Gone (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(I) (2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
40 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
It is unimaginable why so many children go missing every day
Ed-Shullivan17 September 2018
Chris Noth is every missing child and parents hero. He plays FBI agent Frank Booth who works missing children cases. A former child abductee named Kick Lannigan (Leven Rambin) who FBI agent Frank Booth rescued a long time ago still keeps in touch with her to the current day. Kick has remained a single adult who owns and operates a self defense school.

A potential client named Bishop (Danny Pino) who wants to learn self defense requests Kick provide him with a private lesson. Although the teacher versus new student defense class does not go as planned for either the teacher Kick, nor her new student Bishop, in walks the FBI agent Frank Booth, who rescued Kick all those years ago with an offer. I thought the fight scene was more than over the top. Ouchhhhh!

Frank asks Kick and another kidnapping survivor named James Finley (Andy Mientus) to join a special kidnap/rescue forces team that he is just forming whose job is to investigate recent child kidnappings. The special kidnapping task force team includes three former actors who all starred in previous successful television crime series. Chris Noth (Law & Order), Danny Pino (Cold Case, and Law & Order: Special Victims Unit), and Tracie Thoms (Cold Case).

The pilot episode provides the TV viewers with some insights into what each member of the task force brings to the team. Kick is obviously still harboring some demons from her childhood days held in captivity but she knows the ins and outs of these child predators fro first hand knowledge as to how they cultivate their victims and keep them as hostages for years (as she was).

My Pet Peeve: Whenever I see a member of TV's law enforcement who looks like (s)he is still in high school sitting in front of a computer monitor and frantically typing aimlessly on the keyboard in front of them, and within five (5) seconds of air time they have discovered the perpetrators hideout I grow disappointed quickly in the quality of the program as it is a very cheap and lazy screenwriter who cannot build a storyline that captures the audiences attention.

I give the pilot episode a decent enough 8 out of 10 rating and time will tell how this series progresses. I just hope the series Gone loses the phony keyboard typing detective that is so prevalent in so many mediocre TV crime series.
18 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Look.
jenwithapen10 January 2018
If you went into this expecting that Gone was going to recreate the wheel, clearly you're going to be disappointed. This is a standard procedural, and honestly, it's good! If you've enjoyed "Without a Trace," or "Law & Order," or "Criminal Minds," etc., you're going to enjoy this! It seems like the younger the audience, anymore, the less enjoyment they get out of this kind of TV. I get that. I still enjoy things like Teen Wolf (which had some sublime writing, and wonderful acting!), and The Originals (I always preferred that to The Vampire Diaries), too, so! I see the difference, and I see the appeal to both, it's just that procedurals are an old business.

I find Noth's "father figure" as the lead for this rag-tag bunch awesome. I've loved Noth since he was Mr. Big, so! You can't go wrong there. Where a few others have felt that the lead was over the top, I dare you to watch Blindspot or Quantico, or any of the hundreds of others with over-the-top leads! I don't find Kitt (or Kick) crazily out-of-control (she's still suffering from a mild PTSD, but unlike other dramas, the trauma of it doesn't just shut her down, and it's not something that's overplayed!). As a matter of fact, I think they sort of underplay it sometimes.

Regardless, another person had a problem with the hacker dude, and... I don't find him as cloying, but I can see the issue. It's the same thing as your Garcia's in Crim Minds (talk about an over-the-top character, though! She's lovable as heck!), or your Abby Sciuto's from NCIS! It's nothing that hasn't already been done, and it's important for plot dev, especially with such a skeleton crew. Seeing Danny Pino again (Law & Order: SVU) was a great surprise! He's so muted here, and I love that!

I know this show hasn't scored higher with other folks, but if you're a fan of any of the shows I've mentioned, just give it a try! I think you'll like it. =D
35 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This is REALLY good!
invicta-8980816 January 2018
If you've always been a fan of Chris Noth, whether he's playing Mike Logan or Mr Big or that guy in The Good Wife, you'll enjoy Gone. The stories are well written, and, happily, entirely realistic, and the acting is perfectly pitched - no scenery chewing, but enough emotion to keep the viewer entertained.

Leven Rambin is excellent as the female lead - she does a very commendable mix of tough, smart, and vulnerable, and works well with Noth, Danny Pino, and the regulation nerdy guy.

And the funky, high-tech plane the team gets around in is a real treat - it's a nicely original take on the currently fashionable, ultra-sophisticated investigation tools cop shows use these days.

The cast has obviously gelled quickly, and their combined professionalism delivers an interesting, very watchable, show.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So underrated, yet really catching
kirbylein16 February 2018
What happens if you put Mr Big together with a former Law & Order SVU / Cold Case detective and Glimmer from The Hunger Games? To be honest I thought nothing happens. The first trailer of Gone left me like "well ok another crime drama with borings characters, don't care" but after I watched the first two episodes, I was so caught up on this show.

First: Yes, it's a crime procedural, one case an episode and a "main story" in the background.

Second: Yes, it might be nothing new.

But: Don't judge this show too quickly. The pilot was solid, not brilliant or something. But the other episodes begin to build a really great story and we get to see a lot of interesting cases with well written plots and some plot twists.

But what really makes this show so great is the cast and the characters. Danny Pino as FBI Agent Bishop is so brilliant, I actually could have watched this show just for his acting. Leven Rambin does a really good work, too. Their characters Kick and Bishop are full of flaws and that's what makes them really catchy. And we can see the characters grow which I really like when watching a show.

All in all Gone is a really good crime show with a bit drama, a lot of secrets and mysteries, amazing actors and a lot of hope in every episode.
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
miacarlberg15 June 2018
I want more, watched this in 4 Days, the backstory is fashinating and you need to look at more than one episode to understand Gone! Im waiting and hoping for next season!
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
THE SHOW GETS BETTER AND BETTER
aquinnahfilms-12 March 2019
GONE is a procedural thriller with terrific character development and backstory. The show is anchored by Kick Lannigan (Leven Rambin) who was abducted as a young girl, and Frank Booth (Chris Noth) the FBI agent who rescued her. This dynamic, and the abduction that still haunts Kick, give the show emotional depth. The pilot sets up the basic premise: Frank recruits Kick to join a small team of agents tasked with finding victims of abduction. The excellent writing distinguishes GONE from ordinary procedural, and the acting is superb. I watched the second episode and I was hooked. The limited series peaks in the middle of the season -- episode 6 entitled "Don't Go" is a stunner -- and by the end I was ready for GONE, Season Two.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show
rattastic9 November 2018
Started off a bit awkward but it's getting its stride and turning into a great show. Hope it continues.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
GREAT STORYLINE .. SHAME ABOUT THE ACTRESS
BarbiQoz23 January 2018
Was really looking forward to watching GONE, especially with the experience of Noth and Pino. The idea of a rescued child abductee being offered a job to join a Special Task Force Team only because she was abducted as a child, was a bit far fetched. But thought will still give it a go. And gee, what a drag Leven Rambin's character is. Sorry but her bad acting is just atrocious for the character she portrays. Being a self defence instructor is bad enough to watch, but giving a kid a gun that she has absolutely no idea how to use, she takes charge bursting into houses . Just cannot get past how this actress hasn't even been taught how to use a gun, yet alone handle one. A real shame as all the other actors fit into GONE superbly. Chris Noth is just so chill and classy, would be so much better if he was given more of the lead, I mean he is the boss after all.
26 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Expected more
Jbird6521 March 2018
I know you are expected to suspend belief when it comes to TV, but I just couldn't get past the notion of her being brought into the FBI, allowed out in the field with a gun (albeit with a permit) with trained agents, all just because she'd previously been kidnapped herself. If they'd kept her in an office and used her supposed insight over coms it might have made it a bit more bearable. I'm only giving it 2 stars because of Danny Pino and Chris Noth.
19 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting but predictable
geordiegirl-118 September 2018
Enjoyed the premise but disappointed in the acting of the female lead. How could she and her techie sidekick just up and go? What about her self defense pupils and where is the dog. Did the writers forget about that?
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really Enjoyable
samtucker-5609417 June 2018
Easy to watch, enjoyable series. I hope there's a series 2
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thumbs up
hetzja16 March 2019
I liked it, something different. I like all of the cast and a change of paste
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely LOVE this show
judithtessier15 January 2019
So good; coudn't stop watching it for a minute. Watched the whole season in one day and I keep re-watching it. It absolutely brilliant. Please tell me there will be more seasons!!!!!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very Good FBI Serie
campos-812 March 2019
GONE is a recent series about an FBI task force tasked with investigating cases of missing persons as soon as they occur.

Chris Noth, the ever-present Mr. Big from SEX AND THE CITY plays agent Frank Booth, a veteran who leads the unit and breaks paradigms by inviting her to be a beautiful young kidnap victim many years ago.

The idea is to have someone on the team who knows the subject from the side of the victim and who, after releasing by Booth himself, spent his life studying this type of case as self-defense.

The protagonist is the Texas actress Leven Rambin, seen in TRUE DETECTIVE 3 and HUNGER GAMES. She lives Kick Lannigan, still traumatized by the violence she suffered as a girl, but able to see clues and details that go unnoticed by other agents. Next to her is the great Danny Pino (from LAW AND ORDER S.V.U. and COLD CASE), a tense agent willing to solve cases as soon as possible.

The trio make up a fascinating team to be seen. Another point of interest is to see the diversity of cases that GONE brings to the screens. Screenwriters have to strive to create completely different cases to attract viewers. There are already twelve episodes of the first season, as there is still no news of a series renewal.

GONE is a great cop series with many new features in its genre.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very Poor
malcolm-cooke22 March 2018
This I'm afraid is fairly poor, Leven Rambin's over acting is the main reason, They may as well have given her a cape. Instead the FBI allow her to help them track criminal's . She seem's to have a special ability to find hidden rooms as well. Trust me if you like this sort of TV series watch Criminal Minds instead and give this one a miss.
13 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not too sure about this....
Samthesham6727 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The overall premise of a team being created to rescue stolen children is interesting and heartwarming. But I'm not sure if the delivery is quite there. To start with, a young girl was rescued from her abductors 15 years ago and, in adult life, she's turned into some 'un-caped' crusader who is asked to join a special FBI team that rescues abducted children. She is allowed to to enter premises armed with a sidearm and assist in arresting assailants! Ok, the character proved early on that she can shoot straight, but that's only part of law enforcement training...you have to know when to shoot, who to shoot and be trained in realistic, stressful scenarios to prove yourself. And when did the FBI have access to Air Force 2? The plane that is at their beck and call is a ringer (with an upside down paint job) for the Vice-President's Boeing 757! I love shows like Criminal Minds, NCIS, Law & Order etc. and am hoping that this show can pick up it's game.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I like it ... very much.
ziggy133-766-14078917 March 2019
Thought it would be about kidnapped children more. But the storylines are varied and interesting. But what happened to the dog from the first episode?
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very interesting stories and very good acting
conired1 March 2019
My wife and I both really liked the show and the stories were well written. We also both thought the cast had good chemistry. Looking forward to a 2nd season!!!!!!!!!!! Would highly recommend this show.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
suzeypoo218415 February 2019
I thought this was amazing show can't wait for next season hope there more to come really enjoyed it and the story behind it really fanatic
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Great Premise, Horrible Outcome
mozartwwr8 January 2018
Noth is truly the best actor of the group, while main star Leven comes off way over the top where shes a distraction. However the WORST is the Hacker/Gay character played by whoever that guy is. He is HORRIBLE. HORRIBLE. I couldnt finish the pilot because he was so annoying.
11 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Gone Really Good
selah-9078326 March 2019
I really hope someone picks this up. It just dropped in US markets recently it gets better and better as they build the characters. I get so upset I watch a great show and networks never give it a chance. I watch a lot of TV since illness and love finding new shows but get irate do when they get pulled. This one is very good. Chris Noth plays a good leader and love how they have built each characters backgrounds. It gets better each episode.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
If you ignore the glaring she could never do that, not a bad show
MiketheWhistle9 January 2020
Many reviews have already commented about how unrealistic/untrue it is that the FBI would allow an untrained individual participate as she does, and they are 100% correct. The FBI regularly uses local and state LEOs, but they are trained. They also use consultants, but never like what this girl does for so many reasons. The shame of it is, they could so easily overcome that by having had some back story where she became a LEO and then left or essentially anything but just being a self-defense instructor. This doesn't make the show unwatchable, but it reglarly slaps you in the face with the error and you just have to ignore it. I'll also add that the alcohol drinking on an FBI plane would simply never happen either as the FBI has very strict rules for its agents with alcohol use and there are significant govt regs regarding alcohol in the workplace which without almost any exception is not allowed. The negative comments regarding the lady actor aren't accurate in my opinion. She's not bad and she's nice to look at. Probably the one thing that would make the show much better is if Chris Noth had more screen time as he's such a powerful actor. Finally, it's really not a bad show.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Nearly gave up but glad I didn't!
Brain_Dog29 December 2019
Only saw this advertised on universal channel in UK so thought would give it a go,wasn't that into the first ep,nearly deleted them as they kept being recorded but was bored one night so just put on more-it gets so good and the twist at the end I loved. Gutted to find out it was actually a couple of years old and that was all the eps there would be :(
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Boring!
fatelovesthefearless1 January 2018
I really thought I would love this show as I loved Without A Trace and the show has some decent actors in it but i found is quite boring. The premise is good and worked for Without A Trace but in this show it is quite slow paced and thus boring. I will add i havent watched anymore than the pilot and wont unless im looking for something to put me to sleep. The back story of the lead character is interesting and the cast did the best with what they were given but it's not enough for me to keep watching.
8 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hope There's a Season Two
Glynnie14 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Like the idea of an abducted child growing up to be a strong woman who helps find kids like herself. Plus I'll watch anything with Chris Noth in it. From Mike Logan in Law & Order to Peter Florrick in the Good Wife, I'm in.

Only misses are 1. Leven Rambin. A little too much deer caught in the headlights vibe from her. 2. Kit heading into a relationship with the Danny Pino character. Sorry, but never cared for him as an actor.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed