Beat Shazam (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
For Those Who Love Popular Music
atlasmb2 June 2017
"Beat Shazam" is a game show in which three teams of two try to identify popular songs the fastest. (In the first episode, the teams consisted of a father-son team, a sisters team, and a brothers team.) They compete for cash prizes that start at $1,000. Early rounds are multiple choice.

As they go through the rounds, teams are eliminated and the cash prizes increase. In the final round, the winning team competes against the song identification application Shazam. The amount of money at stake is significant. And if the team can identify six consecutive songs faster than Shazam, they win the maximum prize of $1 million.

The songs cover all genres. Sometimes they are grouped by artist. Don't expect to hear "Chattanooga Choo Choo", because most songs are from the 1970s on.

This is a fast moving show. Host Jamie Foxx (aided by DJ October Gonzalez) is there to keep things energetic and interesting. Other than when he resorts to race-based humor, he does a good job.

In the first episode, guest Terrence Howard chose the titles for one round. This was the best part of the show, because he obviously loves music and his passion elevated the proceedings. I missed this feature in the second episode. Future guests should have similarly diverse tastes.

Although I could not identify many of the songs and (unlike "Jeopardy", for example) I was not taught much, the quick pace and the unabashed joy for music made the show very enjoyable.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Meh.
trinitihammond12 September 2018
Only good thing about this show is SOME of the music.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun to watch if you like all kinds of music
jhc-5500520 September 2018
Jamie Foxx is a hilarious host and they play a good variety of songs. If you watch it while it airs you have the opportunity to play along.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun show, just a little styerotypical at times.
patrickcoyle-858373 July 2019
The show is a lot of fun to watch, especially the first season. The second and epsecially the third seasons have felt more stereotypical. Jamie Foxx is entertaining as you would expect but comes off as not necessarily racist (doubt it with how many people he's acted with) but a little too pro African-American on a show based on an App and the biggest hits in music. They tend to play Rap, R&B, Disco and Mowtown quite a bit. They tend to be directed towards African-Americans and even Pop Divas genre does sometimes. I like some of the music in those genres but some more rock and country music would be welcome and I only like country music from the 90's and early 2000's. Just a better variety I'm saying. The categories are similar on most of the episodes this current season. Jamie tends to play around, dance and have fun with any R&B or similar songs but quickly goes through any occasional songs of other genres, either seeming like he doesn't know the song or even makes fun of it. Not sure if it's him or if it's forced. There's also always an African-American or Gay couple on the show. There's only 3 teams of 2 so I mean it obviously has to be picked that way. I'm all for diversity but it feels forced on this show which in my opinion is a slap in the face to certain races and gays because it's almost like it has to intentionally be televised on certain shows. Rather than it happening naturally and being accepted as normal. That just bothers me but rant over. Regardless there is still good music on the show. It can be pretty funny at times. Jamie Foxx's daughter plays the songs on the show for the last 2 seasons now and she's great, also great chemistry on the show with her father. You can even play along in the app for a chance to win $10,000 although it was kind of tough to beat the contestants, more due to them being there and having the large buttons in front of them. Give the show a try if you love music and if you're a Jamie Foxx fan. There were a few celebrity appearances as well but they seem to have stopped that on season 3.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Shameless self-promotion
Did Jamie Foxx take this job just to get his daughter a job? Calling her a DJ is a stretch. She literally just presses the "play" button. I would rather see guest DJ's that are actually DJs. Corrine ruins this otherwise fun show.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
idea for Alice Cooper
aldunisch12 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
What was happening around the time you created Welcome to My Nightmare? put that in theater.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Game shows suck!
marquesmunoz25 May 2019
Game shows/reality shows are the new family show, type entertainment. It's cheaper to make. This is why we all see these shows. I wish they would stop it, but they won't. This show is one of the worst ever.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pass on this
ggspot8118 August 2018
I can't. Jamie Fox (pass) as the host and the show is not that great.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this show
ajschuettpel27 June 2019
I like how the show takes music trivia to a whole new level.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
rather overlooked gameshow
bigchris-2972114 September 2017
OK I admit at first I tried the show and didn't like it that much but as time progressed I learned just how much fun it could be to watch I now love the show and think mr fox is hilarious as a host you really have to know your music to enjoy the show properly but seeing as I love music this was a total blast for me and my family
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Predictably Entertaining
idontbrushmyhair10 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
If you want a game to play with your family while watching TV, watch this show. In my house, we make our own teams and keep our own scores, which makes this show much more entertaining to watch. I see a board game of this in the future...and I hope it comes with thousands of songs because I would play the heck out of it. And I would probably win, too.

That being said...I feel like it could be more challenging for the contestants. There are decades and decades of music and I feel like they don't change it up enough. I mean, unless you are really trying to give that million dollars away?? It's too easy. We are living in a day and age where nobody listens to only one genre of music. Everybody is pretty much eclectic. Throw some oldies in that mix...like Simon and Garfunkle...Hall and Oates...Paul Anka, Dion, Chuck Berry....don't cater to just the last 30 years!
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed