68 Kill (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
41 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Fast violent and gore, fun to watch
deloudelouvain25 October 2017
Surprisingly I had fun watching this movie. It's a movie you don't have to take too serious, with a lot of violence, even gory moments, a bit of sex, but all with a humorous tint. Maybe it will not make everybody laugh but for me it worked. It's all very fast so you never have a dull moment and so you never get bored. The characters are all well chosen, from hot crazy women to complete deranged maniacs. The cast might not be well-known actors but they all delivered. It's not going to be a cult movie like some others in the same genre but it's a pretty decent one. I had fun watching 68 Kill and that's what it's all about when I watch a movie in this genre. Maybe it's not everybody's cup of soup but I'm sure there will be a lot of people like me that like this kind of fast gory action movies.
24 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Bat-Poop Crazy Film of 2017
gavin694224 March 2017
Chip Taylor's girlfriend Liza had the perfect plan to rip off her rich sugar daddy. It should have been an easy in and out kind of deal. Nobody would get hurt and they would come out of it with enough loot to solve their problems. But things started going wrong as soon as they were inside the rich man's house, and for Chip it was only the beginning of the longest, most terrifying ride of his life.

Let's start by discussing the cast. Matthew Gray Gubler is perfectly cast as "sad sack" Chip. Gubler's facial expressions alone should really make him a bigger name than he is. His range of emotion in just his eyes is very intense. AnnaLynne McCord is his partner-rival as the stereotypical crazy-beautiful Liza… something she is quite good at playing, as seen in "Excision", which coincidentally also starred Gubler. The duo also both starred in last year's festival hit "Trash Fire". Are they the new Hepburn and Tracy?

Alisha Boe, who is distinguishing herself on television, is the breakout star here. Although she was unknown to me before "68 Kill", her strong screen presence suggests that offers are going to start pouring in. She has the look, she has the personality. Heck, she could make one great Marvel superhero, for example.

The film as a whole is great in its bat-poop craziness, and the perfect vehicle for director Trent Haaga. I have been watching Haaga grow as a filmmaker for decades, from being a Troma darling to "Cheap Thrills". With "68 Kill", he has really hit the mainstream, with some bigger name actors and production value that could easily be mistaken for a Hollywood film. He does touch base a bit with the punk rock look of the gas station attendant, and the climax does seem to be something that would fit in alongside "Terror Firmer". Fans of Troma will enjoy this film, as it just keeps pushing the envelope in ways that we never see anymore.

The black humor is endless. We have the "happily ever after" scenario that is quite funny given the amount of money involved. We have lines like "what Dwayne does is his own business" when what Dwayne is doing is certainly more than just his business. This is the blackest of humor with tongue more than firmly placed in cheek.

As with many films, this is not for everyone. Those who are easily offended will be offended. The violence is over the top, the sex is gratuitous… and frequent. But if what offends some is what excites you, this is going to be a must-see. The movie plays March 24 at the Boston Underground Film Festival (BUFF).
35 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A very enjoyable film.
staypuff-589-88393710 July 2018
A film that doesnt take itself seriously at all, and that works very well for a movie you dont need to invest alot in. Funny, disturbing and bloody with a ridiculous plot. I think if you want a fun time and you like grindhouse type movies, this will be enjoyable. Of course its my opinion but it helps that the lead actress is fantastic at acting crazy in this film and others.
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ugh, this movie
dfranzen7012 February 2019
Yes, it's violent. Yes, it's bloody. But still, everything feels out of sync. The lead actor is devoid of charisma, which doesn't help matters, and some of the scenes - and dialog - are unintentionally hilarious. Plus, that lead character is as stupid as they come. I mean, the poor lad makes the same mistakes repeatedly. Sure, the cast looks good, but this is almost a parody of the trailer-trash neo-noir films of the past 20 years or so. Is it supposed to be a comedy? Nah, the timing is off for that. Boy, AnnaLynne McCord (from Excision) has grown up.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
All money has blood on it......
kboote6 August 2017
A wonderful film full of energy, verve, humour and great characters. Despite the constant mayhem and fun Mr Haaga also manages to include some strong feminist commentary – love all of the gender reversal stuff – and a sub text about what the dollar is really all about, in both the title and the theme that all money has blood on it.

This film mixes a heady concoction of the best bits of Tarantino, Rob Zombie( not a lot of "best bits" to choose from I'll admit ) John Walters and Stuart Gordon but produces an original film that represents another step forward for the genre craftsman Mr Haaga to add to his excellent work on "Deadgirl" and "Cheap Thrills".

Love the direction, cinematography, script and soundtrack and the film feels very much a cohesive and satisfying whole. The performances are very strong – with Matthew Gray Gubler becoming the indie comedy thriller leading man of choice - a post John Waters era James Stewart "everyman" who you automatically like and want to succeed. AnnaLyne McCord gives another remarkable performance, proving that women can be incredibly strong and sexy without being exploited or reverting to a femme fatale stereotype. It's great that Ms McCord has opted for much edgier material than her earlier CV would have automatically lead to ( maybe as the young foil to Cameron Diaz in some lousy rom-com or some such?) She has a feline, reptilian beauty that is perfectly matched to the role she plays here ( she was also stunning in "Excision".) Who knows what she is capable of if someone produces the roles for her? Sheila Vand ( after her performance in "A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night" ) is also becoming a very interesting screen presence and Alisha Boe is a heart meltingly sweet in her role who almost, but not quite, makes us forget Ms McCord when she is off screen. So brilliant casting Mr Haaga as well.

I enjoyed the entire movie from start to finish but I have to say that a couple of the set piece scenes deserve to become cult classics in their own right. The "Pop Music " scene ( particularly in the context of what just happened in the film ) is hilarious and deserves to join the pantheon of those in car music movie moments such as the "Wayne's World" Bohemian Rhapsody" episode and the "Trailer scene" is approaching the family meal time scene in the original "Texas Chainsaw Massacre " for creepy fun.

Deserves to gain a cult following and I can't wait to see more from the director/writer and cast.
25 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not Good
natekamerick22 March 2017
Seen at SXSW 2017. Story was initially intriguing and somewhat funny (the notion that stealing $68,000 would bring a lifetime of happiness for a struggling couple). There were some surprises along the way, but the acting was poor and the characters weren't especially likable. The story got cloudy and there was an attempt at a random romantic subplot somewhere in there. Overall not a recommendable movie, and I was not happy I saw it.
43 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Too long and too thin on every element
iantrader3 April 2018
It's a B movie and no mistake. A cheap schlock movie overwritten by the writer/director - argh! - although with a few redeaming features.

For a B movie, it's well acted and pretty well directed. There's a smattering of gore, a soupcon of sex, a few good lines but far too much talking which drags it out seemingly interminably. Watch with a finger on Fast Forward if you can.

If you like schlock, go for it but lovers of most other genres including horror, comedy crime and low budget - and it's far from a romance as billed - will do better looking elsewhere.
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"An above average movie, a good thrilling experience for a one time watch"
vishnu-dileep086 September 2017
It is a movie about a guy who falls in love with a girl and then finds out she is not all like he thinks she is.

Maybe the story-line is something we have always seen before but this movie took it to new levels. The starting of the movie was perfect even the middle part at the end I was kind of getting disappointed but it soon changed. It had all these good kind of thrilling scenes, unexpected scenarios etc. The ending was good and unpredictable. The actress who did Liza did a very good job. Altogether it was an action packed movie good for a one time watch.

Yes I would ask you guys to just check it out.

Notable Acting

Annalynne McCord

Matthew Gray Gubler famous for his acting the movies 500 days of summer and many more

My Rating 7/10
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Perfect Because It Is Unapologetically Just What It Purports To Be
lwmswm25 September 2019
This movie is an over-the-top exercise in black humor. Although it holds back on nudity where nudity is obviously called for by the context of what is happening it doesn't hold back on anything else. A fast paced poor man's Pulp Fiction "B movie" that's worth a look if you're into that sort of thing.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An excellent movie about sex , violence , money , crime and a little bit madness
MaxximizeRecords25 August 2018
Yeah , that's right . This is comedy and romance movie with sex , violence , money , crime and a little bit madness all mixed up . It's kind of funny and it made me laugh a couple times although the violence scene is really bloody.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Tries too much to be something that could never be
ZeroSpoilers27 September 2017
I understand that this is a low budget movie, but i can find some equally styled and budgeted flicks with a lot more quality and purpose.

Although i understand this is the point, the storyline is not plausible at all, it is overacted (and badly) and filled with unnecessary and pointless sexual and violent innuendo. And i say innuendo , because the scenes are so poorly executed that it is well visible it is not real.

For me this seemed a parody with no sense nor good taste.

Weak plot (better done in another hundred movies), unlikable and not credible characters, and a very predictable story line.

Apart all the sex and violence, it felt somehow like a movie for kids.
19 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A fast moving comedy horror thriller which makes both genders look good.
LLgoatJ11 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Anyone who thinks the new Ghostbusters film is good purely because it has all female leads should watch this. The story is about Chip and his strong minded girlfriend Liza. She has a sugar daddy who she plans to still $68000 from with Chip's help. Liza has a different idea of how to do the robbery and it ends in two deaths and a kidnapping. There is thin more double crossing, more deaths and a lot of blood.

The characters are genuinely different to most films but still believable. Liza's brother was my favourite character and probably the most psycho of them all. I also loved Liza for being a strong woman but ordinary too. She knows what she wants and happy to kill for it if necessary. Although it has strong females the males don't really come over as weak and pathetic which normally happens with a strong female. Chip has a lot of bad things happen to him by women but ends up as the winner at the end.

The film has some thriller elements. It is also funny in places. It also has blood gore with limbs being chopped off and Liza's brothers sexual perversion.

This is a genuinely different but good film. I have seen a lot of films and never really seen anything like it. Give it a go.
22 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Hilarious, Sadistic, and Unpredictable Joyride from Hell!!!
zardoz-132 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Sophomore director Trent Haaga has cast "Criminal Minds" co-star Matthew Gray Gubler as a character in "68 Kill" like no other he has portrayed. A bloodthirsty, comedy of errors-crime thriller about a harmless milquetoast and the brutal women in his life, this fast-moving, contemporary, 93-minute melodrama boasts three dominatrixes who treat him like their slave. The three desperate dames in Chip's life turn his days upside-down. They take him beyond his worst nightmares, and he is powerless to resist their bellicosity. Occasionally, he fights back. Most of his efforts unravel in utter futility. Gubler delivers a sympathetic performance in this role that allows him to change over the course of the action. He works for a sewage company, and he refuses to stand up for himself in the face of any confrontation. You will laugh until your sides are sore every time he ends up in a predicament with no apparent way out for him. Clearly, Gubler embraced the role because he was willing to behave cluelessly throughout with no qualms about how humiliating he would appear. "Chop" director Trent Haaga's second movie isn't anything major, but it features several exciting moments, interesting characters, and off-beat situations that you won't have trouble getting through an initial viewing. Happily, when the dust of his disasters settle, Chip emerges as a changed man.

Our nerdy hero, Chip (Matthew Gray Gubler), has a vicious, joyriding girlfriend, Liza (AnnaLynne McCord of "Transporter 2"), who wants a better life. The first stepping stone to that dream is a scumbag, Ken Mckenzie (David Maldonado of "The 5th Wave"), has $68-thousand in cash in a safe at his place. Chip's crazy girlfriend Liza takes him along on what she calls a quick 'in and out' that turns out to be far more complicated. After Liza kills Ken, Chip and she are shocked to find an innocent bystander in the house, Violet (Alisha Boe of "Paranormal Activity 4"), who can identify them. Quick-thinking Liza has her stuffed the trunk of their red 2004 Mustang and she intends to sell the girl to her perverted brother, Dwayne (a bespectacled Sam Eidson of "The Cain Complex"), as extremely creepy as Liza. Chip discovers Dwayne makes gory snuff films, and Liza admits she sold another girl earlier to Dwayne, who used her for body parts in his home-made video. Chip draws the line at this point, clobbers Liza over the head with a pistol, and vanishes with Violet still in the trunk. Actually, Liza is as angry as she is impressed with Chip's display of machismo. She catches up with him on the highway somewhere in Louisiana and orders him pull over after she brandishes a pistol. The crack on her head that Chip administered when he whipped her with a pistol earlier her topples her.

Now, Chip finds himself at the mercy of a second woman, Violet. He had opened the trunk to check on her, and she manages to relieve him of his pistol and turn it on him. After scaring the life out of poor Chip, Violet decides that she could spend the $68-thousand as easily as Liza. Moreover, Violet has fallen on hard times, some of which she can attribute to the unscrupulous Ken who sought to abuse her. When she refused his improper advances, Violet quit. Little did poor Violet realize that Ken was best buds with her landlord. She wound up in the street with nothing, and Ken was her only salvation. She went back to him as a sex slave. Mind you, with Ken out of the way and all that cash, Violet wants to go somewhere and live like a princess. Chip has to gas up the Mustang. He encounters a Goth-looking cashier at a gas station/convenience store, Monica (Sheila Vand of "Whiskey Tango Foxtrot"), and pays her from the $68-thousand. Monica gets noses and bargains with him to keep her mouth shut for two bills. Violet intervenes, saves Chip from Monica, and they head off to a motel. She claims that she wants sex with someone of her preference rather than vice-versa. Chip awakens the next morning, finds a body hacked up in the body tub. Not only is his Mustang gone, but also thieves have taken his clothes.

"68 Kill" chronicles the journey of hardship that Chip embarks on involuntarily to becoming a self-sufficient man who isn't prone to his hormonal desires. At the end, he spots a tattooed lady on the side of the highway with smoke pouring out from the hood of her car, a classic example of a damsel-in-distress. She tries to flag our protagonist down, but second thoughts prompt Chip to avoid her and cruise into the sunset. Humor pervades this perverse, profanity-laden exercise, and the surprises never seem like they will stop. The cast acquits itself admirably, but Gubler's pusillanimous hero overshadows them.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
my notes
sstrunks-0524524 July 2019
Good movie with a relatively unpredictable story. entertaining and dark fun (1 viewing)
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
"Cops are pigs and men are pigs, so I figured he'd be a double pig." CLAP CLAP, wait, no
xcompton-473307 October 2019
A lesbian feminist must have written it. It's a poor attempt at role reversal, so: The women act like caricatures of what women say men act like. So that's how the women act and the male lead acts like the caricature of a woman from the point of view of a lesbian thinking she thinks like a man. "Cops are pigs and men are pigs, so I figured he'd be a double pig." It's just bad.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It kills to watch
Otuoacheampong9711 August 2017
A good movie with its budget.IFC midnight together with Alliance media did a fantastic job.The screenplay was not all that great.But the movie was able to open arms to good acting and directing.The costume designing was also great.The video editing deserves credit as well.I think giving this movie 6/10 is fair.
13 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Surprisingly Awesome Movie That Knows When to Deliver the Thrills or the Laughs
BigZ_733710 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I went into this film not knowing much about it, and by the end I loved the non-stop ride 68 Kill delivered. It was really interesting how the movie reversed a lot of the thriller/horror tropes, where the main character, Matthew Gray Gubler as Chip, is abused and ordered around by all of the strong women in the film. The first woman, AnnaLynne McCord as Liza, is Chip's girlfriend and she has the bright idea to rob her boss/sugar-daddy. The heist seems to go off without a hitch, until Liza murders the husband and wife, much to the surprise of Chip. Here they also meet the second woman, Alisha Boe as Violet, as Liza shoves her into the trunk of their car to sell her to Liza's serial killer brother. Having finally crossed a line Chip couldn't accept, he escapes in the car and begins the journey that would lead to the third and final strong woman, Sheila Vand as Monica. All three of the women are crazy to varying degrees, and the story weaves all three of them in and out of the story with Chip as their target of love, anger, and violence.

To avoid any spoilers, I'll avoid talking too much more about the story, but I loved the pacing of it. Where it really only slows down for one section, and that slower part sets up the rest of the film which is balls to the wall crazy in the best way. The acting is all top notch, with the standout definitely being AnnaLynne McCord, her abusive crazy girlfriend character dominated every scene she was in, and I'd love to see her in more movies. Her eyes just looked so crazy, and I really believed her character. There were some things in the middle with the story that I didn't love, including an apparent roofie that's never shown or explained, and other characters impressive and unexplained following abilities. However, everything lead to such an awesome climax, that all of the other lesser parts of the film completely worth it. I also loved how 68 Kill made me laugh out loud uncontrollably multiple times throughout the film. It doesn't necessarily play for the laugh in an obvious way, and the comedy is definitely dark, but I found multiple scenes hilarious.

I would definitely recommend this film, as long as you don't mind some violence and gore with your dark comedy thriller. If you'd like to see the video version of my review, you can check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=ZpKyf33SttM
15 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
There's always one Chip left in the bag
stebird13 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
68 Kill is a little known independent film written and directed by the barely known Trent Haaga.

To start with, it was never going to take the world by storm, and it was never going to get very much fanfare..., throughout history most people won't even realise that this film exists, let alone watch it, but for those that do, well make of it what you will.

During its entire run (barely breaking an hour and half) I couldn't decide whether I liked 68 Kill or not, part of me did, rooted in the protagonist Chip is lot of empathy, you really feel for Chip and the horribly frightening and nerve-racking position he's in, a part of me screamed out "Thank God that's not me, thank God I'm not Chip!"

Chip's girlfriend Liza is, well just a tad psychotic, the kind of girlfriend you'd do everything to avoid in reality, which begs the question "How the Hell did these two end up together in the first place?"

You just know Liza is a loony the very first time you see her, and it only get's worse and worse as the film progresses; Liza is so frightening because girls like her DO exist in the real world, making her a highly relatable threat.

Further into the film, Violet joins the fray..., and after a while you realise that this girl is just as bad as Liza, boy can Chip actually get a break or what, poor guy! Violet is played by the very young and very novice Alisha Boe, her performance is the weakest of the three main characters, she doesn't connect properly to the character and that will be because of her inexperience.

Overall I decided not to hate the film, but you know it really isn't the best and that's understandable..., if you want to watch 68 Kill then please do just to try and expand its reach.
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Forget about the rat race
nogodnomasters19 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Chip (Matthew Gray Gubler) is a regular guy who lives in a trailer park with his crazy prostitute girlfriend Liza (AnnaLynne McCord). Liza is oversexed and clearly inspired by Sheri Moon Zombie. She decides that her and Chip will rob a client of 68 thousand dollar. A duel killing and a kidnapping later, Chip finds himself in a Tarantino style grindhouse hell going from crazy woman to the next.

I loved the character of Liza, Violet (Alisha Boe) and Monica (Sheila Vand). Even Dwayne (Sam Eidson) another improbable character, was interesting. For those who like Sheri Moon grindhouse type films, give it a view.

Guide: F-word, sex, nudity (Sheila Vand)
9 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Things to like - and not like - here
Wizard-825 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I like to often dip into the realm of obscure cinema, because sometimes you can find some real gems that should be better known. On the other hand, you can also find some real turkeys that deserve to be unknown. As it turns out, "68 Kill" is an obscure movie that does have some real strengths... but it also has some severe problems that hold it back significantly.

First, the good stuff. I will admit that the premise of the movie is one that is still irresistible after all these years, that being desperate people stealing money but finding a lot of complications afterwards. The execution of this particular telling does make you curious to stay with it just to see how the various conflicts will be resolved. And the direction does really manage to capture a scuzzy world, where things are dirty and people show the dark and cruel side of humanity that is hidden in practically everybody.

However, the movie's dark side is ultimately too dark. Every character who has some significant bearing on the plot is pretty repulsive. The lead male character is so stupid that at times he's really hard to take. And the other characters are murderers, thieves, sex addicts, and other undesirable types. The movie really feels bleak and lacking even a shred of humanity to give the audience hope. Also, the screenplay has several significant plot holes, like how some undesirable types were able to get into a motel room and do their dirty business.

So as you can see, this movie is really a mixed bag. It will probably divide most viewers - viewers will either really like it, or really hate it. The best thing to do if you are curious about it is to watch it for free while you are in an undemanding mood.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Graphic violence in lieu of substance
digitalagent3 October 2019
Horrible acting, directing, writing. Just an all around awful movie trying to imitate maybe Tarantino but with childish ideas. The movie (book?) written by someone trying to live out some sick Psychopathic wet dream. Truly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It was 1 hour and 32 mins. too long.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A bit far out.
McQualude1 November 2019
If Rob Zombie turned into a flaming post-feminist and made a low budget movie with Ryan Murphy, you'd get this film. Every female is amped to 11.5. The main male character is a dumb pansy that learns he is more than a good lay. Basically it's a post-#metoo grindhouse that is a bit too twisty turvy. That said I didn't hate it. Somehow it entertains thanks to an enthusiastic cast. Anna Lynn McCord kills it, she was the perfect casting choice. In fact, the casting was exceptional and every actor nails their character. I bet they had a lot of fun. It's ultra violent, ultra unbelievable, and rarely stops to take a breath.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Greed
kosmasp16 February 2018
You can't combine Greed and love ... not love for another individual that is. It's one or the other and the movie has a fun and action packed way to show that. I guess because there are strong female characters in this, some may consider this feminist. Hopefully that isn't an issue for you and you watch this as the fun little B-movie this was made to be.

Yes the main male character is a bit weak, but that doesn't mean you should consider him a loser. He's just a poor guy in love with a very strong and demanding woman. One that is a bit crazy too (to say the least). There's a lot of comedy and a lot of violence going around. It has its flaws, but it is entertaining throughout. Just enjoy the ride - no pun intended
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Loads of FUN
feev26 April 2019
Well done.... Numerous twists middle v this movie a lotta fun.... Check it out 👍👍
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Insanity..but I love it!
butterfly-210832 October 2018
I love Matt..one of my favorite movies with him is 'Suburban Gothic' ( kinda like this but.. more ghostly less busty. Lol) So I knew I was in for a ride. It's good in a crazy, insane.. whattt..kinda way. I hate the plot holes so many plot holes, but overall..I enjoyed it!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed