"True Detective" The Hour and the Day (TV Episode 2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
One Hell of an Episode
mpboylanjr-5403828 January 2019
Just Wow. This season has been great as the series has gotten back to its roots and what made it great in the first place. The two leads are exceptional with Dorff being the true surprise treat. This episode was engaging from the jump , and rolled straight until the cliff hanger end. The way they are weaving through the years is methodical and masterful. It doesn't confuse at all, and keeps the viewer informed every step of the way. My favorite episode so far !!
37 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good episode, but nothing memorable
8512222 February 2019
Greetings from Lithuania.

"The Hour and the Day", 4 th episode of season 3 was a god and solid episode, but it wasn't amazing or anything like it. I mean the story is kinda moving forward, acting is very good as usual, setting, cinematography, directing are all first rate. But it wasn't very memorable episode, well except of the ending which kinda cheated a bit.

Overall, 5 th episode is now set very intriguing, and for that one i'm looking forward. This one was good, but nothing special.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
We're coming in!
jericw1628 January 2019
Words can't describe how amazing this season is, and just how well put together this episode in particular was. I'm shivering, covered in goosebumps, that final scene was unbelievable. Episode 5 can't come soon enough!
23 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great episode that did not need that set up ending
philipposx-1229028 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
5 years ago, True Detective Season 1 delivered one of the finest episodes in Television history, Episode 4, "Who Goes There", and so every following TD season episode 4 has to somehow come close to it.

"The Hour and the Day" does not reach that level, of course not, but it is the best episode of the show so far. Mahershala Ali perfectly balances his character in all three lifespans, though the storyline of the oldest of his still comes across as a bit unclear and a bit unfocused, maybe we're gonna see more of that in the future. This episode spend a lot time on the relationship between him ad his wife, so we got to see them team up, arguing and having sex in a comedically relief scene.

Otherwise the episode also touched on racism, and in a way reverse racism as both detectives tried to infiltrate a house in a poor village. I'd say that the episode did not need that extra 7 minutes, and shouldn't have ended with a sort of cliffhanger, as the set up action did not need to be in this episode in particular. That's something True Detective has always avoided for good reason.

Still, that's kinda nit picky. This was the best episode of the show so far, even if a bit slow, but we're getting there!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Tension is growing.
mitchellribas28 January 2019
You can actually feel now that what they accomplished at the exact same half (5th episode aprox) of the first season is coming in this season. The title says it all. Action is just around the corner and everything is starting to build up and i believe we are going to get an amazing last half of this season full of new clues and more details of the crime. The acting is so on point, people who have rated bad this season for now, the majority of them find the acting bad and the story boring and slow. It's their opinion and i respect that, but after watching the four first episodes you get to feel how the characters actually feel and the differences between each different year. I think we don't even know what's waiting for us spectators as like the first season, all of a sudden it just hits you with more and more surprises. I think this season is going to be an amazing one, i really hope so. Looking forward for more.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
This is the new Lost
kuarinofu29 January 2019
The structure of every episode after the pilot goes like this:

85% of the episode absolutely nothing happens. Then in the last 15% they suddenly realize "oh yeah, we have a story to follow up on" and they give you another cliffhanger just so they don't lose your attention and make sure you come back.

So if you really want to enjoy this you can watch the last 15 minutes of each episode and you won't miss anything at all. I'm of course joking.

Seriously now, exploring the characters and their lives through these tragic events is one thing, but the way this is done here it's like watching as the water starts boiling for your pasta. Like come on, so many scenes are stretched out to infinity. After a 7 minutes long restaurant scene I really asked myself "do they even edit their footage at all"?

Why not have both the plot movement and the characters discovery. Why does it have to be one or the other.

Season one had both and wasn't this excruciatingly slow. I just don't understand why if they already had chosen such storytelling structure can't they at least make it a little more dynamic.

I was waiting for the follow up on the Trash Man wondering if they did forgot about him and surprisingly enough they did wake me up with something actually happening and it was the follow up I waited for. Brilliant. I really hope the ending will redeem this since I can't see myself coming back and re-watching this later.
28 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
So far slightly better than season 2 but it's definitely not like Woody and Mathew.
panos000029 January 2019
I believe that they should have given the leading role to steven dorff he's amazing in the show.Alis performance in my opinion is really overrated and overacted.His character and his wife are completely uninteresting and their conversations are really long and boring.Also the childrens murder mystery so far isnt as intriguing as whe have hoped for after waiting 4 years.A return to form for true detective season 3 but keep your expectations low and don't compare it to the excellent first season.
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
tension with confusion b2b
stefan-korcok28 January 2019
Still i have feeling it tries to imitate "the best" first season ! but it is grows as you wanna know who did that and probably we all will be surprised. it doesnt miss tension but i still have feeling it tries to be something it was already here...
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
piece by piece
stefan-korcok28 January 2019
It slowly becomes exciting as we are reach final episodes ...
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This script is insane !
dimuthuvishal28 January 2019
Now that we're halfway through, it's safer than ever to start looking forward to some real answers in the weeks to come.
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Season 1 > Season 3 > Season 2
dougmacdonaldburr20 February 2019
Season 1 of True Detective is one of the best TV shows I have ever seen. I loved everything about it. The second season was a mess. It had some good moments but I didn't like it very much. This third season is a mixed bag. I think it probably is better than the second season, but not by much, and it is not even close to being as good as the first season. Here are my issues with it. There is way too much of Wayne and Amelia. Their story is boring and I find her kind of annoying. Wayne is kind of dull, but, I don't mind him too much. He is okay when him and Roland are doing police work. There should be more about that. The case of the missing children is not nearly as interesting as the serial killers in season 1. They also really don't cover the police work that much. There are some moments of forced political correctness too. It is kind of slow. As I write all this out I realise I really don't like it that much. I am happy to watch it, but, it is still not great. Season 2 was like a car crash. Bad but in an interesting way. This season it is like they took some of the best ideas from season 1. Then watered it down into a less interesting politically correct rip off of it.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very very very slow and boring
confidential-6789729 January 2019
So I somehow managed to make it through 4 episodes of this series, but that's it. It's just 2 cops mumbling to each other in a car for 60 mins each episode. Total garbage
14 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Slow... think i´d rather watch paint dry !
alan-fulham28 January 2019
How i´ve made it to episode 4 goes to show how desperate I was for this over hyped rubbish to get better but alas no, it just trundles along at such a dithering, withering pace, chopping and changing from one decade to another with no cohesion and terrible script and storyline that it's completely worn out my patience. How the hell anyone can sit through 9 or is it 10 episodes is beyond me. It could and should have been done and dusted by now, (ep 4). Sorry to dissolution anyone but the whole of series 3, same as series 2, absolutely sucks.
20 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring
Emily12428 January 2019
Absolutely amazing how this series can be even more boring than series 2. Way too much dialogue and like series 2 tries to act too cool
17 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Hour and the Day
bobcobb3017 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I think they are purposely giving us a few reveals here and there by design, but it is just not hooking me in the same way the show used to.

Stop chasing the guy too. Shouldn't these people have learned by now?
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed