Insatiable (TV Series 2018–2019) Poster

(2018–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
872 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
No One with A Negative Review Has Watched Past the 1st Episode
powellelysia12 August 2018
I feel like there are a lot of thin people trying to "speak up" for overweight or former overweight people (like myself). People are confusing the dark humor this show uses with its actual message. Which conveyed that Patty's sudden weight loss did not make her problems go away, it even touches on how women should have the right to choose, and how society treats those who are thinner differently. I'm genuinely convinced people lack the comprehension to interpret that the creator of "Insatiable" wants to point out that "skinny isn't magic". Which is a direct quote from the show. Watch it, or rewatch it. And this time, pay attention.
765 out of 837 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
PLEASE, LET THERE BE A SEASON 2
mhaibernalie12 August 2018
This is coming from a fat girl who's had multiple issues with herself. The series has never offended me yet. I don't believe that this fat shames at all, but it actually sheds more light on the situation. And this isn't just about fat shaming. It's about everything society has placed as a sort of standard to be "normal". Plus, after seeing the last episode, I don't wanna be left hanging. I need to know what happens next. I need more. I'M HUNGRY. I'M INSATIABLE
491 out of 544 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So Good - So Campy - So Original
dillonjlocke13 August 2018
As a person that can think for himself I was already drawn to this show when all the controversy hit. My partner and I binge watched the whole thing and to our surprise, this is a masterpiece! We laughed, we cried, we championed, we were hooked! At first, you may think this is all about fat shaming, but in reality its a message of hope and endurance. It has an aspect of everything that makes for an amazing show....lust, love triangle, murder, drug use, the most amazing puns, bullying....all the big ones! Its more of a teenage soap opera that we literally were addicted to from the start. Its the Pringles of Netflix (once you pop you cant stop) Give it a watch and PLEASE!!!! Let have a second season!!!!
266 out of 304 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I don't understand what people's problems are
dawn1484711 August 2018
I found this to be funny, well written, and filled with fantastic actors. The storyline is original and deals with a lot of issues that other shows won't touch. It seems that people saw the trailer and drew their own conclusions without actually watching it, and those that did watch took the choice to see what they wanted to see - they saw that a 'fat' girl was being bullied and had her problems solved by becoming 'thin', I saw a girl that lost the weight that society thought she should only to find that it didn't solve anything and actually things became worse, but as this is dealt with a dry sense of humour a lot of people didn't get this.

If you liked Drop Dead Gorgeous than this is the show for you!
245 out of 283 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Don't believe the critics
jessicamintondds11 August 2018
This show is a COMEDY! Yes, it makes fun of everbody! I've struggled with weight issues my whole life and one of my closest coworkers is a lesbian (the two most shamed things on this show) and we both find this show funny. If you like dumb humor, watch! And people need to stop being so serious ALL THE TIME!
220 out of 254 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loving this!
sarahjpaquette12 August 2018
The whit, humor and even charm (hehe) of this show is right on point. To any nay sayers of this, I say to them, maybe it is you who needs to take a long hard look in the mirror yourself and really think why you want to not only end this show but smash this shows freedom of speech for all those who feel like the main character! This is true art and freedom at its best and Debbie is amazing in it! You go girl!!
273 out of 318 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's not offensive.
marhruby10 August 2018
I'm politically extremely liberal. I'm from the Silicon Valley for Christ's sake. I was extremely fat in high school. And I didn't think it was offensive at all. It's a SATIRICAL take on the pageant world and teen angst. If you're offended by this show you need to take the stick out of your butt. The show is MEANT to be ridiculous and dark. Come on now for goodness sakes lol.
381 out of 449 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarious!
kholzer201010 August 2018
I'm sorry... I get the issues but take this for what it is... a spoof... funny... meant to be a comedy. As a former fat girl to skinny girl... this ish is hilarious!!!!
248 out of 293 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another win for Netflix - Great Message
AdrienneGrayceMusic10 August 2018
This show has gotten some slack before anyone even watched it. They judged it before understanding what its really about. It is far from fat shaming, but instead the COMPLETE opposite! The creator of the show even based pieces of this off of her own struggles. I love the message the show brings and I love tv and movies about revenge and Karma. I've been a fan of Debby Ryan for awhile now and after this, I know she will be the big star she deserves to be. The show is funny, entertaining, and I watched all episodes already. 10 stars. Watch before rating. Don't be a troll..
257 out of 306 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The 6.5 rating is very misleading
Nightmarelogic12 October 2019
A lot of shows when they first appear give two or three episodes to "professional reviewers." This show did that. And when it did at least one accused it of "fat shaming" in large part because Debby Ryan who plays the lead female Patty Bladell wears a fat suit in the pilot episode so she can go from an overweight teenager to a "suddenly thin and beautiful" teenager in what amounts to a half hour episode. So many people down voted and one starred this hating it from the on start without thinking about what the show was trying to actually say which was that being thin and beautiful didn't fix any of Patty's problem's.

Season 2 even deals with the question that Patty's weight was a condition of her overriding problem not the source of them. That Patty has far bigger problems then her inability to stop eating her feelings.

This is a dark comedy that plays murder for laughs. It also deals with a lot of different kinds of relationships including a couple of thruples. The two Bobs are hilarious and Alyssa Milano is really good in this (but she may not be back for season 3 if ongoing politics in Georgia do not go her way).

So if you look at the 6.5 rating and want to pass on it don't. Half of the one star reviews are by people who read the fat shaming article and never bothered to watch this in the first place.
41 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
HILARIOUS
kirakats12 August 2018
The points this show made were not offensive. Those who were offended were probably upset to see the truth. This generation always has something to complain about. Debby Ryan was absolutely amazing in this role. The show is beyond hilarious and the twists and turns this show takes is astounding. I really wish there were more episodes because I don't want to wait a year to find out what happens. I've grown so attached to the characters and I'm so sad to be done..... for now.
181 out of 215 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This has one of the most body-positive messages I've seen to date.
knowledgeandgrace10 August 2018
You've likely seen countless reviews by "professional" critics who outright condemn this show for cruel fat-shaming, but the reality is exactly the opposite. Let me explain: The show isn't about being fat or not. It's not about appearances. Nor is it about eating disorders. It's about needing other people's validation and how seeking validation leads to unhealthy behaviors. I can personally relate to this show's main character quite well: I was once the fat kid in high school who lost a massive amount of weight (nearly 100 pounds over 6 months). The message is not lost on me, as it appears to have been on many critics.

Nearly every aspect of this show deals with the theme of seeking approval from others: The main character's struggles, the two Bobs (Armstrong and Barnard each look at different aspects of needing validation - one seeks attention through his looks while the other feels inadequate by comparison), Coralee hiding her past and family because she doesn't want others to know she grew up in a trailer park, the entire concept of the beauty pageant which is a main aspect of the show, and so on and so forth. Once you see the message, every facet of the show is screaming it.

The message is simple: Desiring the approval of others will leave you... Insatiable.



Which begs the question: Why does what other people say about the show matter to you? Do you really need their approval to enjoy it? Go watch the pilot episode, you may find yourself hungry for more.
155 out of 184 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Guilty pleasure
dickgennissen11 August 2018
I love the series. Its a bit strange, a bit dark, funny, Patty is beyond beautifull and the situations are hilarious. I love it!
89 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Don't believe the media
snowyprecipice12 August 2018
The series is not fat-shaming, transphobic or homophobic. It's the opposite, actually. The trans people from the LGBTQ people saved the day in one of the episodes, her best friend's story arc was handled respectfully and the series showed that becoming thinner didn't improve Patty's life. It's a DARK COMEDY. IT'S SATIRE. Of course it's a little on the edge. The first few episodes will make you feel ambivalent, but it gets better. Just keep watching and it's a decently entertaining watch.

Just gotta add, Dallas Roberts' acting, especially in the last few episodes, was incredible. I spent quite a while admiring all those ambivalent and conflicting emotions his face expressed.
52 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty funny
kflash111110 August 2018
The humor is adult, they swear like normal people, and anyone that spent their school years in the fringes will understand the emotions the main character is going through. There's nothing to get upset about in this series, so pop some corn, grab a fizzy drink, and just settle down and enjoy this comedy (that will also provide some 'pause and think' moments as you apply her experiences to your own life).
155 out of 194 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Who is offended by this?
agraham08288213 October 2019
I have been fat, I have had an eating disorder, I haven't killed anyone.... so maybe murders are upset. But this show doesn't offend me, I think it is hilarious. I think it would be a shame to see it not renewed because people (who likely have never been fat or have an eating disorder) find it offensive. Also, my friend (also been fat), loves it as well. People need to chill out. This show is the best.
25 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
mdylo-8829812 August 2018
In a time when everyone is butt hurt about everything, finally we get a show that allows its viewers to just sit back and just enjoy. This show is down right hysterical and keeps you wanting more. Highly recommend this show!!
89 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great show
cerysperys10 August 2018
The show is really good it is well acted and the script is great. People seem to think it's very offensive but coming from someone who has been bullied and had eating disorders it isn't offensive. It is more of a comedy and isn't to be taken seriously which is why I find it so good. It's now one of my favourite series and people need to chill out about it and stop taking it so seriously.
133 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Netflix tricked them all.
alex-frey-pattaya17 August 2018
Based on the trailer there was a petition signed by 220,000 people who protested against the show because they thought it would be about fat shaming. Bascially people didn't want to see what was inside and judged based on appeareances, nobody wanted to look inside, they rather bullied what they don't know. CLever manipulation from Netflix, gotta give them that.

Insatiable is clever, wild and all over the place and definitely genuine, it is probably one of the most contemporary series right now because there is not a single social issue they don't visually agressive rub into the viewers face.

The story is fast paced and never gets boring each character has a purpose and is perfectly developed which becomes quite important towards the last few episodes. I have to admit that I was laughing a lot and gringed a lot because they don't want to be political correct, the series wants to provoke the viewer which is done with so much cleverness because they let us fall in love with each single character before they confront us with a hot topic. Responses will be wild to this show, I can't wait to read them all, especially from those who gave a 1 star rating the second the show was online.
42 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
IT'S NOT THAT BAD GUYS
stevensanchez-9216110 August 2018
For all the people. That bashed this show for being fat shaming. Its not fat shaming. Its addressing the issue on why we shouldn't judge. This show is supposed to represent and over the top, but yet, accurate representation of what overweight people go to and the cost of what people Will go to do it, sure, she may be hot in the end, but in the end, she doesn't claim happiness because she wanted to be in the click, she was upset because they gave her a chance finally, when she became what they wanted her to be instead of who she really wanted to be herself
105 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I am morbidly obese and I am not offended
elhodgesmedic11 August 2018
I think people who say it's body shaming is missing the whole point of the show - it shows how one harbours insecurities with or without fat - it's a refreshing show that highlights how damaged we all are, despite our size
63 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Please don't cancel, Netflix.
lehuyen71513 August 2018
I don't really care about the controversy around this movie, it's so difficult to make a movie today without offending everyone, especially SJWs. This movie is ridiculous but I really enjoyed it. I really hope they won't cancel it. Giving 10/10 to support.
71 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Season 2 amazed me !!!!
rayd-2513112 October 2019
I was shell shocked what happened at the last scene of first episode. It was extremely shell shocking as well as intriguing. The black comedy is absolutely on point. Loving it !! Much recommended to everyone because this season its all CHANGES !
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I really like this series
texas_fantisy10 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
All the hype before it was even released, and I found It very relatable as a "fat" girl in high school. Especially the bikini dog wash episode, where she stood in the Mirror hating herself still ,even though she was skinny and beautiful. Anyone who says this show fat shames either hasn't watched it or has zero clue what it feels like to be that girl. She is trying to love herself and overcome many obstacles thrown at her by life. Great show!
73 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Interesting take on change and body image
yacine_tebourbi10 August 2018
There is a dominant narrative in tv shows; reality tv etc which is if your overweight. Looking the weight will turn you into a new person and you'll have a blissful life. This show is about your relationship with your body. Just because you've lost the weight doesn't not mean that your perception of your body changes too.
105 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed