The Debt Collector (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
52 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Para-what?
track-5390226 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoyed the movie up until the ending.

Please, please, please explain to me, how a tour deployed paratrooper can't hit a target from 15 feet away in a doorway?

I felt like sue was going to die, I could sense that one coming, but to kill the paratrooper looking to save up money to save his gym? What sense did that actually make?

That wasn't a plot twist, it was a plot killer.

Another point I want to make as well... WHY DID THEY NOT JUST LEAVE WITH CONNOR AT THE END?????

Did they just know that he'd be perfectly safe exiting out the back way? What reason did they have to actually stay and continue fighting?

Clearly these guys don't know how real life gun fights go down, because 1 guy with an AK47 can't seem to hit slow moving targets in a 15ft room, is just silly.

Ending completely ruined the whole experience for me, for what could've been an enjoyable movie.

I also don't understand the cow slaughterhouse scenes, those were not needed in the slightest.
37 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Underrated movie.
dediwidiarso5 June 2018
It's a very good movie, good acting, great fight scenes and the chemistry between the two lead actors was outstanding. People seems unaware what the slaughter house footage ment for? It's a metaphor of their job as debt collectors. This movie is underrated and deserves better rating.
39 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Delivers more than promised.
apjc27 April 2018
Was weary when starting to watch this, can't stand all action supermen or hero films. Yes there's the usual brilliant choreographed fights when martial arts enable you to beat 3 opponents ( yawn ). But then the story starts and is actually plausible, hardmen or ex - service are drawn to this type of employment. Then the leading duo take us on a ride that has some laughs, some violence, and a little insight to them. Not great, but watchable film if you've something better to do forget it, if not just waste the time well.
27 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Suprisingly good buddy movie
omendata1 May 2018
I was not expecting much from this but boy was i surprised

Superb acting mainly from Costas Mandylor's (SAW Movie Series) brother Louis who plays...wait for it SUE an ultra hard man repo agent...lol It was his performance and acting that made the entire film for me.

I actually thought the two characters were a great buddy team , haven't seen many as good as this since Riggs and Murtaugh Lethal Weapon.

Great humour and although the story was a bit lacklustre and of the standard by the numbers design, the fight scenes were very well done and the humour was spot on.

All in all a crackingly good movie that beats all of the blockbuster ones out this year into a cocked hat and whilst its not perfect its a rather good debut appearance from the main character Scott Adkins.
28 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome in my book.......
alfredlodoardi4 September 2018
Good acting, cast. good dialogue, reasonably good story, without and expected ending., Lots of action, no fillers, green screens or bungee cords. If this film had a 'Gibson and Glover' billing, it might have been a big summer film, for those who are drawn in by names. The two leads have been in some good movies, so, I enjoyed from start to finish. I'm no Ebert, but I watch 3 or 4 movies a week, and its getting tough to find some as entertaining as this.
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better than the average martial arts movie
CountJonnie30 April 2018
Scott Adkins gets drawn into the world of debt collecting, and depends on his fighting skills and Louis Mandylors lessons to learn the rules. The world is however full of betrayal, and lines that Adkins won't cross.

What makes this better than average is that Adkins seems to have found the kind of role in which he is comfortable, and doesn't hide is British accent. The movie doesn't have very many fight scenes, but the fights you do get, are more realistic and grounded, instead of tricking and flipping.

But the best part is that the acting is surprisingly decent, and there is even some chemistry between the two lead actors, which makes watching their scenes and listening to their dialogue entertaining.

All in all this is a decent action movie.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Could have been a lot better
phoenixinvictus2 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I like Scott Adkins mostly because I believe that he is a dying breed of actors in category of Bruce Lee, Chuck Norris, Jean-Claude Van Damme (before the drugs) and Jackie Chan. He relies on his martial arts skills most of the time to entertain the audience and for that he has my respect as an artist.

Now moving on... The cast of this movie was pretty good with a odd exceptions of some supporting roles whom I didn't recognise. The story started well enough with some pretty good fighting scenes but then spiralled off into a sort of mess. Michael Paré's character started well enough as a decent guy but towards the middle turns out (almost out of the blue) to be a massive jerk. Scott Adkins's character struck me as a resourceful man who didn't need to work for a mob collector. He could have moonlighted as a part time bodyguard to save his gym anything but work for the mob. I'm just saying his character whines throughout the entire movie about beating people up while at the same time getting his butt kicked. The ending was perhaps the most dissatisfying of all because it was unnecessary.
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Last act tonal shifts aside I found it enjoyable if eventually disappointing.
juliankennedy2311 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The Debt Collector: 6 out of 10: A Dojo owner (Scott Adkins) gets a side hustle collecting debts to help save his business and his first weekend out with his new partner (Louis Mandylor) is a lot more than he bargained for.

The Good: These guys deserved a better movie. The characters are fairly well acted with Louis Mandylor, in particular, a standout. The set-up is fine and would also make a good film (Think of Stallone in Rocky collecting debts but making the entire movie about that.) There are some good fight scenes and the character interaction keeps the plot moving along for about two-thirds of the movie with limited speed bumps. The film does a nice job making one want to see what whacky job or situation the boys are going to get into next.

The Bad: This movie wants so badly to be an old style Tarantino joint. It simply doesn't have the script to carry the water. The character interaction (good acting aside) seems forced with Adkins coming across as whiny rather than the snarky I think they were aiming for. These are cartoon characters in a cartoon world playing it very straight. The movie isn't very realistic. (Protip: Shootouts and fist fights in quiet upscale suburban neighborhoods get police attention very very quickly. I mean these people call the cops if someone is mowing the wrong lawn.)

While the movie has a nice pace with colorful characters for the first two thirds it hits a roadblock when it decides to get serious. All of a sudden kids are dying of cancer and somebody has to kneecap Jesus. It is an unfortunate tonal shift where a movie that was about as realistic as Death Watch 3 decides it was going to be End of Watch.

The Ugly: What is it with the cows? If you are hoping it isn't an over the top, on the nose allegory prepare to be very disappointed.

In Conclusion: There is a fun romp buried under all the arty pretension and wannabe Tarantino riffs. Last act tonal shifts aside I found it enjoyable if eventually disappointing.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great Punches....
rohanbhatt21 May 2018
The whole Movie is fill with action from Start To End, The Problem Is the Ending Of the Movie. The Climax is boring that's why most people dont like it,other than story is good, Acting is Good, Action is great,Thriller is bit low.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Could have been better
aranormer5 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I like cheap b-movies. For the most part I like Scott Adkins. This movie should have been right up my alley then. It wasn't.

Main part of the plot was pretty straightforward, a guy finds himself in serious need of extra income, starts moonlighting as a debt collector, ends up in trouble after realizing the job is not all what it's cracked up to be. There's some violence. Gunfights, fistfights and intimidating stares. Overall a pleasant experience if it weren't for the cows and the slaughterhouse.

Now, don't get me wrong. I like beef. I like my beef just like my movies, bloody and rare. And with a hint of surprise. Blood and surprise dessert were missing in this one. From early on we learn about impending doom of our hero via clumsily edited black and white cinematography of cows arriving to slaughter. And the ending of the movie? Am I really supposed to think that what happened to French and Sue is ok, because they "had a good life and they got to do what they wanted"? From what I gathered from their conversations, neither of them liked very much what they did.

In conclusion, if it weren't for the cows and completely unnecessary preachy bit about cows having a good life before ending up as stakes on our plates this would have gathered more stars from me.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It doesn't suck.
thikskin-269-91309 September 2018
Good action. Great fight choreography. The real treat is Louis Mandylor as "Sue". He's immediately likeable as the cynical hit man, bringing Scott Adkins along as the newbie debt collector. Adkins does a more than adequate job acting but still comes off a teensy bit flat but not at all as flat as the rest of the cast. The story isn't terrible in fact, it's not typical at all for this sort of film.

At first the images of the cows make you go "wha?" But it's a unique device filling you in on the inevitability of it all.

The gunfight in the apartment is overly long and unrealistic for such close quarters. An experienced soldier wouldn't hide behind a couch. I was expecting Adkins to get behind the oddly placed industrial strength steel coffee table after looking back at Sue hiding behind the decidedly better cover. It would have gained a good chuckle out of me had that happened.

All in all a good yarn but oddly untypical.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A really good movie .that was just ruined with 10 mins of stupid.
tbrennantb2 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was really really good up until the last 10 mins then it just fell apart..where do you start..a paratrooper can't hit a target from 10 feet ..the ending was awful...did they run out of ideas.. did the writer leave.. did they just say to hell with it lets end it now..he just dies in the car....man I'm so peed off with the ending to this movie...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Solid and quite entertaining
mstrack-4828229 April 2019
Sometimes you start up something which looks like a b-movie and after the first five minutes you start to think: "oh my, i hope this gets better. But since i've invested five minutes already, let's give it a try". And then the seemingly weak film turns out to be rather strong and provides solid entertainment to the very end. This is the case for the debt collector. Give it 10 minutes and you get several strong and interesting characters delivering a believable and engaging performance. The overall story arc is kept rather simple which leaves lots of playroom for the actors to fill out their respective position. Which they do. You get the feeling they liked their roles and the overall premise and history of the characters to be played.

Goofs: In the beginning something must have gone wrong and they overdubbed all the audio and voices in post. Which sounds very off. But this ends after the initial scenes.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
its a must
devlyn-614 September 2018
If you like your films a bit corny, with lots of action and reminiscent of the great 80's action films, this is for you. Louis Mandylor and Scott Adkins make a surprisingly good team. Having been an Adkins fan since Undisputed 3, it is good to see him in a part that is more worthy of his talent. hopefully his days doing poor B rated films is behind him. Keep up the good work.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved this movie
rich-fouts23 September 2018
I'm surprise this wasn't billed as a comedy/action because it's pretty hilarious (but it gets more and more serious towards the end). Great chemistry between Scott Adkins and Louis Mandylor (who delivers a wonderfully nuanced performance as always, particularly his monologue when he describes why he drinks). The pristine 1971 Coupe de Ville adds an interesting character.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
a movie not for kung fu lovers
joenegut4 May 2018
Excelent movie. Lot of fun at the beginning and a drama în the end. The scenes with cows should not appear, not connected with the movie.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Could have done without the slaughterhouse footage
TdSmth529 May 2018
Adkins runs some martial arts place. Of course it's not doing well financially and some bad guys are offering to buy it off for pennies. Adkins kicks their butts. A friend offers to help him by getting him a job with mobster Tommy. He's hired as a debt collector and partnered with the more seasoned "Sue." From the get-go things are more dangerous than Sue claimes and Adkins has to risk his life and kick butt. After a couple of jobs they are introduced to uber bad guy Barbosa. He wants them to find a some Irish kid. Barbosa's main girl seems to have something to do with all this. They eventually track down the kid who everyone says is just a regular nice guy and sure enough, he is and he also has a daughter. At that point things are revealed and things get dangerous for the two.

The debt collector is your low budget B-movie, featured some good acting by the charismatic Vladimir Kulich and Mandylor. Adkins's acting doesn't impress this time around. The fight scenes are good but not outstanding. The story here is weak. We're supposed to feel for the Irish kid but he appears late in the movie so for the most part of the movie nothing goes on other than waiting for the next fight scene. The main problem I had was with the unnecessary and gruesome slaughterhouse footage. That alone left a nasty impression of the movie and its crew.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
What's with the Cows?
shacmasta26 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
First off I'm a pretty easy guy to please when it comes to movies and this flick is a pretty standard "5" on a 10 scale but I must deduct a point for the pointless Cow cut scenes. Then that ending??? WTF?? Is the director some anti-beef guy? Is he a hardcore vegetarian? Yeesh
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
5 stars only because of the cast
dctr66626 April 2018
This is one of those movies we try really really hard to enjoy... but, unfortunatelly, I couldn't... We have one hell of a cast: Scott Adkins, Louis Mandylor (The Quest, Sinners and Saints), Michael Paré (City of the Damned, Streets of Fire) and the amazing Tony Todd (Night of the Living Dead '90, Final Destination). The producers are the same of Savage Dogs... that one suffered a bit from the "bare knucle" part of the story - it would have been nice to see Adkins, Zaror and Le showcase their abilities... This one is boring... way boring... the acting itself, isn't that bad. They are all competent actors... but the movie... it's a blend mix of dull moments and some "wannabe" comedy action "80's style", like "Turner and Hooch" or something like that.

The story goes around two debt collectors, with a confused moral compass... there's no flying kick from Adkins, the choreography, here, seems way off, almost clumsy. The action is spread across the movie, but very tamed... It's a shame, but for evey good title Adkins has, there's a few hits'n'misses...This one, is very very boring... I gave 5 stars for the cast itself... and I recomend watching this if you are having trouble sleeping, or in a Sunday afternoon, in a family lunch... Oh, and with some exceptions - the small shootout at the end - this is almost a family friendly movie... Too bad... It could have been a lot better...
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Like a kung fu movie
nogodnomasters26 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
French (Scott Adkins) has some financial difficulties that need immediate attention. In desperation he agrees to work for Tommy (Vladimir Kulich) collecting debts. He is teamed up with Sue (Louis Mandylor, although I would have liked Woody Harrelson) to lean on people and collect debts.

The arrangement reminded me of Mutual of Omaha's Wild Kingdom where Sue is Marlin Perkins and French is Jim Fowler wrestling the alligator. It was an action film with many whimsical moments. Eventually they need to do a reluctant job for Tony Todd described as "a demon" most likely a reference to another film. Enjoyable for what it was.

Guide: F-word, sex, nudity.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It could have been so much better
TalulaGrey30 August 2018
I went into this hoping for a halfway decent B movie and that isn't really what I got. The actors were all okay and we've seen them before in lower budget films. There wasn't much in the way of production values and you could tell that this was done on the cheap. I wasn't expecting a stellar script so to have it be as bad as it was didn't surprise me. I though maybe there'd be some decent fight scenes but it was altogether pretty mild. I did not enjoy the cut-aways during the film. They were too artsy and this was not an art film. The ending was one of the worst endings I have seen in a long, long, time. I feel that I am being generous giving this film 3 stars and I do not recommend this film.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A mix of comedy, violence, and symbolism.
hollyrorie11 July 2018
I liked the comic banter. The fight scenes were intense, and the figurative message found in the film is likely to make one ponder the purpose of their existence. I understood the cow scenes perfectly and how they fit into the film. I suppose others just aren't bright enough to understand.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good until the end
contact-8626320 October 2018
If they dispensed with the cow scenes (yes, I know why they are there, but it's not clever) and, using the reclaimed time, changed and extended the nonsensical ending then this film would have been a 9/10.

It's a shame. A good film let down by the last 10 minutes.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best I've Seen In 2018
pindams24 October 2018
I came here expecting bad review from imdb and for some reason I don't know why the symbolism was brilliant the complexity of the story paces up I watched It cause of Scott Adkins expecting a good fight but after the whole movie I was emotionally pampered this is one of the most mature movie Scott Adkins Has ever played
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A solid low budget action comedy
Leofwine_draca4 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
THE DEBT COLLECTOR is a low budget but entertaining action/comedy vehicle that works reasonably well as a buddy-buddy comedy. Scott Adkins, my favourite martial artist working today, stars alongside the underrated Louis Mandylor, himself with an action connection having starred in Sammo Hung's MARTIAL LAW TV show twenty years ago. The film was made by action director Jesse Johnson and, although it's not as assured as his earlier Adkins flick SAVAGE DOG, it's still an enjoyable film. It also has more character depth than you might expect, with both leads undergoing character arcs before a surprisingly heavy climax. Of course, most people will be watching this for the action and it doesn't disappoint with a string of well-choreographed fight sequences which certainly pack more than a punch or two.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed