Jay Leno's Garage (TV Series 2015– ) Poster

(2015– )

User Reviews

Review this title
7 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A Loving Look At The History & Culture Of Cars
atlasmb29 October 2015
Hosted by Jay Leno, of course, this show features Jay's humor and his well-known love of vehicles. Each episode has a theme.

Anyone who loves cars will appreciate this show, which includes healthy doses of history and nostalgia. In one episode alone, which featured the California car culture, Jay rode with a San Francisco motorcycle club, drove an old route over the mountains in a 1915 vintage car, and piloted a 4-wheel drive beach vehicle that can ride on wheels or tank treads.

He also delved into hot rod culture (remember "Big Daddy" Roth's "Rat Fink"?), low-rider culture, and the history of the Japanese "tuner" phenomenon.

There was a visit to Petersen's museum, with its amazing collection of vintage and one-of-a-kind autos.

Jay's enthusiasm for cars is contagious and his knowledge of car history makes him the perfect host for this series that covers a lot of ground.

Add the beauty of the featured cars, and you have a show that entertains, educates, and provides examples of every aspect of the automotive arts. This show is immersive and should satisfy anyone who appreciates motorized travel.

Update 12/7/15: Now that I have watched about 8 episodes, I am increasing my grade to "10". I love this show. Jay's passion is part of it, but mainly it is due to the subject matter. Every part of every show has been interesting and informative.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Top gear with Leno humor
abestmonky7 April 2018
I like Jay Leno's garage. It's cool to see the different vehicles, he's informative but not too dry, and the celeb guest appearances are fun.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable
moivieFan16 November 2019
I learn a little about cars from every episode. Jay Leno is very knowledgeable abut cars. I also laugh a little during every episode. Its not as funny as the British version of top gear though. I enjoy the celebrity guest stars who appear on the show. For me is a show well worth the hour it takes to watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun show!
ericpaxton0131 August 2018
I love it, every episode is a learning experience!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
They took a good youtube channel and turned it into "reality TV"
wspellmann-111 October 2015
Ugh... I didn't have high hopes for this and unfortunately I was right. Cheesy music a la "Top Chef," terrible editing (cuts every 3 seconds it seems), and even worse dialogue. If you're coming from Jay's youtube channel looking for the same thing, don't even waste your time. This is typical TV slop, engineered for the masses.

Jay... I'm really disappointed in you.

I'm just filling in more lines because there's a minimum here on IMDb. I'd rather not waste anymore time on this show, but I feel as if I have a duty to other people out there. Don't watch this. It's terrible. Hopefully this is enough text to submit the review now. Take care!
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The perfect time-passer.
MartinHafer10 August 2018
"Jay Leno's Garage" is the perfect show to watch when you just want a pleasant time-passer. In other words, you aren't always in the mood for a movie or commitment to a TV series and so this show about cars is great viewing in such a situation. The format is pretty simple and surprisingly enjoyable. Jay Leno introduces the viewer to a variety of people who love classic and unusual cars and, using his gentle humor and nice personality, explains about the cars and has occasional adventures. It's a reality TV show that can be enjoyed by folks like me who normally DON'T like reality TV. Well worth seeing.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Leno is great
ersbel3 August 2018
I don't care much about cars. And the engines or the chrome finish seem boring at best. Yet Leno is active and knowledgeable and makes the whole show a pleasure to look at.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed