The Trap (2019) Poster

(III) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
43 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Cringy AF...
nthervil11 April 2019
I know what this was supposed to be a fun, light-hearted, just for laughs type of movie that you can watch with a group of friends and have a good time, like the classic Friday. But this aint it!!

It popped up on my suggestions on Netflix and I saw T.I. and Epps was on it, so I clicked. They've done some really good and funny stuff so I know a movie with them would be decent. I was wrong.

I enjoy a good-bad low budget movie, with sub par acting and plot, but this was all over place. The overacting was strong on this one. And you can tell a lot of the dialogue was off script, which was supposed to make it funnier, but it would end up just going and going to the point where it got awkward. Even the great Loretta seemed like an amateur. Dialogue and direction is that bad.

There are times it's obvious people were simply added to give the actor something funny to say, but it goes nowhere.

This movie had potential...I liked the premise. Better handling of the script, better supporting actors and keeping a tighter leash on the dialogue could've taken it from a F movie to the B level that it wanted to be.

I judge a movie by how easily I can recreate it. I could've rounded up a couple of friends and video taped a quick story just like this one. There was nothing special about it other than it's cast. A for effort. F for the fact that they squandered all of the talent they had to work with.

If you're 13 years old or just looking for a movie you want to play in the background of a party just to have something on, this is perfect.
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Editing
corpick17 April 2019
You can see a camera and cameraperson's hand in the hospital scene. Wow. WOW
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
You'll never get That 90 minutes back! Avoid.
filmsbyq12 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It must seem like I try to find awful films to review. Honestly, I really do not. Unfortunately, I decided to watch The Trap. Where to start, where to start. I am writing this as I watch the film because there is no other way I could finish watching it otherwise. The film is only twenty minutes in. I may finish writing the review before the film ends. So far the film is, to this point, an abomination. Starring Tip 'T.I' Harris and Mike Epps as brothers, Sonny and Dutch. I should have known this would not be a good film as soon as I heard the voiceover. Voiceover is rarely a good sign. Sonny, the younger brother, moved away from the family home and has worked his way up in the restaurant business and is a respected chef. He returns home to see his mother, Mama Jay (Loretta Devine) and finds out she is sick. Whilst back in town he sees that the family chicken shop, Blazin' Jay's, has fallen into disrepair under the stewardship of his brother, Dutch - or Mike Epps being Mike Epps. Whilst arguing with his brother, the mother collapses and is rushed to hospital. In the hospital they are told by Dr. Obayuwana (Queen Latifah) that their mother needs an operation and is dying. They must raise one hundred thousand dollars. T. I. better known as a rapper, has taken the well worn path to the screen boy many a 90's and 00's rapper. LL Cool J, P Diddy, Eminen, Common and even, if you can call it acting, 50 cent. To varying degrees, all have been successful. LL Cool J is not even thought of as a rapper anymore. T. I. will not be following LL. On this evidence there is no hope. He is not an actor and this film proves it. He is terrible. Wooden and not at all convincing as a chef, brother or even a lover. He is next level awful. The man wrecks every scene he is in and he is, as the star of the film, in almost every scene. I have not seen a rapper this bad in a film since RZA made the diabolically awful The Man With The Iron Fist. As for Mike Epps, he is Mike Epps. I pretty sure that was all the direction he was given - Be Mike Epps. The story, such that is, sees Dutch get involved with the local drug lord, K. P. (Stephen Bishop) and agree to move a couple pounds of weed every week. When the police unexpectedly burst into the chicken shop to stop a fight, Dutch accidentally stumbles upon a new way to help the family business, when the weed falls into the fryer, creating the 'secret' ingredient in the chicken, that proves spectacularly popular. With their mothers's health issues, the brothers decide to carry on using the weed in the chicken, even though Sonny is reluctant to. When K.P. finds out that they have been putting weed in the chicken, he decides that the chicken shop would make a great front for his business and also be good for laundering the money. Sonny, who is involved with a local policewoman he has known since his youth, Sasha (Meagan Tandy), wants to get out of the deal Dutch has gotten them in to. K. P. does not care what Sonny wants and threatens to harm their sick mother. Sasha happens upon them all when passing the chicken shop and sees K. P. and his henchmen pointing guns at the brothers. There is a shootout and then the police sweep in and arrest K. P. Their mother gets her operation and is fine, the business flourishes and everyone lives happily ever after. The end. Everyone that is except me. What an unholy amount of tripe this film is. To say it was awful is an insult to the word 'awful'! There needs to be more adjectives to describe just how bad this film is. With T. I. and Epps taking the lead, it falls to the supporting cast to display anything resembling credible acting. Uphill does not even begin to describe how herculean a task bringing any sort of life to the script is. The film is credited as having four writers. There is no way all four found this dross funny. Directed - ha! - by Erik White, I can only think he turned on the cameras, made sure they were in focus and then went off to his real job. No one is directed in this film, except maybe to their marks. I do not expect a masterwork when watching a comedy. All I ask is that it makes me laugh. That is the minimum requirement. Not everyone finds the same things funny, I get that, but this film would not be amusing even if one was drunk or high. If you are going to sell your film as a comedy, put some funny in it. The Trap is not funny. With the exception of the two leads, the acting is not too bad. Stephen Bishop K. P. is a scary villain and Joel Rush as Sasha's jealous and duplicitous partner, Powers, is good. Even Teyana Taylor as Sherri, Dutch's uncouth, street rough girlfriend is good. That is about it though. This is ninety minutes of your life you do not want to devote to this particular piece on Netflix. Avoid. You are welcome.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
DO NOT WATCH
ppieper-1662518 April 2019
Horrible acting, bad story line, revolting directing. There is no acting or directing difference between emotions, the sound is irritating. I honestly don't think there's a worse movie out there.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What the F_ _K?!
melvin-mckey15 April 2019
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Horrible writing, acting, directing! Jesus!!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
andreamonk11 April 2019
I was so surprised this movie was so bad because Queen Latifa and T.I are in the movie and are really good actors. The movie looks really low budget and just isn't funny. They tried to make a good movie but nothing came together right
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad, dull and boring !
robertgadau5 April 2019
Wow, this movie if i can call it a movie, is so bad, it made me make a review, first ever. Just added on Netflix, seen 5 mins and gave up. I like Mike Epps, he is a funny guy, he plays great, but this is some D class video, cant be called a movie. I guess the budget was low, as low as the people density in this video, which seems filmed in a forgotten town ... Anyway, very bad movie, dont worth watching.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Movie is trash
jwickb18 April 2019
Ti is a very veryVERY BAD actor LIKE THE WORST ever!! along with dc. Everyone else did good. Story line boring and old. NOTHING about this is original .
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If only I could give zero for being polar opposite of why I was excited to watch the movie. T.I. is obviously talented and the storyline was doable. I can't even comprehend!
mphelps-8558715 April 2019
Wow. T.I.? Really? Wtf! Who directed this crap? Sorry to that person fpr what I'm about to post...quit. Quit now before you become remember for this caliber of movie. Low budget is all good but I couldn't even give this movie any more of my time. Not one thing in the first 30 minutes was engaging, I just stopped paying attention which led me to this site and my post. Netflix needs to hear about this foolery and the fact that Netflix added this movie has ruined any street cred this person may have had. Shame!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Well-known actors got together to make the worst movie ever made
sebastianjakobsen17 April 2019
It is so bad that it is funny. Insanely bad acting
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The good and bad ( Contains spoilers but trust me worth a read)
raminuga9 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The good: T.I is just a cool as guy. I liked his acting. Some funny moments.

The bad:
  • T.I walked on his mum doing adult cam. Then they acted like it was just another normal day of mum and son dancing. What the hell man?


  • The amount of racist hypocrisy against white people is just stupid and they even portrayed black people in a bad way. Women dressed and acted like prostitutes and the men were low life drug dealers. Not just that, where were the other racial groups of people???


  • Selling drugs to kids....
  • The police women acted more like a flirting teenager than a police women and then she compared the Queen of England to a bunch of dudes with grills.
  • Some of the actors were just cussing and cussing and talking loud and being annoying. (Im sure they are lovely people in person) but on the movie set, it was pretty annoying to watch.


Well thats it I guess. The only thing in this movie that made sense was the New York times reporter using abuse of power over people to get what he wants at the start of the movie..
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What I liked and disliked (Has spoilers but worth a look anyway)
raminuga9 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
What I liked: T.I is such a cool guy. Thats about it.

What I disliked:
  • Its so abnormal and wired. The acting was strange and some of the scenes were just rubbish.
  • T.I walking on his mum doing adult cam videos and then acting as if everything was normal 20 seconds later. .....what the hell!?!?


  • The amount of racist hypocrisy against white people and black people were not portrayed in a good way.


  • Feeding drugs to kids!??


  • The police women didn't act like a police women more like a teenager flirting with another teenager. She also compared the Queen of England to a bunch of dudes with grills.....


I swear Hollywood has gone downhill in movie acting these days. Its turned into a joke. Sorry T.I you're a cool guy and all but this movie was wired. I gotta say though the only thing that made sense in this movie is the New York times journalist using abuse of power over people at the start of the movie. Thats about it.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
AWFUL!!
ChrisStavroulis14 April 2019
Avoid it at all cost.Bad acting and racism against white people.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst $hi+ ever!!!
NobleGMan6910 June 2019
Please don't waste your time. Horrible acting, horrible direction, horrible script and horrible idea from jump street. Even the audio is horrible!!! I expected more from TI.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
All that is bad is in this movie
flipmoreira-8769826 April 2019
Cameras showing, cameraman showing, repeated shots, terrible acting, terrible directing, everything is bad. Great for keeping you company while you do other stuff though.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Are you kidding me?
Ita-Ray25 April 2019
This movie is absolutely AWFUL! I couldn't even watch the whole thing. How did the Queen Latifah & Loretta Devine end up in this garbage?!? I guess the more important question is how did the camera AND camera man end up in the movie & no one thought to edit it out or redo the scene?!? 🙄
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Out of Sync
pieng_est25 April 2019
There's this one scene where the characters are out of sync with the audio. First I thought they were doing it to represent that they were high but it wasn't. I thought TIP was a perfectionist but I don't think he was there in the editing room
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny Friday Night Movie
fatimam-8767114 June 2019
This is the kinda movie you watch with your friends when you're looking for a random laugh. It's clearly NOT intended to be some seriously amazing cinematography. It brings in some new actors who are cringey and can't act but it's made up for in the comforting presence of some well-known/familiar faces. Overall, funny to watch while high with a bunch of friends
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
T.I. What are you doing to us.
imdtf_slay27 July 2019
T.I. told us that we can get whatever we like, but I didn't ask for this........

This movie should be banned and everyone who watches it should get locked up for playing one of the worst movies ever, period. The thing goes krrrrraaaaa, ba ba ba ka ka
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A movie with potential
JE-Barron4 May 2019
In short, T.I. was very bad in acting. Since he had a main part, he killed the whole vibe of the movie, since his acting "skills" really lead to irritation. If Mike Epps would have joined up with another actor this could have been a great movie, because he was funny as always.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Dissappointing
shadow_blade-8945926 April 2019
"The Trap" (2019) is a semi-professionally produced comedy about an family owned restaurant based in Atlanta being run into the ground by Dutch, played by Mike Epps, through his immature neglect, only to be saved by Sonny, an up and coming cook in the Big Easy, played by rapper T.I.. Through Dutch's bad decision, a new recipe is created for the fried chicken that ultimately could get the eatery shut down and everyone arrested. The film reminds me of some of the less than bright people I grew up with providing a slight level of nostalgia. On the other hand, aside from the strong tie into family struggles and lessons, this film was a little rough. This film had many holes and more technical issues than I wish to count.

Some of the acting is pretty accurate for the personas that portrayed them, but it may have led to the storyline dragging a bit too much. The film filled the "standard" 90 minutes but could have easily been cut down to help move the film along, but this isn't my biggest issue with the film. The sound syncing has points where is extremely off and blatantly takes me out of the story. There are also visual issues where, like in the hospital, the camera operator can be seen. I originally had hi hopes for this film thanks to some names in the comedy and hip- hop world, but I was let down. Overall, this film isn't that good because the quality is a major misfire, but I still enjoyed it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
GARBAGE!!!!!!!!!
krisg-8798721 April 2019
Straight trash ,worst movie ever i couldnt even make it past the first 15 min
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painful to watch
ezroberts20 April 2019
Such a incredibly awful movie, I thought it would be good because of Mike Epps, but awful story line, awful acting, CHEESY
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Did anybody see that spider in the kitchen?
acharlenehaze20 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Around 37:03 - top right corner on the kitchen vent. Summarizes the whole production.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny
gracie-2711022 December 2019
Really good film, laughed so much, music in the background was also brilliant. Great acting from all cast.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed