Villains (2019) Poster

(I) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Truly unique, wild ride
marie-ketring16 March 2019
I saw this film at its last screening at the SXSW film festival. I can't believe how freaking likable the main characters are. I absolutely enjoyed every second of it. It's good old twisted and crazy fun. Check it out if you can, you'll scream and laugh at the same time.
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Smart, Darkly Funny and Original!
roger-99-17159911 August 2019
After robbing a bank, two outlaw lovebirds get stranded on the road without gas. As they break-in to an apparently abandoned house, they have no idea what expects them. First they discover a child chained in the basement, and then they meet the child's creepy parents. Actors Maika Monroe and Bill Skarsgård develop an incredible chemistry, creating a direct connection to the audience. A sensation at SXSW, writers-directors Dan Berk and Robert Olsen's third collaborative work is a darkly funny and bizarre modern take on the Gothic terrain with subtle commentary on societal clashes and prejudices.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Demented awesomeness
UniqueParticle20 September 2019
Maika Monroe and Bill Skarsgard are so great together! I don't wanna even remotely slightly spoil this weird movie so I will just say a few things, this is a great movie and the editing is one of the best things ever! I'm glad I have regal premium cause I pre ordered my ticket a week before Villains even came out, happily saw day 1 which is rare. It has lots of profanity, some comedic bits, morbid stuff, and great dialogue; I highly recommend it. I guess I'm not allowed to enjoy this movie geez, disliking a great review ugh!
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Almost a Bonnie & Clyde rip off
dar041723 September 2019
Shocking not as disturbing as you would have thought but still very entertaining. Starts out as Bonnie & Clyde rip off and turns into just two stupid criminals trying to get by.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Keeps you on your toes
tallblondeandfun21 September 2019
Jeffrey Donovan was amazing and entertaining! The main characters had me rooting for them the entire time. I highly recommend this movie!!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
To Quote Hunter S. Thompson...
thebrothersbev29 September 2019
"It never got weird enough for me." Villains is not a bad film, nor is it one I regret watching. It is brisk, quirky, and without any offensively glaring issues other than it plays it safe. This little genre film had potential in regards to all aspects of filmmaking (the writing, direction, acting, etc.) but it also had an air of reserve that suggests inexperience. Villains is so concerned with going down easy for the mainstream that it never attempts to be anything past standard. I wanted to love this film in the way I love Funny Games, Bound, and virtually everything by John Waters, but instead I find myself going back to one word when someone asks me to describe Villains... "meh."
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pretty good ride.
subxerogravity21 September 2019
It's got action, it's got horror, it's got romance, it's got comedy. Villains is a pretty good package, overall. I really like what was going on here. It's never boring always amusing and the story just kept evolving though out until the end. Great!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
False advertisement
brysonking-8228123 September 2019
Ok honestly I went to see this movie on a weekend with my girlfriend.....long story short it was boring as hell. If your looking for some type of thriller horror film this isn't it. Save your damn money. Wait until DVD or Netflix or whichever comes first.
3 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Post new age abduction
chris-arrieta28 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Not sure what to say other than that the two men die at the end which is funny but they almost got away wait I mean the girls got away and they went to Florida cause it's real nice there before the sea levels rise, but it's super easy dodging hurricanes just make sure to check the weather. I'm out.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What a hoot!
mhtyler3 October 2019
Seriously, why is this rated only 6.6 on IMDB, this film is fun from beginning to end, with great characters, good writing, and a solid ending. Donovan deserves a supporting oscar nom.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed