Angel Has Fallen (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
386 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
A decent action film.
louis-ohalloran3015 September 2019
This is being judged too harshly. Is it predictable? Yes. Generic? Yeah. But what do you expect? It's a nuts and bolts action film, entertaining enough and worth your time.
55 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Movie has fallen
thcgator28 August 2019
Seriously dissatisfied with this film. The plot is paper thin, there is no amount of disbelief you can suspend to believe the other agents in this movie are as dumb as it is. The writers should have just hung a sign with words "No Really Mike Butler did this!!" along with the planted evidence. Every other good guy in the film went to the Storm Trooper rifle trading. What a sad terrible ending to what was a fun franchise.
109 out of 166 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible writing
stretch-3810728 August 2019
This movie started out great. Then the terrible writing kicked in. Why have Banning look like a fool, after being such an intellect in previous movies?
105 out of 162 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Same storyline. Once again.
toushifhaq7 September 2019
Why to make something so unoriginal and ludicrously typical storyline. There is nothing new to watch, no creativity, and honestly boring. Just over packed up action sequences (that too with a below average CGI) don't make a good movie.
98 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent Action Movie
ymyuseda22 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Rating 9.4/10 I was able to catch an advanced screening of this movie on this morning in my country. This movie have good combination of action and drama to make this movie incredible likeable. The fighting scenes were choreographed wonderfully. Excellent acting performance to all the characters. To all of you, please take care of your best friends, because one day your best friends can be your worst enemies. Overall, a very entertaining action thriller.
279 out of 459 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Angel Butler
kosmasp25 September 2019
Leonidas cannot fail ... I mean fall ... right? Sorry I'm mixing up my movies here. But you can see the action star Butler going for it again - a third time. And if you thought the other movies were crazy and unrealistic ... well you were right and this one adds to that! What did you think I was going to say? In all seriousness - do not take this movie serious.

Predictable story, predictable twists and turns ... and an even relatively mild Nick Nolte. But the story itself is quite out there ... really wild and really "explosive" (pun intended). A lot of action and a lot of nonsense ... and it can be quite some fun, if you allow it to
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The most typical action movie
yash-494694 September 2019
Give a kid a piece of paper to write an action movie and the plot you get is Angel has Fallen. Show a person how to record and the video you get is Angel has Fallen
92 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Whoever was in charge of the script should be fired
sara_c_sa25 August 2019
Granted I was only in the theater to watch glorious Gerard Butler (who by the way is no aging well). Yes, I wasn't expecting a masterpiece, I had seen the previous two movies. It was supposed to be a fun easy to watch action movie, where things are not what they seem to be.

Let's just say that the plot is quite predictable, but yet that is not the worst. The CGI was poor. The scenes and situations were extremely forced. After two movies with pretty much the same plot, you need to innovate. However, and to me that was just ridiculous, they showed not once, but twice how stupid they think the police is. Twice there were roadblocks trying to capture Mr Butler's character that the police decided to place right after the road diverted in two, therefore granting the protagonist a way out.

All in all, the plot was full of holes that made it boring and unbelievable, in the worst of meanings. And the extra footage at the end just proved that they didn't take the film seriously at all.
109 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Beyond bad- this movie is lame
gordonpatricia28 August 2019
Walked out totally disappointed with cinematic experience. No wonder most people stay home to watch well crafted scripts and characters. I know you should not expect much from a movie franchise such as this but this was beyond lame and the second ending during the credits was totally embarrassing. Total crap!
99 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of time
martinsplads3 September 2019
You know what ? This movie is a generic boring action flick with zero surprises and no depth what so ever. I feel sorry for people that pay money for this trash, its just really tragic that directors and producers gets away with making action movies that shouldn't have been made in the first place. Just by looking at the poster you know exactly how this movie gonna end, I don't believe that anyone with half off a brain cant figure this movie out is that God damn predictable. The only thing that actually works are Gerard Butler and Nick Nolte acting but they cant save this film, not by a long shot. Angel Has Fallen has fallen down in the toilet and I just hope it stays there forever.
90 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Unwatchable due to the handheld cameras
imdb-2122610 September 2019
I knew this movie wasn't going to be good.. but I expected it to be fun (and probably stupid). This movie is a perfect example of how lazy movie directing has become. Virtually every scene - even slow static scenes- were done with a super zoomed in, constantly panning and focusing handled cameras. It made this movie absolutely unwatchable. I had to laugh at one scene where the entire scene was nothing but a mega-zoomed in view of Morgan Freeman's eyes.. all you could notice were the dark moles all over his face. I don't know this director.. and after seeing this one, I hope I don't have to look him up ever again. This thing stinks...
83 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Incompetent direction and photography.
ysrinivasraoca23 August 2019
I dont know whose idea it was that action movie means, shake the camera and shoot with a hand held camera and that too only close up shots. grow up guys. You are covering your incompetency with these techniques. I never really connected to the movie with shaky hand held camera and with blurred closeup shots. I never go the same director or photographer movies. I want my money back and i am regretting for wasting such good actors like Gerard Butler. Incompetent director and photographer and not so great story plot.
112 out of 184 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I want my 2 hours back
sevdakarababa-710778 September 2019
Very bad, old story, very very bad direction, boring acting, there was bno surprise because we allready know that movie. They made it like at least 50 times before. I cant belive they release this trash on the movie theatre.
71 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Why does Hobbs & Shaw get a pass and this doesn't?
Henry-Hill3122 August 2019
For a part 3 of a franchise, it was awesome and probably the best out of the three. Great action packed movie, with some twists here and there. Not a mind blowing story, but the execution was great and finally a movie without stupid humor.

It's mind blowing to the see the amazing reviews for Hobbs and Shaw and already hate for this one. Hobbs and Shaw was near terrible and couldn't stay away from cheap cameos and comedy.

This is a great fun action packed movie, that's worth a watch for sure! 8/10
182 out of 311 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Angel Has Risen
meshborg6816 September 2019
May i first say im not really a fan of Butler or this film series but i was shocked and surprised to see a really good action movie thriller and cant really understand the negative reviews.I found nothing wrong with camera angles or C.G.I.Its fast paced and different and far better than the first two films.
34 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst photography and directing.
ysrinivasraoca23 August 2019
I dont know whose idea it was that action movie means, shake the camera and shoot with a hand held camera and that too only close up shots. grow up guys. You are covering your incompetency with these techniques. I never really connected to the movie with shaky hand held camera and with blurred closeup shots. I never go the same director or photographer movies. I want my money back and i am regretting for wasting such good actors like Gerard Butler. Incompetent director and photographer and not so great story plot.
122 out of 204 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Yet another Butler Bomb, and just as bad as the last two instalments.
Warneinator26 August 2019
The existence of the "Has Fallen" trilogy is nothing short of mind-boggling. 2013's Olympus Has Fallen was actually one of two Die Hard clones set in the White House released that year, but managed to make more money than Roland Emmerich's White House Down through the advantage of coming out first. It surely wasn't because of its actual quality. It's an ugly, mean-spirited and downright unpleasant film, but I could at least somewhat understand its appeal in its attempt to be a throwback to overly macho 80s action films like Commando. The same cannot be said for London Has Fallen; a boneheaded, cheaply made and xenophobic excuse for entertainment, and one of the worst films of the whole decade. Naturally, I wasn't particularly looking forward to this trilogy-capper, especially as it felt the need to remind the world in all its advertisements that it's a sequel to these two prior outings. Having seen all three of them now, it totally makes sense why, because they're almost entirely interchangeable. But when the highest compliment I can give this film right off the bat is "it's not as hateful as the last one", you know you're in for a particularly bad time.

Surprisingly, Angel Has Fallen tries in its opening 20 minutes to be somewhat deep and introspective, as it shows the effects that Mike Banning's career has had on his physical and mental health, as well as his relationship with his wife. But this utterly blows up in the film's face because this franchise has never been concerned with its characters in the slightest. Banning has always been an unlikable, sweary nutcase who often resorts to torture for fun, so to see this film attempt to be a character piece comes across as utterly laughable. I did not care for a second about his dilemma of whether to accept the director job, or his attempts to clear his name after being framed at any point during this utter waste. But whilst the character work is beyond salvaging, it doesn't help that it encompasses a plot that plays like a Frankenstein's monster of much better action films. The medical appointments, as well as a setpiece involving boobytraps in the woods, reminded me heavily of Skyfall, and the framed storyline is essentially a much lesser version of The Fugitive. It's an extremely trite and predictable narrative, but it would be at least mildly exciting if Banning was a vulnerable protagonist. Despite the opening's attempts to convince you otherwise, he remains completely on top of things at every point, survives every injury he takes, and none of the ailments he's meant to be suffering from impact him throughout the action sequences in any way whatsoever.

There's a very strong feeling whilst watching this film that barely anyone involved actually cares about putting in any effort, because, well, it's Angel Has Fallen, it's so easy the paycheques practically write themselves. Gerard Butler barks nearly all of his lines like pretty much every role he plays, but even he's starting to look especially bored and unenthused this time. Morgan Freeman sleepwalks through his scenes as the US President, and literally sleeps through the second act in a plot-induced coma, Jada Pinkett Smith, Tim Blake Nelson and Danny Huston are saddled with stock action film characters speaking dialogue so cliched it could've honestly been written by a computer, and Piper Perabo leaves so little as of an impression and gets so little to do as Mike's wife Leah you probably won't even notice that she was recast from Radha Mitchell in the last two. Surprisingly, the best work comes from Nick Nolte as Mike's estranged Vietnam veteran father, who seems to have not gotten the memo that he's in a film called Angel Has Fallen and gives his performance way more emotion than the film deserves. But this general lack of care also extends to the production design. Angel Has Fallen comes from the same production company responsible for another Butler bomb; last year's Hunter Killer, and just like that film, it feels like it belongs in a direct-to-DVD bargain bin. The CGI is astonishingly poor, particularly in the drone strike assassination attempt, the greenscreen is particularly obvious, and most of the action is shot at night in the woods, so you can barely see any of it. Even with state-of-the-art digital projection technology in my local cinema, a lot of these sequences were almost impossible to follow, making the frequent use of explosions in one set-piece actually welcome. The standards of this franchise were never very high, but the sloppiness on display in this film is utterly inexcusable.

In the context of the Secret Service, Angel is the codename used for agents. I didn't know that before, and I bring this up now because that is more interesting than anything that Angel Has Fallen has to offer. While it's a less unpleasant experience than its also terrible predecessors, it trades that unpleasantness for being woefully dull. The cast give a D-grade effort, with the bizarre exception of Nick Nolte, the plot is recycled from better films and tries too hard to justify the existence of this trilogy, and even on the most basic of entertainment levels, the action fails to deliver and it's some of the most generic and lifeless I've ever seen. This angel didn't have any wings, but it falls with a resounding thud into my worst films of 2019.
88 out of 146 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Mindless Rubbish for Meatheads
pjbellew25 August 2019
See heading for details. Dum tee dumb tee dumb tee dumb...
97 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Quite Possibly the Worst Movie I've Ever Seen
agentxjp25 August 2019
Everything about it was horrible. The acting, the nonsensical plot that has full of holes and made little sense, the lack of realism, the lack of interesting dialogue, the predictable "twist", and the bland action scenes with lots of random bullets and explosions but little to no "cool" sequences.

Also seems like the director/writer was trying to push a pro-Russian agenda, probably because he is upset that the current administration colluded with them.

All in all a horrible movie with a terrible script, terrible acting, and no saving grace.
95 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I walked out. Film came out in the wrong year
NotoriousMayhem24 August 2019
What garbage. There was about 20min left and I just walked out. Felt like some terrible 2010 action movie with lame setpieces and odd and shaky camera work. The plot was incredibly unoriginal and uninspired. Yet again another film about the president. The film was predictable and I just didn't care for it all. I kept dozing off multiple times and I just called it quits and left. So boring, so lame, so uninspired
106 out of 180 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Honourable Chicken
mnugent-7458028 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I'm surprised that the Gerard Butler fan club had the concentration levels to write so many positive reviews. This film is not good, please don't be hoodwinked. The start is predictable and slow, and then it deteriorates.

Nick Nolte is the only saving grace by virtue of being the only actor in the film. The fight scene at the end was agonising. The two pseudo special forces hard men had too much misplaced honour to fight each other with big guns, so opted for handguns. When that proved not tough enough they opted for knives. I was hoping that the antagonist next pulled out a rubber chicken just so we could see GB save the President, and his honour, with a rubber chicken all of his own.

If DT wasn't president this film would seem far fetched.
83 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It was just okay in my opinion
ebonyenigma-5754824 August 2019
I saw this movie last night and it was just okay. The plot was predictable and the ending wasn't surprising at all for even a novice movies goer. The acting was good (but considering the caliber of actors of course the acting was good) but overall I wasn't very impressed
83 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Unexpected failure
ahmad_signer22 September 2019
Really a vey bad movie The sequence of events are so expected and director did all his efforts to flat the story and explain any possible nots in the story Away from the action and big bombs nothing worth in the movie
51 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Irritating
p_nikolic13 September 2019
And the award for the most irritating voice goes toooo... Also, it's a bad action movie and the characters are pretentious. Really, nothing worth of watching or making a review...
51 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
American thinking 2019
hamiltonkristy-6099126 August 2019
For Angel Has Fallen : Gerard and Nolte worked great together. The veteran idea of setting up trail bombs was spot-on a go-getter for "what to remember that brings me back". The health, back condition of the character Mike, with the prescription pills, and all the dramatic action included with how he in reality should be, is not believable at all. It has a tendency to reflect the director and producer lack incentive on investigating the result of that type of spinal injury,. It's ongoing throughout the movie for the viewers. When the character Mike is confronted by the truck driver defending the 2 men, that should have been shorter in sequence . The movements altogether were slow to reality and highly unlikely that the gunmen are going to shy away, if they're truly believing Mike is a problem. Homework needs to be done over the many everyday southern working men. Someone needs to study the locations that the scenes are supposed to reflect, and the majority of hunters, Veterans, and NRA members in regards to their feelings and views, and especially how they react. When Leeah, Mikes wife, asked his dad, "tell me something personal about him", Noltes scene with compassion, Should have had a more meaningful answer to reflect a fathers love, even with the PSD that he had. The name of his mom, etc. with minoote personal comment about Mike as a person, Gave the wrong impression to the viewer . Mr. Noltes character was more interestingly intelligent and that moment flawed him to the viewer. The dark inside car scene is difficult for the viewer to see while Mike is trying to break free. It should have been shorter or atleast brighter as you struggle to see whats happening for so many seconds, etc. The hospital staff for the President while being in a coma, seemed at level 1, unconcerned and unseasoned in what their look, demeanor and dialogue, should have been. It should have been more honourable for The President of The United States of America. Also the hospital room should have shown the Presidents bed several feet further from the door for safety reasons. There should have been more verbal update in his room about his condition from a Dr. Or nurse. The hallways leading to his room should have shown blocked off floors leading there, with more CIA actors presentable for the part. The awkward reaction of the CIA group toward Mike, having worked with him, extensively, and believabley they "question him", with his history of faithfulness to his job, coming from his peers is wrong too. It leaves the idea that to try to help him in any way is treason for his peers, with no sound sense of reasoning, all alone. The investigation for Mike was weak. Mikes dad and wife in his corner, only, was inappropriate for a seasoned character of CIA agent protecting The President. The boat scene with The President should have been more beautifully scened as there are areas of Virginia, especially between Jamestown and Williamsburg, and the area of White Marsh, that should have given more compliment to a relaxing Virginian atmosphere, as why the reason The President was there to begin with. The drones appearing at such a large scale did not reflect the shown bombing that happened. It honestly appears that after looking at the "after Affect", from all of the mass drones were a waste of visual, if more explosives are not balancing it out. Allowing the little girl to, on purpose be used to be made afraid, as opposed to zoning in the cameras on just adults was in poor taste. Just audio sound of a child crying should have been the decision made for her. That would be healthier for her precious little self psychologically since she can't even say sentences yet in reality for the little girl in that scene. The back door scene of the two men coming into Mikes house with just his wife and child, are not even thinkable to imagine, as typically a man of CIA intelligence is going to specialize his inside alarms, and that should have been shown to the viewer. More detail about that should have been done. The name of the President was not in good taste, it is too close to AMERICAS President in reality and should not have been closely associated with him. That is disrespectful to President Trump. Mr. Freeman, as President, should have had more, appeared visual injuries after an ordeal like that in the water with the ammo from the drones, especially considering his given age. Elderly people bruise easy, and it is visible regardless of race. The makeup artist should have come forward with that. More bandages should have been used to show a possible head injury since he was in a coma. More details on vitals with him should have been shown. The grenade explosion at the end of the movie, with Mike covering the dead body, should have been rethought with the area that it was set off, in that Mike at that distance, should have had more appeared visual injuries to be believable. There should have been more hidden, underground weapons of defense for Mr. Nolte to give to Mike, and with a flashback, as Mike is defending himself at the last fight scene. That shows forethought, honour from a son to a father in that he trusted his dad and kept it close, and the bond between Veterans all at the same time. Mr. Nolte should have had more interaction with his granddaughter at the eating table, since he saved her and her mother's life. It gives the impression of distrust at a seated distance to the viewer. That's disrespectful to him as a grandfather, as his character is. The dialogue at the end of the movie from Mike should have had a stronger, leading line that reflected the honour of a CIA special agent. The woman that investigated the situation thats supposed to be a leader, and was shot, gave more of a local city cop impression for a general community, than for a Federal position of that much responsibility. She should have been put as an actress on the computer with the bad guys, than to be given that leading role. At the end of the movie, the first and the second time I saw it, I was near to the last one out, due to the momentary credits, that redirected to the comical Add on scene. The inbetween was too far stretched out. The timing of this movie is a bad idea. In the southeast USA it is time for kids to go back to school. So going to the movies is an afterthought for most people right now. Even the college students since everyone is focused on school and preparing for cooler temperatures. This movie should have come out in July 2019.
77 out of 129 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed