Lethal Weapon (TV Series 2016–2019) Poster

(2016–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
561 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Crawford's exit would be Lethal
darinkellett11 May 2018
The news of Fox's firing of Clayne Crawford, if true, would end one of the most entertaining shows on television. The on screen chemistry between Crawford and Wayans is incredible. The two actors are irreplaceable in their roles. Crawford excels at capturing Riggs, improving on Mel Gibson's portrayal of the mega flawed character.

The acting, writing and rapport between the entire cast have made the TV version of Lethal Weapon better than the movie franchise. With the bar set so high, Fox would ensure the end to its best program with any meddling. Simply put, without Crawford, there is no Lethal Weapon.

Unless the actor committed a felony, he must be brought back for a third season, and hopefully many more seasons to come, to ensure the survival of this spectacular show.
352 out of 394 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show..... Unfortunate they have fired the actor that makes it great.
benqbasic14 May 2018
Fun show to watch. The casting choices for the two main characters work really well together. It is unfortunate that they have fired Clayne Crawford the actor who plays Riggs. I don't think i will continue with this show. It may still be good but they have removed the character that made the show for me. Sad.
303 out of 339 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Clay Crawford is the reason to watch this show
GroovyChicken10 March 2018
He's definitely not trying to impersonate Mel Gibson. Clay is definitely doing his own take on Riggs and it works 100% :)

Give this show a chance!!! <3
229 out of 255 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
If Clayne goes, so do I!
epenn42810 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Season 1 was amazing! I watched every episode & then bought the bluray & watched it until season 2 began. Season 2 started & seemed to be on a downhill slide to the end.

This became "must watch" for me on Wednesday and then Tuesday nights for season 2. Clayne as Riggs was the main reason why. The action, comedy, storylines all were great.

Every time it seemed like there was a glimmer of hope/happiness for Clayne's character, the show seemed to stomp it out.

Then just as it is being promoted that the upcoming episode was directed by Clayne, conveniently the news is "leaked" that he had been "reprimanded" twice for his behavior on set.

Instead of being like most celebrities, Clayne faced it head on. He acknowledged that there were 2 incidents, but he gave his side of the story NAD apologized. From what I heard/read, it sounded like for the most part that he was trying to make sure that it was a safe set.

The rumors continued to swirl until once again just before the season finale, rumors came out that "sources" were reporting that Clayne had been fired and that producers on the show were trying to recast in hopes that the show would be picked up for a 3rd season.

If the rumors are true, the storyline to write off Riggs was already there. He was going back to Texas with Molly! Instead the producers, director, writer, whoever decided that wasn't good enough and had him killed(at least that's how it looks) in the final scene!

Reports are that while several actors have been approached about taking over the role in a recast, all of them have turned it down. I think that goes to show: 1. What a great job Clayne did as Riggs 2. How leery they are of what may/may not get them fired 3. Why FOX is such a terrible network and has to pick all new shows every year instead of having anything renewed, unless it's animation

So in conclusion, if you've never seen this before, definitely watch the 1st season. The 2nd season had some good parts, but also some disappointments. As the title of my review states, if this gets picked up for a 3rd season and Clayne doesn't return as Riggs, then I won't be watching and I doubt I'll be the only one!
222 out of 249 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Do not fire the reason I look forward every week
HeatherRobinson_259 May 2018
This show will not work with out Wayans and Crawford 's on screen chemistry. I will sorely be disappointed if they don't both return for a Season 3. This show has been an amazing fresh story line from an over saturated good guy vs bad guy line up. I won't be interested in watching if Crawford doesn't return, he makes the whole show.
193 out of 218 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If Clayne Goes we all Go..... Love the show. Each and Every part of it.
Akshay_Patel19859 May 2018
Love the show and don't miss a single episode. Have taken an Amazon Prime subscription just to watch this show the day it releases. Riggs and Murtah are each 50% of the reason i love this show... And if rumours are true... I am soon gonna loose 50% of the reason to watch the show... And 50% is toooooooo less a reason to continue watching it. I know Riggs may have goofed up a lil too much for the producers/etc to have taken such a stern action.... But, from what i read....Clayne C. has apologized. I say, give him one more chance "officially" and if he continues make it public and remove him fron season 3....(Fans will understand) ....but until then.... He is an integral part of the show and anyone else will take time to (if only he may) do justice to the role.... A bet i dont wanna wait and see materialize.... So, if season 3 has no Clayne.. .. There is no reason to continue watch the show.....

Cheers to all the characters of Lethal weapon.... You all are wonderful and each one if you are amazing at what u do.... Continue to do the same...
213 out of 245 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The end of a great show
israeldjane14 May 2018
When i first heard of this show i was not excited. Ugh another remake. However, after watching the show i fell in love with the fabulous cast and especially the amazing Clayne Crawford. Unfortunately i will no longer be watching this show because of the firing of Clayne. One day i believe we will look back and realize the real reason he was let go was because diva Damon Wayne's couldn't handle being in Claynes shadow.
239 out of 277 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No Riggs, no show
einsley14 May 2018
When this show came out, I was excited. It became a fun, action packed adventure. I loved it. Clayne Crawford made the show, and it cannot continue without him. He was very passionate with it, and yes he made a few mistakes. But, HE PUBLICLY APOLOGIZED, and they still fired him!!! It is a complete insult that they replaced him with Seann William Scott. I would be just as upset if Damon Wayans was the one who was fired. There cannot be a Lethal Weapon show without Murtaugh AND Riggs. I will not continue on without both of them. There shouldn't be a season 3 at all.
196 out of 227 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Do. Not. Fire. Crawford!!!!!!!!!
jerelc17 May 2018
It will be the end of this show. Clayne Crawford is a better, deeper Riggs than Mel Gibson ever was, and I LOVE those movies! But this Riggs is deeper and more nuanced. Maybe because there are more hours available to develop him. Firing Crawford will be the end of this show. They are apparently not replacing Crawford with someone else to play Riggs, so at least there is that. But it will be a different show. And not nearly as good. I'm sorry but Damon Wayans and his family is not enough to carry the show forward.
115 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad decision.
riomartinelli13 May 2018
This show will never be the same without Clayton. The chemistry between the two lead actors will not be matched. Looks like I'm looking for a new show to watch next season.
194 out of 227 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I won't watch this show without Clayne Crawford!
dmbjprose21 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I loved this show from the start but If Clayne Crawford is out...so am I. There's no show without him.
104 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
So it´s the end of a great show...
mafaralda17 May 2018
I have watched and loved this show for two seasons...but...now they have fired Clayne Crawford so I will not watch it anymore. The show is the two of them and nothing else, Damon Wyans must really be blind or stupid if he does not understand that...this Sean William Scott cannot compare to CC and I have absolutely no wish to watch this becoming "BLAND WEAPON" instead of Lethal Weapon...because that is what it will become...bland without Clayne. So I´m saying "goodbye and thanks for all the fish".....
131 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Reminds me of the best of the 1980s
dz125 March 2017
This series really surprised me. It has been a long time since I looked forward to watching a show as much as this one every week. It reminds me of many good 80s cop or detective shows. No one has been able to equal the buddy cop or detective show formula of the 80s until now. Very well done indeed.
48 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Well Crap....
poison_girl_210619 September 2018
I want to keep my review a 10 because I've loved the show so far but now that Clayne Crawford is gone I won't be watching. Riggs made this show and without him the other characters just aren't enough:(
76 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
wrong
oatsart5413 May 2018
He apologized and paid restitution for his behavior if he is not in the season 3 then you lost a viewer.He and Dayan make the show work to bring in a new Riggs is stupid and you lose tour fans of the show that I am sure of.He makes the show what it is and the character he plays is good acting so he is a little high strung and cares about the series do not condemn a man for trying to be all he can be. Even criminals pay their dept with jail time and want a new start in live so why can't you give him one
124 out of 147 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
They ruined a great show
kingfamily6229 August 2018
I used to love this show and would count the minutes until it would show on Hulu. After what they did to Clayne Crawford and half the crew, I will not watch another episode. Furthermore I will never watch something that Fox or Damon Wayons is attached to. The idea of doing Lethal Weapon without Riggs is the height of insanity. I will stop here before my anger at what they did leaks onto this review.
74 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring back Clayne
weareone111130 August 2018
Not watching Season 3; enjoy the plummet in ratings. We'd rather have Clayne with a replacement for Damon instead of no Clayne at all.
75 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
No Clayne, Not worth watching
JordiAnzik321 September 2018
This WAS my favorite show. The first one in some time that I anxiously awaited each week. If Clayne is not brought back, I will NOT watch it. The the powers-that-be need to pull their heads out of their collective keisters and realize a team such as Clawford/Wayons doesn't come along very often and do what is necessary to keep them together.
53 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Clayne was the 10 stars.......without him, I would rate it a 1 star.
hntemple-5443311 September 2018
Clayne Crawford MADE this show. Not only as the actor playing Riggs, but also because he was a driving mind behind a lot of the scenes. He's an artist dedicated to his profession and the art of filmmaking. Without him, scenes are going to be sub-par & half assed because Damon Wayans is lazy and entitled. Zero respect for the producers of Lethal Weapon and FOX network for the shady and crappy way they treated Clayne while pampering Damon.

Watch the first 2 seasons because they are fantastic. But don't waste your time after that.
53 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Without Clayne Crawford, I will not watch this show
neil_vrod24 May 2018
This has been my favorite show for the last two seasons. I just read that Clayne Crawford has been let go and will not be returning for season 3. If that is the case, I will not be watching season 3. He is the best character and actor on this show and I cannot see it being successful without him
64 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Clayne Crawford is Lethal Weapon
anneroso22 May 2018
When I first heard they were making a TV show based on the Lethal Weapon movies I was extremely skeptical, especially with the casting of Damon Wayons. Clayne Crawford killed it. He was amazing as Martín Riggs. He IS the show. I had never heard of him before LW, but am now a huge fan. I based my review on the first two seasons featuring him. I can't see the show going on without him and I won't be watching anymore. Huge mistake letting the star of the show go. Show had amazing potential. You can't have Lethal Weapon without Martín Riggs. Someone didn't do their research.
41 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Mad. Just Mad.
dbweinert30 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
See, here is the thing. I am mad at the show and the show runners. Not mad in such a way that I am engaged and becoming a fan. No. I was a fan then they decided to make some really callous choices.

Riggs was the emotional core of the show. Murtagh only served as a 2 dimensional caricature sitcom dad in an action role. It was Riggs that gave this show depth and interest. I was becoming more and more a devotee of the show. Then they wrote him out.

I'm ok with losing Riggs. I love how the show deviated from the movies. I understand there were personality issues behind the scenes. I disagree with letting Riggs go over Murtagh, but even that I could get behind.

But to kill Riggs just before he rides off into the sunset? I call bull. Let him leave. Go back to Texas. If I was invested in any kind of realism I'd be watching The Wire or Homeland. These guys are action heroes who never miss and who would never be kept on any police payroll. My suspension of disbelief was complete. WHY WOULD YOU KILL A CHARACTER WHO HAD THE ONLY SIGNIFICANT CHARACTER ARC AND DEVELOPMENT????

Now I'm out. Don't care about the rest of the show. The death of Riggs was a vindictive choice, not a proper creative one.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this show, sad I won't be able to watch it anymore with Crawford fired
chelseabrunner31 August 2018
You can't fire the star of the show and try continue the series. It's such a shame because he played the character so amazingly and I looked forward to the show every week. There is no way Lethal Weapon will work without Crawford.
50 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lose Clayne Crawford - Lose a Viewer!
Prairie_Wolf20 May 2018
I just watched the season finale and was shocked, as it appeared they were killing Clayne/Riggs off. So, I came here, to IMDB, to find out what was going on and learned they did, indeed, kill off Clayne's character. He is the main reason I watch this show. Get rid of him, get rid of one more viewer! The chemistry between Murtaugh and Riggs has come across as so natural and incredibly "right." That chemistry is what, for me, drives the show; without that, the show will just wither away and I'd be surprised if season 3 makes it through all the episodes, before they yank it from airing. Clayne's portrayal of Riggs is the quintessential piece of the puzzle that is the background for the two main characters. Clayne is perfect for the role. And, from the viewer's point of view, the two characters interact wonderfully together! It has been a joy, fun, intense, unpredictable, and addictive pleasure, watching the two work together through each episode. Unless I read that they will be bringing Clayne back to the role of Riggs, I will find enjoyable watching elsewhere. What a shame!
28 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Without Crawford, I am out
jfchester2 August 2018
Just cancel the show if you take out Clayne Crawford. The magic between him and Damon Wayans can't be replaced, and certainly not with Stifler. Don't get me wrong, I like Seann William Scott, but you can't change one for another. Crawford did a great job to build on Mel Gibson character, bringing him in the 2000s.
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed