Butterflies (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Brilliant winner of Sundance Grand Jury Prize 2018
nando1301-128 January 2018
This is a gem of a comedy, daring and creative, with many layers of profoundness. It surprises the audience with twists that are both hilarious and moving, keeping people interested and amused by unexpected shifts in the narrative. Highly recommended.
43 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It could have been a great movie with better acting
lunand9 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
For the first 45 minutes approx. I was thinking that it was one of the best movies I've recently watched. I laughed a lot as well. But when the characters found out about their father's death, the drama took place and the bad acting showed up. Especially Tugce Altug's acting was really superficial, she was actually forcing herself for convincing the audience that she was sad.
20 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good entertainment, fun film.
alperen_genc5 April 2018
I'm not going to pretend I'm a film critic, a student studying film or anyone else who has any authority on deeming films to be good or bad. I'm just a film savvy average Joe.

I loved this movie because it was good fun, and that's what this movie was about. It's not trying to be anything other than fun. It's one of the few films where you can get a good laugh from one scene and tear-up in grief from another one. Acting was solid, situations seemed relatable. Except for some obviously tongue-in-cheek moments, the comedy wasn't absurd (as is usual in Turkish comedies) Good drama, some very emotional scenes, and good comedy were blended very well in my opinion. The story built suspense and the director trolls the audience hard.

All in all, a very enjoyable film, money well spent, and a very welcome addition to Turkish cinema.
14 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
My disappointment was doubled because of Ivy
saraccan1 April 2018
I absolutely loved this director's previous film Ivy, hence the disappointment in this movie was doubled after watching it.

I didn't think any of the characters were likable. The "there are random things happening, therefore it should be considered funny" concept was uninteresting and not funny. Everyone was constantly repeating each others sentences with a question mark in the end, which i found to be pretty lazy writing. There were way too many unnecesarry conversations/scenes that did not serve any purpose to the progression of the story. I'm finding it hard to find an aspect of this film that is better than very bad.

The movie is about 3 reunited siblings who hear from their father after 30 years and their journey to the countryside to see him.
20 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I remember Wes Anderson.
Tosun_pasa13 April 2018
I watched the film because I read positive comments about it. I did not regret it. The movie reminded me of Wes Anderson. Interesting characters, Absurd events, strange relations.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
below-average movie, being romanticized
betultemiz12 May 2018
I watched this movie at theater today, and read many of the rewievs on the internet and I found it, such below-average movie, being romanticized.

As a Turkish viewer, all the dialogues are sound so rough that as if they are chosen, only to make the interpretation more simpler. Apart from that, dialogues stayed very simple and untidy that they were almost no two consecutive sentences said through the characters. And because of that all the characters stayed flat throughout the movie; they had a story to tell, but not much to say. There were gaps in the dialogues where audience are expected to laugh. This make the situation ironically sadder. I do not, even, want to mention about the ending, but I had to say that it was like a big cringy-joke. Throughout the movie, a kind of romanticism is 'wanted' to given and it is ended up in a mess.

Even though I found myself very open about the film diversity, such movies that ridicule audience is not the type that I like. I am very sorry to say that while watching it, I counted the minutes till the end.
17 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Like Wes anderson
Orhan_Akdeniz15 August 2019
This film reminded me of the brothers Woody Allen and Coen. And I tasted Wes Craven. I would recommend to those who want to watch a different movie.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Low budget, good film
truus-nes7 April 2018
Mostly I loved the twists. I think, it was planned and very well put together. It is not a comedy or dram, just life as it is. Sometimes boring and thrill and funny, too...
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Drama&comedy at the same time
rabia_seda_a8 April 2018
Give a change to watch this movie because it is pretty awesome. You will i like that story which is talking about butterflies...
7 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
"forced" comedy
wellloaded3 February 2018
I watched this at the festival when it was presented. I had plenty of people around me laughing hard for every single sentence (often serious dialogues) but I didn't. I thought to myself may be I am in a bad mood today because this is not funny at all. When eventually after the projection the lights were turned on and there was the QA session with the director I looked around and I got the answer to my question: pretty much all the audience was Turkish. I guess it's true what they say about Turkish and Indian films, they are really good for nationals but fail to make it internationally because they are not understood by other cultures. If you think I'm harsh ask yourself if you would laugh to sentences like e.g.:
  • mom killed herself
  • a suicidal man left a note: sometime I feel good sometime I feel bad


If you do I guess you have a Turkish sense of humor and this movie is indeed for you.

There were 4 times where I think I smirked but the overall "have to laugh for everything" approach spoiled those moments too.
21 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Movie
ufukglr15 December 2018
After a long time l watched something different, satisfiying and tastefull.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
You won't regret
hsarikayaa20 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, we need to know this: Cinema is a illusion game. It tricks the audience, tells lies and truth in different ways. The illusion is being used since the beggining of the cinema art but it happenes in a scene or in a certain sequence. For example suspence right? It raises the tense and does its show. Or parallel editing to kinda fool the audience. But this entire movie is about that. This is the longest illision i've ever seen in a movie and it is brilliant. You'll see what i'm trying to tell after seeing it if you havent yet.

Second of all, eventhough there was funny scenes i didn't think it was fitting for comedy genre untill the last scene. It is more like thriller(ish) and dram but the last scene blows everything up and it is awesome :D This movie is just a piece of cinema language!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
it was good
homoleopapyon2 March 2019
I like the movie but tugce altugs acting was bad her husband is the director this is why she was in the movie
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
boring and uninteresting
willians_franco22 July 2019
Boring movie, slow, uninteresting and tiring. I almost slept during playback. I wish I had not watched it. At this time it is providential to have a device that reproduces the video at an accelerated speed, in which you can get rid of it as soon as possible. I do not recommend. Indicated only for lovers of alternative or cult films.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Speed it x2 up
basarzeren21 August 2019
If u speed the movie x2 up, it will flow nicely. This is the one of the worst movies we watch. Its just so slow and actings r so bad. All 4 of us fall to sleep when watching it.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed