels whenever it combines the silly and the thoughtful. Thankfully, that's most of its run time. The voice acting is faultless all round, too. Arnett remains the obvious highlight for too many reasons than can be explained, but Michael Cera, Ralph Fiennes, Rosario Dawson, Jenny Slate, and Channing Tatum are all delightful as well.

Lego Batman's biggest triumph, though? It perfectly reminds us that the concept of a Lego Movie shouldn't put us off anymore. There have been weirder franchises in cinematic history, and while this sounded like one big cash grab from the word go, everything we have seen in this Universe so far has been terrific. Lego Batman loses that surprise element because about ten minutes into the film you stop worrying, you just know you're going to have a blast. I mean, how could you not? The less said about a plethora of other characters who appear in the film's second half, the better - but it's hilarious and unique and wonderful all at once. If just one film drops in 2017 that's more fun than this, what a year it will be.

TO SUMMARISE: Dazzlingly inventive and unrelentingly funny, The Lego Batman Movie adds another enjoyable and surprisingly moving entry to the ever impressive Lego Movie franchise.

www.morrismovies.co.uk
75 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
loved it!
MattyAndAnnika11 February 2017
Wanna see a film that will just keep you laughing all the way through it? Well last night we certainly found one, "The LEGO Batman Movie (2017)". Lego Batman was a film that we had been waiting to see and last night we headed out to the theaters to enjoy some laughter.

From the start of the movie it was on! This movie was Lego at it's finest, Batman took Lego films to a whole new level of laughter. Every few minutes we couldn't stop giggling. The LEGO Batman Movie (2017) was filled with Batman singing his made up songs, The LEGO Batman Movie (2017) is a movie that made us finally feel like a kid again; awesome from start to finish!
55 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Kids movie that Parents and Adults will enjoy
gunmasterg96 February 2017
My 5 year old son had been bugging me wanting to watch this since he first saw the trailers. Skeptically I booked tickets for a preview and went along thinking I would let him enjoy this whilst i got an hour or so to have a nice nap :-). From the word go this movie is hilarious with a lot of jokes that older kids/adults will find. in certain aspects i enjoyed this more than my kid lol. Sont of the one liners are brilliant - especially the password that Batman has set for his computer which is not the one he says in the trailer. A great fun movie which took the Batman from the LEgo Movie and made it even more awesome. A top rated movie from me.
54 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I usually hate Batman, but...
mistoppi16 February 2017
I love the Lego Batman! And I love this movie! It is so good! The LEGO Movie is one of my favourite films, and The LEGO Batman Movie is just as good! Of course the universes are a bit different. The LEGO Movie is a mix of, well, every possible universe, while The LEGO Batman movie is mostly DC universe - with a mixture of different villains released by Joker. Also that certain meta feeling is not there, that was in The LEGO Movie, but that might've been good. The difference between the two is that The LEGO Movie was, in a way, about Legos. Now the characters in The LEGO Batman Movie are made of legos, sure, so are buildings and all that, but it's not addressed so much. We don't have to think about it. It could be just another superhero movie, apart from few jokes that require Legos.

This was so much fun! Since I obviously went to see this in English (and since the subtitles didn't work), the audience was mostly grown ups, and every one of us was laughing. And there were so many kind of jokes. One of my favourites is Batman saying it would be stupid to have villains fight villains.

And of course The LEGO Batman Movie isn't just action and fun, even though that would've worked too. There's some pretty deep and important stuff about Bruce getting over his fear of intimacy and all that. Of course all that is kind of sappy, but hey, when isn't stuff like that sappy? It's still really nice to see Bruce Wayne / Batman actually have more character development in The LEGO Batman Movie than in the whole Nolan trilogy. Also there are probably a lot of adults out there who might actually see their own issues in Bruce Wayne, who is not going to just be dark brooding Batman and never let anyone close. And also I mean it gives children a nice lesson about family as well. Altogether all the life lessons in The LEGO Batman Movie were so nice, and even if they were sappy, even someone with cynic's traits might melt a bit. I know I did.

Right now I can't think of anything wrong with this movie. It was a great experience! It has the best parts of a children's movie and a superhero movie. It's an excellent movie, better than any other Batman movie, and the only Batman movie I've given a full 10/10.
38 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Better than Batman in the DCEU but not as good as Lego Movie...
justin-fencsak13 February 2017
From the creators of the Lego Movie and executive produced by the now Secretary of the Treasury for the Trump administration, the Lego Batman Movie is one of the best movies of the year. Chockful of fourth wall humor and tons of brick and mortar action, this movie features an all star cast of superheroes and villains, not to mention cameos from other franchises and classic Lego toys to make up for what's the longest of the Lego movies. There are some moments when the adults laugh a lot and there is kiddie humor as well. I highly recommend seeing this while it lasts in the theaters to get the full experience. I can't wait to see what the Lego Ninjago Movie has in store when it opens in the fall of this year!!!
29 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
LEGO Batman is a must watch
taylorbatts11 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I went to the theaters to see a funny and goofy Batman movie, and i got one. The movie from start to finish is hilarious for the adults and the kids. Id say the adults will take more from the movie. The kids will like it to see Batman kicking butt and the little jokes. The other jokes in the movie are for the adults and its amazing. They used so many DC characters that we don't hear about anymore. They referenced so many comic book and batman movies. Even the costumes they showed were actual Bat suits he has worn. I enjoyed the movie so much. A very fun time for the adults. There is one joke that they say that is to much for kids but its hilarious for the adults. Im not going to say the joke because you guys need to hear it for yourself. The movie is a great time.
21 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my all time favorite Batman movies. Right up there with The Dark Knight Trilogy.
Anurag-Shetty17 February 2017
The LEGO Batman Movie is a spin-off of The Lego Movie(2014) & continues with the adventures of the Lego version of Batman/Bruce Wayne(Will Arnett), seen in that film. Batman protects Gotham City from the Joker(Zach Galifianakis) & several other bad guys. He must also take care of Robin/Dick Grayson(Michael Cera), the young boy he adopted. The Joker comes up with his most deadly plan yet. Now, it is up to Batman with the help of his allies, to stop the Joker from executing his dastardly plan.

The LEGO Batman Movie is an amazing film. It is on par with The Lego Movie(2014). The animation is unique & flawless. It is fantastic how the animators over at Warner Animation Group, bring these Lego figurines & building blocks to life. The highlight of the movie, is how it references & pokes fun at all the previous big screen incarnations of Batman. The 3D immerses you into the proceedings on screen. This film is hilarious, with the one-liners being delivered by all the characters, non-stop. It also does justice to the sentimental aspects of Batman's story. Director Chris McKay has impeccably brought to life, a totally different kind of Batman. The actors who have lent their voices to the various characters, are spot on. Will Arnett is spectacular as Batman/Bruce Wayne. Michael Cera is adorable as Robin/Dick Grayson. Rosario Dawson is excellent as Batgirl/Barbara Gordon. Ralph Fiennes is superb as Alfred Pennyworth. Zach Galifianakis is outstanding as the Joker. Jenny Slate is awesome as Harley Quinn. Jason Mantzoukas, Conan O'Brien, Doug Benson, Billy Dee Williams, Zoe Kravitz, Kate Micucci, Riki Lindhome, Eddie Izzard, Seth Green, Jemaine Clement, Channing Tatum, Jonah Hill, Adam Devine, Hector Elizondo & Mariah Carey are brilliant in their cameos as Scarecrow, The Riddler, Bane, Two-Face, Catwoman, Clayface, Poison Ivy, Voldemort, King Kong, Sauron, Superman, Green Lantern, The Flash, Jim Gordon & Mayor McCaskill, respectively. The LEGO Batman Movie is a must watch, for die-hard Batman fans & newcomers alike.
16 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
All Great Movies Begin With A Black Screen ...
topeka_brooks17 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Funny, funnier, funniest ... and fun. Spoiler Alert: Don't read farther if you haven't seen the movie - just go see it.

Batman faces his Greatest Enemy - and it's obviously NOT the Joker.

If you love old movies, B-movies, monster movies, sci-fi flicks, kid flicks, romantic movies, comedies, plot-driven films, character-driven films, or Batman - and you enjoy spoofs - you will love Lego Batman.

The dark, broody super-hero comes back in his funniest incarnation yet - in the most homage laden A-list film I think I've ever seen: More homage inserts, unexpected cameos, and funny riffs than all the bodies in Terminator, Rambo, and Die Hard.

A sample: Joker: "78 years and you've never said, 'I hate you.'" ... I thought I was going to bust my gut.

Evil British Robots: "exterminate" ... my daughter's boyfriend almost came out of his seat.

Batman's movie collection: Mom screamed, "that movie sucks!"

Voldemort:"We're in." My daughter popped out of her seat ... "look, look .."

Dick Grayson:"Batman lives in Bruce Wayne's basement?" ... Batman retorts: "No.Bruce lives in Batman's attic" ... the theater exploded in laughter.

Batman: "All great movies end on a white screen" ... it doesn't - there are actual laugh out loud laughs in the credits!

Cannot recommend the film enough: I will be buying it when it comes out on DVD, and giving copies to all my friends.
16 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Quite Possibly the Funniest and Greatest Batman Movie I've Ever Seen!!
Pumpkin_Man10 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Wow, this movie surprised me. It was a lot better than the original Lego Movie and passed my expectations. It was hilarious in showing how arrogant and stuck-up Batman is and great throwbacks to the previous Batman films and the TV series from the 1960's with Adam West. The last four Batman movies are good, but they're very dark and dreary. This one is just flat-out fun. It spoofs the Batman mythology, but respects it at the same time. So far, this has been my favorite movie of 2017.

Batman is the dark vigilante of Gotham City. After defeating the Joker yet again Batman hurts his feelings and tells him he means nothing to him. The Joker soon comes up with a new plan to bring Batman and Gotham to its knees. Batman will need the help of Robin, Alfred, Barbara Gordon and many others to defeat Joker's army of villains. The movie is much better than how I'm describing. It's hard to do so without spoiling all the great surprises and hilarious nods to other great films. If you love Batman, Superman, and the DC universe, you'll love THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE!!!
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pretty Awesome movie
sara252017 February 2017
I'm a Batman fan and this movie is enjoyable even I'd you're not a fan of Batman. This movie is like a bunch of fifth graders explaining the history of Batman and creating their own plot that is much better and easier to follow than the atrocious catastrophe of Batman vs. Superman. This is like watching the roast of Batman and Batman doing an hilarious honest trailer or cinemasins' everything wrong with Batman of himself. One of my favorite moments was Alfred reminding Bruce of his continuous flashbacks/similar episodes of his parents' death that occurred in 2016, 2008, 2005,1997,1995,1992,1989, and in the 1960s There are a lot of insider jokes in this movie about the Batman universe. I hate to admit this since I love Jared Leto,but Lego Joker kicked Suicide Squad Jokers butt. This movie was awesome. You can tell the creators of this movie had fun making it and decided to go completely opposite of the dark and gloomy DC universe Zack Synder is creating. The movie has heart and a good message. It's like a Batman comedy that doesn't take itself too seriously like the dark knight trilogy or batman vs. Superman. It's fun and lighthearted. And most importantly,it has rewatchability. You're going to have to watch it again to catch all the jokes and zingers you missed the first time around. Great for the entire family.
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
chrisdye-1721217 February 2017
I went to the theater with very mild expectations of the movie but I was thrilled with the outcome of the movie i laughed out loud at the movie several times threwout the movie it was sweet charming and absolutely hilarious just what I wanted to see but didn't expect to see I will say that Batman was a little cocky at first but then it all turns around he seems to see the error in his life and he opens his eyes and realized that friends and family comes first and that you don't have to be related to be able to be considered family and the lessons of team work sticking together threw thick and thin if you are looking for a good family comedy choose this it's a blast and a absolutely hilarious movie to see with the family or by yourself it doesn't matter just go see it
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The best batman movie in years
contact-4458 February 2017
This says a lot about the sorry state of the live action DC Cinematic Universe, that this Lego Batman movie is actually the best Batman movie in years.

The Lego Batman movie aces the lego part, using the constraints of the lego bricks to very creatively frame the movie's universe and the story, like its predecessor, the Lego movie.

On top of that, this batman movie is actually about Batman, its story has surprising depth, and while it unrolls at a super-frenetic pace, we never lose track of what is going on, and why characters do what they do. The villains are compelling and the story is better than any recent live-action superhero movie I can think of.

The writers also show both real love and real respect for the history of Batman, found a way to make the main villain (the Joker) really interesting, especially in his relationship with Batman, and is the first Batman movie to actually address the question of whether Batman is really a blessing for Gotham city or not, and what to do about it. Again it says quite a lot about the DC cinematic universe that a LEGO movie of all things would nail this.

Finally, the movie is also both funny and clever. The movie unrolls as a spastic pace from the very beginning, and never lets up, same with the jokes, so I probably missed some, but the lampshading and send- up of Batman within the lego universe was really well done, while treating the subject very seriously and respectfully

I saw the movie with my family in IMAX Laser, and it's one of the very few movies I've seen that really uses the format. Again I don't know if that says more about this movie or the live action ones.

Everyone had a great time and liked the movie on different levels. Warmly recommended
22 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
They said Butt-mobile.
makuribu20 May 2017
That is what my 12 year old said, with an eye roll that Anderson Cooper would have envied. Then we gave up on this movie somewhere around the half way mark. We had not laughed once. The Lego Movie had some original ideas, and made a pile of money. This sequel seems to have been made by a bunch of MBAs who were old enough to see the original Batman TV series. They sat around in piles of money getting drunk or baked and making jokes that only they might understand. Which means their grandchildren, the people who are expected to pay money to see this movie, will have no idea why they are supposed to laugh. It has made a boatload of money, so another one is certain to be on the way. But seriously, folks, if you're going to make ironic fun of the genre, you should make at least one funny joke in the first hour of the movie.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
10/10
brainfast16 February 2017
This movie easily beats all competitors currently in theater. It has all ingredients for a true blockbuster- excellent picture, smart dialogue,real humor and some important message for kids a adults alike. You would thank that in "seen it all" era of current animation and being a second movie in LEGO franchise it will be predictable and dull, however it surpassed my expectations and even bit the first movie. I and my son both had a good time and laughed a lot. Go and see it asap.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Best Batman Film Ever!
masonrobledo19 February 2017
After seeing the LEGO Movie and how overrated It Is, granted It was both original and creative but It was very overwhelming by the fans and how peed of they were when the film didn't get nominated for best animated feature.

When the first teaser for the LEGO Batman Movie came out, I was thinking this could be better then the conversational Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice and maybe even better then the LEGO Movie It's self.

So I saw It yesterday AND..... I was right, not only It was better then the LEGO Movie and Batman V Superman but I think It did so much more then what those movies did, this movie have the most original, creative, funniest material that you can do with for a Batman movie, sure the Dark Knight Is considered the best Batman film of all time, this movie might close second and for good reason, It makes fun of the character of Batman and It makes It smart and funny at times, the characters are all funny and they have a part In the film, well, most of them, the soundtrack Is mostly Batman rapping, licensed songs and even made up songs, all of them really fit In this movie and none of them don't feel out of place.

This Is best Batman film so far, this Is a film for EVERYONE to watch, Batman fans, kids, older people, families, everyone, I don't really need to say why but go check It out guys.

This film gets a solid 10/10!
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Lego Batman Movie
jboothmillard11 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The Lego Movie was a massive success for brick lovers all over the world, and notable for the scene-stealing moments of the supporting superhero character, so it was almost inevitable he would get his own movie, being a both fan of the world's best-selling toy and the character I was most excited. Basically Batman (Will Arnett) saves Gotham City from another take-over attempt by the Joker (Zach Galifianakis) and a host of other famous and not so well known villains, but the hero hurts his arch-rival's feelings, he does not see him as his greatest enemy, he says it is Superman (Channing Tatum). The next day, as his alter ego Bruce Wayne, Batman attends the retirement celebration for Commissioner Jim Gordon (Hector Elizondo), his daughter Barbara Gordon (Rosario Dawson) is taking over the Gotham City Police Department, she announces her plans to restructure Gotham Police without the need for Batman, which infuriates him. Joker and all the Gotham City villains crash the party, but not to cause havoc, they surrender, making Batman realise that without crime to fight and villains to catch he is irrelevant. At the same time, Batman discovers he unintentionally adopted orphan Richard "Dick" Grayson (Michael Cera), his butler Alfred Pennyworth (Ralph Fiennes) convinces him to take Dick under his wing, after intentionally revealing the Batcave to the youngster. Batman takes Dick, as Robin, with him to find out what the Joker is really up to, he deduces he is plotting in Arkham Asylum, he sees banishing the Joker to the Phantom Zone is the only solution, so Batman and Robin travel to Superman's Fortress of Solitude to steal the Phantom Zone Projector. After taking the device, Batman and Robin rush to the asylum to zap the Joker into the dimensional prison, but Barbara locks them up for Batman's irrational behaviour. In the Phantom Zone, Joker meets a host of the greatest villains who have been banished, including the Lord Voldemort (Eddie Izzard), King Kong (Seth Green), Sauron (Jemaine Clement), Daleks and Gremlins, they are all released when Harley Quinn (Jenny Slate) steals the Phantom Zone Projector. With Gotham City in complete chaos, Batman reluctantly agrees to team up with Barbara, as Batgirl, along with Dick and also disguised Alfred, to stop the Joker and the villains from blowing up the city, with bombs stolen from the Batcave. Arriving at Wayne Island, Batman ditches Robin, Barbara and Alfred to face the Joker alone, but he is zapped into the Phantom Zone himself, there the gatekeeper Phyllis (Ellie Kemper) makes him realises his selfishness and arrogance is villainous behaviour, he makes a deal to bring all the villains back into the Phantom Zone, in exchange for returning to Gotham. Upon returning, Batman and his allies, along with the other Gotham villains who felt neglected by the Joker, battle the other villains and send them back to the Phantom Zone. But the bombs are detonated, causing Gotham City to be split in half by an earthquake, Batman reluctantly tells the Joker he is the most important person in his life, together they, his allies, his rogues gallery and the citizens chain link themselves to pull the city back together. With Gotham City saved, Batman prepares to return to the Phantom Zone as agreed with Phyllis, but he is rejected, Phyllis has seen the good in him, Batman allows the Joker and the others to escape, but Batman is confident they will be no match for the combined team of himself, Robin, Barbara and Alfred. Also starring Siri as 'Puter, Billy Dee Williams as Two-Face, Mariah Carey as Mayor McCaskill, Jonah Hill as Green Lantern, Conan O'Brien as The Riddler, Zoë Kravitz as Catwoman, Adam Devine as The Flash, Jason Mantzoukas as Scarecrow, Doug Benson as Bane, Kate Micucci as Clayface and Riki Lindhome as Poison Ivy. Arnett is a fantastic choice with his gravelly voice to play the egotistical crowd-pleaser, Cera is good as his excitable sidekick, Galifianakis is a perfectly energetic Joker, and the supporting cast including Fiennes and Dawson are great as well. The special effects animation to create the realistic Lego pieces and fast-paced action sequences are brilliant; the references to everything in the Batman world, from the Adam West camp Caped Crusader days to the Dark Knight and Batman v Superman era are fantastic; and the witty script, full of mocking and deliberately obvious puns work really well, there is something for both the kids and the grown-ups in this new spin-off and send up on the comic book based franchise, a most entertaining computer-animated superhero action comedy. Lego was number 1 on The 100 Greatest Toys, and Batman was number 84 on The 100 Greatest Pop Culture Icons. Very good!
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The LEGO Batman Movie (2017)
rockman18219 May 2017
Disclosure. I didn't love The LEGO Movie, everyone else in the world may have though. That being said, I didn't really care to see this film. I like Batman and all the films associated with the Caped Crusader but this LEGO take on him didn't really interest me. I watch everything though so I did check this out with low expectations. While its not as bad as I thought it was, I'm not really sold on the LEGO franchise films and don't really anticipate to enjoy whatever future installments that may be planned for this series.

The film is a comedic take on Batman. He fights crime but is actually very lonely. He has no one to really share his life with despite being popular and having a cool mansion and cool gadgets. He adopts Robin (who is actually quite greatly voiced by Michael Cera), falls for Barbara Gordon, and has to face his arch-nemesis, The Joker. You get a bevy of other Batman characters and villains, and oddly enough you also get villains from other franchises like Voldemort and Sauron. If you are a fan of LEGO and the first film, you may feel like you're in heaven watching this.

The film is similarly animated to The LEGO Movie and carries on being gag heavy. While I appreciated some of the jokes, there is just too many and they come at you too fast. You have to keep up with everything. I appreciated some of the witty references though. It's a light hearted take on a franchise that is notoriously dark (apart from whatever Schumacher was going for with his films). I did think the relationship and interactions between the Joker and Batman were pretty great.

The film runs out of steam about halfway through and its hard to keep reacting to what is going on in the film. Its not a bad film really but I just can't see myself coming back to this film again or being optimistic about any other LEGO based movies (I just know there are many more to come; the LEGO cinematic universe is upon us). I think the film offers a really good voice cast who all shine through in their voice performances. Its just that this wasn't a memorable experience for me.

6.5/10
20 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Falls off after the first 20 or so minutes.
TheOneThatYouWanted18 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Darn. Just darn. This film started out sooooo great! I was literally thinking while watching, "Whoa, this is going to be better than the first Lego Movie." Sadly that is not the case. The film slowly loses its momentum after the first act. The second act drags on. The third act plays out like a scene for a Micheal Bay Transformers movie; in other word the third act is just random CGI-chunks of garbage flying around the screen for 30 minutes.

And a minor thing that bugged me was Batman and the Joker's relationship. Ever since the original The Dark Knight Returns comic, people have been overthinking the Batman/Joker set-pieces resulting in a flawed dynamic between the two. Why do you think we haven't had a relatively smart or entertaining original Batman/Joker study since 1995 on paper? Because of the lame stagnation of thought coming for people trying to milk the DKR story to death. And here is an lame and pathetic example of which. That is just my two cents and a bonus tangent. Before anyone points out Nolan's Joker to me, I'll remind you that Nolan's Joker was ripped off the pages of some of the earliest incarnations of the Joker from the comics. But whatever, this film ultimately is a huge letdown and time will come to prove me right, once the hype dies down.

I swear. If Batman Forever and Batman and Robin would have been released this year, the majority of people would 'love' them because marketing and hype told them to do so. I'm seriously worried about the future.
26 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nonstop antics, action, and thrills!
RLTerry110 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Warner Bros. and Ratpac Dune present a movie that is equally one-hundred percent Batman whilst still completely LEGO. From the moment the opening title sequence of logos appears under the voice-over of a self-aware Batman, this brilliant animated film will take captive your attention and draw you in with a batarang of perfectly choreographed fight scenes and incredibly well timed self- reflexive humor. The LEGO Batman Movie is a brilliant combination of a contemporary story on the backdrop of Batman nostalgia. Whether you are a fan of the show from the 1960s, the Burton universe (as I am), the dark world of Nolan, or Snyder's, you will find strategically placed references that fit exceptionally well into this LEGO universe. While the film is aimed at a younger audience, there are humor, easter eggs, and allusions to the various Batman shows and movies for adults to appreciate. Underscoring the over-the-top high concept plot, is a heartwarming story of love, family, and friends. This Batman movie pulls out all the stops as most, if not all, Batman's villains receive screen time as well as other members of the Justice League with Batgirl and Robin. Oh yeah, the Joker IS actually in this Batman movie! With a 90% on Rotten Tomatoes and an 8.1 on IMDb, this film is sure to be a huge success this weekend.

When after a failed attempt at a takeover of Gotham by the Joker (Zach Galifianakis) and his henchmen, Batman (Will Arnett) is all too happy to accept all the credit for stopping the squad of villains. However, this time is different. The Joker and his henchmen give themselves up to the new Commissioner Gordon (Rosario Dawson). When the law enforcement and people of Gotham conclude that there is no longer a need for a masked vigilante, Batman finds himself having an identity crisis. Meanwhile, at a party, Bruce Wayne accidentally adopts young Richard Greyson (Michael Cera), and now is faced with the challenge of balancing his newfound role as a parent with Batman's penchant for crime fighting. With pressures from Alfred (Ralph Fiennes) and Barbara Gordon mourning in Batman's personal and professional lives, he must work through these challenges in order to save the city. Only this time, he may not be able to do it on his own.

What's not to like??? The LEGO Batman Movie is one of those animated films that is perfect for (1) the whole family and groups of friends, as well as (2) legacy and new Batman fans. Just the animation and production design are positively mind blowing. With few exceptions, every design in the film from people to buildings and vehicles can be created with those iconic plastic building blocks. Much like with the previous LEGO movie, other LEGO universes get screen time as well (some of which are mentioned by name and others are implied), such as Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Jurassic Park, King Kong and more. With all the characters in the film, the focus is never shifted from Batman and Joker. There are many rabbit trails the film could have gone down, but it always stays true to the central characters. Overstimulation is another risk in a film like this one; but, for all the action sequences and ensemble casts, never once does the film feel that it is way too much to take in and enjoy. On top of the brilliant animation and design, is solid writing with excellent character development. Crafting the vision is director Chris McKay. Selecting the right director to handle all the elements of a LEGO movie is no short order. And Warner Bros and Ratpac Dune made a killer choice in McKay who brought us Robot Chicken: Star Wars: Episode III.

One of my personal favorite elements from the movie is the nostalgia meticulously and strategically woven into the plot. If you grew up watching the show from the 1960s or even reruns with your parents, you will be surprised with the echoes of the past and how they fit in perfectly with this Batman world written by Seth Grahame-Smith et al. Even the pow, bam, zap sound effect bubbles make a cameo appearance. The LEGO Batman Movie offers the best of all the Batman stories over the years. As I am not familiar with the Batman comics, I imagine that there are comic book references in the film for the enjoyment of that audience as well. Not as self-aware as Deadpool, this film does contain a hint of self-awareness, but never takes the place of the foreground action; however, it supports the main story nicely. Even the costumes are representative of many Batman universes. For the most part, Batman's costume is rooted in the one worn by Michael Keaton in Batman and Batman Returns, but Batgirl and Robin's costumes, respectively, are more reminiscent of the show from the 1960s. Joker is an excellent combination of the, in my opinion, definitive Joker: Jack Nicholson but hints of the more recent Jared Leto and Heath Ledger Jokers are in his costume, makeup, and behavior. We even get a more accurate representation of Harley Quinn in this film. There is quite literally something for everyone in LEGO Batman.

Looking for a great film to watch this weekend that doesn't involve some sappy victimized Stockholm Syndrome-esque warped love story? Then head to your local theatre to catch The LEGO Batman Movie on the big screen! What better way to spend the weekend leading up to Valentine's Day than laughing with your date??? Even if you're spending Valentine's Batman style-- flying solo--you will still have a great time at this movie.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed