Splitting Up Together (TV Series 2018–2019) Poster

(2018–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
53 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Funny and fresh
jntfr8 August 2018
A new favorite! Absolutely love this new comedy, it is finally something fresh on the scene. From newly divorced trying to get back out there, to realizing what you had now that it's gone. Demonstrates what a healthy divorce with children should look like, without instilling false hope in young viewers. Considering some of the scenes in this show i certainly hope there is not a very large young viewing audience. It's a great show!
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pay attention to continuity...
charlesriley-4600012 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Loving the show, so not going to bash its premise or trash the characters. The show is funny and entertaining.

Those in charge of continuity need to pay a lot more attention...viewers aren't stupid. Just finished watching episode 3. At the end of the episode, Lena's sister is driving down the street with her niece and nephew...they're looking for the older nephew...and it's POURING down rain outside...they see him and stop to pick him up. He climbes in the car completely dry. They all sit in the car talking, and there's NO RAIN coming down on the car...the windows are completely dry. Camera goes back to an outside shot and it's still raining. Umm...hello...did the older nephew magically dry off when he climbed into the car...did the rain magically stop for the 'inside the car talking scene', and then fire back up after that dialog was over with? Can someone pay a little more attention to ensuring continuity from scene to scene? Thank you!
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great chemistry
shannonbixby29 March 2018
I really enjoyed the pilot. I am a family law attorney and deal with families in this situation all the time. It was appropriately comedic and also hit the real issues when people go through this process. Great chemistry between the main characters. Great supporting characters. I hope this show makes it!
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love the characters and very funny!
katieksheehan4 April 2018
Needed a funny show on tv. So happy with this one. Love the characters and it's a show not like any others.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
On the money
cabanajack16 June 2018
Having tried this actual arrangement in my own divorce I'm amazed how relatable, poignant, and touching the whole series has been.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining without pushing political agenda
beau-1-76496128 May 2018
To those giving it a 1/10, seriously? This show is not offensive and if you can't get the humor, you are probably under the age of 40.

This is a lighthearted show that dances with the delicate subject of a failed marriage and how to maintain the balance of a family unit. Unlike several shows out there, the kids are not foul mouthed self absorbed "tweens" that a real parent would want to knock upside their head. The adults feel the guilt of their failed relationship and not only try to move forward with their lives (will they get back together or not), but they continue sacrificing for the sake of their offspring.

This series pushes the boundaries but doesn't flagrantly break them. I for one will keep watching to see where it goes.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Sitting on the fence on this one
Ed-Shullivan29 March 2018
It is sometimes difficult to actually critique a pilot episode of a new TV series and this is just one of those new comedy shows (at least I think they are trying to be funny?) that I am not sure where the writers are going with it, even though the series title is somewhat self explanatory. Husband Martin (Oliver Hudson) and wife Lena (Jenna Fischer) have finished a 2 year rough patch (no sex) and have decided to live separately within the same house with boundaries being one of them will live in the garage for a week with no responsibilities, while the other parent lives in the house and takes care of the kids and all domestic responsibilities. The following week Martin and Lena will switch their living conditions and domestic responsibilities.

As a divorced parent with three sons of my own and a relatively amicable split from the ex I just don't see anything humorous about a family going through splitsville. But this is not reality riight? This is an attempt at TV comedy.

So who cares if both parents are in their early 40's (?) and both still have a waistline that a teenager would be envious of, and no grey hair after having three (3) children? So they live in what appears to be a 3,000 plus square foot home on a huge property with not only a detached garage that one of these two free-wheeling parents will call their principle residence every second week, but no one seems to work even though they say they do?

Maybe I digress, but even Ray Romano and his TV wife Patricia Heaton exchanged more heated conversations then this separated husband and wife team Martin and Lena. I look forward to watching a few more episodes before passing any serious opinion either positive or negative so I will remain on the fence for the time being and I will rate this first episode with a 5 out of 10 rating.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Honesty and real feelings
funbaggs21 September 2018
I just watched the pilot and got the enjoyment lacking in most shows today about family. This show is right on the money for its look at what makes a relationship and family work. Highly enjoyed it.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Real potential .
bfpro29 March 2018
I thought the premiere episode was pretty great. I feel like this is a show that will last for a while and become a classic. Cast looks and feels great so fat. Only time will tell .
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Comedy
ylyons-181518 August 2018
I watched preview & the only show I've watched in awhile that I laughed & loved. Don't cancel please. Funny.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
So far so goos
ajolly-712675 April 2018
The first two episodes have been funny and give me hope that the series will be great!
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Surprisingly Fun
Mike_Panno18 April 2018
Although I'm not a huge fan of half hour sit coms I am liking Jenna Fisher much better. The premise has potential and the writing is decent. A little less of the progeny and a little more Dianne Farr would be great.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic
mikejrgraham12 April 2018
Love the show and finally a decent comedy on TV. Great chemistry and related to all the characters. Cant wait to see what happens next!
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
love Bobby Lee
tomcscott-5563613 June 2018
Love bobby lee. Good show and only getting better. looking forward to seeing what happens in the future.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing!!!
sabinogarciarey125 August 2018
It is so funny! You'd love the humor. It is extremely mouth cringing and so hilarious.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not funny, not clever.....
philipjheil19 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I gave this show a chance because I like Fischer and Hudson.....but unfortunately it's just not very good. I can't figure out if it's supposed to be a comedy or if it's trying to be cute or what. In reality it's just sad.

If you enjoy shows that attempt to get laughs about sexually involving 14 year olds, or a mother getting it on with a guy she just recently met in front of her home where her children are then this is the show for you.

Sorry, buy I just find it completely disappointing and sad. Not sure how they will be able to sustain this plot line as a series.
13 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Endearing characters
chan-955044 June 2018
I like this show. I hope it makes it. It feels like a romantic comedy movie which is a neat change.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Truly a fence sitter on this one
kimsher1 April 2018
It has potential because I am neither completely turned off nor excited for the next episode to come out. As someone who was in this situation back in 2008 (in addition to having a shared business decimated by the recession as well), I'm both annoyed I didn't write this series & concerned that I'll nitpick any holes I see in the story. For example (too general to be a spoiler) ... when Lena gets the text, there was no lead-up to show that there was any possibility of it being from a potential male suitor. And when the splitting couple says they hadn't had sex in 2 years, I find it hard to believe that there was no cheating (or agreed open marriage). I don't think my ex cheated either, but it was 3-4 months not 2 years. Maybe I'm not "in the know" about the realities out there with other couples, but this seems unbelievable to me. And even with fiction, I think you have to have a believability factor unless you're going for parody, farce, etc.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Too soon to tell, but it has potential
Great cast ... love Oliver Hudson ... hilarious ... as far as the show goes I'm hoping it will be a light hearted comedy and not too focused on the sexual side
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very funny
kinsey-8618724 April 2019
Great show, great humor, great cast! Not sure why those few people gave it bad reviews, because it is funny. I'm sure it will be renewed for another season, hopefully more.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Done if Lisa plays Martin into ...
maryann451010 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Was nice Matin got smart again ...but if Lisa pulls another of her poor pitiful me acts ,i am done !!! She is playing an incompetent dummy .She cannot dk anything even with help...but can move in with . GET A GRIP WRITERS !! I consider this a "mindless " show with cute family dynamics ..but the Lisa ceap ..gotra go !!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Give this a chance
GoldblumBaby20 February 2019
Sweet charming show with great cast with awesome chemistry. It's not promoting divorce like some reviews say. It's promoting different ways to be a family and take care of each other
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Celebrate the death of the nuclear family
gustheaffen18 April 2018
Very pathetic storyline about a husband and wife that divorce I guess without any counseling or much care for their kids. They can't sell the house and they still have all the same friends so they decide to split weeks taking turns each living in the house taking care of the kids while the other gets to live their life living in the coveted garage. What could go wrong? If you want to see aging Jenna Fischer getting it on in front of her house with a hipster half her age while her kids are inside this show is for you. And then gloating about how great the sex was and telling her sister who tells her ex who already knew because saw her with his own eyes when he was about to make a grand gesture to get back together. So realistic and what they unintentionally captured was how weird and messed up their kids are as a result.
12 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible. Boring. Dumb. Delete series from DVR.
Skeiner6 May 2018
Title should say it all. Don't bother with this one. Love Jenna and Oliver - but this is no office or rules of engagement
10 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Disappointed after 3 episodes
ingridsc-7480013 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I am not sure if this is a comedy, but I do not find much about the show to be funny. "Ex" wife has sex with a person she barely knows in her driveway? Says she does not care if she gets an STD? Seriously? Certainly not something I would want my 17 year old to watch. Disappointed that the show is trying to appease to an audience potentially lacking in morales and values. Had hoped for better.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed