Aurora Teagarden Mysteries: The Disappearing Game (TV Movie 2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
It is just fun people.
sam-evans-11 August 2018
It is just a movie, from a book. All in fun. What is refreshing is there is no major bloodshed, no gruesome scenes, no in your face sex, no cursing. We need just silly, fun little mysteries that can take us away from the political garbage. Who cares if she works or not. The whole cast works well together. Although a few have changed from the past, but are ok. I look forward to these series and enjoy them. Prior to watching you know what you are in for. These are not Oscar winning shows. Simple middle of the week entertainment. Aurora's friend Sally cracks me up and the casting for Henner as her mother is down right spot on. Keep these coming if not for anyone else but me. Love them.
40 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
On behalf of the visiting cousin from Arizona
bkoganbing10 August 2018
Candace Cameron Bure is back as our sluething librarian Aurora Teagarden in The Disappearing Game. A lot of the series regulars are also back as Marilu Henner as her mother, Lexa Doig as her helpful reporter friend and Peter Benson as the patient detective who really still doesn't know what to do with Auora. In some ways her sleuthing won't be containe as this involves a visiting cousin from Arizona now enrolled in school in her town.

On one night the cousin and a friend just disappear and a girl they knew was killed in a hit and run. Shortly after that another male student peer also disappears and now the police and the university have one dead and three missing students on their hands.

The solution is a little farfetched and all I'll say is that a bit of insanity runs in a certain family and not in the family originally thought to have it.

Fans of the series should like it.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
If you like the movie characters a little, read the books.
jvteach430 April 2019
Because I've read all the Aurora Teagarden books, by Charlaine Harris, watching the movies is a bit of a let down. The original book series was well written, with realistic characters, and strong story plots. The characters from the books have been changed quite a lot. Of course, trimming down a book to fit a 90 movie time is one thing, but white washing the characters to fit into Hallmark's moral ideals hurts the stories immensely.

Hallmark changed the order of the first two movies, causing us to have trouble understanding the characters and story lines. The reason Roe doesn't have to work is explained quite well in the second book "A Bone to Pick" and the introduction of many of the characters is covered well in the first book "Real Murders". This is lost in the movies due to the change in their order.

Aurora's character in the books, has more depth and intelligence, She is clever, resourceful and very funny. You watch her character grow from book to book, which doesn't happen in the movies. Her friends and family are also stronger in the books than the characters in the movies. Many of the scenes from the books have been changed so much you have trouble recognizing them.

Roe's character has been changed into a nosy, amateur; impeding justice every step of the way. She commits crimes during her "sleuthing" and gets in the way of the police investigation. I'm surprised she hasn't been arrested by the "real" cops. The character of Martin changed from a strong, forceful, business man with a mysterious past to a "fluff" character. Their relationship in the book is a bit steamy, and a real romance, but the relationship in the movies is more high school dating.

If you really want to enjoy this series, please buy the books and enjoy the adventure.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Wanted to like it -"spoilers"
alyancey-681876 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I like Candace Cameron Bure, but this movie IMO crossed the line. Bursting into a kids college dorm, bursting into a woman's home unwanted, a really ridiculous stakeout, multiple obstructions and interfering with a murder investigation and the police detective REALLY looking like a schlub. It was just too much.

I would think the writers could do much better than this. As others have noted, way too many holes all over the story.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Use to enjoy
Mliss4924 September 2018
I use to enjoy these Hallmark films but this time I was bored. Roe is so pushy and Sally is a weak person. Had enough of these.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Scripts are going downhill
gbgentleman6 August 2018
When the movies started, Aurora clues where usually ignored by the police which led to "believable" desire to follow them up in her mystery solving, but now she knows both the chief of police and the Mayor who both take her seriously. Yet the scripts still have her doing stupid things, interfering in investigations and putting hers and other people's lives at risk.

Come on Scriptwriters. Yes its Hallmark movies but at least TRY to use your intelligence and put together a movie that actually makes me want to believe in the main character instead of hoping she's arrested.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointed
alisdt224 September 2018
Last three weren't that good. Do not like the new characters and other changes.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh, Roe?
VintageSoul5624 September 2018
I read one of the other reviews and totally agree. Where on earth does Roe get the money for her huge new McMansion, clothes and car while working as a "small town librarian". I notice this in other Hallmark movies too. The main character has a job that couldn't possibly allow the big houses and big SUV'S or designer clothes. I've wanted to rant about that for a long time.

Candace C-B needs to either stop making these movies or demand better writing. Especially demand that her character not be pushy (very irritating to watch), dumb and intrusive. In these movie, the man who's son has been kidnapped, tells Roe off and she just looks at him, as if saying, how dare you tell me off. The character acts as if she's the only one with any smarts, but yet, how many times has she almost bungled a case. Candace is just a little too perky for my taste, maybe if she played it like the 40+ year old woman that she really is and not her D.J. character from Full House. I think she was about 17 or 18 when that ended. That's over 20 years ago, time to grow up. She really is the only negative in this series for me. Oh, and what's with the leading men in all of the Hallmark movies who have the stubble, shave it or grow it!
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worst one yet
d-robold1 August 2018
Plot holes big enough for a moving truck to disappear in. How does she hold down a job? Where does she get enough nerve to to push her way in to investigations, people's lives, let alone anyone's home she deems necessary. It seems no one can refuse to let her run roughshod over any aspect of the story. She's read so many murder and true crime books she thinks she knows better than anyone, especially trained professionals; she is an educated woman with no respect for anyone else's education.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Good plot
pgooden30 July 2018
Good plot except for Aurora- the most irritating so called sleuth ever. How she does not get arrested for obstruction of justice or interfering with a police investigation I will never understand. The last straw was her busting in on a woman's house when repeatedly told no and then serving tea and cake in her kitchen . When does she work? who pays for her upscale house and clothes? This character has no believable qualities.
13 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Corny
shesholder2 August 2018
The problem is that Aurora is now an aging librarian sleuth. This provides little basis for any creditable plot. Casting was also a little off as there was no chemistry between her and the new neighbor/boyfriend.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Swirling the drain...
sophistic2 August 2018
This movie is amateur hour, pure dreck. Bring back th good writers please!
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Saccharine Goop
vandelour3 August 2018
Why did I watch this? Why didn't I turn it off sooner? Why why why why...

And with all the bad reviews how is it possible to end up with a 6.5? Hmm?
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not up to par with previous Teagarden Mysteries.
coachanthony796 September 2019
I enjoy this series as it's easy to watch, often has some interesting plot twists, and the banter between Ro and Lynn adds some flavor and continuity. Many of the episodes I've wanted to give an 8, but then there would be some really weak dialogue, silly scenes, etc. and I usually end up posting a 6 or 7.

But with this episode, ugh, I was tempted to give it a 5 or worse! I enjoyed it for the story line, but the dialogue was often boring and some of the scenarios a bit outlandish - walking about the dorms like that, really???

I hope future Teagarden's will be better.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Aurora Teagarden Mysteries: The Disappearing Game
Jo_Blo_Movie_Critic20 July 2019
6/10 - you know just what to expect going into this one: lighthearted fun and a great mystery
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed